(2008/10) Oct 2008

mousebb,
i am trying to teach rianne numbers but every time i say 1... she'll go "ha-ha-ha" like the count from sesame street. every number i say ends with a ha-ha-ha. but somehow i think she remembers it cause she can say 1,2,3 when she is talking to herself. hehe.

hi hi everyone!
Mousebb and Eelyn,
My kid is just obsessed with numbers. He has to stop and read out every single number he sees, on the doors, carpark lots, supermarket prices... So far he can count 1 to 10, except for 7 which he can't pronounce. So it takes us FOREVER to walk anywhere haha.

joanne,
hehe.. my MIL is stressing me to potty train her. i dont mind waiting actually. i've heard "mix reviews" abt potty training. some told me poo is easier, some said pee.. one of my friend's kids refuse to poo in potty till she was 4. but she will tell her mom she wants to poo and request to put diapers on.

bigflamingo,
lol! that's adorable!.. kaitlyn likes alphabets. but everything is A to her.. so when she sees big signs, she'll go "A A A!!" its quite embarressing sometimes cos i tink strangers turn ard thinking someone is calling them "EH!"

<font color="aa00aa">eelyn

re: potty training
Not yet cos I'm dealing with my son now. This boy has given me lots of problems. He always wait till he finished his "business" and he tell me about it. I checked with his teacher and was told he is able to tell his teacher whenever he need to do his "business" and so he purposely do it to "torture" me at home. I'm worry if I train my gal now, the two of them would end up doing "business" together (monkey see monkey do) and I will have endless cleaning and washing to do!!! My hubby said this is the price to pay for potty training!!!</font>

bpa free products,
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3887395.html?1272249543

11 more to MOQ, anyone interested do PM me. Prices lower for our group.

<font color="119911">mint,
i ended up getting my friend to carry 1 back for me, still waiting

check with jelly, think i saw her ordering thru BP

<font color="0000ff">Cheerbear,

Thxs..slightly better tdy but head still feels heavy -_-"...

Buffy,

Hope you get your other half of the loot soon *pat pat*

Mousebb,

Now into 2nd trim...

Eelyn,

Got severe migraine attacks on/off and it doesn't goes off

<font color="aa00aa">hi mousebb,
yup. Rachel is ok. She is back to school today. Regine is recovering too. today is her 7th day. i have yet to bring her for review.

did you seek GP or PD's advice? there is a possibility of having HFMD again in 1 or 2 years time. i asked my GP alot of qns.

<font color="119911">bigflamingo,
Jules is so clever, already knows 1 to 10 (^_-)b impressive!

eelyn,
i want a lunch box, will go post on your BP thread

potty training :
it's normal for our toddlers to start with telling us AFTER they r done now, they will slowly catch up to tell us b4 de...so do bear with them. In case u r wondering, Nat is the same, telling us after the done deal

jjmom,
think I dun think so hard anymore... I shall just get it from toys r us since they having a promotion on it.... heehee!

<font color="aa00aa">mint &amp; karen,
can organise another lunch next week or the week after again. today i can't make it. last week on long leave liao. so this week i m be good.

<font color="119911">bluey,
sigh...poor mommy, hope u will get better soon *hugz*

buffy,
phew...at least your loot is not lost, delay is better than nothing

Thanks thanks JJMom.
Dunno if it's smartness or sheer determination. I also don't understand why he is so hardworking when it comes to numbers and words. Coz I was very very lazy in school! I'm glad though!

Hello Mummies!
Brought Bryan for his 18mths jab and PD says he's slow with his speech
Will monitor and review when he's 2YO, otherwise might need to send for speeh class. She said one of the reasons could be he's not mixing ard with other kids. Sigh~ He refused to stand by the wall to let us measure his height but his weight still hovering at 11kgs+ (same frm the last visit in Oct). I've stopped cooking for his meals since mths ago cos he simply refused to eat. Now he rejects the cereals as well..sometimes we gave him our food, but cos he only hv 5 miserable teeth, he cant really chew his food. last weekend, i'm back to cookin again. Perhaps he really HAD ENOUGH of cereals so he's eating..But still we gotta distract him and let him play with light switches! sigh~

bigflamingo,
lol.. imagine the 2 of the together rapping the A's..

bluey,
oh no.. hope its subsides soon. my preg is smooth now.. just backaches. not looking forward to the heartburns in 3rd tri.. haha.

jjmom,
tks.

joanne,
haha! so great that u r still bf-ing. i reckon its an old wives tale. if u dont mind bf-ing n not planning for 2nd.. go ahead n continue.. save money and its best for rianne!

