(2008/10) Oct 2008

karen,
Nvm mind lah.. we meet up again so I can pass you the cookies too. Really nice to go out without Regina today... so happy to just carry a tiny handbag. *me and my cheap thrills*

<font color="0077aa">vanilla, oh E is active too? C started taking unaided steps when she was quite young so u can see how busy I was running after her. Sigh... Since she woke up from her disturbed nap just now, she din sleep. Am flat out. She is with my helper now, I need a break. Ha ha

hmmm... Thanks for sharing some of the keypoints. I just remember that she mentioned something about talking to our kids and I was like, oh that's me! Ha ha

mint: thanks for sharing. Good thought. I think it's more I think Cate will have a hard time adjusting cos in Pri school, it is do structured! The Chinese program was also another thought, though they haveva dedicated Chinese teacher, am
not convinced that the focus is there. That's why I wanna kaypo this Sat. What time will u be there?</font>

elch
I made a few for them. BRTC Whitening &amp; Wrinkle Repair, Hanskin Magic Cream &amp; Skinfood Gingko Green.

But my fave is the one I'm using now, Clearlast from Japan! The SPF is 30 PA+++. Good enough. And got a selection of shades.

icylemon,
Of course I'll agree! She's no doubt one of the chio ones in this thread! Though I've seen her only once but she manages to 'attract' me with her dressing, make-up and......boobs.....;p

Buffy,
Ya this sat will go and ask plenty of questions. haha! I'll be there in the afternoon say around 2pm?

Wan thinking of paying little skool house a visit too at namly crescent.

mint,
if i am not wrong, little skool house is by NTUC too. i remember i went to the one at Jurong Safra. the principal told me tat.

icylemon,
Yes, you're right.. is by NTUC. That explain the lower fee structure as compared to the high high ones that I've seen.

icylemon
Why suddenly talk about me?!

Makeup ah. Heh yah, I was into it in a big way once upon a time. Like 20 years ago. Used to follow every season's new colours. Now not so into them anymore. Now I can go seasons without buying anything. Phew. I'm into more, err, expensive stuff now. LOL!

<font color="0077aa">busybee: forgot to add that it was nice meeting u! Din have much chance chatting with u and playing with minibee cos she was napping shortly after. Envious minibee can nap anywhere cos that will never happen to Cate!!! Ha ha

Karen: wa! U have a lot of mummies here bio-ing u ah! Even the hum sup Icylemon!!!! LOL</font>

Karen,
I'm using Liole sample size tube now. It's my 1st bb cream but last week I bought Dr. Goo-something-wang from Sasa after reading many good reviews in the forums. Yet to try it, hope it's good. Where did you get Clearlast from? Is it ex?

icylemon,
I'm also actually more interested in Karen's make up...

<font color="0077aa">mint: miss u and Regina then. We will be going in the morning as my hubby has to work in the PM</font>

elch
I got the Clearlast from ichibankao.com. Lots of nice Japanese makeup there. Like Jill Stuart. Hee.

I know the Goo brand. LOL! But I'm quite biased la. I prefer Japanese makeup.

karen,
hehehe.. it's ok. we can still meet up again.

lunch:
ladies, great seeing you all again. vanilla, sorry i wasn't able to talk to you earlier. you were too far away.

karen,
No kids to watch in action so only hear them claim this and that I guess. The 4th ave branch is brand new also.

lilbluey,
read from the website that the one at Safra uses the Reggio approach. Impressive but how they carry it out is another story.

Buffy,
morning impossible cos my sleepy head will only wake up at 10 plus or 11am. So by the time I'm all ready to leave house it's past noon.

<font color="0077aa">oh mummies who went for the talk, did u guys pick up some info sheets at the table to your right when you enter into the room? I just randomly picked up the sheets and saw that I have picked up a $10 trial class at Canvass! They have a class from 18mths. Anyone else picked this up? Maybe we can go together when our tots turn 18/20 months when their motor skill is better?</font>

<font color="0077aa">mint: no worries about it. Cate sleeps around 10pm (we try!) so she wakes up early. Hence mornings are better for us anyhow. Plus hubby needs to go back to oversees his event so no choice for me.

