(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0000ff">Little Doggie,

Did u see any improvement after the first dose?

Some physician will recommend taking it once every alternate days, not a problem if you are giving him the 2nd pack tmr.

<font color="0077aa">*bleah* waiting for my coll still so have not gone out for lunch...

JJMom/Bluey: yah, I am aware, just that for old folks, a bit hard to get them to understand because my parents are v into TCM... I mean, if someone can be allergic to simple things like eggs and other food stuff, they can also be allergic to some of the herbs what since they are still plants...

Bluey: I did not know that Ma Yau Yu may worsen phlegm leh... Thanks for sharing...</font>

<font color="0000ff">Elch/Little Doggie,

For cough/phelgm, can boil the "chuan bei" with the "dried mandarin orange - gek pia" as well

Lilbluey,
Ok...thanks!

vanilla,
Any changes to E's sleeping habit after diluting his milk and etc? Dylan's been waking up asking for milk at odd hours 1-2 times per night...tried giving him water and he'll drink some of it but still ask for milk only to take 1-2 sips...very 'bo liao'...waste my effort to get out of bed!

hi elch - my efforts had to be stop temp cos he had gast flu and becos i gave diluted milk and he ate less thruout the day, he woke up alot of times these 3 nights for milk.

This morning, i fed up and gave full feed at 2am but my dear fren drink 50ml out of 150ml and slept. I heartpain cos the FM so exp..make him drink 30ml more..then 6am wake up again. before that 1245am...so it is abt 3 times. By 6am he wakes up my sleep gone liao.

ya my boy b4 he fell sick is like Dylan, gave water he spits out the teat and want real milk!

vanilla,
Dylan will not spits out the teat, he'll drink the water happily for a few seconds or even a min or 2 making me think that I can stay on bed only to return me the bottle with water asking for milk! He's obviously not hungry but just out of habit to ask for milk as he just take 1-2 sips...

libluey, actually i give him the pearl powder is becos his temperature is abit higher than his normal temperature and not for his phlgem....keke...he was like coughing a bit only on friday. I susupect his phglem got worst cos i give him the wu yu last evening and i can hear him cough more frequently last nite in his sleep.

another question, if i dun want to give chinese medicines like chuan bei/pearl powder, any other things i can give to reduce phlgem...haha...think i asking the impossible...

actually if your boy doesn't has a lot of phelgm try not to give pearl powder, give oni when it's getting very bad and prolonged...

If you want to "bring down the liver's heat" u shd boil some "ling yang" instead, it's more effective...

Then boil those nam shui pear with rock sugar and almonds, easily available and good!

There's tis Flumicil satchets which I believe you can get from pharmacy, helps to reduce phelgm but then I still dun really fancy "english medicine"

doesn't really get rid of the root of the problem...

try avoiding giving your boy eggs as well during tis period.

little doggie
this is just my observation when my ger has phlgem...am not a doc so dun quote me. i used to observe if the "phlgem" was from the nose or lungs... there is a difference bcos if the phlgem was produced by the nose, strictly speaking, its a congestion and can be cleared by anti-histamines. if it is caused by the lungs aka infection of the airways, you will need to take meds that help to stop the infection of the airways like ventolin syrup, etc.

actually, by listening to ur boy, u maybe able to tell where his congestion is from.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">mummies,

dun use "wu yu", then use what fish??? Some fish stinks...</font></font>

Lilbluey, i seldom give egg so no worries. The Flumicil satchets i have at home, but i want to avoil letting him eat too many english medicine. On the pearl powder, i will wait and see how first. Cos i juz started him on his english medicines this morning "dhyasle" (forget how to spell, it is the black color syrup for dry cough).

Re: boil those nam shui pear with rock sugar and almonds...where can i get the almonds? can use winter melon sugar instead?

jellypurin, can clarify how u know the "phlgem was from nose....cos i did hear some nose from his nose n throat. btw what is anti-histamines?

another thing, juz wonder if prune will cause more phlegm or not cos i noticed tat he started to have this phlgem issue at the same time that i give him the nestle oat and prune cereal.

Phlem:
Jelly's observation is quite right. My boy keep having phlem but no cough. PD said it's due to sensitive and blocked nose so gave nose drops and zyrtec instead of phlem med. But since it's not lung prob I dunno if TCM such as pearl powder, almond etc will help?

Mousebb and vanilla,
glad that WX, WM and E are on their way to recovery.

Vanilla, enjoy your trip. Some toddlers eat better when they are away on holiday, plus the day activities make them tired, E may automatically sleep thru :p

Elch:
Dunno if it'll work for Dylan, maybe If he wakes up u try make him sleep again? Will he make noise if you don't give him milk? Think he is just used to waking up middle of the nite since like you said he is not hungry.

