(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Last time when wenxuan still cannot talk, I kept worrying that he would have speech delay. Now he has started to talk in sentences, everyday he keep telling me "mummy, buy ice-cream", "mummy, buy lollipop" and this morning he told me "mummy, buy pizza"! When I answered him that mummy has no money, he would tell me "call daddy" and immediately go pick up the phone (heng he still doesnt know how to dial the numbers!!!). He is also full of curiousity now and keep asking me questions until sometimes I really cannot stand him!!! I wonder what would happen if next time wenmin also start to talk like him. Sometimes I really wish to have some "quietness"!</font>

<font color="119911">mousebb,
wahahaha...wenxuan, smart boy, mommy no $, call daddy!

mayb when wenmin start to talk, wenxuan will talk to her instead so u can relax...kekeke</font>

<font color="119911">purple,
u planning to send LY to school soon? Come across some gd schools near your place leh

<font color="aa00aa">re: Pri sch
I think most probably I would let my kids try for nan chiau since it is very near to our place and if cannot get in, then try other schools which are near to our house. Not so particular of which pri sch they go to as long as it is near our house. Hope they would study hard and get into a good sec sch next time.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
What if wenmin is also like wenxuan everyday ask for this ask for that then I think I must go "print" money liao! Tell you something, whenever we go shopping at the children dept, the gal would point to the clothes she likes and tell me "nice nice"! Each time I would just answer her "yes! so nice hor" and quickly walked away! </font>

<font color="119911">mousebb,
wahahaha...seems like both ur kids like to talk abt shopping, shopping &amp; more shopping. Wonder where they get tat from? kekeke...

<font color="aa00aa">I guess wenmin must have drank too much until she pooed in her sleep last night. It happened that she woke my hubby up for milk again when my hubby noticed her PJ was wet. When he was changing the PJ and diaper for her, he then realised that she has pooed so much in her dreamland!</font>

Hi now when my son pee or poo, he will touch his crotch area like a michael jackson dance move..i think it is time i toilet train him. but i am the lazy one..haha in diaper is less work!

<font color="ff0000">ask you mummies har...

1. how often do you change your kiddo's milk bottle?

2. how do you disposed the old bottles? throw them in the bin or re cycle it in any form of way??

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">vanilla,

my gal too. Sometime just apply the nappy rash cream, she'll touch and her fingers kena the cream....arg....</font></font>

icylemon
ever since i bought the bpa free ones, i dun change them v often but i look for cracks or discolouration of the bottles to determine.

teats i will change evry 3-6mths if i can remember...

i will throw them into the bin

am thinking of recycling my old bottles to hold BM for #2...

purple,
kekeke... great minds think alike.

jelly,
really? you want mine? coz i change bottle pretty often every 3 - 4 mths.

btw i have #2 de teats abt 6 of them. all brand new. you want?

i dun know wat to do with the bottles. i have been keeping them alot. really bu she de to throw them away. until my hubby scold me. but lately i keep some of them. abt 12 of them. so dun know wat to do with them.

Primary school,

Hot topic hor. I have been reading about this topic since Monday. Hehe...

XY,

Heard that u can join Hokkien Huay Kuan only under recommendation of current member.

Another way of "jumping queue" in P1 registration is to become a grassroot leader or RC member. Hehe...

<font color="119911">jelly,
which brand of milk bot u gng to use for didi? i have quite a few of pigeon step 1 teat. let me know if u want

jjmom,
regina now wearing L size.

Icylemon,
psg is same as pv.

jelly,
i have 4 medela bottles. Used only to store bm last time. Now no need already. Do you want?

Mint, thanks for the heads up on Huggies Ultra deal at cold storage! I chiong down to grab 4 packs, so managed to get all 4 titles of the Ladybird books. Indeed a good deal!

JJmom, hope you manage to get ur hands on the diapers too. Still have ample stock.

Jelly, I have some of the glass bottles from the fm given to our infants at hospital. Think I read some mums say it serves as good storage for BM? If you are keen I will get helper to wash them and will bring for you on Mon. Let me know.

Monday's brunch...so have we decided on venue? Or is it more convenient to go to Tanglin Mall? Might be easier for mummies who are not driving? Its just a short walk from camden to tanglin mall and we don't need to worry about not having sufficient room to ferry everyone to dempsey or spruce? Just a suggestion.

