(2008/10) Oct 2008

good morning mummies.

mint & lilbluey,
i quite like the Little Skool House @ Jurong Safra. The enviroment there is good. The center there is big. Spacious enough to let the children run around. Curriculum not bad. they have abt 4 chinese teachers there. i pretty like the set up there.

lilbluey,
btw, there is another CC inside Jurong Point. located at the new wing near to the level 3 foodcourt. they shared the same playground as the residences of tat condo. i cannot remember the name of tat CC. is under NTUC too. their waiting list is damn long. i put Rachel's name in Nursery 2. she is in q no. 100+.

<font color="0000ff">Morning All,

Wow! All the feedback on the schools, thanks for the info =D definitely gave us an insight

Thanks Mummies for your kind wishes

Busybee:
Thanks. KJ weight has been stagnant for a long time and only started increasing recently. It's because I no longer insist on a no salt and low sugar diet. So he's taking quite alot of adult food.

Vanilla:
E woke up again yest night? I think what the book means is when he is sound asleep, purposely rub abit to stir him slightly so that when he falls back alseep he will sleep past the usual time that he is waking up. Don't make him too wide awake wait he can't get back to sleep :p

Joanne:
Good luck in your baby-making! XY too.

<font color="0000ff">Icylemon,

Was telling hb last nite that I need to make some plans, think it's time to check out LSH @ Safra and see how it goes.

Then my hb was telling me, do you think our boy will want to attend it given his current behaviour at class? -_-""

Got a CC at JP? Dunno leh, not sure about that wor...think I never go look so clearly wahahahaha ;p~ concuss

Buffy, is buckley's 5 mins down the road? But traffic on bukit timah road is awful during peak hours right. Hmmmm. I will relook this and finalise my decision.

Vanilla, not cheapo at all. Most of the time they prefer the real deal anyway. Ikea has nice mini steel pots and pans and crockery too.

About sleep, have you mums considered getting a chamomile extract to calm your kiddos. Its works for teething pains too. It helps minibee sleep better when the sprouting teeth are bothering her. Not sure if it would help you kiddos. Can check at vitakids.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Nursery/Pre-schools

For myself, like what busybee commented, most imptly is location, must be convenience to us..dun wanna rush like a mad woman in the morning sending the child there then make a mad dash for work..;p~

hi buffy - now he cuts his 2x naps of 1-1.5 hr to just 1 nap of around 2-3 hrs... at night on a good nite will be 10pm and he will cry for milk 1-2times and then wake abt 7am.

counting his hours he is actually sleeping lesser than what 17mths shld be sleeping....

i guess he gets frustrated cos he wants something and cant tell me and i guess wrongly and i refused to give what he wants...tantrums and he is persistent...

thanks busybee-- i will go check it out today...

hi wan chuen - ya again! and i counted it is exactly 4 hrs after he sleep! last night he slept late so he woke up at 3am instd.

Ok tonite i set alarm clock to wake up and gently stir him abit..thanks!!

hi bluey - maybe u can start him on some playgroups that are a few hrs a few times a week?

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla,

Think now as our kids get older, the nap times oso become shorter...

My boy takes about 2 naps in the day about half an hour - an hour, on some days he can snooze past 3 hrs..but recently he has oni been sleeping once in the morning till 1 pm then he doesnt nap anymore...

We will put him to bed at around 9 pm - 9.30 pm at night and he will drift himself off to sleep after that..