<font color="0077aa">bluey: heee... my mummy also make that pear with the lam hang pek hang for us... i think previously, she ever tried another method where she did not add rock sugar - placed all the pears (diced up lah) in the slow cooker and let it "cook" and the juice will start forming lor... can add water and the lam hang pek hang in side...

alternatively hor, she would make soup with those sweet almond with lean meat and chen pi and wo hua guo i think... i cannot recall if she added in other stuff. i am the soup / tonic machine, just open mouth and drink only... :p</font>

Is it true the 18th month jab is the most 'xiong' jab? As in very high chance of getting fever and many kids after the jab will gradually slim down coz somehow never get back their appetite?

little doggie
from the last bout of flu my bb got, she seemed to hv loads of mucous gathered in her nose. she cannot purge it out properly and when she slps, she needs to slp on a pillow to help her breath better. she does not have a "wet cough"... its a dry one... in that manner, i will suspect she has a nasal problem rather then a lung problem.

to me, a lung problem is far more difficult to treat issue than nose

anti-histamines are drugs to treat allergic symptoms like running nose, block nose, even eczema...

wan chuen
i dun think that booster is the most xiong. remember those days when people say that pnemo jab will cause fever most of the time? by the time rebby took her last pnemo jab, she did not have fever liao... so i think it depends on the kid...

thanks Wan cheun..haha this mummy bringing his food blender so can make him makan. I think some days i lazy i go cafe/restaurant and ask the chef - boil some carrots, steam fish dun add anything except olive oil and make him eat!

yesterday he v funny..we were eating and he climbed to our table, signed many many (food) and pretend to take something and put in his mouth. My dad keep saying..cannot all spicy. He wanted to eat the sambal sotong!

Wan Chuen,
So far I've not really make him sleep when he nag/'chant' for 'milk milk'...shall try to make him sleep without acceding to his request tonight and see if he'll cry the house down!

Jellypurin:
thanks, then I just keep my fingers crossed hope my boy is ok after his jab tom. Is ur back better? Did u go for the juzmusic course preview?

wan chuen/jellypurin, i read ur msg till i blur blur liao...hehe....think i let him drink the medicine for 2 more days if not better than bring him to pd to diagnose.

Thanks for ur advise.

<font color="119911">This method is passed on to me by my mom &amp; nanny. Not sure if it works with others but i tried it when Nat has phelgm &amp; did felt it then.

phelgm from the lung :
place your palm flatly at the <font color="ff0000">back</font> somewhere at the chest level. If there is phelgm at the lung, u will feel some 'vibration' when the child breathe.</font>

<font color="119911">jelly,
so far, only u pm me abt the gap pjs, seems like no 1 else keen on it
may have to cancel

Jelly:
Do take care
it's ok I kpo abt juzmusic only heh.

Vanilla:
Wa wa u very hardworking to even bring the blender. But E still need his food blended? Ya just 'special order' some food from the restr, even if it's the same way as u cooked it, they may enjoy it more. Haha E so funny, our buds always beo adult food.

Little doggie:
ya if not sure then better bring to PD lor. For my boy I keep hearing his heavy breathing.

thanks Wan cheun..haha this mummy bringing his food blender so can make him makan. I think some days i lazy i go cafe/restaurant and ask the chef - boil some carrots, steam fish dun add anything except olive oil and make him eat!

yesterday he v funny..we were eating and he climbed to our table, signed many many (food) and pretend to take something and put in his mouth. My dad keep saying..cannot all spicy. He wanted to eat the sambal sotong!

Elch:
haha not sure if u can do it, but I very hard hearted I just let my boy cry the last time. I even told my hub to sleep in the guest room if he can't tahan.

opps..dun know why the post keeps repeating..me like broken recorder!

haha wan cheun - i also want to be hard heartened....but frankly i need to be hard at hearing first cos E cries super loud...

Karen - How low are the wooden tables you're looking for? Is it like a train table sort of low or something for our tots to sit at and draw? I think Ikea has a good selection and very affordable too. I got some wooden tables at Sur La Table and pair those with the storage chairs from The Land of Nod but I have a lower table set from Ikea that has worked well for my kids. DS1 used that for crafts alot when he was younger. We just use a coffee table for the kids to play with their Little People and trains.

good morning!

Re: fitti
mint, its cheap but u staying at jurong west so not convenient. thks for asking.

actually which is better? fitti premium or huggies dry? cos i think is abt the same price rite

good morning!

i'm sporting a slightly swollen broken nose today. rianne woke up early, sat up and suddenly free-fall back on the bed hitting her head straight on my nose. so painful!

Morning!!

Joanne, same thing happened to me over the weekend. But miki fell on my face and impact was on my mouth. I had a swollen lip for a few days. Luckily better today. Reprimanded her for her dangerous stunt. Sigh these gals are fearless! Scary!

morn mommies
Talk abt fearless tots, mine's e same. She fell off an arm chair on sat eve and she's back at e arm chair doing e same stunt minutes later!

jjmom, busybee,
thanks! rianne decided that it was fun doing that recently. i just didn't expect that she'll do it so early in the morning. they are indeed fearless. rianne also hits my mouth. i've been having mouth ulcers because of it.