Busybee,
Tanglin Mall sounds like a better option.

The ladybird books from the Huggies Ultra are horrible.. So many grammar mistakes esp the Little Red Riding Hood. Tsk tsk! Hubby teased me for being a cheapo. Pay peanuts so get monkeys. Heehee!

Review on swallows and amazons:
Verdict: I loved it.
After seeing it, Chiltern really pales in comparison in terms of their learning through play. This school has so many hands on activities including baking. When I went, one class was having water play and the kids were in their swimsuits splashing around. The water was complete with bubble bath solution. How cool is that! I saw their art work and really alot to show.

At the end of each day, parents get a simple feedback form informing them what the kids did in school for the day, whether each individual kid finished their snack or not, etc.

Environment: Big compound with a nice outdoor play area. There's a sandpit too. For water play, the teachers will set up a pool for them. Classrooms are a bit small though but about the same size as Chiltern's. Guess I'm too used to classrooms that can house 40 'buffalos'. Haha! Very well decorated with children's work too.

Only drawback is their mandarin lessons not so good and will not prepare them for P1. That being said, considering that there are more ang mohs than local kids, this is not an issue to the school.

icylemon/jjmom/mint/busybee
yes, don't mind some the teats/bottles u hv that you want to give away! gd to use them to store bm! TIA.

forgot to add: the max cap of the class is 15 kids and there's a teacher, teacher assistant and class mum. On excursions, ratio is 1:2.

just to share: my time out strategy with regina is working beautifully. Just 3 times of use after i bought my mat from ikea, she now knows that it's not a place that she wants to be. So now whenever a temper tantrum starts, i just need to place the mat at the corner, she'll start shaking her head to say 'no' and come to hug me and she'll stop her nonsense. I would keep the mat after use.

About Brunch on monday... So venue at Tanglin Mall? Any objections from the other attendees?

Mint, so silly that I got overly excited about the Free Ladybird books. But these books are Ladybird wor!!! Grammer errors??!! Sheesh.

About your visit to S&amp;A, so despite the wonderful Learn thru play environment, do u intend to strike them off your list since they don't have a strong Mandarin Programme?

Jelly, okiedokee. I will prepare them. Will u be driving on Monday? Then I bring them down for u.

Time out... Mint, tho I bot my time out spot too I have yet to execute an official time out session. Minibee gets distracted easily. So each time she throws her fit, I use the take her out of situation technique and it has worked so far. I think the TV has been my saving grace (tho I wouldn't say its the best of solutions) but hey as long as it works I am not complaining. However, she has been throwing a temper tantrum after her baths as she really enjoys water play now and hates getting out. How would u deem it suitable to use the time out vs the take out of situation method? Mint, care to feedback? I am still unsure.

<font color="0077aa">re mon: not sure if I can make it so my status will be "gatecrasher" tentatively but am cool with tanglin mall as long as they are able to accommodate all our tots.

I intended to park at Tanglin anyway so am good with that.

Mint: you mentioned that tots are welcomed for the talk. do they sit with us or is there a play area for them? </font>

i'm ok with meeting up at tanglin mall on monday.

time out:
glad that your timeout mat worked mint. so far for me, i just raise my voice a notch and tell rianne "you want mama to be angry?" that usually works. hehe.. although for the life of me, i don't know why that works since i am seldom angry. haha..

Cheerbear, have u started your preschool hunt for Shawn? Do u intend to start him next year. Once you start, then u will realise that it is sooo competitive and stressful as places have mostly been taken up. I am still looking, hoping to decide by end of this week!

Buffy, i think most of the eateries at Tanglin mall are Baby Friendly. So not to worry. For the talk, a play area with lots of toys and books is set up in the back. You can sit at play area with C or let her roam around while you sit by the side. Quite free and easy arrangement.

hi i am ok w Tanglin Mall.