If he does cries and fuss, we juz close the door behind us and after a while, he will know that he won't get any attention and automatically zz...;p~

Watch a program over the wkend on "raising sextuplets"! and learn quite a fair bit of parenting from them it's not easy especially dealing with 6 at a go! hahaha

My hb was asking me when to sign Ash up for playground, even it's those 2 hrs or so oso can and must be convenient to my folks who are caring for him, I said they haven start registration for his age! hahaahaha ;p~ the problem is now he can't even sit still for an hr in class how to go for playgroup? *headache*

<font color="119911">morning all

yest lunch gathering sounds fun

R&amp;R, i really don't believe tat u r only into Karen's makeup &amp; not her other assets...heehee

Mommies who attended the talk yest, r there any notes or tips to share? TIA

Busybee, thanks so much for sharing abt your visits of the schools, gain lots of useful infor for my decision making

<font color="0077aa">Vanilla: U tried carrying E up and letting him point to you what he wants? Dun fret too much ok, he is all but 17 months so whilst he is learning to exert his independance, he is also learning to explore and communicate hence all babies will be frustrated. Even C. She will keep telling me "this" or "that" so if I cannot understand which one, I will carry her and she will point or pick up the item herself.

Busybee: ya, Halifax is sorta after KK right? So if you travel down, United Square is on the left? Buckley's is just sorta across from there but it is in one of the lane's inside (behind Etons), that's why I thought maybe you would wanna do a test drive and see the place. The thing is if we have to drop them off early, I think the traffic is not gonna be so heavy at that time.</font>

<font color="119911">busybee,
talking abt traffic, u r planning to exit by KPE - sim ave? M thinking i will have problem with the exit at KPE - old airport, always jam vy badly in the morning

Hiya all

Congrats Lilbluey! Good things always happen when you least expect it isn’t it? 

Pat’s @ Halifax: The Principal told me the 2011 intake is full and they do not take in new students. Those in Pat’s Baby Haven at Halifax will all automatically graduate to the preschool there leaving no spaces for new comers. Other down side is the place is rather run-down.

Pat’s @ Buckley: Love the location. We’ve gone there during ‘peak hours’ and because it’s in a lane opp Hotel Royal, there is no congestion. Place is new and clean. Has a dedicated art, music room; lotsa happy children, artwork all over the walls, large playground area, clean wash areas with 2 different leveled wash basins, mirrored walls for ballet lessons, swimming tubs for swim classes. The Principal’s child is in fact ‘studying’ there so am sure the principal wants to ensure everything is in tip top condition. Plus I love the curriculum and student –teacher ratio. Specialised aunties for cleaning / cooking, and trained degree-holder teachers. Very good reviews on the Chinese teacher there. The last I knew, only 4 seats left for 2011.

Pat’s @ East Coast and Whitley: Good reviews on the Chinese teacher too.

LSH @ OCBC: Need to consider the horrendous traffic at peak after office hours. The entire Battery Rd comes to a crawl ard 7pm.

LSH @ AMKhub: The queue to drive in AMKHub is horrendous enough to deter me. Hate that place.

Tea sets with ‘cutable food items’ like cakes, bread etc – Those who like Hello Kitty stuff can consider! Vic loves her new kitty sets and feeds me with tea, cakes, biscuits etc. You can get these lovely sets from any major departmental stores at around $30 per set.

Notes: Anyone can share the notes at yesterday’s talk? Couldn't go cos of meetings.

i just called LSH at AMK and MCYS. they have a waitlist of 100 kids or more! the principal i spoke to sounds quite atas... hiaz... think i stick to my marymount. i feel that they are very sincere. maybe their program not as comprehensive as the other kindies, but i should go with my gut feel what is best for rebby. am also betting that since she started with marymount, maybe she can go to marymount convent... keke...

govt promises to increase more child care centers. where???? looking at the waiting list. is so long................

sorry to bring up a scandal topic again. did anyone read abt jack neo's case. wat is abt tat involved 1 of our minister Dr Yeo??

JJmom, yeah. I drove my hubs to work and realised there is normally a congestion at Airport Road exit and Sims Ave exit. Guess need to trial run.

Buffy &amp; Ruffles, thanks may check out Pat's Buckley afterall.

JJmom &amp; Ruffles, Unfortunately no notes were given out yesterday. I will email organisers to ask. Cos I tot I saw a stack of handouts next to projector. Could be so many questions that they forgot to give out the notes.

