(2008/10) Oct 2008

mint,

I always thought it's ip (integrated programme). Is it known by ib too? What does it stand for?

You mummies are really far-sighted. Already thinking of A level when your babes are just tods. I must be the most relaxed mummy of all!

Busy bee
so which do you like the most for now?

IB
hmm no idea of the right initial. My nephew was in that programme. I think that programme is good, if I based it on my nephew's experience. I see a non stressful him most of the time. But apparently he has done well enough, to not have to wait for his A results to get a scholarship to Oxford.

I am ok with Dempsey! No idea where Spruce is.

<font color="119911">busybee,
hmm...tempted to join u on mon

i go call up the schools 1st, let u know again

hi busybee - i went to some at mountbatten - odessey is too exp for me...i cannot afford it..my fren laughed when i told her abt it.she said "just look at those rich cars"... i am on waiting list at Brighton Montessori for 2011 nursery... i think no chance ..still waiting for their call in april. I looked at chiltern house and i like it... if brighton has no space, i might go chiltern. All else failed..i have St hilda's kidergarten at $600 for 1 term (cheap!)

i like brighton - gives me a kampong feel...haha cos the building is the old beach bungalow type..

rains,
IP is the umbrella. At the end of the IP, students either do the A levels or IB depending on the school that they've enrolled in.

karen,
Spruce is at Tanglin Road, somewhere near to the old MOE.

rains,
IP is the umbrella. At the end of the IP, students either do the A levels or IB depending on the school that they've enrolled in.

karen,
Spruce is at Tanglin Road, somewhere near to the old MOE.

<font color="119911">Vanilla,
u also looking at schools at mountbatten, hmm...we may all end up having our kiddos as classmates...how nice

Brighton also wait list for 2011...gosh...&amp; to think i m still hesitating coz i m not really keen on sending Nat to a Montessori based school =P</font>

hi jjmom -- haha..that will be nice! yes cos i stay at that area and i know alot of children there all go to the schools there and they are so fully booked. 1 mother was asking me and i told her..u better go book...the schools there will be v internationalised cos alot of expatriats there. I saw the chiltern house class - like UN like that...think my E will be 1-2 Sporeans there.

<font color="0077aa">vanilla: for chiltern, are u aware that they have a priority list? priority is given to siblings of existing students, students doing internal transfer, ex-students, and then to JG students who have been with them for at least 6 months. So, u may want to have other options too...</font>

thanks Buffy...hee hee i just enrolled him in playclub, so hopefully he has a space. All else fail.. St Hilda's which to me is good in a sense -help me save $ and they teach him abt God.

good morning mummies.

mint,

actually my prioity school in mind now is Nan Hua Pri. but i know even though i do PV, chances of getting in is low. 2nd choice will be Princess E Pri. worst come to worst, i might consider Pei Tong Pri @ Clementi. I'm old girl. so chances of getting in will be high.

<font color="0077aa">re pri school: i am not exactly on this yet leh... should i be concerned? 'cos i just barely got thru the preschool thing so too lazy to start on pri school lah... I know there are 2 options near my place which is Bt Panjang Govt Pri school (supposedly quite a renowned and hot pri school) and CHIJ Our Lady of Peace... Any feedback on the latter? Mint: where you intending to send Regina too ah?</font>

<font color="0077aa">vanilla: when are you starting? Remember u need to enrol E for 6 months to be on the priority list hor... I am gonna try and arrange for a trial for C for the weekend bilingual class. But the thing is I heard for this weekend class, there are about 20 bubs and with 20 parents, the group seems a bit big! Anyone else has any feedback?

Any other mummies going to send their kids for the bilingual class?</font>

buffy
i am on waitlist for jg playclub at evans on saturday mornings but i think will give this term a miss cos until now, no news fm them at all

icylemon,
For alma mater schools, you'll be in the earlier phase right? So what will you do as PV? Heehee! Choose library... at least can sit in aircon room. Haha! There's a new principal for Pei Tong think since last year.

Buffy,
I have 2 to choose from, my alma mater, RGPS or CHIJ (Bt Timah). Both also priority phase so no need to worry. But most likely will choose CHIJ since not sending Regina to catholic school for kindy already. Plus don't want Fr JP to wag his finger at me for not sending her to a catholic school. Haha!

Didn't know that bilingual class for JG was so big. The weekday playclub has 2 groups. 1 with max of 18 and the other max of 10.

If interested, pl PM me.

Huggies Ultra - $14.50
Huggies Pull-up - $14.50
Huggies Dry/comfort - $15.00
Collection at Punggol.

<font color="0077aa">Mint: ya, I am also having some concerns too... While the BP pri school is apparently a hot school, my HB and I were thinking of CHIJ at Upp Bt Timah (i think thats the same one u mentioned?) 'cos as it is, am not doing enough to expose her to the faith. She only knows how to clasp her hands when we ask her 'pray'. Hahahahahahahaaa...

Ya, weekend playgroup is v v big and so while I registered her already, I told them I wanted to do a trial first...

