(2008/10) Oct 2008

Mummies... anyone using this brand of sling???

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">Baby slings recalled in N America</font></font>
05:55 AM Mar 25, 2010WASHINGTON
- More than 1 million baby slings made by Infantino were recalled yesterday in the United States and Canada, after claims linking them to three infant deaths. A quick check showed the slings were also sold online in Singapore.

The US Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) said babies could suffocate in the soft fabric slings. The agency urged parents to immediately stop using the slings for babies under four months old.

The recall involves the Infantino "SlingRider" and "Wendy Bellissimo" slings, which wrap around the adult's chest.

Infantino president Jack Vresics said the company has been working closely with the commission on its sling concerns, and would offer a free replacement baby carrier, activity gym or shopping cart cover to any affected consumer.

Earlier this month, the commission had issued a broad warning about sling-style baby carriers, saying they pose a potential suffocation risk to infants.

It said it had identified or was investigating at least 14 deaths in the last 20 years associated with baby slings.

The fabric could press against a baby's nose and mouth, suffocating it within a minute or two. Or, if the baby is cradled in a curved position, its head could flop forward and restrict its airways.

In yesterday's announcement, CPSC said three of the deaths occurred last year and were linked to Infantino slings. AP

<font color="aa00aa">*shake head* ai yo.... i used to have a infantino easy rider carrier. hardly use.

so sad to see this sentence.
"The fabric could press against a baby's nose and mouth, suffocating it within a minute or two. Or, if the baby is cradled in a curved position, its head could flop forward and restrict its airways." poor babies...

hee, surfing on my mobile. Still waiting for physio

Busybee
Will give u her contact. Heard fm my sil she's pretty gd.

Icylemon
I conso e list and send to u maybe by fri?

re:eek:tc
As long as i place order b4 31 mar, i think we r still entitled 2 e discount

<font color="aa00aa">paging for mint, karen &amp; ypg,
is beating or canning by teachers allow in school nowdays?

icylemon,

Teachers are not allowed to beat or cane the students in school. But if students are very stubborn, the case will be referred to the Principal. She can decide whether to have capital punishment or not. Public caning is supposed to be executed by the Discipline Master or the Principal, if I am not wrong.

Every year, at the start of school term, school teachers are made to sign that they will not lay hand on any students.

Why the sudden interest?

I think got 4 stones and 5 stones. But different ways of playing. I prefer 4 stones cause my palm is small n I dun have long finger so 5 stones I always lost. Hehe...

ohh... i love playing 4 and 5 stones.
i was quite an expert. Haha...
Even play 4 stones with a ball. Keke...
I miss my primary school days...

what do you all do with old shoes? Jo has a pair of shoo shoo barely worn more than three times and now can't wear. Can't bear to throw lei.

<font color="aa00aa">This afternoon when I went to fetch wenxuan, I was told by the person-in-charge of the centre that wenmin's school will be $620 (after $150 subsidy) per month as cherie hearts will have fees adjustment wef 1 May. Wenxuan's fees will be $500. In fact the teachers there have been telling me to put my kids there for full-day instead of half-day as it is cheaper. Am thinking if I really want to put them full-day at the centre, then I will have to go back to work to get the $300 full subsidies for each kid. But when I think of leaving my kids full day there my heart aches a lot. Dont know what I should do or what is the best thing to do???</font>

<font color="aa00aa">karen
Most probably I would pass it to my friend otherwise throw it away will be very sayang. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">YPG,
coz my nephew was been beaten my teacher with ruler. so wat can we do abt it? he is in pri 1.

mousebb,

the fees adjustment at cherie hearts wef 1 May, is it applicable for all the outlets. I am now paying $575 (aft $300 subsidy + 15% discount). But after the 3 months promotion, i will be paying$680 full day instead, while half day is $600. I also dunno if i shld put fullday or halfday.

