(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0000ff">Buffy,

Guess you introduce it when Cate was young so it's much more fun for the both of you
and you get a better response.

For my instance, I think it's a bit late now....Think my boy is more verbal..

Vanilla,

I showed him the caterpillar and the zoo and he cringed as thou' I'm showing him some "horror movie" haiz -_-""

hi bluey - haha. E likes the caterpillar and i think it is a good video cos he will be exposed to physically challenged children and to him they are just children.

I am still teaching E signs... but sometimes he make a wrong sign and keep insisting that. Haha.

<font color="0077aa">Bluey: hmmm... not sure leh. 'cos for my niece and nephews, they just watching it recently and they are also engaged... i think it is hard to judge just based on one song 'cos the disc is a bit different as there are things that slowly lead up the song... plus i think like all programmes, would be good to engage them so it can be fun for them too... but each kid to his own lah.
no worries...

on a different note: we went to the Zoo on Sunday and had a ball of a time!!! love it love it! We went there with the corporate card but I am thinking of buying the membership card too leh... any mummies have it?

'cos i noted on the card, there is a photo. but for e.g. if my HB cant go and I go with my helper, will she be admitted or they are strict with allowing entry just to the ppl in the photo?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla,

At least your boy is receptive to it
and $ well spent if you get the DVDs.

Buffy,

I think you are doing a good job with C!! but guess my boy is to his own so I shall just let him develop at his own pace

<font color="119911">mommies,
thanks for all your concern, it's a long story though nothing happened but that may change all my future plans...sad!

Pil wanted to go NTUC with Nat so fil went to get his car, leaving the main gate opened while mil closed the door with Nat. While she is at it, Nat seeing fil gng out, she followed thru the gate &amp; almost walked to the road when a next dr neighbour drove by &amp; horned to alert my pil abt it.

Fil blamed &amp; scolded my mil for it, she broked down &amp; was vy guilty abt what could have happened.

My hubby was really upsetted abt what could have happened to Nat.

He now thinks tat inlaws place is not safe for his gal. So we might need to change the plan of putting Nat at the inlaws after half day cc to full day cc...sigh

I feel guilty &amp; sorry for Nat &amp; my mil's guilt. &amp; worried abt what to do abt Nat's cc choices.

Aside from this, mil has been pretty gd with Nat &amp; i still think what happened is not entirely her fault at all
but i know she is worried abt her capabilities of caring for Nat liao...

Well, fil &amp; sil r talking abt getting an auto main gate. Will need to see how it goes...</font>

Bluey,
Noted with thanks. Haha...Ash still looks very "shuai qi" with the new haircut!

R&amp;R mum,
Yes, bluey answered for me le, am in my 19w now...

Tweety,
Yup, she very steady bom pee pee one, with 2 kids, still can "chiong" at night with frens. Btw, she is my ex-colik, coz i left NUS last Nov.

<font color="aa00aa">Phtanus, congrats u again. (juz in case i missed it last time when you announced).

gender?? i tot someone posted "2". you having twins?

<font color="0000ff">Jjmom,

Hugs..think no one wished for the 'incident' to happen...at tis stage our tods are so active even if we keep a close eye on them, certain things will still happen...

I'm sure your MIL doesn't wish for such thing to happen. Dun think so negatively for now, am sure things will work out on tis own

Cheer up!!

Just got back from my bali trip with hubby and Julian...man! i am not taking him on holidays for a few years! was more work than pleasure! Bali is NOT a place for toddlers, ahha

Bluey,JJmom,
that escalator story is scary!

hi JJmom - take 1 thing at a time. Try half day and see how if Nat and ur mil are ok with that arrangement, maybe ur hb will change his mind? Or do what my fren does..she enrol full day but her PILs will pick up 3/4 day (say 4pm).. the price on FD and HD not much diff but subsidy is $150 more.

<font color="0000ff">Phtanus,

Thanks! I think it makes him look even nottier now ;p~

Was watching the movie "Mongka" the night before, then that Ethan Ruan's hair was oso like that, so I tell my hb it's his fault ! I asked him if he's so inspired by that "bad boy look" ah??

