(2008/10) Oct 2008

jjmom, if u like indiv classroom concept, i suggest u look at school house by the bay, designated classroom for chinese/english lessons.

Thanks eelyn...

Design Your Own! 3-D Butterfly Ornaments With Stickers - $7.99/12
1-3. Buffy
4-8. Eelyn
9-12 thebusybee

Design Your Own! Giant Jungle Sticker Scenes - $9.99/12
1-3. Eelyn
4-6. thebusybee

Design Your Own! Flower Garden Sticker Scenes
1-3. Eelyn
4-5 thebusybee

busybee,
no worries. if there are any other stuff u wanna add on, PM me ya? i'll consolidate everything for jelly.

jelly,
i'll consolidate everyone's orders and let u know k? hope to take away some headache frm u.. tks!!

<font color="119911">busybee,
i wonder is this open concept actually a better learning env for the kids? i dunno if i m too old fashion minded...kekeke

SHBTB don't offer half day care which i need

eelyn
np. me find shopping online therapuetic! nothing is worse than standing up and walking arnd now! so sitting down and surfing the web is a bliss

Jelly, i confess, I too am ks mommy at work... These thoughts and questions abt flashcards came abt when i saw nickypower's video on fb. Hahahah.... Abt lf, I am for ordering online as the items i want are less than USd10 and with the discount code I am pretty sure i will pay not more than $25 for each item. But Angela is selling close to $40 for the items on her webbie.

Karen, yes leapfrog is indeed one of my tools for teaching her phonics! Lets make the chinese cards!! I shall ask my cl teacher aunt for help to print the words. Let's start with a list 10 to 20 words? I am happy to pass to mummies to photocopy when ready to DIY our own chinese flashcards! When we come up with the list so i will just do english words too so my own billingual immersion programme at home! hahahah...

Nickypower, do u buy precut blank flashcards or did u just get cardboard?

<font color="119911">mommies,
busybee's concern abt the flashcards reminds me abt my concern over tv &amp; computer learning for our kids.

any thoughts to share on tv &amp; computer learning?</font>

icylemon
not sure, really. but just now mousebb posted. can b v high. anything from $10-$25. for reference, u can go and take a look at the spree threads of past spree by people like OCEAN. it varies. a bit of a heng/sua situation cos we cannot control e way LF pack the boxes. i may attempt to order base on products.

R &amp; R, I think it might be hard for jelly to estimate. U can maybe peek at the ongoing LF sprees on overseas spree threads for a rough gauge. That is what i did.

JJmom, I let watch Miki watch tv... she loves and learn from the shows. In the beginning i was also worried abt the effects of tv. But now that i see her learning from the shows. I am ok with that, but i think i will try to limit her tv time now, i freaked out when she could count in cue with Handy Manny in spanish. Seeing that i know she has been watching way too much tv! hahaha....Computer, she only plays or rather slams shuts her vtech lappie. Have not let her used a pc. But I think we should embrace technology in this era not keep them away from it. But also introduce old school fun. I sooo want to bring her to the Kampung Days place when she is slightly older. To catch longkang fish! hahaha... Now I need to brush up on four stones too!

busybee
yes, rebby is learning to count on tv and since she started to replay the abc song that gets played on the fridge phonics, she is learning to recite her abc as well. although all her counting and reciting is incomplete, i am amaze she cound do it and at times, she knows what number or alphabet comes next...

<font color="aa00aa">jelly,
coz i have relatives coming to Spore in July from US. so was wandering should I ask them to help us carry back to Spore. sorry for being sua ku. coz i really dun know much abt shipping thing. i hope i din cause you to be pek chek when reading my post.

<font color="119911">jelly,
u r too NICE to R&amp;R liao, i 'bish' her for u...kekeke

R&amp;R,
*bish* alamah u! stop buzzing the preggie &amp; backaching jelly abt the LF shipping lah, told u it's tough for her to est liao loh...kekeke</font>

Jelly, yes yes. Same for miki. I got a fright the first time i sang ABCD and sort of cue her for next letter and she sang E! Same for counting, i use the counting pal (the worm). Thus i am a Huge LF fan! Hahaha. Which are rebby's fav shows?