<font color="ff0000">Good Morning Mommies!!

How was your weekend?? Mine was really crap all because of Skylar!!!! Don't know why, she used to be quite easy and sweet but suddenly it's like i have a crying hellion. She wants everything her ways and if u don't let her, she will cry. She cried at every damn things now. Yesterday brought her for dim sum at Fullerton Hotel, didn't want her milk before we went out then cried on the way there cos hunger. When we got there, get her milk then she doesn't want it. Fine so we ordered some porridge for her, she took a few mouthful then wants to bang her spoons on the table, we took it off her and she cried again. Waitress sees her cry, tried to talk to her, she cried louder, in the end we didn't eat much. Then we go to my sister's place, she cried non-stop. By then, i was so mentally stressed that all i want is just go home. Only when we are on our way home then she got tired and slept.
I really don't know what on earth happened to her. It's like our fun little sweetheart is gone and in place we have a little hellion from hell. God.......

bigflamingo,
kaitlyn is still on formula. but she does drink fresh milk on occasion. i've also been wondering whether fresh milk is good enough for her now. so i can stop lugging my thermosflask around. haha

<font color="ff0000">Bigflamingo,
Skylar is on Pediasure but she does drink fresh milk in the afternoon. She like the flavoured ones like banana, strawberry and chocolate.

<font color="aa00aa">R&amp;R mum
We sought GP's advice
. This GP that we are seeing is quite good and he is very detailed in checking.

everafter
Dont worry too much. Am sure Bryan will start to speak more words when he attend cc. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">big flamingo,
is still advisable to let out tods to depends on FM. coz there are some nutrients inside FM that fresh milk does not have.

same as eelyn, i did give Regine fresh milk on certain occassion. like maybe at Mac. when we have Mac bfast. I will ask for fresh milk for their happy meals.

they are still young. continue FM for them will be good.

<font color="aa00aa">bigflamingo
My kids drink fresh milk occasionally and I always worry they would reject fm after that since fresh milk is cold and sweeter than fm. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">everafter,
agree with mousebb. dun worry. once the kids go to CC they will talk alot alot. then you will wish they can keep quiet. kekeke....

i have a colleague whose son started to talk only at the age of 4. he too was told tat he need to send his son for some speech class. he was referred to NUH. somehow or rather it din works. so dun worry. if a kid is ready to talk, they will talk.

Actually we din intend to bring wenmin back to doctor for review (and the doctor din tell us too) since she havent started school yet. It so happened that we brought along the gal when wenxuan went to the doctor for review and the doctor was so nice to check on her since she was there.</font>

Re: gathering during lunch

i m keen! today i cant.

Re: formula

i still let my son drink formula. Prefer fm to fresh milk cos more nutrients i feel.

Haha!!! Exactly!!!! Sometime I just wish that my kids can shut up their mouths and give me some peace!!! Nowadays wenxuan can even give instruction to wenmin tell her "go here go there", "take this take that", "give korkor" etc until sometimes I really feel buay tahan. The only peaceful time I have is when both of them are sleeping!!!</font>

Mousebb/R&amp;R mum,
Ya..the PD says could be he's plainly stubborn and refused to talk...sigh not even "mama" or "papa" lor..but at least he's signing bye-bye, please and gd-bye kiss.hee..i think next time i will trick him to talk and reward him by taking him out (he really loves to go out). Yesterday, my hb brought him out for a stroll.. he ran and gave me his pacifier..i was teasing him n refused to take it and he's screaming and keep pointing to the door! hahaa...sometimes i find that its really funny when he's not talking and the little things he do that we've to guess

Gioanna,
kaitlyn has been throwing tantrums much more often as well. i try to be firm with her but it seems them more firm the louder she screams n cries.. i end up losing the battle.
sigh.. timeout doesnt work for me.. dont think she understands that. i smack her hand lightly but no use either. must carry her somewhere else to distract her from the actual problem end up can't discipline her. luckily im home now. will be si stressed if i'm at my in laws. hopefully she stops her tantrums before we go back to sg.. not looking forward to it.. argh!

<font color="aa00aa">mousebb,

hfmd : ya me too. coz Regine dun goes to school too. i oso feel tat there is no need for review.

speech : ya boy!! they talk too much we oso fan. kekeke....

