(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="ff0000">Mommies, are your babies very scared of strangers? Skylar used to be okay with pple. She will smile at the odd auntie or uncle who said hello at the supermarket, okay with the doctor and even play with the receptionist at the doctor. BUT I noticed everything seems different now. She will cry and whine when anyone came up to say hello when we go out, screammed and cried when the doctor touched her, she even cried when the NTUC cashier touched her hand and said "Gal gal, what's your name??"

Oh actually i think it was more of the blur waitress' fault. The manager was trying his best already. He was quite attentive. Actually, was it unreasonable for me to think I would get a refund if i hardly touched my food and they threw it away?

Maybe it was the combination of the heat, puke smell, anxiety of people waiting for me in the car and hunger that really made me lose it! I'm really quite a chilled person!

<font color="119911">Gio,
oh dear, poor u &amp; the kids! Take care &amp; get well soon, every1 *hugz*

Hmm...is skylar teething? Or mayb it's juz a passing phase? But Nat is also rather whiney over every nothing these days (-___-)''</font>

<font color="ff0000">Bigflamingo
What bloody lousy service and they actually dare charge you $60?? Well that's excellent customer service isn't it? ;)

My hubby and I brought Skylar to States to see his parent last month and we had a bad experience dining at Sunny's one evening, the manager actually tore our bill and asked us to give them another chance to make up for their lapse in service. He also give us a 50% discount voucher that we can use on our next visit, that's what i call great customer service. I mean it's unavoidable that staff screw things up sometimes but the management should step in and make amends.

JJmom and Gio,

Ya, I would have felt better if they at least refunded my dish. Not asking for the whole bill to be refunded even. 10% is kinda pathetic.

hmm..Gio in spore bad customer service is the norm. We had our brekkie in a new cafe next to church and they pissed my hb off that he told them off. we told them we need our order in a hurry, the waiter said ok and then walked away shaking his head and tsk tsk us... i ordered before another table but they got their food first!

Bigflamingo - even if it is the waitress fault - the manager still shld not double charge u... poor Jules..i hope he is better

Gio - my son still smilely at everyone including pets! Only thing is strangers he does not allow them to carry him. If it is usual mummies i talk to, he will venture to hug the mummies and children. He even tried kissing the auntie at our supermarket - on her LIPS!!! i had to stop him in time...

Gio,

Yeah. J is more wary of strangers handling him now. He will shake his head and say no when an unfamilar person tries to carry him. I think it's natural. I just ask him to blow kisses instead, so the adult doesnt feel hurt

<font color="ff0000">Vanilla,
She used to be okay with meds leh. Yesterday i tried every ways like giving her sweets to coax her, sweet talk etc, nothing works so my hubby and I have to pin her down and squirt the meds into her mouth. Damn dramatic!!

JJmom,
Her teething seems to have stopped after her molar came out. Her appetite is back to normal and drinking her milk again..... sigh but now she got her flu, her appetite had gone down south again.

hi Gio - i add to his milk - put abit in a separate bot. He can distinguish this med cos i think more yucky. I had to bribe him w signing times videos on my iphone! the other day i lied saying the milk is cold that is why taste different.

elch, pls share with me if u manage to find the remedy to reduce phlegm/cough besides medication for toddler. My young one having slight cough now too. sighz.

<font color="0000ff">Bigflamingo,

It's so unfortunate that you met with such service standard, U shd have asked for a refund instead.

I think you are not wrong to ask for a refund becos they were the one in the wrong to throw away your food instead of acceding to your request!

Elch,

Are u into herbal concoction? if so, can recommend you to boil something for Dylan to try..

<font color="ff0000">Yeah i agree that the customer service level in is generally average. Hehe seems like your son is the charmer. I hope Skylar gets over this stage soon, it's damn irritating cos i hate ppl whinning. I tried bribing her with mickey mouse video and sweets too, doesn't work though, she just doesn't want that meds near her.

Gio, JJmom,
Dylan's been pretty whiney these few weeks too...hope it's a passing phase! He's very sticky to me over the past weeks and keeps asking me to carry him for no apparent reason! Once outside, he's back to normal self and wants to be let down and run around but at home he just want to stick himself to me and whine if I refuse...

little doggie,
Sure...lots of mummies here with TCM knowledge so we just got to wait for their remedy! Hee! My boy caught the virus from my bro and developed fever, running nose and cough last Thurs and thank god his fever went away on Sat morning...now trying to get rid of his running nose and cough/phlegm...

<font color="0077aa">afternoon all... sorry to read that so many of our bubs are not feeling well...

hey, not sure if this is any useful but one of my ex coll's BIL is a GP. He swears by adding fresh Huai Shan into soups / soft rice, etc., for his 2 kids and all the kids in her household do the same. Apparently it is good for building up the immunity system.

