(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="ff0000">Everafter,
Skylar is exactly like Bryan too, doesn't know Daddy or Mommy too. My nephew is only 6 weeks older but already speaking in sentences. Skylar will be going cc next week, so hope she will start talking.

Hehe Skylar knows all her body parts in English, think i will teach her that in Mandarin too.

Karen,
"About socialising with other kids, umm, what words can Bryan learn from other toddlers?!" hahaa..quite true hor since other toddlers talking might sound foreign to him? mm..i must say that i was rather lazy and didnt really talk much to bryan cos most of the time he's ignoring me..frm now on, i gotta buck up! My mum jus felt that he's plainly stubborn and will only talk when he wants..guess i'll hv to be patient then

Gio,
We gotta be patient then

Does your toddlers cry when they cut hair? Bryan almost tear down the salon when we brought him to cut hair!

Buffy &amp; Ruffles, maybe the bps were affected by the icelandic volcano flight disruptions? Prob just a one off lah.

Potty Training, Ruffles, great that vic can tell u she is poopoo. Miki tells me she poo poo even when she did not. I think cos I will ask her is she poo poo or wee wee each time during diaper change and then confirm it (poo or wee). Think I confused the poor gal. Hahaha...

Bigflamingo, J is such a smartie pants...

Everafter &amp; Phantus, think great ways to encourage speech is just introducing more activities for interaction, like role playing. Do perservere even when it seems like a monologue most times. Also if u do let them watch tv, its good to watch with them and ask prompting questions abt the programme. Say Mickey Mouse Club house, then ask him, Who is that? Yes its mickey. If they are learning shapes or couting, just reiterate again. These are just some tips shared by my speech therapist friend which i see great results with minibee...

<font color="ff0000">Eelyn, mousebb,
Yeah i think it's the Terrible 2 stage. Yesterday my hubby caught her trying to step on the cat's tail (my cat also damn stupid, just lay there and let her step) so he stop her and said "Skylar, no", she looked at my hubby and tried that again so my hubby smack her feet and said more sternly "Skylar NO", and guess what? She looked at my hubby and DO IT AGAIN!!! Then my hubby smacked harder and the crying drama start, big tears and really loud cries. When I tried to carry &amp; distract her, she just lay on the flr and doesn't want to be carried at all. All these drama continues at least for 15mins.

Throughout the day, she kept testing the boundaries and our patience. Told my hubby it's like we have a demonic child now instead of the sweet baby who smiles and laughs all the time.

<font color="0077aa">bluey/JJMom: Sigh.. ya lah, delay better than not receiving... Just sianz 'cos waited for more than a month...

Busybee: no lah, I do not think it is the flight distruptions because for those BPs, we have been receiving emails from the sellers since a few weeks back and keep delaying over and over again... . Sigh</font>

<font color="ff0000">Everafter,
Think Bryan and Skylar are like twins, she also cried the salon down when we trim her fringe. Cried like someone is abusing her like that, aiyo so paiseh!! Btw is Bryan the boy that Skylar kissed during the birthday gathering huh? I remembered Skylar just crawled over and kissed a boy on the lips, hahaha poor boy looked so stunned.

Buffy, oh i just saw that pat's uses letterland. My friend swears by letterland. Annie Apple blah blah. Think its really catchy. So cute.

Gio,
Yes, Bryan was the boy whom Skylat kissed at the gathering. ahhaa...they're really perfect match! bryan is also testing the boundaries like what Sklar did, but i find that my sis can discipline him better than we do. Mayb they knw that we 'll pamper them so kept testing our patience! He can really cry and roll on the floor for the next hr or so i tell u!! Really dunno how to teach? How not to give in, i cant let him cry for like 1hr right??!!

Busybee,
Shall try your method. I watched the cartoons with him and actually i'm enjoying more than he does as he gets distracted after watching sometime. hahaaa...

<font color="0077aa">Busybee: actually my personal preference is using zoophonics. C is able to sound out all the letters. Just that I needed to switch because the for zoophonics, there is v little support material available so I lack the activities, books, etc., to work with C on it. It is such a pity because I really like it...

