(2008/10) Oct 2008

mint, busybee,
Please share more abt time-out method k? And which type of Ikea Mat u using? Any pic? Can I have the notes too? Thanks a lot!

<font color="119911">Joanne,
Nat also keep faking cry these days, dunno where she learns to do tat? &amp; sometimes if i ignore her for a longer while it will turn into a real cry =P </font>

Joanne, hee really. She always comes across so gentle and sweet. Hahaha, guess our bubs all have their own little tricks up their sleeves.

JJmom &amp; Phantus, this is the mat we bot from Ikea for time out. Comes in several colours. http://www.ikea.com.sg/catalog/product_display.asp?art=20122661-1460-12-50-45308830-49207180
I think Mint might be better to advise on the Time out subject. As I was distracted towards the end by a restless minibee. But she did stress its not too early to use the time out method. I think it was 1 min for every year of age. (ie 1 min for 1 yo) Will be going to Library to check out the Supernanny's book to check out her technique. But one thing I remember clearly from the talk was that we should train our bubs about boundaries. So no point baby proofing the home as they need to learn which are restricted zones and what is acceptable vs what is not. So that this behaviour is followed through when out or visiting a friend.

jjmom,
same for rianne. and she's so into watching her own videos lately. i have to charge my hp battery everyday because of it. and if i don't let her watch, we will launch herself into her fake cry which will gradually become a real cry if i ignore her or refuse to let her watch.

<font color="119911">busybee,
tat's juz the same topic tat me &amp; hubby were on this morn - standing fan or wall mount fan. Silly right? 1 little tot &amp; we need to have serious discussion over every tiny little things tat we do/buy/say etc (-_-)''

hubby suggests to get a standing fan &amp; teach Nat tat she is not allowed to go near it...i m a little uneasy abt tat thou</font>

busybee,
what my hubby will do is a pre warning meaning he'll tell her ok 1 minute more. Then after that he'll do a countdown 10, 9, 8... So by the time he finishes counting, she's quite ok in coming out. Or sometimes he lets her bring in a bath toy. I use my hubby because i dun face this problem of getting her out of bath but he does so he has to resort to some strategies. Once she's out, we reward her with 'mirror time'. She's vain lah. So we make funny faces in the mirror etc. Mirror time is less than a minute.

Karen, busybee,
won't be striking s&amp;a just yet cos might consider a 3 day week for her then the other 2 days go for some mandarin programme. The fees are really madness lah. But it includes all holiday enrichment fees so you dun fork out any extras. They are open thru the year except for 2 weeks during christmas period.

icylemon,
i think keming differentiates it like this:
psg: for parents with kids already in the school
pv: for parents who want their kids to join the school.

<font color="119911">joanne,
Nat is vy into high tech stuff, if she got hold of the remote control, handphone etc. It's more challenging to get these back from her b4 she had enough with them than other stuff.</font>

JJmom, speaker gave example that friend's or relatives homes most probably would not be baby proofed. So how would the child understand that her curiousity about the photo frames on the table or the standing fan and wanting to play with them is not right. So maybe think about it. My hubs and i also go through discussions over such things. Very normal.But everyone's comfort level is different. Go with what you deem appropriate, there is no 1 particular right way I feel.

JJmom, joanne,
Same with Isaac too, he loves to watch his own photos/videosfrom daddy's iphone, til he knows how to turn the page/photo with his little fingers liao....*diaoz*

Hi mummies, I have 2 unopened box of Bellamy's Organic Toothiepegs. 1 exp in May 2010 and 1 exp in Nov 2010. Pls let me know if anyone want since Jo dun like it. For mummies who meeting up on Mon, I can pass to you on monday.

busybee
rebby is an explorer! my home is totall not baby proofed at all and i have no intention to. but she knows where the danger zones are at home... but cant prevent the occassional bumps and falls no matter how much we teach her about boundaries.

Morning Mint! The Countdown strategy sounds good. Ok shall try it together with Vanilla's tip on mirror time. Thanks. Abt S&amp;A, I see, u sound more or less convinced and sold! So Regina is signing up I suppose! Hahaha...

High tech kids... I got a toy version of the gadgets for minibee, she loves them to bits but will abandon hers and still go for the real thing once she sees them! I saw the Fisher price kids digi cam/ Little tikes video camera on sale. Tempted to buy it! looks like such fun toys!

Jelly, I think its a good thing that Rebby is an explorer. Minor bumps are part and parcel of growing up. That's when they learn and will avoid the danger zones from the pass experience. I am learning to let go. Wake up call really came when PD told me he suspects I secured her too much and baby proofed too much that there was little opportunity for her to explore when she was learning to walk. I decided to let go and just give her free reign and was surprised at how she advanced from crawling to walking quickly. They are smart little beings and are cautious too. Minibee will always look to me for when exploring something new. I take it as a good trait for now as it helps make sure she dun just chiong out and hurt herself. But i do hope she grows out of this and be a little more adventurous.