<font color="aa00aa">R&amp;R mum
Oh dear!!! Your nephew must be traumatised by the teacher.
I remember when I was in P5 and my maths was very poor, my form teacher always beat my hand with a ruler.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">mousebb,
now i am lagi hot. my colleague msn with me now. told me tat her son was been slapped on the face in our coy's child care ctr. another girl complained to my colleague tat the teacher tie her legs to the chair. this teacher had alot of complaints from us before. another teacher who is pretty big size like to purposely bump into kids &amp; cause them to fall.

tat makes me recalled how come my elder girl had so many blue blacks on her body &amp; thighs few mths back.

guess we need to talk to our HR!

Mona, take note.

<font color="aa00aa">Ginapy
Yup. Applicable to all outlets.
$680 for full day is still cheap. Now I'm paying $450 (after $150 subsidy) for half day for wenxuan. After the adjustment, it will be $500. The centre is telling me that as my son was enrolled in Oct 2007, the centre only increased 10% of his fees.
My gal is joining in this May and for the first 6 months, her fees will be $500 which is same as my son. After that it will be $620/month.</font>

icylemon,

That is certainly not allowed. But before u scream at the teacher, do get ur sister or brother? to contact the teacher who do tat n speak to the teacher directly. Find out the situation 1st b4 taking adverse action.

Cause I got accidentally "hit" a student with the long ruler b4. He was sitting in front of me n touch my long ruler which I use to point at certain words on the screen. I try to move the ruler n accidentally hit his chest. Then he start telling the classmates lao shi 打他. luckily I always apologise to the kids in the case of accidents n the parent know me well. Now I use powerpoint pointer light liao. No more long ruler.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">R&amp;R,
u r asking a really serious question. Something happen to someone??</font></font>

Oh no!!! How come the teachers can behave in such way and do such things to the kids??? I will be very very angry if I know the teacher did such things to my kids. Why not lodge a complain to MCYS?

<font color="aa00aa">Oh dear!!! Am thinking whether I should leave my kids full day at the cc and go back to work but now when I heard such things happened at another cc, I dont know whether I should entrust my kids to the cc anot. </font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">R&amp;R mummy,
wat happen in the CC is unacceptable. Slap by the face can hurt the child eye drum. Must complain to MCYS.</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">YPG,
i juz sms my cousin. she will meet the teacher tmr. bloody hell. beat my nephew. dunno how to write the word DIE yet har.

wah R&amp;R -- this is v serious. I believe there is CCTV ...ask ur HR to check the CCTV recording.

In my opinion. no matter how terrible the kids are..the teacher cannot hit or tie their legs. If the teacher cannot handle - call the parents down and tell them "sorry ur kid is too hard to handle."

but like what YPG say - better clarify. Best is the CCTV recording...

mousebb,

the schools always have their own reason for the fees hike. Wat do do?

Sometimes bo bian also. We are at their disposal. I guess the rates for childcare is quite standard now ba.

<font color="aa00aa">mousebb &amp; blur P,
dunno leh. my colleague now very hot. i told her we need to go to HR. cannot bypass HR.

<font color="0077aa">Icylemon: clarify first like what YPG said. one of my GF's (who is a teacher too) colleague was suspended 'cos she apparently punched the student in the gut. Seriously, no kidding. I think it made the news last year... cant recall which school it is</font>

<font color="aa00aa">vanilla,
there used to be a CCTV but this current operator request to remove it.

the teachers here always like to drag the kids to toilet &amp; scold them until they cry. coz the toilet is pretty near to our canteen entrance. we always heard children crying. dunno when will my Rachel kena all these.

<font color="aa00aa">Ginapy
It seems like full day is much cheaper than half day!!! Was told after the fees adjustment, ifc will be $1000++ (after subsidy) liao!!! So terrible hor!!!</font>

I will be very very upset if I know such things happened to my kiddos!!! I guess I will not let go easily if the cc cannot give me a reasonable explaination and also how they are going to deal with the teacher(s) involved. </font>

i think they shld have a cctv ..cos we are talking abt kids here (who cannot talk v well at times)..what is someone physically injure the children? or if accident? can check if MCYS require CCTV.