Re group outing: PH zoo is gonna be quite crowded? No??? Any other suggestions? Am good except I need to go church in the morning, that's all</font>

Had a good time at the talk and brunch. Pleasure meetiing Buffy &amp; Vanilla for the first time!! And great meeting Dimple, Mona, Wan Chuen after soooo long. Last time I saw u guys minibee was just a little crawling critter. Now she is a little bundle of energy ( as u saw at the talk!). Rest of u mummies, always a pleasure hanging out wt u gals. Karen, I also want BB cream sample leh! hahahaha

Buffy, abt minibee's napping, yes it is really something I am thankful about. But also worried about at the same time as I am afraid of her adapting to preschool.

Mint, soooo tired from visiting the schools!! Ok here are my reviews. Was rather disappointed by Odyssey. School looks kind of boring. Classroom are not colourful and did not have much of the kiddies projects up on display. Also not much toys around. The Building is very new and well kept and they have a huge outdoor play area but within the classroom I was not really impressed by what was going on. During toddler's circle time, the teachers and kids were sitting around with music playing on stereo and they were just hanging out. Not impressed considering the amount they are charging for fees. But i must say their art room and music studio looks very pro. Think their Chinese Programme should be decent. A caucasian boy said "Ni Hao" to me! Plus, principal was not very chatty during the tour. It was a pretty silent tour, I was doing most of the talking and asking questions and she answered according to my questions. So not impressed.

School House by the Bay. Teachers are native speakers with some locals. But they speak well. Kids look like they are all having a lot of fun. They have their tea break in a school canteen like Pri kids. Classroom kind of small but looks well equipped with interesting activities lined up and they go on field trips regularly. Their version of Billingual Immersion programme is Alternate days of Full day English and Full day Mandarin. So Communication throughout each day is only in that language. School "celebrate" each area of focus with events. Like music &amp; movement with a sports day, English/ Chinese literacy with School Play, etc. I have their sample curriculum and timetable. Quite an international mix for their kids and everyone just seem sooo happy. Downside is school is located in the CC which is a public area. Security is limited to a security guard at the gate. I know its sufficient, just it may be a concern about guard's performance lapse. Plus they do not have full day for kiddos till they reach 4yo. Thus they fall under MOE and so no subsidy entitlements.

Little Skool House. I like what I saw. Centre is very new and nice. And I love their curriculum. They are Reggio based like Odyssey and adopts the best of montessori and multiple intelligences. They have a literacy based curriculum, with a certain book chosen for a month and activities and lessons are expanded based on the book. For eg, The Mouse and the Cookie, so science approach to lesson is learning about the mouse, cookery- kids get to bake cookies and they do paper bag puppets of mice. Updates of class ongoings can be viewed from school web portal. And teachers email the parents pics taken weekly. The reggio part, is lessons which are student led. So discussions will be carried out and lesson theme carried on from there. I saw lots of wonderful craft. And artwork. Downside for Mountbatten branch is lack of outdoor play. But a playground for the preschool is in the pipeline and enrichments for the kiddos by external specialists are also available.

Pat's, also pretty impressed. Kids spoke very well and principal seems to have a good relationship with all the kiddos. Mulitcultural students and phonics and language programmes there seem very robust.

Now left with Shaw's then I decide! hahaha...
Apologies for the long post.

busy bee
Nope, no handouts.

I will love to hear your final decision. So far, which are the ones you have shortlisted?

I will go get the containers for your sample. Will give you the Japanese one too.

Just went thru the archives....

Bluey, Congratulations!!

Jelly, hope u are feeling better!

Karen, sure will keep you posted on my final decision. Have u decided on where to send Jo? And thanks in advance for the samples!

buffy,
regina sleeps by 10pm too and she wakes up at 11am. She can really sleep. Haha!

Busybee,
wow! So many schools! Thanks for the review. Sounds like little skool house quite good considering that they are by ntuc. Things that caught my eye from your review are the art works, the cookie baking, student led discussions. Think i should go check out the jurong west and namly crescent ones.

Oh i remember why i told you no good cos of my horrid impression of front desk staff at occ. I wanted to check out the pricing for birthday parties at occ and they told me under the jurisdiction of little skool house at occ so i called and got horrid service, bad english. Thinking that it might be better that i go down personally to chat with them, we drove all the way there just to get same treatment. Sighz! But it's a bad judge of how the school operates. Haha!

