(2008/10) Oct 2008

Vanilla, thanks for the heads up. After my first paint experience during playnest, we bring an apron for minibee every lesson (just in case).

little doggie,

My boy poos an avg of 2 times daily, sometimes 3.

Go the natural way 1st before introducing medication as a last resort. Does he have fruits and vege daily?

Mousebb, too bad minibee isn't a big fan of hairclips. She is more into hairbands. U can try hairband for WM? Then dun need to worry abt it slipping off.

mousebb,
just read your post. was getting worried if the parcel reached you or not. hehe.. glad that it did. enjoy the leggings.
i'm letting rianne wear too!. hehe.

oohh. btw, i hope WM is ok. hope that it's not a terrible fall.

busybee,
ooohh.. i'm a fan of hairclips and hairbands!

blur
Thanks for the sugar tip. I didn't know that. So useful!

icylemon
it's fine
I also worry about driving out to take from you.

Sleeping through the night
Hmm, after looking at Regina and studying what Jo eats for dinner, this is my conclusion. Research still undergoing. When Jo eats a lot for dinner, she usually sleeps well in the night. When she eats little, that's when she wakes up quite often. By waking up, I mean she would cry and then I would stuff my nipple into her mouth, but her eyes were never given the chance to open. I saw how much Regina eats, and I reckon maybe that's why she's sleeping so well. She's so well-fed. Mint, hope you don't mind I used Regina in a research study! LOL!

<font color="aa00aa">Joanne
Thanks for mailing the parcel to me. I let wenmin wear those leggings to sleep when she was 12mths and I like them very much cos it look cute on wenmin

karen,
not at all! In fact very honoured that regina is considered in your study. Heehee!

If jo doesn't eat much at dinner, you might wanna consider a light supper for her? That's what i would do for regina. But she still occasionally wakes up. These few days she'll wake up to complain about her gums hurting. But the cure is to just let her hold the box for the teething gel. Dun even need to apply. How miraculous is that! Hahaha!

<font color="119911">mint,
regina is so guai &amp; cute...kekeke

btw what time is consider supper for regina

<font color="0077aa">mint: Regina is so funny; almost a virtual remedy. Ha ha...

For C, if she ate well during the day, she'll settle better at night too. Sometimes we'll give her half a banana around 6+ if she din take much solid...

Vanilla: oh... E likes animals too? U may wanna consider buying one volume of the Signing DVD - The Zoo Train. That's one of C's favourites. Her current fav animal sign is Rhino.
How is his lips now? Is he in FD or HD CC?</font>

Morning mummies...

Dylan skipped his last milk feed 2 days in a row! Is it a norm to wean off the last feed of the day at this stage? Both nights, he woke up at 3+am asking for milk...I only made 70ml of water + 1/2 scoop of formula and he'll get back to sleep till 6+am before asking for his 1st milk feed of the day...

<font color="119911">elch,
what time is Dylan's last milk feed? Do u mean the feed juz b4 he goes off to bed for the nite?</font>

JJmom,
Don't know what time he has his milk before dinner but his dinner's around 6pm....after dinner he'll have some fruits at around 8pm and he just goes to sleep till 3+am for diluted milk...

elch,
dylan skipped the last feed completely? for shawn is he is taking only half for the last feed and already waste my FM for almost one wk liao.

mummies esp those of u who can cook real well - pls intro me new dishes or food to make for my king as he seems to be on diet for the past one wk. porridge eat only half and cereal abit nia.. so gek sim to see leh.

hi buffy - thanks for the dvd tips. will look for it! there is also this baby brainy vcd on animals...his fav. E is on JG playclub. His lips look ok..abit red and sore but he is ok w food and drink so i think ok...

hi elch - my boy's dinner is around 5.30, his last milk feed of 240ml is around 830-9pm. (this one i add cereal). he will wake up at 2am for milk (last nite gave 180ml w 2 scoops) and it last him only until 6am (too early for me i will wake up ard 7+).

think maybe u give him say 50ml of milk at 8pm w his fruits? maybe it will hold him off his 3am milk?

kate is waking up almost every night at 3am cos of teething... i assumed that cos she sticks her finger in her mouth and cries.

after putting dentinox and cuddling her usually she calms down and sleeps again. but sometimes i am the one who cannot go back to sleep!

Cheer Bear,
Maybe both Shawn and Dylan are in process of weaning off the last feed....last night I he wasted 140ml of formula! So heartpain!

I bought an organic pasta sauce from NTUC over the weekend and made some baked ABC pasta for Dylan but he wasn't as interested as I imagined him to be...I'll always think of how to make his meals more interesting but so far no luck...I only know he loves yoghurt thus far...hard to please him!

You may wish to refer to these links for ideas on toddler food:-
http://food-4tots.com/
http://weelicious.com/
http://www.noobcook.com/

hi cheerbear - i am not a cook at all.. but my mil is... we decided my boy is sick of porridge so we now give him soft rice or noodles....and he likes it all separated so he can pt to which food he wants and we feed him.