If i were in ur shoes or ur colleagues, will talk to HR, and tell them put a CCTV and see if such stuff is really happening. Cos if it is true, can sue those ***** in court and jail them! (pardon my language)

<font color="aa00aa">my colleague said she will talk to the teacher again during our parents mtg next week. but tat is like 1 to 1 talk between teacher &amp; parents.

i think she dun want to make big de issue.

<font color="119911">R&amp;R,
oh dear, how can the cc teacher slap &amp; tie the kids' legs to the chair!!! must do something abt it! poor kids

i agree with vanilla, i will make a police report against the teacher if i m the mom =P</font>

<font color="aa00aa">XY,
not all CC lah. and not all teachers. but most of my colleagues din mentioned tat they really dun face such issues with the previous operator at all.

ya lo, this is what i also intend to do.

At least i no need to tie my mum down, if she needs to go out in the aft.

Anyway, even though Remus is in FD childcare now, i still ask helper to fetch him back aft lunch. Cos he has been sick even b4 entering into childcare, so attending HD childcare, might help him to recover.

R&amp;R,
those 2 teachers r so daring! All the parents r so near to the cc &amp; they still dare to bully the kids! Yah...makes me worries too esp when ours r totally out of sight kind

hi Jelly,

Had send u an email. Can u help me check with the Angela abt the price of the products I wanted or can u send me her contact/ email, so i can directly ask her... thank u very much...

ruffles,
what Vic can do is identification and not association. Association is a higher-order skill. And flower in different contexts is just identification which most bubs can do already. I can bring Regina for a walk in the park and she knows how to identify cat, dog, leaves, etc. Association would be e.g. picture word matching which I'm quite sure nicky's kaelyn can do.

icylemon,
I pm-ed you the crocs orders. Thanks.

busybee,
Role-playing is not passive learning. In fact so much can be learnt from it. Don't worry too much about reading now. Doing all these role-playing stuff nurtures creativity.

As for flashcards, I personally prefer those with pictures together with words so can teach picture word association.

I bot some chinese flashcards recently but haven't used them yet. Got them from http://shop.panasiabooks.com/

4/5 stones: I found my set of 5 stones just before CNY when my PT helper was helping me pack the cabinets. Haha! She asked me what they were and I demonstrated the game to her. Sad to say, I've lost my touch. Hahaha!

jjmom,
I personally don't like open concept classrooms. Call me old fashioned but the idea of open concept is just a cover-up of saying that there's space constraints and too many kids in the school. Haha!

On watching TV and computer: I don't let Regina watch TV at all but if the TV is on at my MIL's place, then I bo bian. But I've noticed that she doesn't really show an interest. As for computer, she likes watching certain music vids from youtube and I let her 'watch' e-books. I'll be slightly relaxing my rule on TV after she turns 2. If watch TV, need to watch with them. Cannot be used as a babysitter.

karen,
Lena did that? I didn't know. haha! Good excuse to get a new printer now.

jellypurin,
Terrible 2s will peak when they are 2 and half... so now is only tip of the ice berg.

vanillapod,
There's soyghurt which I give to Regina. Can get from cold storage.

icylemon,
Wah that CC is terrible. The kids so young and the teachers do such things to them. tsk tsk!

karen,
I just went to kidstyle today to change a pair of shooshoos to get $10 off for a brand new pair of osh kosh sandals. If you're getting shoes, then it's $20 off.

Terrible Twos:

I am positive in nature, so instead of worrying about that. I look for ways to deal with it.

Some tips u can use:
1)having a regular routine for meals, naps, bedtime, etc. and try to stick to them each day
2)offer limited choices only, like 'would you like apples or oranges for your snack' and not just 'what do you want for your snack.' This helps your toddler feel like he is making some decisions and has power over things, but he isn't able to choose unacceptable alternatives.
3)learn to set limits about things and don't be surprised when your toddler tries to test those limits to see what he can get away with
4)don't give in to tantrums
5)begin to use time-out and taking away privileges as discipline techniques
6)provide your toddler with a safe environment that is well childproofed to explore and play in. It really isn't fair that your toddler should get in trouble for playing with something he isn't supposed to if you left it within reach.