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
My princess will "blow up" when sometimes we couldnt guess what she wants and she would bury her head on her pillow and cry loudly!!! </font>

Yoohoo – Such a wet Mon and I wish I am at home loafing around with my cutey 

Thanks for Lilbluey and R&amp;R, I had my crab bee hoon fix over the weekend. Vicky enjoyed the bee hoon too and kept giving us the thumbs-up 
Meal times – It’s been difficult feeding her for a month already, and you need to distract her with all sorts of things. Menu also needs to keep changing. Thankfully she still eats most of her meals and eats anything when we go out. I’ve started adding fresh mushrooms to her porridge.
Milk – She is on fresh full cream since 13mths on her PD’s recommendation. He thinks FM is no different from fresh milk which will help her gain weight. She loves it needless to say. FM is given once or twice a day and when we go out.

Potty training – It’s a good sign that your bub has started telling you that he has pooped; read that it signals potty readiness and can slowly teach to alert before he poops. Vicky is already ready and takes to the pot when she needs to. But I am delaying her a bit till di di is born as I read they tend to regress when a new baby comes  She can tell me she wants to poo / when she has done the act. Rather cute.

Bigflamingo – yr son is super cute! Maybe he will grow up to be a mathematician!!!

Buffy – Tell me about the recent BPs we joined! Crap.

<font color="aa00aa">everafter,
tat's very good. at least he is willingly to sign to you.

actually i dun know leh. maybe some mummies here dun like lah. my girls learnt some words from watching BARNEY. they pick up words from there pretty fast.

<font color="aa00aa">Gio, eelyn
Yesterday my hubby just mentioned to me he read on the newspapers on the "terrible 2"!!! I guess our kids are approaching to this stage now. Currently my monster son is at this stage and he always throw tantrums and give me nonsense until sometimes I really feel like slapping him. I kept telling my hubby how I wish I can put him back in my tummy again!!! Now my gal's turn is coming! Very sian!!!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Jjmom,

Eelyn,

Lucky you to have a smooth 2nd trim!

Everafter,

Am sure Bryan will catch up very soon, dun worry too much

Most importantly, he's healthy

everafter,
Same as Bryan, my Isaac also cant speak yet, not sure how can we encourage them to talk? Sigh...But he has no problem in understanding me, and will use his own way to express his needs to me, so I guess he just refused to talk! The only word from him is "ba ba" when he saw buses on the road, that's all. He will just wa wa wa, ah ah ah, yi yi yi, o o o....very slow in the speech.

R&amp;R mum,
My son watched Barney too, but he still cant talk.
But am not too worry la since he can understand me most of the time, just hoping I can find a way to encourage him to talk.

My kids learn from mickey mouse club house and word world and other cartoon shows. That's why I dont mind let them watch the disney channel. At least they would sit down and keep quiet for a few moments and learn something at the same time. Wenxuan can tell me the name of the gift dragon (dibo) and the big red dog (clifford) now. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">bluey
I remember my gynae said the migraine will slowly go away in the 2nd trimester. Jiayou!</font>

Mousebb,
at least she bury into her pillow (lower down the noise level)?? hahaha...:p sometimes when Bryan is crying, i felt paiseh..my neighbours muz b thinking "that brat kid is bk hm again"! sometimes during weekdays when i hear cries, i would suddenly tot is it Bryan crying? then the next moment bring myself back to reality that he's at my mum's plc!

R&amp;Rmum,
Ya, i'm glad that though he's not talkin but he's signing abit. But i dunno abt signing, mayb should go learn frm Buffy! hee.. sometimes when he wants us to bring him out, he'll do all the 3 signs! hahaa...very comical!

Lilbluey,
Hope so lor! How's your #2? is the gender confirm already?

Phtanus,
Have Isaac mummble mama/papa before? I've known a few toddler who cant talk yet, but at least said mama/papa? Bryan can identify cat/dog/cow and will point whenever he see them on tv or in real life. I guess it's time i bring him to the zoo again!

Yesterday i'm teaching him nose/ear in engilsh as my mum taught him in mandarin. He kept laughing whenever my hb asked him where is his nose/ear!! i really dunno what's so funny leh

everafter
hmm, I have to disagree with your pd based on what I learnt. The speech therapist at the workshop a bunch of us went to, said that it's not true boys speech is slow but rather, they CHOOSE not to speak. I think that's the case with Bryan. I find it too early to say that he has a speech problem.

About socialising with other kids, umm, what words can Bryan learn from other toddlers?!

I think most importantly, keep on talking a lot to him.