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

My boy is not keen to watch TV at all, the most he will be 'attracted to ads' for a couple of mins before he loses interest..sometimes I wish he can sit down and watch a bit of TV programmes.

He's been meddling with my lappie, turning and shutting it down and opening the programs. My iphone is a fixture on his hands whenever he gets his chance to hold it. He's know the apps and he's more of a "youtube" junkie than I do! I dun even need to turn on his fav for him, he can do it by himself diaoz!

icylemon
yes, u shd! u dun mind, can ask them to remove the box out and then just hand carry the toys back. also, depending where they buy the LF stuff, sm places sure got discount de...

Lilbluey, did u get playhouse disney? Most kiddos are glued to playhouse disney! The songs are so catchy even i enjoy watching it with her. Wah Ash is a techie in the making! We refrain from letting miki play with the real stuff but tell her she needs to be careful. Learnt my lesson when i allowed her to tap on the keyboard of my macbook and she yanked several keys out!

<font color="aa00aa">jelly,
ok. let me liase with my relatives &amp; see how. coz i think like tat we can save alot.

can you tell me details on where to get the items. coz i dun think my cousin knows.

JJmom,
ssh.... you talk too much. dun know head dun know tail dun comment. i *ah bish* you 1st.

busybee
rebby has no fav shows... she just loves the music/songs that gets aired before every show. ie. mickey mouse clubhouse song, hot dog dance, my friends tigger and pooh. then she scoots off to play w her shopping trolley or wreck havoc at home!

bluey
same... terrible twos visited me early as well at abt 13mths... its okie, i am hopeful it will end soon and please God, dun let it continue till she is three or four if not i will faint!

icylemon
where does ur cousin live? regular traget or walmart should have, including toysrus. u can even order thru LF or amazon the LF toys and ship to the address that ur cousin is staying at!

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

Nope, I dun subscribe to it becos we hardly have the time for TV so no point..

Tell me about it man! so far Ash has yank out the "Ctrl" button but after that scolding he doesn't do it anymore hahaha..

I'm wondering how long my iphone can last now! -_-""

Jelly,

*sighs* guess for us, we dunnit to wait for the terrible 2! hahaha, they have started to 'terrorise' us with their antics...btw, do u find Reb extremely sticky to you tis days?

Lilbluey, miki is also not keen on regular tv. If we change the channel, she will protest and wants to go for a walk! Sigh....

Jelly, can share abt ur physio when u return. i am wondering whether to stop seeing my chiro and see a physio instead to strenthen the back.

<font color="0077aa">busybee\eelyn:
i actually placed orders for the butterflies with Jelly in the earlier order.

I am good to have 3 pieces and Elch wanna take a few. If you girls dun mind 3 pieces each, then u dun have to order that anymore. Can just ride on my order.

I remove my name from the below first:

Design Your Own! 3-D Butterfly Ornaments With Stickers - $7.99/12
1-4. Eelyn
4-8. The busybee
9-12

Design Your Own! Giant Jungle Sticker Scenes - $9.99/12
1-3. Eelyn
4-6. thebusybee

Design Your Own! Flower Garden Sticker Scenes
1-3. Eelyn
4-5 thebusybee
11. </font>

<font color="119911">XY,
I want the real kisses! heehee...

abt putting marcus into cc, u may wanna hold the idea for awhile since it's the HFMD period NOW! A friend's boy kena after his 3rd day in his new cc &amp; even spread to his older sis who is in P1.</font>

everyday is HFMD lah. Hearing alot of HFMD cases. Sigh...

When i remove my tonsils (shd i finally decide to do it, i still feeling abit scared), it'll be adult HFMD. Imagine ulcers in throat! Eeeeeeeeee....

JJmom,
Later, u come up my place after picking Nat. Marcus will be at the door waiting to KISS u. Haha...

<font color="119911">busybee,
Nat don't seems to have the patience/interest to sit on my lap &amp; read thru a short story book with me like my little niece used to do.

I know every kid is diff but the ks mom in me, is getting a little worried...heehee

So i m worried tat learning thru tv &amp; computer will make other form of learning more difficult since i can never beat a PC program, right? No?