<font color="0000ff">Tweety,

Both Varner and you look awesome in the FB pics that you posted. He's really a little charmer!!

JJMOM,
when my younger sis was less than 2 years old, she was scaling our 6 foot iron gate and walking in the middle of the road by herself (lucky was a quiet neighborhood!) our neighours had to keep rescuing her and bringing her back to the house. After scolding and smacking her bottom, the next min she would try to escape again!

Don't feel too bad. this incident will just make your MIL more alert. And aware of dangers

<font color="0000ff">Bigflamingo,

Muz be really nice to go on a break

Care to share which hotel you stayed in? thot of going for a short getaway with hb w/o my boy thou' wahaha ;p~

jjmom
hugs. no1 wants this thing to happen. think maybe u can try convince ur hubby to let thei matter go? anyway for cc, can enroll full day and pick up after 3pm. am doing the same for rebby as well. told my parents pls pick her up by 4pm if not, i feel v heartpain...

Good morning mummies,
Busy busy day but still I can't resist popping in!

Had another episode with Dylan and his alphabet book yesterday....he passed me his alphabet book and asks me to read to him so I just entertained him and read randomly to 'I for Ice-cream' and he signed 'ice-cream' and keeps nodding his head...I just say 'Yes, that's ice-cream! Clever boy!' but he just went on and suddenly ran out of his room crying 'I want....' I was shocked. Didn't know what went wrong with him. He kept crying and whining while running in and out of his room! I went to him and asked him whether is it that he wants ice-cream and he laughed and nodded his head! Faint! Told him no but he kept crying so hubby gave in and secretly (because we didn't want him to know we've actually got tubs of ice cream stored) dug out a few tsps of vanilla ice cream for him...

Buffy,
I didn't know Dylan can sign 'ice-cream' till yesterday!

Bluey,
It wasnt a break! ahhaha. seriously. He was very very naughty. kept choing-ing everywhere, fell on his head twice, got his fingers jammed in the stroller, almost hurt his feet by overturning a very heavy stool. Plus the sidewalks are so narrow, the stroller wont fit. so had to carry all of his 14kg everywhere, and was so hot!

I was relieved to come home! The only good parts were, nice hotel with paddy field views, great food and julian loved playing with sand

I stayed at Alam Jiwa in Ubud (paddy fields view)

and Keraton at Jimbaran. It's right on the beach. Both cost about $100 to $140 sing.

If you are going to jimbaran, go to the rock bar at the ayana. It is so cool! a cocktail bar right on the rocks. Very chic!

Mona,
It's ok.. I hope I can shout next time.. don really dare to do so with so many ppl there.. keke..

JJmom,
That's sad.. It's not her fault lah.. Maybe u can try to talk to your hb?? I think half day cc is good enough for Nat.

Bluey,
Yr hb so clever.. can cut Ash's hair wor..
Thks for the complement.. Varner is a naugthy and super glue boy now.. My hb was complaining if need a super glue to him to me, so he won cry for me all the time..

Bigflamingo,
I think alot of Indonesia island is not baby friendly.. Hope it doesnt spoilt your holiday..

<font color="119911">bluey, vanilla, bigflamingo,

strangely...i don't blamed my mil for this incident at all, in fact, if any 1s to blame, i think it's my fil's bad kampong habit of not closing the main gate. &amp; we shd have taught Nat abt not gng out to the street in the 1st place.

told my hubby tat too, &amp; we both ageed tat fil is not gng to change this bad habit at all. Actually mil has been warning him abt the danger of not closing the main gate so many times...argh!

so it's a new gate + teaching Nat.

as for cc, it's really not up to me to decide liao. i will let my mil decide if she still wants to help take care of Nat after a half day cc. Will talk to her again after she has recovered from the shock &amp; m calmer.</font>

Tweety,
I can deal with everything except the heat in indonesia...never mind, next time will be just me and the husband! hee hee