Hope that helps. Actually discipline got to depend on individual style and personal tolerant level. Haha...

mint,

The Little Reader got both flash card with words n picture. I use the powerpoint version tat 1st it flash all the words in lightning speed, next it show the word, picture and a short video clip and go on to another words. Finally it will show all the picture n read aloud. Association in progress? Haha...

mint,

Bring ur 5 stones to the next gathering, maybe we all can have a small competition n re-live our Days of Being Very Very Young.

morning mommies
okie, this is what i had consolidated. let me know if it is wrg online.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Item</TD><TD>URL</TD><TD>Unit Cost (USD)</TD><TD>Discount</TD><TD> Price (USD) </TD></TR><TR><TD>jolly</TD><TD>Fridge Phonics® Magnetic Alphabet Set</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/fridgephonics.html</TD><TD>21.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $17.59 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Karen</TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheerbear</TD><TD>NEW! Fridge Words™ Magnetic Word Builder</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/wwfridgephonics.html</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $14.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>springles</TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! Chat &amp; Count Cell Phone</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/infant_and_toddler/count_chat_phone.html</TD><TD>14.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $11.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>xinying</TD><TD>NEW! Fridge Words™ Magnetic Word Builder</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/wwfridgephonics.html</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $14.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>jellypurin</TD><TD>NEW! Fridge Words™ Magnetic Word Builder</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/wwfridgephonics.html</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $14.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>YPG</TD><TD>Fridge Phonics® Magnetic Alphabet Set</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/fridgephonics.html</TD><TD>21.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $17.59 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>nickypower</TD><TD>NEW! Chat &amp; Count Cell Phone</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/infant_and_toddler/count_chat_phone.html</TD><TD>14.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $11.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Fridge Phonics® Magnetic Alphabet Set</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/fridgephonics.html</TD><TD>21.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $17.59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>ELCH</TD><TD>NEW! Fridge Words™ Magnetic Word Builder</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/wwfridgephonics.html</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $14.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>icylemon</TD><TD>NEW! Scribble &amp; Write</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/scribble.html </TD><TD>21.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $17.59 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Tag™ Reading System Pink (32MB)</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/families/tag/platform/tag_reading_system0.html</TD><TD>49.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $39.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>buffy</TD><TD>NEW! Fridge Words™ Magnetic Word Builder</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/wwfridgephonics.html</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $14.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! LeapFrog® Letters &amp; Lessons DVD Gift Pack</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/video/dvd_giftpack.html</TD><TD>29.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $23.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Easy Reader Phonics Kit 2</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/families/leappad/bundle/pb_2kit.html</TD><TD>9.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $7.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluey</TD><TD>NEW! Fridge Words™ Magnetic Word Builder</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/wwfridgephonics.html</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $14.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>mint</TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>eelyn</TD><TD>NEW! Fridge Words™ Magnetic Word Builder</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/wwfridgephonics.html</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $14.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! AlphaPet Explorer</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/alphabet_explorer.html</TD><TD>19.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $15.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>NEW! Tag™ Junior Book Pal - Purple</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/families/tag_junior/platform/junior_book_pal_pink.html</TD><TD>34.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $27.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Sing-Along Read-Along™ DVD &amp; 12 Book Set </TD><TD> http://www.leapfrog.com/en/preschool_toys/sing_along_read_along.html</TD><TD>9.99</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $7.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sally</TD><TD>NEW! Fridge Words™ Magnetic Word Builder</TD><TD>http://www.leapfrog.com/en/fridge_phonics/wwfridgephonics.html</TD><TD>18.74</TD><TD>20%</TD><TD> $14.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>