(2008/10) Oct 2008

Btw mummies

Any suggestions for breakfast? I'm running out of ideas. So far have given her bread with cheese, oatmeal porridge, red bean withsweet potato, avocado, even cheerios with milk powder. She's getting very picky.

Also any ideas on cooking fish? I've baked salmon and fish with low salt butter, steam with tomato and mushroom or throw in all in porridge.
Cannot think of any other ideas liao. Me not creative la.

Sigh I'm living with a frightening person in my house, and it's freaking me out. I don't think I'm exaggerating. I mentioned that my maid spoilt my juicer by washing it previously. What I didn't know was she went to tell my mum and aunt, with tears somemore, that I purposely doused the juicer with water and put the blame on her that she spoilt the juicer. Such a blatant liar! I'm not going to wait, I'm going to send her back to agency tomorrow.

I was so happy last night, when I left her at my mum's. Just Jo and I. I think I can make it work but hubby insisted on wanting another one. I really am very happy maid-less and the house all to myself again.

Morning Mummies,

Eelyn,
Congrats on getting a girl.. You can dress her up like Kaitlyn.

Nickypower,
U feed kaelyn just like that???

calla lilies,
U can try pancake?? I seldom prepare breakfast for my boy.. He drink milk at 7am then 10+am, he will have his porridge alr..

Karen,
wow.. yr maid so scary.. back stab u.. faint..
Same as u that I prefer without maid.. with maid like no privacy..

karen

whoa your maid really psycho leh...

yup, nothing like the privacy of having the whole house to yourself. Try to persuade yr hubby to try PT cleaners for a while?

<font color="aa00aa">karen
I also prefer maid-less. If you think you can manage without maid, try to talk to your hubby again. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">good morning mummies!!

today my lovely Regine turns 18 mth. so happy to see her growing happily &amp; healthy.

<font color="aa00aa">calla_lilies
At least your kid still take breakfast. Both my kids dont like to take breakfast. They only drink milk in the morning. I tried to give them breads and biscuits before and they just thrown them on the floor.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">daisybuttons,
the chong qing hot pot @ suntec is nice. variety of soup oso not bad. but the service is so so.

JJmom,
how was your "hot" date yesterday??

<font color="aa00aa">R&amp;R mum
Wow!!! Regine is 18 months liao!!! Very soon will be my gal liao! Actually I dont want my kids to grow too fast cos I worry the moment they grow up, they wont be close to me anymore

<font color="aa00aa">mousebb,
ya time flies hor...

ok leh. so far Rachel is still pretty close to me. but i think once they are older maybe when they are in the primary school. they mite not be close to us. they will have their friends.

<font color="aa00aa">I had the chong qing hot pot at tanglin shopping centre during cny. I think it is smiliar to the one at suntec.</font>

R&amp;R,
wow.. Regina turns 18mths liao.. so fast wor..
It's been nearly 2 yrs that we chat here..

mousebb,
I think boy even worst right.. soon they will have their own friends liao..

calla lilies. Fish, how about normal stir fry or making fish lyonnaise? the latter is a recipe from annabel karmel, i made it before and its yummy. mine improvised version hor, coz i dun rem what vege she used.

sliced russet potatoes
sliced onions (i use slice shallots instead sometimes)
low salt butter
fish, cubed or sliced
some vege e.g. carrots or capsicums or pumpkin, sliced or diced
fresh cooked stock
shredded mozzarella cheese
ramkin dish (big enough for one toddler portion)

1. mildly coat sliced potatoes with butter, put some on bottom of ramkin, making 1 layer
2. arrange onions or shallots on top, followed by the vege and fish (mildly coat with butter).
3. put another flat layer of potato (dot with butter), followed by another layer of onions, vege and fish. and repeat until use up everything.
4. pour soup stock into the ramkin until almost cover all ingredients. dun submerge.
5. drizzle mozzarella cheese on top
6. preheat oven. put ramkin inside, cover with aluminium foil, and bake for 20mins covered.
7. remove foil and bake for 5mins until cheese brown.

let me know if ur bub like it!

breakfast, i also running out of ideas! sometimes if i feel like it will make french toast, or feed boiled egg. or even bring her out to eat outside junk bf. hehehee... anyone with more ideas pls share! hehehee.

<font color="aa00aa">daisybuttons,

1. conflakes with fresh milk.
2. bread from with four leaves
3. soft boiled eggs
4. macdonald hot cakes set
5. wanton mee (once a while)
6. french toast side dish baked beans (ikea)

these are what i normally give my girls.

flamingo, sounds yummy. thanks. have not started feeding her stuff like cornflakes nd wheetbix though, shld try soon.

R&amp;R, hehehe actually the macs hot cakes she eats quite often, but thats what i consider junk bf hahaaa... and yes she eats bread from my plate too. and i dun like to give her soft boil eggs at this age leh. french toast yes i mentioned i do give. wantan mee i never give, but i gave her fish ball kuay tiao mee soup b4 and she loves it. but again, thats what i consider junk bf hahahaaaa... but PD got say now shld eat more outside food so i trying to expose her more lah.

ruffles
hee, u and me thinking of the same thing... haha.... i am only gng tmr. if you want, i can text u tmr abt the promo. if need to purchase, just let me know.

