(2008/10) Oct 2008

Busybee:
Thanks. I am glad mini bee is better too.

JJmom:
Ya it's scary seeing him shivering non stop. Then when I asked if he's ok he shook his head :eek: He's been coughing since sat, lotsa phlem. By tues the 4th day, lung infection has set in. Hopefully the antibio can clear it. Thanks for ur concern

Cherie Hearts:
Seem that many mummies here give good reviews. Just received a brochure saying there's a new branch at river valley. Going check it out when KJ is well again.

<font color="aa00aa">Wan Chuen
Hope KJ is feeling better now. We would also wake my kid up to take med during night time. There was once when I woke up to take my son's temp cos he was having fever that time, I was shock to see the temp went up to 40.3 degree. We almost wanted to rush him to the hospital but luckily after giving him the brufen and sponging him for half an hour, the temp gone down to below 39 and we waited till the next morning and sent him to the PD. It was a very scary experience for us. I was so lost until I din know what to do but luckily hubby was very 'zai' and told me not to panic.</font>

Posted on Thursday, March 18, 2010 - 10:41 am:   
Fever; when ash was down w viral fever, we kept sponging him thru the night..I even set alarm cos afraid that I might sleep thru but ash will always wake up before the alarm goes off Cos the body heat jus irritated him and wakes hIm up. So will feed water, take temp and administer med. If bud is slepping thru, better to let him/her rest and cont to take temp and sponge. If temp too high, bud will def b b fussy and nt b able to sleep well. ESP viral fever will peak in the middle of e nite =(
peak in the middle of the nigh =(

<font color="aa00aa">re: cod liver oil

We started giving it to wenmin when she was around 12mths. We give her the orange flavour type and she really like it! </font>

ThankS all.
Mousebb: bag packed. Then again nothing much cos if really need anything, can jus get hubby to go out and buy.. Keke.

Feeling so heavy now.. Now busy gg for "pop" dinner. Keke
will def report once I pop.
Din even frequent the 2010 thread, so guess #2 will continue to tag along for all future outings with gor gor frens in this thread. Hee

Jolly/mousebb:
Thanks for sharing how to deal with kids fever. For me it's a lesson learnt the hard way coz when his flu just started I didn't monitor his temp. By the time I realised the fever was quite high already. Then my husband also panic together w me haha.

Jolly, all the best for your delivery!

<font color="aa00aa">wan chuen
Me and hubby also learnt the hard way. Cannot afford to let the same thing happened again so we are very "ON" when come to taking temp

hiya mommies

does anyone of you know where I can get these from shops (I can only find online sources but would like to look at the actual product before buying):

from safety 1st:
3745403.jpg

from lucky baby:
3745404.jpg

<font color="aa00aa">whitepaper,
i have this tods bed. good!! i used to have the contact for this bed. let me go home &amp; look ard for the card.

Thanks, R&amp;R's mum!

Only problem is that I still find it small leh... prefer to have single size bed for CH... so still considering if I should get the tods bed or the safety rails...

any tod drinking pediasure?

i m thking to change to it as recently Seline dun have good appetiate for her porridge. she only finish 3/4bowl of porridge in 1hour.
but others eg fruits &amp; mee sua then she can finish it faster.

wondering if pediasure can increase her appetiate as its stated for picky eater, but i still cant make sure if she is consider picky

<font color="aa00aa">Many pple kept saying we have let our kids eat junk food like fast food too early but then after witnessed an incident whereby a 21 months old gal nearly choked by french fries bcos she doesnt know how to chew the fries yet tried to swallow it, I told hubby we have not made the wrong decision. Yesterday after the excursion at ikea, the group of students and teachers/parents were at the cafe when the students were served burger and fries. A teacher was feeding this gal when she put a small piece of fries into the gal's mouth. When this gal tried to swallow her fries, she was nearly choked and her face turned red. The teacher immediately used her finger to dig out the fries from the gal's mouth and gave her some water to drink. Later when the teacher hold the fries for the gal and told her to bite the fries, she couldnt but only keep sucking the fries. Later I heard the teachers said the gal till now only eat porridge for solid food. Am surprised all parents were informed beforehand that the students are having burger/fries after the excursion yet the gal's parents never informed the school not to give to the gal.</font>

whitepaper,
Hubby was once very insistent of getting the rails but after I pointed out my worries he forgo the idea...the rails are safe when our toddlers are sleeping and will refrain them from rolling down the bed but what if they wake up and we are not around? For Dylan, he can safely go up and down the bed without rails but with the rails, it'll be more of an hazard if he tries to stand up and try to get his leg over it...he'll topple head 1st...

<font color="aa00aa">whitepaper
I have the safety 1st rail but then find it not really useful if your mattress is too thick. It doesnt help much.</font>

hi mummies!!
I'm down with bad flu and cough.. I think I got it from my boy..

Jolly,
Hope to hear your popping news from you.. Have a smooth delivery ya...