Ruffles, I got Minibee the Minnie Mouse Supermarket cart. Comes with some food toys but main reason was to store all her food toys. Easy access for her that way. Like that she push her little trolley around. The HK tea sets are cute! Refrained from getting her that cos she already has her Tupperware set. Eyeing a kitchenette... her papa is so gonna roll his eyes at me, cos he thinks I get the toys more for myself!

icylemon
on today's TODAY paper, minister yeo blogged abt jack's infidelity. but he did mention that while the man err, we shd still support the arts &amp; media.

Jelly, agree that u should go with your gut feel about what's best for rebby. Is there an affiliation b/n kindy and primary school?

busybee
where did u buy the mickeymouse supermarket cart? can let me know? rebby will love it too! i just bought her some wooden toys from BP. loved it and even got my fren's tod a sushi set. it was v cute!

<font color="0000ff">Icylemon,

Will go check it out hee..thanks

It's juz a mere domestic affair which it happens in everyday life probably... Dunno why a 'big shot' is showing support?? Juz becos he's a "renowned director" in SG?? pls lar.... **ridiculous** roll eyes~

busybee
not sure, but i am going to chk out next week after my visit to shaw's. will go to marymount for a chat with the principal. i think shaw's at braddel has a long watlist too ...

<font color="0077aa">re notes for talk yesterday: i managed to get the speaker's email address and will drop her a line to ask if she can share any notes. if she does email over, i will share with you girls.

Busybee: ya, ruffles's vicky and my C will be classmates at Pats. :p So, we will see each other at the parents gathering and kids' performances. Hee... v cool!

Am specifically looking out for wooden toys, u have any suggestion?

Ruffles: u mind emailing me on what you found out about the chinese curriculum and your comments on the CL teacher?

Jelly: I thought u were gonna go ahead with Marymount? Sorry if I missed out something but what happened to it?</font>

hi bluey - thanks for ur insight on how to put Ash to sleep. E sometimes will roll here and there, sleep on his tummy stick his bum up and sleep, sometimes i pat him 2 hrs still dun sleep. I have told my parents not to let him sleep past 530pm...so by 10 he shld be able to sleep...honestly, he naps 2-3hrs is also so that m parents and mil can have a break and cos he is too active i thot napping is good for him....

re playgroup - we are starting him n 23 mar for 2 hrs 2 times a week...oh E cannot sit still too ..when he goes sunday school, he move here and there.. haha busybee - u say mini bee has ants in her pants.. E will be has crabs in his pants... he will climb on chairs, snatch crayons etc...one boy told me that E is naughty..girls all go "no, cannot climb"..but i still sign him up cos want him to be in the environment that he wil learn to sit down, play attention..so when he goes to nursery the transition will be less painful.

Thanks buffy for ur tip. I will do that today if his nonsense continues...usually he will point to a general direction and i will pass those things to him, if it is not what he wants, he will push away. last nite i know he wants to read his children bible, but i know he will be up to 30-45 mins just flipping and pointing to the pictures and it was 1030 i desperately want him to sleep.

jelly &amp; lilbluey,
OIC. coz i was reading the new paper on page 2 half way my colleague told me tat Dr Yeo was dragged into the scandal too.

buffy
hiaz... swayed by all the good comments from some of the mommies about the other centres, but no, dun think i will change my mind. will stick to marymount. too many advantages to go marymount, esp it is close to home and they have a session for pre-nursery starting from 1130am to 230pm... just nice for my monster

icylemon
well, mr yeo is making himself relevant to the people ...

Jelly, yes Shaw's principal said waiting list is LONG! About the shopping cart. I got it at Kiddy Palace. $49.90, its from the Tomy Takara brand, seems sturdy and basket can be removed to be carried around. Go with your gut feel. If you think Marymount is the place for Rebby then go for it. Mama know's best!! There is no Best Preschool. Just what suits your child best.

Lilbluey, R &amp; R, so that's what was going on about Jack Neo. I saw pple postng on fb but didn;'t know what was the whole story!