<font color="aa00aa">actually i used to grade them as junk food too. but these are the food they will expose in Child Care Ctr. infact i have also run out of idea what to give them for bfast. oh yes, somemore to add on.

1. chee cheong fun. (normally i will give them with light soya sauce. as i do not like to expose them to the sweet sauce.)
2. chwee kuay
3. yam cake
4. carrot cake
5. toast bread

Breakfast:

Bread w cheese
Cereals
Tuna bread from Breadtalk
Egg
Muffin
Pao
Yam cake - home made w v lil salt &amp; sugar
Carrot cake - home made w v lil salt &amp; sugar

etc

I also give an additional whole apple / peach / avocado after she eats the above w milk.

daisy
u quite strict leh... erm, rebby's breakfast is mostly junk. she hates cereal but she loves her marie biscuits, kway teow and bread most of the time... hotcakes is like really occassional. i had yet to give her things like sausage or ham... dun dare to give ...

Slacker mum me give anything.
From french toast, nutella bread, hard boil egg, cheese macaroni, pancakes, fishball mee, mee suan, economical bee hoon, fried rice, chui kuay, tao huay, nasi lemak, carrot cake, basically, just anything i feel like buying or eating. He eats watever i eat. Haha...

Talking abt turing 18 months,

Marcus turn soon. The CC at my lobby called. Ask me when i going to complete the registration and send Marcus in for Day 1! Oh no... is marcus ready for CC? Will he bully others or be bullied?

jelly - i also dun give sausage / ham or anything too salty / sugary. On the rare occasion when daddy is ard and we have Mcbreakfast, she gets a bit of the muffin / bread / pancake and a teeny weeny bit of hash brown. No sausage still. Hha.

Yeah, Wheetbix actually has a lot of the vitamins they you get with baby cereals, minus the sugar.

Oh I also like to give baby yogurt like Petit Miam Fromage Fraise.

<font color="aa00aa">occaionally i will bring the girls to cafe cartel or swensens for bfast too.

Ruffles,
Regine loves to eat ham. Rachel will prefers bacon.

jellypurin, no strict lah. i say junk but I myself still give what! heheheeee....as long as can fill stomach i very relax compared to with my boy that time. same, i dun give her sausage too, too salty leh.

R&amp;R, hehehe i been meaning to try chee cheong fan but no guts yet. thanks will try this weekend if got time! hahaha!

Ruffles, wah you good, still making home make yam and carrot cake? the last time i made carrot cake was I think 10 yrs ago hehee. just that once. cannot make it hor? she tried tuna bread and bread with cheese before, she dun like. also tried "wah goh kuey", those colourful ones, dun like. ok will can try muffin and bao. heeeeee... thanks!

<font color="aa00aa">bigflamingo,
i love to give petit miam to Rachel last time. i have yet to give Regine.

hehehe...

ruffles
hee, i already bought many huggies diapers fm taka... i gian the free gifts so i bought lah, but pampers... woah, i love pampers not on me but for #2 of course! haha...

ruffles, i m going to the fair later ard 4pm....but i dun think i have time to log in to tell u all....if u dun mind, u pm me ur hp # and i msg to u the price.

daisybutton - No la. I dun make them.. i gotta go work leh. My MIL makes yummy healthy yam / carrot cakes

little doggie - tks for yr offer. PM you just

I've a tin of GainIQ 3 (FOr 1yr onwards) 400g to give away. It is a sample tin from abbott.
Expiry date: 13 May 2012.

Self Collection at Toh yi area or Science Park I.

If interested, please email [email protected]

Icylemon,
Why is 2YO an ideal age to go cc? I wonder does that 6mths makes alot of difference? At 1st i wanted to let Bryan go cc at 18mths..but till now he cant talk..dont even say mama/papa
so i decided to defer to 2YO instead..but jus wondering really got diff??

icylemon
hee, if you spend $80 u get a little tikes tool box. it is quite a good toy. i keot it for #2. i think the other offer was if you buy 3packs of NB/S, u get a toy.... keke... gian peng lah me...

brekkie
Jo doesn't really care for pancakes. I have also ran out of ideas. These are what she likes...

- chee cheong fun
- chwee kway (both just plain)
- noodles washed with hot water &amp; fishballs (but argh, the msg! where to get msg-less fishballs?)
- bread with cheese

for cereal, do you all give dry or wet? Won't wet be messy?

Just to share: there's a curious tots event at suntec this weekend.

i'll be going to expo later to check things out.

breakfast: looks like i'm the worry wart mum here. Her only junk breakfast is pandan cake. This is what i'll give:
bread or waffles with soynut butter or jam. Soynut butter no sugar no salt, jam no artificial sweeteners.
pandan cake
Oats with soygurt
cereal with oatmilk and fruits.

hi wan cheun - hope ur boy boy is feeling better. So scary to go thru what u go thru! hug hugs the little one!

Re fish oil/cod liver oil - i gave my boy childlife DHA since he is 9 mths plus. not bad..tried one brand which has the highest dha content..but is more exp..1 softgel =$1

hi karen - ur maid so drama mama...she thinks she TVB actress is it?

breakkie - wow ur mummies give so much variety! mine is just cereal + milk. hahaha