Jelly: when u said u are on waiting list, did they tell u to register first? 'cos I did and the school did call me but I postpone Cate till June because I wanted to do a trial + I wanted C to do another term at Bibinogs to compare 'cos she went for the PowerTots class (make up class) and she enjoys this level more than the Bubbly Babes class... So I wanted to compare lor</font>

buffy
i registered and paid for the non-refundable reg fee but until now, they did not call me up

re: sji
any of ur hubby was an SJI boy? is there a chance to send them to any IJ schs?

xy,
yes, take leave and join us. Heehee!

buffy,
regina can say amen and 'sus' to mean jesus. Other than that, her fav time in church is at the end of mass where she can 'play' with the water at the baptimal fount. Haha!

mint,

Thanks! Whew! I learnt a new thing today. I always thought thro train always leads to A level.

Catholic and Christian mummies,

When you take your tods to church, do you get to attend the service too?

Good Morning All!

Its now my turn to be plagued by teething woes!
Minibee has been waking up at 5 am consistently for 3 days now and has been running a low grade fever. Luckily the natural teething remedy (made from chamomile extract) I bought from vitakids works like a charm! Or else we will be at our wits end, cos applying dentinox for her is like a battle each time (doesn't help that she is sobbing away). Hopefully this teething phase will be over soon.

Mint, so regina going as MooMoo? I am too lazy, I am prob just going to let her wear her tigger suit. Abt IB, so none of our primary schools offer the IB programme?

JJmom, if u like can view the schools with me. I have made appointments with Odyssey and SHBTB. Am holding back Shaw's cos apparently lots of construction going around that campus. So for Shaw's I will be viewing their Braddell branch.

Rains, IB= International Baccalaureate

XY, take leave and come join us. If you coming and (if I am not fetching hubs to work), I can pick u!

Karen, I have never been to spruce myself but like review and pics I have seen on the place. Both have free parking!!

Vanilla, Chiltern at Mountbatten is having a open house this week I think. If you sign on during open house I think there are some promotional rates. For playclub, which centre have you signed up for? I spoke with the LaoShi at East Coast Centre about my concerns for class size for billingual Playclub and she said the sat afternoon class is a good one to join as its not a popular time slot for parents so class size tends to be smaller. But we have decided to go with weekday playclub for now and move on to a weekend class when I return to work.

Primary Schools... hope I don't have to worry as much as for preschool. Just send to alma mater. No brainer... Teacher (or ex teacher) Mummies, any truth that even alumni needs to put in PV time now, since class size is smaller and spaces more limited?

rains
i do but i can hardly concentrate so for the next 2years, going to church = child minding in the nursery! but i still love going to church... just to be in the prescence of God ... keke

Buffy, I think they will only call you if child is of age. Will C be 18 months by 3rd week of Mar? If not, I believe you will probably only receive a call in Term3. Same applies for babies currently in Playnest but not of age to move on to Playclub. They are pretty strict about the 18months age cut off.

busybee,

It's not true that you need to be PV when you're already in alumni. Alumni is 2A1, old boy and girl scheme is 2A2, PV is 2B. So far, being in alumni is as good as guaranteed a place becos that's right after sibling priority registration, which is the first phase.

Jelly,

Oh I see. Thanks!

<font color="0077aa">busybee: hee... they called me already because for my case, i indicated i wanted to start only in June. so I think they called to clarify.
But will be at Evans road, sat class. Anyone else trying out for the same time slot?

Mint: when are u in church again? do u do sunset on Sat? I prefer that time slot because it is less packed lah... if so, can meet u and Regina there. C cannot sit at all. Backside sharp so I have to 'hawk' her at all times. Grrrrrr...</font>

hi busybee - i signed up for tue and thur playclub at big splash. But hb is accompany bb ..haha so he will most prob be the only man there! Ya i was told abt the open house..but as i viewed it already i am ok not going... to b honest i am more into Brighton so hopefully they have a space for me.

u and minibee at big splash too? which day? my boy starting on 23 Mar (i think i take leave and bring him there first and let hb learn how to handle him)

Rains - my boy will be w us during the worship session and when sermon starts i will bring him to sunday school (up to N2)... he is too young to sit still and listen to the teachings of the Bible but hopefully while he is walking here and there something gets in
i want to start him really young in Sunday school -- let him get used to it. then when he is 3yrs old i leave him in there by himself

Monday meeting up mummies,
Tell me wat's the plan for monday?
Wat time is the talk u all are attending? Where is it? must register? pay?

xy,
i'll meet up with them after the talk. don't think rianne will wake up in time. must pay $10. if not a member, i think must pay another $25. you joining us?

mint,

i do have intention to do PV in the library leh. kekeke... you are right! air con de. kekeke...

which school are you at now?

<font color="0077aa">wah jelly, u tempting me lor!!! i v long never MC liao leh! Since end of Nov I think... *idea*... </font>

Vanilla, We are sticking with forum for playclub since she is so familiar with the environment. My drama queen cheers when we reach the escalator to go up to JG. Read alot of positive things about Brighton too, hope you get your slot!

JJmom, got ur PM. Replied u.

JJmom, XY &amp; Jelly, I think we are lunching at Dempsey. Do join us!