Of course, it is not a miracle thing but apparently it makes the kids stronger and even when they are exposed to germs / other kids who are sick, they dun get it bad lor.

Here's a look at the "claims":

Wild Yam ( Huai Shan ) 淮山 Medical Function:
• Promotes urination.
• Lower blood sugar.
• Lower blood pressure.
• Antibiotic.
• Anti aging.
• Improves digestive system. Correct pixu condition

In addition helps with liver problems, blood detoxication, hair loss, joint-related issues, and to support kidneys. Hence, all these leads to better immune system.

Wild Yam ( Huai Shan ) 淮山 Action:
Tonifies the Qi and Yin of the Spleen and Stomach
For Deficiency of the Spleen and Stomach with lack of appetite and energy, loose stools, spontaneous sweating, abdominal distention after eating, and a pale tongue. It can be used alone in large doses for this purpose.

Tonifies the Qi and Yin of the Lung
For Lung Qi and Yin Deficiency characterized by chronic coughing and wheezing. If Yin Deficiency is pronounced, there may be no sputum or very small amounts of sticky sputum.

Tonifies Yin
Nourishing, slightly astringent, and not drying, this herb is effective at treating Xiao Ke (wasting and thirsting syndrome). It can be used alone in large quantities for this purpose.

Tonifies Kidney Yin and Stabilizes the Kidneys

Wild Yam ( Huai Shan ) 淮山 Cautions Use:
Wild Yam ( Huai Shan ) 淮山 should not be use in cases of liver yang ascending and urination difficulty due to urinary tract infection (damp-heat).

Just to share lah</font>

<font color="119911">buffy,
yes, 淮山 is vy gd for our toddlers. So if u r really keen, y not go a little further &amp; juz give 四神粉 which is make up of 茯苓、山藥 (淮山)、芡實、蓮子、薏仁.

i add this 四神粉 + brown rice cereal into Nat's last milk feed every nite

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee
Thanks! This morning hubby called to tell me that one of his colleagues also got HFMD 1 week after his kid has recovered. This means that this week is very crucial to us. My friend told me the same thing too. She and her hubby got is after their 2 kids have recovered. Now I'm praying hard that neither me nor hubby would get it! </font>

<font color="0077aa">JJMom: hee... my mummy bought for C and we add it in once in a while too... except when C is take ang mo medication or when she is v heaty 'cos we will be giving her other stuff to "xiao rei".

For Huai Shan, its a bit more regular because C thinks it is potatoes so no effort there lor!!!! WAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

eh, your 四神粉, how much u add ah? I dunno what "dosage" my mummy gives but I wanna double check...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Vanilla
Am bringing my gal for her jab on this Friday. Each time when she is at the PD's clinic she would chiong for the toys. I guess we have to stop her this time after I read your post.</font>

i got the 四神粉 from 'yu ren shen'. It comes with a small spoon &amp; i m told to give 1 spoon every day. Somedays i also skip too.

If juz 淮山, can cook into soup for porridge or noodle, nice too.</font>

buffy/JJmon, i normal add the Huai Shan into my kiddy's porridge, but they dun eal the huai shan. so still helpful? how offen do u give ur kid?

where u all get the 四神粉 from? i heard this can increase one's appetite.

<font color="0077aa">JJMom: thanks. I think my mummy bought from the Eu Yan San too 'cos I need my daily Hua Qi Zhen tea from there so she'd get it at the same place... I think also around the same dosage leh. But I will double check again. 'Cos my nephew took the phelgm powder and had an adverse allergic reaction to it. Eyes swollen until wah, like got into a fight. Since then, I am a bit more cautious lor...

Little Doggie: Like JJMom, we add it into soup, porridge or soft rice and yes, Cate eats it too. The taste is like potato lah. Having said that, I am talking about the fresh Huai Shan, not the dried ones from medical hall?

So far, knock on wood, C has been on it for a few months I think? So far so good... JJMom: Nat leh? Does it work for her too?</font>

Buffy, ya i bought from ntuc, those long brown vegetable....so happen i bought and cook for them last weekend. but wonder can they consume Huai Shan everyday? i only put in like 7cm long of Huai Shan (remove the skin then slice into pieces to add their porridge, for abt 1-2 hours).

yes, the hua qi shen tea bag is gd &amp; so convenient hor, we also like it. But now we juz buy the whole pieces &amp; get them to slice it for us. Then juz add into soup or juz boiling hot water with it to drink.

oh dear...poor boy, which phelgm powder is that? 喉宁粉 hou ning fen?how old is your nephew?

doggie,
hmm...i think don't need to take Huai Shan everyday lah, also vy sianz for your kids mah. Shd try to have diff food everyday

<font color="0077aa">JJMom: ya, I think it is the 喉宁粉. Thats the one that costs around SGD50? When he took it, he was around 2YO, his eyes were sooooooo swollen and puffy to the extent that he could barely open his eyes. He also told us that because it was puffy, when he opens his eyes, they are heavy and hence a tad sore/tender.