Perth was much much easier for us.

jjmom
my dad has this issue too of not closing the main door and rebby loves to escape thru the main door and wonder to the car pouch and patio. she had walked out of the main door many times, slipped and hit her head many times because the car pouch is always wet when she walks out... i cant blame my dad... i just tell him to lock the main door... -__-""

<font color="119911">jelly,
my fil's issue is both the main door &amp; the main gate!
we have actually trained Nat tat without her shoe on, she is not to go out of the main door even to the car pouch &amp; patio.
but tat day, she had her shoe on as they r on their way out (-_-)''
so now, we need to re-train her tat beyond the main door, it's out of bounds for her.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Bigflamingo,

Hahaha, but it must be a good experience nevertheless

Okie thanks for the info, will discuss with hb and see how
Is it very hot there now??

Tweety,

He practically just trying his luck hahaha ;p~

My boy oso like yours super glue, my little koala bear!

<font color="aa00aa">vanilla
We had the zoo membership last yr but din renew it when it expired in Jan 2010. We had the family type which allows both parents + 2 kids + 1 more person (could be 3rd child/grandparent/maid). They took a photo for our family when we went to the zoo to apply for the membership.

elch
Dylan is clever. That's what wenxuan did to me last time. He would drag me to the poster with the alphabets which I pasted on the wall and then he would point to the lollipop and tell me "mummy buy"! Bcos of this, he can pronounce the word "lollipop" very well. Nowadays the kids are very smart and they always know that parents are trying to act "blur" in front of them . Hahaha!!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Agreed that the escalator at vivocity is very fast!

Sian! My boy is having high fever again! This morning he was still ok before we leave for the school. But the moment we reached his school, hubby noticed that his body was very warm and requested the teacher to take his temp. Was shocked to find that his temp was at 38.5. Brought him home to give him fever medicine and wanted to let him rest before we bring him to see a doctor this evening. Suddenly he vomitted out all his milk which he drank at 6.30am. We quickly brought him to the clinic and he vomitted twice again while waiting to see the doctor. Doctor commented that this boy's immune system is very weak cos he is seeing the boy too often liao. I wonder what cause his immune system to be so weak? Is it bcos I din have enough nutritious food when pregnant with him? I really blame myself for not taking good care of him when I see him keep falling sick. Now his temp keep going up and I have to monitor very closely. </font>

mousebb,
Dylan's more cheeky than clever....kids these days really are amazing! They do things we least expect them to do!

Poor WX...did the doc recommend any supplements or whatever to boost his immune system? Otherwise, load him with more Vitamin C via vegetables and fruits....

Hiya mommies!

Hope everyone had a gd wkend. I am getting heavier by the day and taking care of Vic now is seriously tiring business. Apart from getting the maid to bathe her and pat her to bed in the day, I still want to feed her n play with her. And even then, it's really tiring. Plus she is teething her last molar now so can be quite cranky. The gd thing is she can communicate with us now and tell us where the pain is.

Jjmom- poor u. I agree on setting boundaries for nat. She will learn soon and hopefully yr mil recovers fr her shock. We hv trained Vic never to walk out of the main door, or into the airwell pond area.

Weather- it's been horridly hot. And I think it's worse for preggies cos our temps are higher. Hope it gets cooler when I pop!

<font color="0077aa">Elch: actually our kids are absorbing all the time so we really would not know what to expect them to say / sign all of a sudden.

C points to her eyes and says "Ice" when she wants to eat ice cubes! LOL...

Bluey: thanks for the kind words, am not doing anything that fantastic with C. More enjoying her than anything else.

Jelly: Thanks for confirming it. Can I ask for a small help from you?

I need to advise Elch/busybee/Eelyn on how much are some of the stuff which we are sharing cost. Hence, will have to trouble you to help me with the calculation. I will send you an email on this. Thanks

Bigflamingo: hey woman, can I check if you are ordering the weleda cream soon? Am keen to order a few more</font>

Tweety- u look lovely as always! And Varner got yr gdlooking genes!!!