Oh, on a different note. I finished my signing exam so I am just waiting for an interview an the teaching kit to arrive and I can start! But I still want to progress to another level but for that, I will do it a bit later as it involves a lot more work... But it has been pretty fun and exciting!</font>

everafter,
It's not easy feeding Dylan too, I just keep trying and trying...his weight seems ok so no need to worry too much as long as he's still eating...

Talk more to Bryan, it'll help...he might be one of those toddler who'll start with sentences instead of words...don't worry too much...

Gioanna,
Think it's a growing up phase...Dylan was like that for the past 2-3 weeks and surprisingly, he was not whiney and sticky anymore last weekend! I left him home alone with hubby early at 5+am to help out in my buddy's wedding till 2+pm yesterday and he didn't even cry for me! Be more patient with her and the phase will pass quickly...

Hellloo mummies!!

Talking bout tantrums:
Oh tell me bout it, I'm oso experiencing terrible and sometimes drama scenarios with Kaelyn! Sigh!
Seems tat she cannot take "No" for answers or reprimand/correct her etc.. ..Insists on her way and blah blah blah...Oso gets irritated easily etc... Arrgghhh sometimes its driving me nuts! ;( Always like to test our limits and patience oso.
Plus the rainy weather doesn't help either cos most of the time, we will be stuck at home!
Double sigh-ness!!
Hope this phase faster pass!!
Seeing her like this, doesn't make me 'gian' for a 2nd one! ;p

it's still raining so heavily and i'm cosy in bed with regina waiting for rain to stop to go out. Heehee!

yes, next week lunch is fine with me too. Monday? Who's interested?

afternoon mommies

mint
i can ask the org about the breakdown, but i suspect it is about SG$15. My other toy is bulkier so i will assume it takes about 2/3 the price of my shipping cost.

everafter
how does ur PD determine that bryan is slow in his speech?

re: discipline
yesterday, rebby refused to share her toys twice with a little ger slghtly younger than her. i removed her from the toy station and gave a v short time out and surprisingly, she din go back to the table for the toys anymore and she played at other stations instead. some of the parents in the nursery room was starring at me and possibly thinking why i am so strict with her.

Jellypurin,
It's ok.. dun wanna trouble you. Thanks anyway.

Think you were not being strict with Rebby but it was a good move on your part.

Thanks Mummies for your comments on fresh milk, and Busybee for yr compliment!

Everafter &amp; Phantus, don't worry too much about speech development. My nephew hardly spoke until he was 2 and he's a real chatterbox now at 4.

Maybe you can try making it into a game, like I will ask, "where's the dog?" when reading a picture book to him. And if he points at it correctly, i will say, "yes! that's a dog. Or "no, the dog is here. Dog. Woof woof." He seems to enjoy this game.

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
If I'm not wrong, the PD assesses a child's development (speech) based on the guideline given in the healthbook. For 15-18 mth assessment, the child is expected to say at least three words other than "papa/mama". </font>

mousebb
ya, i saw that clause. i find it abit silly ... sorry to say that. our health booklet contains some silly conditions for their development...

Aiyoh....Nickypower.
I will make a special trip and post you the weleda cream lah. Don't want you to stress out travelling with Kaelyn alone!
Just PM me your mailing address...

<font color="ff0000">Yeah Skylar will just lay down on the floor and cry and yeah i let her cry and won't give in. She will cry for 15mins then get up cos she's bored with cryingand look for something else to test boundaries. THEN the whole cycle starts again. SIGHSSSSSSS

Bigflamingo,
ya, i always point to the animals prints on the playmat to him, he'll babble in his bb language back to me lorn -_-"

Joanne,
I'm not sure how PD access that, mayb it's the general guideline...

For the moment, i wish he'll become a chatterbox soon! hahaha...