<font color="119911">busybee,
hmm...kids r smart these days, they know which r the real stuff! Nat's vtech handphone is laying lonelily in 1 corner since day 2 out of the box (-_-)'' waste my $$$</font>

hi busybee -- haha my boy too..he does not se his fisher price toy phone cos real phone is better. He redials and keeps calling me back ...

when i give him an old nokia hp without sim card so cannot switch on..aiyo he is not interested.. he wants my current phone

mint
Good idea! Never thought of doing a 3 days thing.

busy bee
I can't help much regarding bath time as I realise our tods are getting so different. With Jo, it used to be a scream to indicate she didn't want out. Just a very short scream and since I insisted on bringing her out, she didn't fight back much. Now, it's a routine. I hang up the shower head, she puts away toys and then I take towel, she knows we're going out. So I guess if you stick to the same routine, they would come to accept it eventually.

JJmom, since she not keen on the vtech phone, u can try selling it off to cut loss!

Vanilla, I didn't want to try the "real" handphone (dummy) cos I am afraid she may think its ok to man handle any hp she comes across. But since u confirmed it doesn't work, then i know dun need to resort to that. hahaha.

Karen, yeah I suppose the routine makes sense. Ok I will try! Thanks for the tip

mint
actually when I told you about the time-out mat I saw online, it comes with a timer, and alarm if the tod gets out, and then plays music when the time-out ends. Can't find it anymore.

Bibinogs:
Oh just wanted to ask how many mummies who signed up last yr are continuing the next term? Are we still entitled to the 10% discount?

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
My gal just fell down from the bamboo chair on the other day and now has a patch of "blue black" just right below her left eye. Very lucky that her eye is not hurt. She only cried for a few secs and in less than half an hour, she stood up on the bamboo chair again!!! Dont know when she will learn her lesson!</font>

Taming out Tods:
Thanks mummies for sharing so many tips. I need lotsa help
on that. I have run out of patience and now recently I have been shouting a lot at him. Worse I think now he just turns a deaf ear. Busybee are you the one who is emailing the notes?Can I have a copy too?

elch
someone once told me... she dun understand mommies of current days... so educated, yet sometimes so silly! well, i guess its up to individual...

elch,
i was reading the thread you posted here.

i oso suspect is a scam.

so scary. i bought from BP before. i dun think i encountered such issue before. i can see some mummies claimed tat the crocs somehow are 2 sizes smaller than original or the finishing izzit nice.

<font color="0077aa">Wen Chuen: How is Kai Jie doing at Bibinogs? I will be at the UE branch tomorrow for make up class tomorrow.

As for the 10% discount, it is a one off mass sign up thing so I guess they will not be extending to this term.

Big Flamingo: hey babe, your acc got hacked? I received spam from your acc again. Just FYI

How is Jules doing at Bibinogs?

I am thinking of trying out the Mandarin class soon for a change since C seems quite OK with English. Where are you thinking of sending Jules to for preschool?

Mint: Just to check, for IJ, I know baptised catholics have priority but do they also look into other factors e.g. a kid that is a catholic but lives within the 1km has better chances than those living further?

Icylemon: I heard that PV is about a 3 year journey? Is that true?</font>

Hi mommies out there, something for you....not sure if you have seen it before.

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Invisible Mother …</font></font>

<font color="0077aa">It all began to make sense, the blank stares, the lack of response, the way one of the kids will walk into the room while I'm on the phone and ask to be taken to the store.

Inside I'm thinking, 'Can't you see I'm on the phone?'

Obviously, not.

No one can see if I'm on the phone, or cooking, or sweeping the floor, or even standing on my head in the corner, because no one can see me at all.

I'm invisible. The invisible Mom. Some days I am only a pair of hands, nothing more: Can you fix this? Can you tie this? Can you open this?

Some days I'm not a pair of hands; I'm not even a human being. I'm a clock to ask, 'What time is it?' I'm a satellite guide to answer, 'What number is the Disney Channel?' I'm a car to order, 'Right around 5:30, please.'

I was certain that these were the hands that once held books and the eyes that studied history and the mind that graduated sum a cum laude - but now they had disappeared into the peanut butter, never to be seen again. She's going; she's going; she is gone!

One night, a group of us were having dinner, celebrating the return of a friend from England ..

Janice had just gotten back from a fabulous trip, and she was going on and on about the hotel she stayed in.