Mousebb- dun be guilty! U did yr best as a mommy and I think it's the weather plus cc that causes ex to fall ill. Load him w vit c, apples n barley water ya?

<font color="aa00aa">elch
Yup. The doctor gives him a booster and tell him to eat more veg + fruits + some vitamin C supplements.</font>

Melissa &amp; Doug
Those who are into it... there is a 20% off on their M&amp;D product at Toysrus... bought those 9.90 wooden puzzle and there is further discount too...

Jelly,
glad she enjoys the class... mine just wonder around the classroom the whole lesson... and she even found herself a comfort corner to hide and sit there...

<font color="119911">ruffles,
hmm...i think it's more of poor Nat, if she has to go to a full day cc or poor my mil, if she decide to take on the extra load of looking after Nat after all =P

Yah, everytime i feels hot, i will think of preggie mommies &amp; those on confinement...weida mama. Juz the thought makes me sweats buckets...kekeke</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Ruffles
My boy just recovered from fever + cough and flu last week and 1 week later, he is down again. So sian!!!</font>

<font color="119911">mousebb,
don't b too fast to blame yourself for WX's poor immune system *pat pat*

think it's vy common to fall sick frequently in cc

slowly 'bu' his body when he recovers.</font>

Jjmom- ya poor Nat. See if you can bring Nat earlier even if u sign up for full day. Like wat jelly suggest as it is really tiring for them to go school so young. Maybe let her try half day 1st??

<font color="119911">ruffles,
half day cc is what we had in mind in the 1st place b4 the 'incident'.

&amp; pil r suppose to b the 1 to pick her up after half day cc &amp; Nat will stay with them till i pick her up in the evening after work.

so it will b full day cc for Nat if mil backs out of the initial plan coz there's no 1 else to take care of Nat liao

JJmom,
some habit is just too hard to kick off esp to an old ppl...

Bluey,
Agreed! having a koala baby is not a joke.. too tiring for me I would say.

mousebb,
oh dear.. WX sick again?? poor him..
I think he need to boost up his immune system since he's gg to school daily..

Ruffles,
Thanks.. I'm not gd looking. I rather he looks like his dad.. My "wu kuan" are ugly.. matched together still presentable.. kee..

oh.. u getting heavier now?? must be real tiring now.. I know the patient we have for our tots eventhough we are v tired.. But u need to take a good rest k..

<font color="0000ff">Mousebb,

Dun put the blame on yrself, there's always a tendency for kids at tis age to fall sick.. however it would make them stronger after each illness

Juz give him more fruits/vegetables and like the mommies here said, loads up on the vitamins

buffy
sure. just send me the list. i try and work on them tonite.

mousebb
hope wx gets well soon.

ruffles
u look great to me when u came to collect ur stash. am not even close to delivery but looking after rebby at nite had turned into slpless nites for me. v tired during the day

<font color="119911">tweety,
yah loh, we r not betting on it tat my fil will learnt his lesson &amp; rem to close the doors at all. In fact, i wonder will getting a new auto gate with a small door (bet he will leaves the dr open too) will even help at all (-____-)''

sigh...thing is he thinks it's not his fault &amp; it's impossible &amp; silly to need to keep the dr &amp; gate close at all times.

abt the incident, he thinks it's my mil negligence &amp; Nat being notti coz both his 2 kids (my sil &amp; my hubby) grew up the same way &amp; nothing happened.

to tat, i told my hubby tat he &amp; his kiddos r juz plain lucky...</font>

<font color="0000ff">Jjmom,

Old habits die hard...just hope that your FIL will be more cautious the next time round hmmm...

JJmom,
oh dear.. yr fil think it's not his fault?? then it's really hard to ask him to change to this habit.
When is Nat gg for half day cc?? maybe try to train her from now that not supposed to step outside when noone holding her hands??

<font color="119911">bluey, tweety,
yah loh...argh!

was planning next yr, 2011 but not sure abt tat now

yah, will need to train Nat not to step out of the dr.</font>