Karen,
swallows and amazons also by moe so no subsidies.

purple,
i just spritz on her back, feet, chest, spritz her room and pillow too.

busybee,
which little skool hse did u visited today?

mint,
ar... okie... shall try to get one and use...

by the way, do you mind sending me the notes on the last talk that you ladies went to. Thanks!

Mint, yeah based on those factors I was impressed. I never thought to give Little Skool House consideration as the last time I called up the OCBC branch to enquire for infant care space, I spoke with someone with really bad English too. But while researching on preschool, I came across some interesting comments about its curriculum and thought to check them out. Don't strike them off yet. Do pay them a visit before you decide. Another interesting factor, the sinks in the bathrooms cater to the different age groups. They have lower sinks for the younger ones and higher ones for the Kindy kids. So I tot that was very considerate.

Purple, I visited the Mountbatten branch. Its a new centre.

For those residing in the East, School House By the Bay is one interesting option too. Too bad the timing wise does not work out for us as it only has half day sessions. The school has a open door policy and has a "FBI" type room where parents can observe the lessons and kids from a 1 sided mirror! Pretty cool huh.

busybee,
Aiyah! These front desk people with bad english just make us have a bad view of the organisation.
little skool house gave you the 'wow'? then i can consider putting regina there. plus the fees are so much more affordable and it would mean that i can still be sahm. Hahaha! Oh and i read from the website that the namly crescent branch teaches japanese. Heehee! Will go check them out this week if possible.

JJmom:
Thanks for clarifying on CB

Vanilla:
Nice meeting you today, I hope I don't bore you with all my questions. Dug out my Baby Whisperer book regarding the "Wake to Sleep" teachnique to share with you but I think don't try unless you find E really wakes up same time every night. I didn't try it coz my boy didn't have this problem. Basically its to stir him to semi-consciousness by rubbing tummy or jostle him gently and let him fall back to sleep. Supposed to do it 3 nights in a row, but only after making sure his waking is not due to other causes. Good luck!

Mint, Karen, Buffy, Debbie:
Thanks for sharing your thoughts and findings on preschool. Sorry can't contribute much because I haven't started my search opps. Debbie thanks for the info on the schools you checked out, and yes, I wanted to tell you Miki has grown up so much! She is so kuai sitting in the stroller.

Dimpletot:
Sorry your gal kept getting bullied by my boy!

Joanne &amp; Mona:
Didn't talk to you much also. Actually I stay at Tiong Bahru too, do count me in if you have playdates ok.

Buffy:
No worries, catch up with you another time.

Congrats to Bluey! Take care!

morn mommies

busybee
too bad little sch hse at amk has a long waitlist for 2011 and i heard they maybe moving out of the premise at amk hub, else, wld consider them as well.

Good Morning Mummies,
Mint, but first impressions really count. But I was put off by the atas attitude of the admin person at Chiltern forum. When I asked about fullday, the lady said something like we are not that kind of childcare, we are different. The type of parents who send their kids to Chiltern do not have that need for full day childcare. The tone she used made me feel she had a hidden meaning. So I was totally put off.

Wan Cheun, Thanks! Minibee can be such a bundle of energy too. Not always sitting guai guai like yesterday. She was really tired thus needed a siesta. KJ, has grown alot, much chubbier then before. He taking solids well?

Jelly, Oh is the wait at AMKHub long? U could just waitlist (no harm). I did with my several Back up choices.

Busy bee
how's the Chinese curriculum like at little skoolhouse? Got interested when you raved about it at lunch. The curriculum sounds like SEED in primary schools. I did e curriculum planning back then.

For Jo, I have shortlisted Pat's, Swallows by is ex and plus the enternal Chinese studying, adds up a lot,

hi joanna - nice to meet u too.pity didnt get a chance to talk to u.

wan chuen - thanks for the tip, i will try w him tonight. so when he cries then i do the rubing tummy? or shall i do it before he cries? I am not bored at all... it is v interesting to hear abt ur boy and exchange tips. I am really impressed ur boy eat so well!

hi buffy - ya E is v v active. haha to me he is v demanding too...last night he refused to sleep and keep demanding this and that which i cant understand him cos he does not talk! Urg....so i have to guess and he started crying..it was a nightmare..