Argh...it's so tough being mom!</font>

karen- I'm oso concerned bout using Chinese cards.. hard to find those with Big words one.. ;) Maybe buy cards and write myself!! ;p Share oteh same thoughts with u when u said "believe in the principle that when there's meaning in learning, learning will be meaningful, more enjoyable, and stay in the mind more!" :D

busybee- Nooo nooo dun say tat....sometimes me as a sahm oso lazy!! Din even bring Kaelyn for classes etc or to find out more bout pre-schooling.. ;p Am just lucky tat Kaelyn is willing to co-operate and learn.. ;) Sometimes I oso feel tat I'm not doing enuff for her!! ;p
Oh yes, the book store at forum basement there, Twinkle Thinkers, they got a wide and good range of kiddy books!! Plus they are having 40% and above storewide sales now!! I bot lots there!! ;)
Oh I bot precut plain cards from Popular!! There have it!! :D

jjmom- Dun need stress mummy, each child got their own merits and no sooner u will discover Nat's talents!! ;) I'm just lucky tat Kaelyn is willing to co-operate! ;p

Kisses and husg to Marcus too!!! ;D

TV:
I do let Kaelyn watch tv too but she's not interested in cartoons etc, more on real pple shows!! ;p

hi busybee -- hee hee ...i thot it is 5 stones? I saw ur niece today w her daddy..she is so cute..dance to the teddy bear song with so much emotions!

my son's fav cartoon is Kong Fu Panda. he laughs at the funny parts to my amusement. to be honest i had to get him watch tv so i can do chores without having to watch him attempting to switch on the washing machine.

cheerbear - my pd recommended yogurt for probotics (u r asking what food has), but my son cant take diary stuff so i bot that $40 bucks Biogaia. He takes 5 drops a day.

<font color="0077aa">jelly: i may wanna add on some other OTC stuff along with Busybee and Eelyn's order. When are you ordering? Sorry for the confusion.

Busybee/Eelyn: OK, so the 4 of us including Elch will share the 3D butterflies... </font>

I quickly went to see Nicky's video on fb, good job Kaelyn!

The topic on teaching our babies came just in time as yesterday I was asking about the worldbook series. Its a set of storybook, cd, flashcards etc. I was sceptical because as what busybee said, would it be pure memorisation only?

But I think most important is consistency in teaching. I am simply not consistent enough, so now KJ is really "half bucket of water" in everything. Jellypurin, at least Rebby knows what she is watching and can respond. KJ watches tv but doesn't even know how to count or his ABCs. He is not interested in storybooks, flashcards etc. Nickypower, I must learn from you!

just wan to share my 2 cents worth, when i send Remus to school the start of this month. I enrolled him in full day childcare, as the school has 15% for full day, so its cheaper to put in full day than half day.

Though i hv my mum &amp; helper to take care, i find that sending him to school has its pros &amp; Cons. Cons as usual, get sick easily (but i guess even though when child turns 2 /3 yrs old, they wil stil get sick wan) or worried that he will get bullied in school.

Well, i never think that Remus will get bullied in school, cos he is a real terror at hm &amp; outside. However, his teacher called me 1 day, and told me that he was bitten up by his fellow classmate who is of smaller size than him. I was so shocked, but i was not angry. Children will tend to behave like tat, either get bullied or bully others (seriously, hw can you stop the kids from behaving like tat, right?)

Pros of sending him to school: More discipline (haha, he scared of the teacher in school and will behave himself); learn hw to eat themselves, socialise with others, has a standard regime in school (meaning he also will follow timing to sleep &amp; wake up at hM for school). Most importantly, they learn new things (no doubt, they might not know much at at this age). THey learn dancing, music, reading stories, outdoor play and nap together).

Somehow, i find that introducing our kiddos earlier, might be useful.

on flashcards - we have some at home but it is more the opposite types - and i like the cartoons - v nice. E knows how to pick up some words (i think he recognise the cartoons). he gets bored now w ABC, his 123..is just me counting 1-10 at bathtime. He is more interested in animals, bus/trains and signs.

for story books, he looks at the pics ..his baby bible is for him to hunt for birds and elephants (found in when God create the world and Noah's Ark)..rest he is not interested.

I think i am grooming a zoo keeper