Ruffles,
U are next after Jolly??? that's really fast..
Who's next?? Jelly or Eelyn??

bbgoh,
My boy also bad appetite to solid. But maybe due to his cough... Pediasure is for how big of toddles??

mousebb

then i guess i will get the tods bed if i'm satisfied when i see it. CH tosses around alot in bed and will be safer if all sides of the bed are soft

Hi mummies who are expecting again!
congrats! So happy for all of you! Me and my hubby think we'll stop at one. Though I still xin ruan want to have another. But we have no support except to put in child care when we go back. Also age catching up no stamina for this bundle we have.
The Tot bed looks good but now my girl is on mattress on floor. She's been there since she was five months cos she rolls alot and tends to hit the cot and wakes up in the middle of the night.

tweety

Pediasure is for 1-10yrs, but its very expensive ler. almost twice of mamilgold ler

my girl is only dun like porridge. so this week almost every meal i give her mee sua but in school only fri then got mee sua.
but huh if my mil buy pork porridge at hawker centre, she can eat 3bowl -_-

u take good care while varner is away.

<font color="119911">toddler bed vs floor mattress :

i have the same worry as elch, Nat loves to walk ard the soft mattress in her cot, do her 'free fall' stunt when sitting down so we don't think a toddler bed with safety rails r gd enough for her.

We decided on getting the seahorse 3 fold floor mattress with a 6 panel playyard ard it.</font>

whitepaper,
Am interested in the toddler bed too, please share with me after you view it ya. Thanks!

JJmom,
The 6 panel playard can fit the 3 fold mattress well? Wont have gap in between? I scare my satay son will drop into it and wake up from the shock.

jolly,
wow! so soon!!.. so excited for u! :D

sick bubs,
take care mummies!! im feeling abit down myself.. downing water to keep myself frm falling sick. last thing i want is to spread to kaitlyn..

tweety,
get well soon... jelly will be first.
im after.. but i think phantus is before jelly??

toddler bed,
looks interesting. might check it out. kaitlyn is a very bad sleeper.. she rolls from one end of the bed to the other. we have to corner her on the bed. i often wake up with her foot in my face.

jjmom,
our haenim play yard is redundant already (till #2 comes) kaitlyn climbs out of it. very dangerous.

wanchuen,
ohh.. so i wont see u at bibinogs tmr? tmr is last day of the term right? kaitlyn got 2 makeup classes.. Desiree extended for us to attend 2 more nxt wk. r u continuing? the mighty tots is quite costly.. $1999 for 10 wks..

dimple
actually today at the market, I saw two of those vehicles. Now I'm tempted too! Where are your parents getting it from?

cod oil
Must give eh? What's it for?

Hi bbgoh
you have given her hawker food? I'm worried if too much salt and MSG? We are tempted to let her eat the food outside as well but so far only give her if plain boiled egg or some rice. Once, we ordered a grilled salmon for her. Haha took a risk cos we don't even know what seasoning added!
I place many pillows around the mattress so she will not fall. She used to still fall down onto the floor between the pillows but my mattress not so high so was alright.

Jolly, sooo soon! So exciting!

Jelly, oh u mean u are still trying to reach the bp organiser. i remember u talking abt it some time back! I ordered another batch of 3 for $25 gap pjs from Nad. This time she has The bee and Turtle designs I have been eyeing. Think someone didn't pay up, but lucky for me. Now i can't wait to receive them.

BBgoh, minibee also eats abt 3/4 bowl of porridge only taking abt 45 mins. Alot of coaxing needed. But since we introduced gan bei she seems quite keen on her porridge again. So maybe can trial and error.

Whitepaper, I have seen the toddler bed at SK kiddy palace. But its rather small abt standard cot size. I think we are all having the same worries abt their safety.

Eelyn, take care yeah.

slacker mum me have been stuffing marcus with loads of outside food. Haha...

Talking abt steamboat
There's a la mei zi at novena area. Quite nice. Maybe we can go there.

<font color="119911">phtanus,
we tested the playyard with the floor mattress setting some time back, i rem there is a vy small gap but not enough for our toddler to drop in btw.

eelyn,
kaitlyn manages to climb out from the playyard! Mayb coz she has long legs like mama

i m hoping this setting can last till Nat is more stable in her movements...hmmmmm</font>

busybee
oh, that is another one. i seemed to have met a few bp organisers who are quite bad at replying to their customers. glad you got what you want from NAD. she is v quick actually.

i have been giving my kids scott liver fish oil since they are like 13mths....according to my PD is for DHa and can build up their immunity.For my 18mths boy i m giving 2.5ml and 3+yrs boy i give him like 5ml. Juz this monday, i brought them to see PD for cough and cold, PD suggest to give them the vitamin c and b.

actually i juz bought from vitakids....the nordic fish oil. my friend told me this is better then the scott but definitely more expensive...$47 a bottle.

whitepaper, phtanus,

Playyard is hard but 'hollow' so it's not painful when bumped against. There'll be gap around the mattress but not wide or deep enough to cause a shock to our toddlers if they do roll into it...Dylan's been sleeping in this formation since 4months old and so far only 1 foot or 1 hand will 'drop' into the hole...never once the whole body so no worries! If really worried, some soft toys or bolsters will cover the gaps...

XY, bp close liao and most of the big sizes gone. Creat_gal has clearance at $9 a set now. Mostly boy designs.

Jelly, poor u. Abt Nad, yes she is very efficient, will even email reg mail tracking no.

Dimple,
I got that tricycle too for my boy.. sometime will push him in this instead of stroller to nearby market..

Karen,
You can get from NTUC extra i think..I got mine from a shop selling bicycle..

Cod liver oil:
is it the scott's one??

eelyn,
You are Augt mummy for #2 right?? I think you can my colleague same..

bbgoh,
Maybe the porridge u cook is too plain?? Our baby know how to choose food alr...