For instance, beef i will blend and put it aside, then his veg in another corner and rice in the middle..so all separated and not mashed tog...

but he still takes a long time to eat but better than not eating at all

JTA: how many of ur tots are eating on their own at the table with you or your family?

this is just an observation. i maybe wrong. i had been making rebby sit with me or my family for all meals. i.e. brekke she eats w GM/GP. lunch - she eats w GM/GP/my pets :p. dinner - me/hubby/GP/my pets. i realised that she enjoys eating her food no matter what we give her!

i make sure i have a plate of white rice and she gets her spoon for her to play w... the we feed her w porridge/rice/fish/vege at the same time. she dun eat alot but she eats!

<font color="119911">elch,
mayb u wanna push Dylan's dinner &amp; fruits earlier? so tat he will still take his last milk feed b4 bed.</font>

dimpletot,
^5 same as u.. by the time our tod falls back to sleep liao then we r the ones cant sleep but yet hv to try hard to catch some sleep if not in ofc will be zombie liao.

elch,
i bought the organic bear pasta from marks and spencer and tried twice only.. shawn dun like so now sitting in my kitchen cupboard.

for cereal, he used to like HT but now dun like liao and in order not to waste i hv to mix with nestle cereal so that he will finish the stock i hv.

thanks for the link.. will look when free.

vanilla,
i tried soft rice and yes jus like ur boy he will eat slow but at least he eats lor.

as for noodle, i hv not try but try guo tiao and he also entertain me by eating few mouths only.

<font color="119911">cheerbear,
mayb Shawn is sian of porridge liao, time to try giving him some rice? He may take longer to finish his meal though

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
My kids also eat with us and like you, I also feed them a bit of these and that. Altho they dont eat much, but still eat a little bit.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
Looks a bit swollen but ok. Seems like she has forgotten about the fall and she tried to do it again just now while I was feeding her mee sua. Sigh!!! Thanks for your concern

vanilla,
He doesn't want his milk at all no matter how hard I beg or cajole him...haha! I'll pass the bottle to him and he'll just whine and push it to the side...

<font color="aa00aa">elch
I remember there was a stage when wenmin also skipped her last milk feed which is around 8-9pm. The best thing is she din wake up for milk in the middle of the night. Now back to normal liao. She would take her last milk feed of the day at around 8.30pm and wake up in the next morning around 7am for her milk again (provided she din wake up in the middle of the night to ask for milk).</font>

mousebb
wm v adventurous leh... mine also the same these days, kept pulling my doggie's tails... my dogs bite her and she still pulls their tail.

<font color="aa00aa">Nowadays I always ask my kids whether they want to drink milk anot. I only give on demand cos I know if they dont want to drink, no matter how I force them they also wont drink and I'm just wasting away the milk powder.</font>

mousebb,
how is wm's eye? hope she din get blue black.

jjmom,
yes i do give him soft rice sometimes

in fact i discover he cant hv the same time for lunch and dinner if not he will REJECT!!!

jelly,
i do hv meals together sometimes but i find that shawn will rather hv our food than his which i wat i dun wan coz ours is packed food from outside and his will be cooked by my mum.

hi mousebb - glad that WM's wound is recovering....

hi jelly - i would love for him to eat w us but v diff... hb works late and i eat my dinner after i make E sleep...

haha i think our bbs think rice is adult food so want to be like us.

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
Haha!!! Rebby is so cute! Luckily your dog is not those fierce breed. Mine are bull terriers. I cannot imagine if wenmin pull one of their tails and kena bitten. </font>

<font color="119911">cheerbear,
then next time, try put Shawn's food at a corner of your packed food &amp; trick him to eat...kekeke

i do tat too =P</font>

cheerbear
hmm, maybe i had already given up... i actually give table food regardless if it's cooked at home or fm outside. i realised that in that way, my ger bcomes less picky abt food tho she still is but it's a personal choice...

<font color="119911">vanilla,
i used to eat my dinner after Nat sleeps at 7pm (infant) now i will eat my dinner with her &amp; she likes it too

hi Elch - i understand..my boy sometimes for his brekkie milk feed will be like that...if he does not want milk, then load him w more fruits and maybe bread + water and hopefully at 3am he will sleep thru.

Hi Jelly &amp; mousebb - my boy loves dogs.. yest just went to pat a puppy and the owner was a kind man gave me advice that Jack russels are v aggressive so cannot let him pat. My boy will just go and pat and play w any dogs..which i am worried at times cos some can be unfriendly to little boys.

<font color="aa00aa">Karen,
Sending the durian puffs to you is not a problem. Jurong East to Bukit Batok is not far at all. Next round I will get it for you ok. Din know tat yesterday so many stuff chiong down to grab the durian puffs.

<font color="0000ff">Morning All,

Mousebb,

Good to know that WM's wound is getting better

Think so far my boy still loves his milk, till date he's still drinking 240ml for every milk feed

Cheerbear,

Cheer up, dun let those 'small pple' get to you lar...

Icylemon Jie Jie,

Thanks for the puffs! super nice!

JJmom,
Weird thing is, he's been having his dinner around the same time for months and suddenly these 2 days he decided he doesn't want his milk feed...and good thing is he wakes up just once instead of twice! My weird boy!

Cheerbear,
Shawn and Dylan are traditional asian who just love their grains and not 'ang mo' pasta!