Kitchenette – Yea am getting Vic one too; saving it as her 2nd birthday pressie from mommy. So many choices now! And yes, I am reliving my childhood dreams &amp; fantasies of a wonderful kitchen set! Also thinking of getting her a Lil Tikes Playhouse. She loves going into it and pretend ‘cook’ or play peekaboo whenever we go to the PD. The cost of which can be justified when di di comes along. Hiak hiak.

Jelly – Yea go with Marymount since it’s so near you. Honestly, we do so much ‘studying’ of these pre-schools, but we must also remember to be hands-on when they start schooling; reiterate whatever they learnt in school not only for the kid’s devt, but also for parent-child bonding. Too many parents adopt a hands-off approach and rely solely on the schools or grandparents, and when their kids do not seem to excel or seem to be slower, they start blaming the schools and teachers. For me, education begins at home. I want to be every part of my child’s devt, and not hear from someone that she learnt to draw an egg or whatever 

<font color="0077aa">BigFlamingo: ohhhhh... I just realised I forgot to reply you your earlier posting. Actually C has also started walking around the class and pulling out chairs and I am also monitoring the situation and gonna try out another place to see if she is the same. But she seems to be listening though. For e.g. when the CL teacher went "xie xie", she repeated it. It's just that I want her to enjoy the class and that's why I am reassessing...

Reg fee at Pats for Ruffles and I @ Buckley is $321. Not sure if this is standardised throughout. You should call and check.

Buffy - ok

Bigflamingo - You pay $321 I think for deposit. Come July, you have to pay the full 1 month's amount to secure a slot at your chosen Pat's.

Bluey, dun worry about Ash not sitting still in class. Minibee, the little Ms Ants in Pants also wouldn't sit still some times. They learn in the social setting and realise they are the only one walking around. Over time they will settle down in the circle. So Vanilla, dun worry. JG is not so structured where it would be frowned upon when E wanders off. Dun worry.

Buffy, yeah it would be nice to have Mummy friend in preschool.

ruffles
my current dream kitchenette for Rebby is from Melissa and Doug. So nice but so ex :p BP now selling for $212

busybee
thanks! i am so going to KP at lunch to check it out! rebby just got her pram and toy baby! she loves the pram but hates the baby. keeps throwing her on the floor. LOL

<font color="ff6000">hi mummies!

so good to see so many of you yesterday! had such a good time catching up. really miss you mummies, esp the siao one(s). haha.

vanilla
nice to meet you for the first time! you recog me from FB is it? Kate also slept badly last night. i think mainly cos she only had one v short nap ystdy afternoon due to our exciting prog ystdy. we gotta hang in there!

To share, my takeaways from the talk were (when kate was not up to mischief):

- fifty words on average by 2 yrs (i think my personal target is 20-30 words, not fussed if not more than that)
- word explosion occurs around 2.5 yrs when they will suddenly form longer sentences (e.g. 4 words) that we didn't necessarily teach
- bilingualism is best adopted when one parent speaks on language from the start
- a european lady asked if its a problem if they start mixing 2 languages in one sentence, speech lady said it's inevitable if both parents speak and switch between two languages.
- should only worry if child shows signs that they cannot hear
- boys and girls develop speech at the same pace, just that girls tend to be chattier so there's the misconception that girls are faster than boys in languages

my personal thoughts on bilingualism is that the impt thing is to try our best to foster a love for the languages. don't ask me how - most of the mummies seem to be banking on Berries haha!

guess it's rather unnatural for most of us to have one parent speak all the time in one language... and there are quite a few cases of kids who are monolingual until kindergarten or pri sch and they still pick it up pretty fast from friends. no choice if you wanna play - gotta learn how to communicate! haha.

bluey
many congrats!! so happy for you. you must be thrilled. and I'm sure tho yr hubs had reservations he must be really excited to have an addition, esp after seeing so many cute kids in his sideline.

busybee

I am molto mucho impressed that you covered 3 (or 4?) schools in one afternoon! thanks for sharing. it's real interesting to see the variety of schools. guess it's impt to have a range of schs to cater for a diverse range of needs of pre-sch age parents.