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
I know what you mean
Last time when my son was about 18mths, I was also very worried that he has speech delay esp my sil kept saying so. The PD told us as long as he knows how to call "papa" and "mama" and a few other words, it is considered ok. Usually when a kid starts to mix with other kids, he/she would be influenced by one another and would start to speak up more liao. </font>

Elch,
I thought u were so creative with your cooking receipe and Dylan wont get bored. I must really salute Bryan for withstanding the boring cereals for lunch and dinner during wkends! hahaha..so now he's had enough and decided to rebel!

<font color="aa00aa">Gio
When my kids threw tantrums and laid on the floor to cry, I just let them be and cry until they got tired. Sometimes they cried till they fell asleep. At times I would punish him/her by locking him/her in the play yard. I refused to give in to them cos once you give in, they would use the same method to get their ways next time. Of course my heart aches when I see them crying in such way but I have no choice. </font>

bigflamingo- Heeee thxs thxs soo paiseh lah... Let me kw how much to pay for postage ok..No hurry to send me, just post to me when u are convenient.. ;) *Appreciates*

<font color="aa00aa">
Phtanus,
take things easy. i m sure ur boy will be able to talk soon. for mine, is becoz Regine is #2. so she will be able to talk faster coz she has a older sibling.

mousebb,
i muz really give "WORD WORLD" 2 thumbs up!!

everafter,
hehehe... ya lor. Buffy is a certified liao leh.

btw, wat did you mummies had for lunch? due to such raining &amp; cold weather, i had curry chicken noodle. yummy! yummy!

Regarding tantrums, drives me nuts when Jules does his tofu arms trick and slides down to the floor so I cant pick him up. Usually I will leave him there till he's done with his tantrum since there is nothing else I can do!

Anyone know how to get them to sit in their chairs at restaurants for the duration of the meal? Coz he starts to struggle and complain after just 10 min and wants to run ard.

everafter,
Haha...laziness in me forces me to be creative! Cooking according to recipe requires too many ingredients and too much time so have to cut down and cut short those ingredients and time! Dylan's hard to feed although I do try to make different stuff for him to eat! You may consider adding different fruits and etc to cereal if you want to give Bryan cereal again...

bigflamingo
i suppose u tried toys already? the other thing i tried was, hv hubby take him out first after reading the menu. u help place orders. when food comes, sit him them with you for the meal. if out on ur own, think can only tahan... mine's like that too... but she loves food too much not to stay in her chair unless she's had enough!

Talking abt eating outside, this is really the WORST of all. Cos our kid will be all out to embarass us! Bryan biscally is not a greedy boy, he's only interested with the various utensils on the table! We tried giving him the bb set, but it always ended up on the floor. so we gave up! At one pt where my hb got so frustrated, he actually turned his chair so that he wont see us. Sometimes it works as there other patrons in the restaurant who could keep him entertained! hahaaa...

<font color="aa00aa">big flamingo,
wat i did was i try to keep them busy.

normally i bring along snacks like cornflakes &amp; honeystars. crayola colour makers &amp; the colouring books.

wow all talking abt feeding and eating.. my notti boy will not eat 2 same meal for lunch and dinner so my mum hv to cook separate things for him. as for wkends, lazy me will hv a simple lunch/dinner for him and thats cereal coz sooooo simple to prepare :p

everafter,
i like ur idea of "turned his chair so that he wont see us...other patrons in the restaurant who could keep him entertained!" let me try and hope it works.

<font color="0077aa">re food time. C also cannot sit still sometimes lah so we have to share a bit of our food with her and like Icylemon, I bring along books, colouring books (with stickers works better for C) and also crayons.

Jelly/Vanilla/Elch/Ruffles: there is some delay with regards to our DVDs. I am gonna contact Borderlinx in a moment to check on the status. Apologies. Will chase up</font>

food time,
same here. sometimes rianne cannot sit still. there was once that she had a tantrum. she wanted all our spoons including the ones that dropped on the floor. had to carry her in order for her to stop crying. but usually, we just share our food with her or let her play with my hp pouch. she's into zippers lately.