Hi busybee- same my boy will make alot of noise cos he refuse to get out of his bath...so i have a few tricks -- one i let him see his reflection of a brat on the mirror - which he will stop screaming and stare..then usually ilet him hold his boat and clean him with him continuing to play w his toy ... or distract him w tooth brushing again. usually works....

brunch on monday
Sure, Tanglin Mall is fine. So busy bee, are you going to park your car at Tanglin Mall right from the start?

mint
*only* drawback is the Mandarin class? :p I would think the school fees is another drawback. The school sounds wonderful but it's off my list the moment I read the fees is $3k per month. Even if I can afford, I wonder if it's worth it. For 3.5 hours a day?

time-out
I really don't know how to go about doing this. Regina can stay on the mat during time-out?

<font color="119911">morning all, yeah...it's friday!

busybee, i bot 4 pkts but only got 2 storybks, 1 repeated title 'The Sly Fox &amp; Little Red Hen'...sob sob

Jelly, have to find a chance to lunch someday so tat i can pass u all the stuff

Mint, your time out mat sounds gd. Pls share further on how exactly it is done?
Time to go get a mat for Nat...heehee.</font>

Vanilla, I should try the reflection trick. I think that should amuse her. I let her bring along some of her bath toys during changing too, but doesn't work all the time! Thanks for the tip! Will definitely try it.

Karen, I prob will park at Tanglin and take a slow stroll to Camden. (of course subjected to weather conditions and if i get there on time!)

daiso recall...

I might have gotten some of the wooden toys for the tods who attended the X'mas gathering. Oops... my bad.

Monday brunch
my leave still not approved leh. I see how. Would love to join u all. Will text Mint or Busybee to confirm on monday.

busy bee
Actually you said it doesn't work, what exactly do you mean? Actually I'm beginning to wonder if my threshold for Jo's cries is higher than most mummies here? For Jo, I think 3-5 seconds of crying and screaming is the most I would tolerate.

Joanne and mint witnessed Jo's screams and refusing to butt when we went to Chiltern.

JJmom, did u get from the Diaper aisle? they had some displayed on the shelves on the promos aisle. But I guess no loss, since Mint said books ain't that great!

Jelly, okiedokee, I will pack them for ya. Abt Shaw's, I want to, but worried it might be too rushed. My sleepy bub normally wakes up at earliest 10... so it would mean I need to drag her out of bed. Plus I need to prep for the term end party at JG, its potluck and kiddos need to come according to theme!

Time out spot... Mint and I got ours from Ikea. Speaker at last talk, Taming your Toddler, recommended it. Its CHEAP and effective. Lots more colours now. I got a orange one for minibee!

XY, dun worry about it, ur toys i think not in the list. heee. anyway, i think our tods are big enough not to anyhow put things in the mouth, so its just a matter of caution only lah.

busybee, Jaz sometimes also like that (refuse to come out of bath). I sometimes let her take 1 bath toy with her to the changing room, but her fav is usually the soap bottle. Or you can try asking her to sign bye bye song to the toys and bathtub....you know JG or Kindermusik has this goodbye song but u can replace the names with the bath things? e.g "bye bye water (replace friends' names), byebye bathtub, byebye toy toys, we'll see you all next time". Jaz likes to say byebye so it sometimes works heeeee.

Karen, what i meant was I am not sure when should a time out be executed. Because I normally take her out of the situation and distract her. eg, the bath time issue, I will allow her to bring along some of her bath toys and also give her a empty tub of california baby to pretend to apply cream for herself while i apply lotion and dress her. Then i turn on the tv for her to watch her cartoons while I dry her hair. Thus, I have not reached a melt down stage to place her in time out. I am not sure if I am indulging her too much and should I be placing her in time out instead...

morning mummies.

mint,
keming pri de admin called me yesterday. she told me PSG &amp; PV is different. i blur liao.

jelly,
ok. i will reserved for you. i hope you dun mind. most of my bottles of have labels. labels of rachel's &amp; regine's name on it. kekeke...

Hi Daisy!! Yes I do the whole Bye Bye Bubbles and Bye Bye Duckie (followed by fishies, etc) rendition with her grumling away! This problem only started after she fell in love with Water play during one of the JG sessions. Sigh. She doesn't want bathtime to end...

<font color="119911">busybee,
aiyah...i was in such a hurry, i missed the promo aisle, juz dashed to the diaper aisle straight, grabbed &amp; off.

abt the talk on taming our toddler, the notes din touch on much on time out spot, only vy briefly. Can share a bit more on the infor/tips tat u got from the talk?</font>