I am the weird one 'cos I like the taste of Ginseng... So, I prefer the tea bags one or if in slices, I would prefer to boil them a bit so that it is stronger... :p And I add just a tad of salt too. I belong to the v v v heaty type and Huai Qi Shen works for me to "Jiang Huo"...

Littledoggie: no lah, C does not take it everyday, I think 2 - 3 times a week.

buffy/jjmom, ok...2-3 times a week.

any idea if our kids are having cough, can give fish or not har...i heard fish will give them more phlegm.

<font color="119911">doggie,
hmm...i only hear chicken triggers phelgm, not fish leh.

Also best to avoid orange &amp; cooling fruits when coughing

your nephew must b allergic to some herbs in the 喉宁粉. Is he allergic to any other food?</font>

<font color="0077aa">doggie: ang mo doctors apparently said best to avoid fish... but i still give anyway because between fish and chicken, i find chicken more toxic when it comes to phelgm wor... and C prefers fish to chicken so I dun have much choice... LOL... talk later... gg for a damn late lunch</font>

<font color="0077aa">JJMom: ya, I thought so too but my folks said that it is chinese med and so, is natural and should not have any allergy, etc... so, i leave my bro to talk to them. :p

hmmm... so far, he does not have any allergy reaction though he did have a mild asthma attack and this is inherited because my bro and mum are asthmatic... so i am sure he is allergic to some stuff just not sure what</font>

although the herbs r natural but 1 can still b allergic to it. It's juz a diff body system reaction, not the herb being bad or something. Yah but i guess it's tough to get it thru to the folks

Ic, so your nephew has to be a little more cautious of what he eats

<font color="0000ff">Re: Huai Shan,

Yes it is indeed a very good herb, it can be add with lotus root to cook or any other soup that you desire

For Cough/Phelgm:

喉宁粉 is one of the recommended one, else another would be pearl powder, but must use it sparingly.

Mommies can go to the medical hall and buy some "chuan bei" with some "shan char slices" to boil and give to your child. Another alternative is cordyceps double boiled with lean meat, it works extremely well, nourish the lungs, aids cough recovery as well as boost the immunity system.

Little Doggie,

Certain fish like "wu yu" will cause some phelgm, so if your child is having cough try to avoid giving tis fish, avoid chicken as well.

<font color="0000ff">Buffy,

JJmom is right, there are some pple who are allergic to certain chinese herbs but one may be unable to pinpoint it out due to the many components used in a formula...so better to be careful if your nephew develops sign of allergic to chinese medicine.

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla,

Chinese pears "nourish the lungs" as well, but normally boil it with some rock sugar and with 'almonds - nan xing bei xing'

yes..my boy is rather sensitive to chinese med so i have to b v careful. when he is young we give si shen fen...he got rashes all over his body. since then i am v cautious. Now only chinese med he takes is cordyceps

Buffy,
I've prepared some fresh Huai Shan for my mum to cook it for Dylan for his meals today...prepared about 10cm of the whole root cut into chunks...hope it's not too much...

Lilbluey,
Thanks! Shall try 1 of these remedy if his cough still persists...

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla,

Cordyceps is one of the more neutral chinese herbs but the price is exhorbitant!! hahaha ;p~

Libluey, wow ur TCM knowledge is good leh :p

what is "wu yu" is it also call "gor yu".

i understand boys not advisable to eat pearl powder too much rite.

yup...but into powder and he takes abit so ok.... but i hate to give him when i make it cos he will be hyper n dun want to nap. haha i blame on the dong cong cao.

<font color="0000ff">Little Doggie,

No lar, just an interest in TCM

Yup, it's the "gor yu" or cantonese called it the "ma yau yu"

Boys are not advisable to take too much pearl powder but if the phelgm persists or there's alot give sparingly, it shd help to clear within a few days..

Vanilla,

Normally my mom will brew it with lean meat and give it to my boy during dinner time as a bowl of soup.

my mil does it sometimes...she makes soup for him. For me i lazy,i put into his rice/porridge. we have to give during lunch cos evening he takes antibotics and the TCM doc say must have 4 hrs break

sorry, libluey, on the pearl powder we cant give everyday rite....so how har? i went to the chinese medical how, bought a $15 and the auntie help me pack into 3 pack. i let him consumed a pack last friday. when u recom to let him consume the other pack? m think to let him drink again this tues.