Hi busybee - the chiltern staff at big splash r much better. i like mountbatten square the admin staff..she is v friendly when i did a tour. When i told her all my son's prob, she is like no worries just let our principal know and we will have special diet and watch out for him (illness etc)...

Karen, I liked Pat's too. I know they train the kids well, they spoke so well and were mostly outspoken and greeted visitors. But I felt the facilities looked kinda of old for the Halifax centre I visited, didn't like the toilets for shower. I have more criteria in my search as I am looking for daycare at the same time. For LSH the curriculum is very interesting, I feel it requires very detailed planning from the teachers so important is that teacher need to be able to execute it well and make lessons interesting and applicable. Afterall the student led approach is not an easy feat, if not handled well could end up just a waste of time for the kids. I like that everything is new and nice at LSH! Swallow's I cannot even consider cos too far and ex!

Anyone buying kichen toys? I feel like getting one for minibee and speechie at yesterday's talk also confirm its a great toy for our toddlers. Endless play with great speech intro opportunities! Excuses.... hahahaha

<font color="0077aa">busybee: thanks for sharing. u only looking at schools around yr area? 'Cos if you like Pat's you can visit the Buckley branch. Thats where C is being registered for 2011. Large colonial bungalow house with a lot of outdoor activities - sand play, water play, buggies and playground. The kids looked like they were enjoying themselves the few times i was there. I paid up the registration fee to "chope" first but I am thinking a tad worried and C's proficiency in Chinese hence looking at an option of sending her for an all mandarin class for the first 2 years or something. Still considering...

Mint: wow, Regina really can sleep. You are so lucky! Cate woke up at like 5.45 this morning. Sigh... She definitely is a morning person... </font>

Karen, oops just realise I did not answer your question. Chinese curriculum looks good. They wrote words which looked foreign to me!! hahaha. Same concept. Literacy based. So they have a selected book and activities and learning surrounds the book theme.

Vanilla, I think you are such a trooper and coping so well. Dun worry too much about E's sleeping habits. Many of our bubs grow out of it. Could be teething making him extra needy. Process of elimination then slowly work out what's he is trying to tell you. About Chiltern, I suppose not all of them are like that.

Buffy, yeah the final centre we choose needs to be practical in the logistic sense. So nothing to far away so that we can make it in time for end of day pick up and not end up being late for work everyday. I think we are pretty keen on LSH, as I want her to start loving books! I feel its important. I am sure Buckley is nice, I saw from Pat's website that the campus is really new and nice. But place is too far for us. Thanks for the suggestion tho.

<font color="0077aa">busybee: what kitchen toys???? I am about to order some other wooden ones from Melissa and Doug BP leh... U have other lobangs?

C and I are doing pretend play now - she would serve me tea and stir in some sugar and help me "chop" up vegetables, etc. Ha ha... All we lack are pots, pans, some other crockery, etc.</font>

hi busybee - thanks!

u can try Pat at East Coast - i think they cld b newer.

Haha me cheapo mummy - i am thinking of getting those cheap steel pots and let him whack his heart out! haha he has been doing to his bowls and utensils...

hi Buffy - i think cate and Elisha can be best fren...if he sleeps past 8am it is v unusual! he sleeps like a 17yr old boy than a 17 mths boy - 1130pm to 710am!

<font color="0077aa">busybee: hey, no worries. just that i thought if you were considering halifax, buckley's would be a better choice and it is just 5 mins down the road.

vanilla: i am not sure if this helps but at this age, it is quite usual for our kids not to want to sleep because they want to play and explore more since they are getting older. What time and how long are his naps? And what time at night does he sleep and wake up in the morning?</font>

Buffy, hee hee. Saw some nice ones from PLAN TOYS at The Better Toy Store yesterday. Minibee and I do the pretend play too! My aunt who used to sell tupperware, got her this miniature set of tupperwares. Really cute. So minibee will pour me a drink from the mini pitcher and I will pretend to drink. Quite fun. You should look at the ELC range. They have good quality pretend food and pots/pans/crockery. I am thinking of getting her a kitchenette as its her favourite during playground play at JG.