I was sitting there, looking around at the others all put together so well. It was hard not to compare and feel sorry for myself.

I was feeling pretty pathetic, when Janice turned to me with a beautifully wrapped package, and said, 'I brought you this.'

It was a book on the great cathedrals of Europe ..

I wasn't exactly sure why she'd given it to me until I read her inscription:

'To My Dear Friend, with admiration for the greatness of what you are building when no one sees.'

In the days ahead I would read - no, devour - the book. And I would discover what would become for me, four life-changing truths, after which I could pattern my work:

No one can say who built the great cathedrals - we have no record of their names.

These builders gave their whole lives for a work they would never see finished.

They made great sacrifices and expected no credit.

The passion of their building was fueled by their faith that the eyes of God saw everything.

A legendary story in the book told of a rich man who came to visit the cathedral while it was being built, and he saw a workman carving a tiny bird on the inside of a beam. He was puzzled and asked the man, 'Why are you spending so much time carving that bird into a beam that will be covered by the roof? No one will ever see it.' And the workman replied, 'Because God sees'

I closed the book, feeling the missing piece fall into place.

It was almost as if I heard God whispering to me, 'I see you. I see the sacrifices you make every day, even when no one around you does. No act of kindness you've done, no sequin you've sewn on, no cupcake you've baked, is too small for me to notice and smile over. You are building a great cathedral, but you can't see right now what it will become.'

At times, my invisibility feels like an affliction. But it is not a disease that is erasing my life.

It is the cure for the disease of my own self-centeredness. It is the antidote to my strong, stubborn pride.

I keep the right perspective when I see myself as a great builder. As one of the people who show up at a job that they will never see finished, to work on something that their name will never be on.

The writer of the book went so far as to say that no cathedrals could ever be built in our lifetime because there are so few people willing to sacrifice to that degree.

When I really think about it, I don't want my son to tell the friend he's bringing home from college for Thanksgiving, 'My Mom gets up at 4 in the morning and bakes homemade pies, and then she hand bastes a turkey for three hours and presses all the linens for the table.' That would mean I'd built a shrine or a monument to myself. I just want him to want to come home. And then, if there is anything more to say to his friend, to add, 'you're going to love it there.'

As mothers, we are building great cathedrals. We cannot be seen if we're doing it right.

And one day, it is very possible that the world will marvel, not only at what we have built, but at the beauty that has been added to the world by the sacrifices of invisible women.

Great Job, MOM!

Hope this encourages you when the going gets tough as it sometimes does.

We never know what our finished products will turn out to be because of our perseverance.

<font color="aa00aa">elch
I bought a pair of crocs malindi from ken_baby in Jan. Received my item before CNY.</font>

Hi Buffy:
thanks for clarifying abt the mass discount. KJ is not doing very well in my opinion, none of the activities seem to interest him much. I think he is the noisiest in class coz he keep protesting when he doesn't have his way. But the teachers said he is ready to move on to the next level. Cate is already doing Mighty Tots even though she is not 18 mth? KJ is in the Friday class, so I won't see u tom. Hope to see u on Monday!

<font color="0077aa">wan Chuen, did u check with the teacher how she made that call? As in maybe she notices some progression about KJ that u din notice?

Cate is there for make up class only. Cos the other class clashes with her nap time so no choice lo. But she enjoys it so I guess it's ok.
u going for mon's talk. Will try to go and maybe will cu both there</font>

Karen,
Regina doesn't stay on the mat during time-out. She'll walk to me crying so I have to keep bringing her back to the mat. After about 3-4 times of doing so, she will start shaking her head to indicate that she doesn't want to go back to the mat anymore. By then, she also kinda calms down already.

For S&amp;A, the fees for 3 times a week per term is $2.3K. Still ex! Haiz!

3-5 secs of screaming? I can tahan 5 mins and now threshold going higher. Haha! But not when I'm outside cos can be quite embarrassing. :p

JJmom,
Time out mat: In essence, I just put Regina on the time out mat whenever she has a temper tantrum. Usually I try to use the remove from situation first. If it doesn't work, I bring myself to her level to ask her what's wrong and wait for her to sign/point/grunt to me on what she wants. If still doesn't work then it's time -out.

But it doesn't work if it's a full blown tantrum, meaning she's kicking, rolling on the floor, tearing her hair out, etc. That one I just leave her alone and walk away but to a place where I can still see her. Before I walk off, I'll just say, once you're ready, you come to me. It worked once when I was alone at home with her. Then the 2nd time, hubby went to kaypo and wanted to sayang her. got louder screams from her and a black face from me. Haha! So now he knows my strategies and follows. All family members must be consistent with discipline methods.