it's still mind-boggling to me that pre-sch education in sgp costs more than local tertiary. gonna bug my MCYS friend i/c of childhood education to address that.

on jack neo

my main bugbear is with the wife. what do you mean 'men are like that'? with that kind of accepting attitude, gives them more leeway to think they can get away with all this rubbish.

men should be very aware that if they jeopardise their family with stupid actions like that they will be made to pay for it in all senses of the word.

it just doesn't help if women take a condoning stance.

having said that, i hope the family recovers from this episode (so similar to tiger, now some other 20 yr old girl coming out of the woodwork to say same thing happened to her. seems only china girl shameless/gutsy enough to expose him) and picks up the pieces, for the children's sake.</font>

Sometimes, after his milk, I will pat him a little while...however, I try not to make it a habit of patting him to sleep else it will be difficult next time, we want him to be independent. Of the late, he has been extremely extremely clingy to me so my hb has to play the role of the bad guy and put him in bed amidst his fussing and tantrums..after a while, he got the hint that no one is going to entertain him so he juz drift off to lalaland hee ^_^..

Icylemon,

It's just sooo lame!!

Jelly, is there a BP now??? Send me the link please!! I want to get minibee the pram and baby too. I was looking at the baby alive one. It drinks milk! hahahaha. The one I saw at The Better Toy Store yesterday is wooden and lilac, with oven/sink and stove and upper shelves.

<font color="0077aa">Jelly: THAT MAKES U AND ME! I was also looking at the same kitchenette! It is cheap for a M&amp;D but I still find it a tad too much to fork out for a "toy"... You going ahead to get it?

Actually, if the kindy is affiliated to Marymount Convent, then all the more you can put rebby there so u can reduce the stress of looking for a Pri school for her next time!

Ruffles: U wanna meet for lunch later? I just emailed you... :p</font>

<font color="0000ff">Busybee,

I think Ash gets bored very easily like most children of tis stage I suppose?? Half an hour into class he starts showing signs of restlessness and keep pointing to the door and tell me "go go" -_-"" it's not as if he doesn't understand what the teacher is teaching, I find that it might be due to things he alrd knows and he refused to listen any further, tht's why my mum ask me to slow down my pace with him hmmmm...but in fact I am quite of a slacker hardly taught him anything lolx ;p~

Dimpletot,

Thanks gal! When I broke the news to him, the first sentence he said is "Really?! Good Luck to you" diaoz diaoz ;p~

Ruffles, the reggio approach is a wholistic approach which requires full support from parents to reiterate what is learnt in school. Definitely whatever the family dynamics, or preschool environment it is the quality time spent with the child and proper discipline that is important. If you speak to most educators, they will still tell you that no matter what they teach in the school setting if the home environment is not conducive then it back fires. Sorry I have to disagree about your views about full day childcare. Cos not all family dynamics allow the luxury of alternative care givers also at times the grandparents are not exactly best of caregivers too. Some are overly concern with chores and just park the child in front of the TV all day. Not exactly healthy either. So in such cases a trained institution may work better in providing a good healthy environment.

hee hee, i don't think there are any kindys that are affiliated to pri schools... even nanyang kindy isn't... but doesn't stop the queues...

busybee
sorry, mis-comm to you. no BP for the pram and baby. it's the M&amp;D kitchenette that is on the BP thread now..

buffy
it's cute but i just thought i shd hold off spending on such an expensive toy and know what, my #2 would probably not be playing pretend with his sister... think he will be whisked away by his dad to play basketball... keke...

Lilbluey, may i ask where is her attending class? Yes. I agree about restlessness. Which is why I like the JG classes for miki. Is so high energy and activities change every 15 mins before the kiddos get bored. No lah I am sure you are not slacker. No mother is, exception maybe the Korean one obsessed with her virtual baby. I think also dependent on child's character. Some do well and thrive in academic type environment, some in high energy free for all play environment. So don't worry too much, its just finding the right environment to suit Ash.