My hubby also wanted to wall mount his bicycle as he's afraid that it'll fall on her again. But I told him no as it'll spoil the whole concept of the house.

XY,
the toys that you gave at X'mas not one of the recalled toys. So it's ok for the kids to play with that.

Phantus, Wan Chuen, Joanne,
Have emailed you the tips.

busybee,
I have the supernanny book. It's good. Heehee!

I got the turquoise one for Regina. Cos was thinking if she doesn't use it I can put it in my bathroom to match the floor. Haha!

Re: high tech kids
Regina also likes playing with our phones. Got her a dummy phone but no use. She used to touch the dvd player until one fine day, she pressed the open button and the tray slid out and she got a scare. Haha! Since then she doesn't dare to do it again.

Wan Chuen,
Come come! The more the merrier.

Buffy,
For catholic kids, it'll be in phase 2B. No distance restrictions. PV is 44 served hours 1 year before the registration starts. Some schools like Nanyang, PV is 70 hours I heard.

You coming on Monday? I've collected the HT stuff from ypg. So if you're coming, I'll bring it along.

daisybuttons,
Thanks for sharing the nice passage.

ypg,
Your maid today almost didn't want to give my hubby the HT stuff. Haha!

daisy,
enjoyed the read.

time out,
i think it works for some and not for the others. there are other methods. most of my students respond to positive reinforcements or taking away a desired activity. abby? i have no idea sometimes but she doesn't get her way all the time with me, i'ld ignore her and as long as she's safe and not doing anything to hurt herself, i let her scream and throw a tantrum. When i'm done eg. eating or washing the dishes then i'ld go tell her to calm down, pick her up and thank her for waiting. works for me lor.. but in front of mil, she usually runs wailing to mil to get her way.

oh mommies, i transfered the maid out last week, the change has been a struggle but the best of us here have juggled home and baby so.. i'm learning to manage again. sigh..

abby started school this week. so far so good, extending her hours alowly from 9 to 12, from 8.30 to 1.00 then from 8.30 to 3.30.. nxt week going on to 5 pm. wish me luck.

she has an ang mo boyfriend called william. hehehe.. william speaks fluent mandarin.

Mint and JJmom:
Thanks for emailing the notes! Good tips, shall try them out. And think I should get a copy of Supernanny book =p See you on Monday!

Buffy:
Hee hee, I didn't ask the teacher. I guess KJ did improve in certain aspects e.g. he no longer clings to me and cries, and can mingle around more with both teachers and babies. But to me, these are "social" aspects that is not directly attributed to the class. "Academic" stuff like story telling, songs and rhymes, he don't seem to be interested. I think I expecting too much of him. Anyway I'll let him finish this term and see how the Mighty Tots class go

I not going for the talk, see u at brunch.

Pildough:
So fast Abby got boyfriend already haha. So now she has motivation to attend school haha.

Karen, no I have not started my job hunt yet as I am hoping to settle Minibee's daycare first. But I must say my helper is great with Minibee and they seem to adore each other. The other day, minibee sayang her, somthing which she only does to me previously. I know some mummies may not like that and be uncomfortable about it. But to me I know nothing can break the Mother/Daughter bond we share and I am glad she likes our helper who also stands in as her caregiver when I am unable to attend to her.

Daisybuttons, thanks for sharing! Wonderful read for me since I am reading this at 4am in the morning! I am sitting here, mindlessly surfing cos the caffeine from the latte I had at 5pm yesterday is keeping me up! Major mistake to indulge!

Wan Chuen, yes do join us. The more the merrier.

Mint, do u have the total no. pax? I think we better make a reservation for brunch. Was thinking either cafe beviamo, oompatico or chilli's. These have a more casual setting, more suited for our tods! We need to esp since we would be needing quite a number of high chairs!

XY, I may need to drop my hubs off to work. Let me check with him if he wants to do that. Otherwise, no probs I can come get u. Sms u over the weekend.

Pildough, must be tough adjusting to life w/o help and juggling with sending Abby to daycare. Its definitely not at easy feat. Care to share which daycare she attends (can PM me or sms)? I am still trying to find one that suits us... Visiting more centres this week and hoping to come to a decision asap.

Mint, waah S&amp;A is indeed expensive but I guess worth it if it can provide Regina with the wholistic environment in her preschool years.

Supernanny book.... So far so good! Managed to get my hands on the book at the library yesterday. Concise tips to handle various situations. I would definitely recommend it.

Mint
2.3k per term is not too bad.

Busybee
I'm fine with all three places. Hmm for sure not bringing Jo so I don't need high chair.

Pil
what is your reason for doing away with the maid since you have loved her?