(2008/10) Oct 2008

joanne,
is actually ok for tods to be around cos there are toys and a playmat for them to be on.

So how? To bring or not to bring?

jjmom
no lah. not thinking so much. i need to settle her in pre-nursery first... just called marymount which is near my home. they still have vacancy *phew*... will be checking it out next week for rebby to start school in 2011.

i stay like only 100m from Mee Toh. Wonder wat are the chances for Marcus to get in there.

Ruffles, woo... coming. Wondering if ur ah boy or Jolly's ah boy will come out first. She's also counting down.

<font color="119911">jelly,
lucky u give me a heads up here, if not, i would still b thinking i still have plently of time for getting Nat a place in school in 2011 =P

juz check with my parent lunch khakis tat mar/apr is the time to reg for class for 2011...phew, juz in time...kekeke</font>

Mint &amp; Karen,

is Princess Elizabeth (bt batok) a good school? i have submitted my PV form to Nan Hua. waiting for their reply. hopefully can get in for my elder child then i dun have headache.

icylemon
ya lor. abbott says increase, increase. that's y am thinking to change rebby's fm liao...

jjmom
ya, go do hm wk... honestly, if not for the fact that i hv #2 cmg, i may not be so kan jiong and i would still be swaying my bum...

XY
Doesn't matter even if you stay 1m away from the school. They still list it under 1km. And if demand more than supply, and those balloting are all from under 1km.

Icylemon
I find it an above average school.

<font color="119911">jelly,
r u putting rebby in half day or 3hrs school? or they r the same? wahahaha...*still swaying my butt*</font>

R&amp;R,
Wished im staying in the west..Princess Elizabeth was my pri sch then bryan would get priority to get in. But too bad..im far far away in Sengkang now!

jelly,

i switched Rachel to Grow. she doesn't like. Regine is on Gain IQ. now no choice. Switch Rachel back to Gain IQ Kid.

Karen,

I am actually looking into Princess Elizabeth &amp; St Anthony's. Though I have a Yu Hua Pri &amp; Da Zhong Pri juz opp my blk, heard their standard so so only too.

jjmom
cc for this year is half day, pre-nur is 3hrs. i cant bear to put rebby in a centre for the whole day... so sad...

everafter
u got the food shear?

everafter,

if your mum still stayed here, think you can use her addy to apply for Bryan. heard there are some procedures.

my POV.

if you have someone at home to take care of your kiddo. then put your darlings in those 3 hrs class.

if you dun have, then is advisable to put them in full day care.

if i have a choice i will put Rachel in those 3 hrs class.

well... anyway, my girls will be in the same school next year. so not so bad.

jelly,

if you have friends or colleagues who goes to JB often. you can ask them to get dumex for you. heard is much cheaper.

<font color="119911">jelly, R&amp;R,
so what's the diff btw half day cc &amp; 3hrs class? *still swaying my butt...kekeke* i m such a blur mom =P</font>

R&amp;R,
Nope..mum not staying in west..so its out for me. Hopefully will be lucky enough to get into Nan Chiau, it's next blk to my hse!

Jelly,
Got it. Thanks

icylemon
i think end of the day, my mom will still care for rebby after sch so i think the arrangement is okie. think her major complaint is she dun hv time for anything so free her up.

thanks for the heads up on dumex. if need, will ask my mil to buy... keke

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff"><font color="ff6000">Hi XY,</font>

You live 100m from Mee Toh? You must be staying in Blk 13+ or Blk 11+ ya?</font></font>

JJmom,

half day CC starts @ 7am to 12pm. as for those 3 hrs class. normally it starts classes between 8.30am or 9.30am. ends at either 11.30am or 12.30pm.

everafter,

good luck gal. hope bryan will get a place in Nan Chiau.

jelly,

honestly, sometimes i oso pity my mum of coz yours too. i mean they are our mothers. they oso "bu ren xin" our kiddos to be taken care by other nannies or send to infant care. tats why they often to help us take care of our kids. but taking care of kids is really not easy. confine at home most of the time.

<font color="119911">R&amp;R,
any diff in the stuff they get to do there since the hrs r abt the same?

paiseh to bomb u with qns, lazy mom trying to get the easier way out =P</font>

icylemon
ya lor so i am giving my mom a break from april onwards until #2 pops... she will then hv 2 help me look after my #2 when i return to work in Nov or Dec liao...

jjmom
i think diff centres got diff emphasis... so must call and chit chat... like today i called marymount and i think the principal sounded v caring and all and she went into some details of curriculum with me and address my concerns about hvg a not-yet-toilet trained and can't speak properly tod

jjmom,

ya like wat jelly as mentioned. i personally feel tat if the child is there for the whole day. they tends to learn more things. esp on hand i have the time table. so i know at wat time they have what lesson.

jelly,

how old is your mum?

icylemon
she's turning 60 this may... i dun want to tax her... just want her to help look after my 2 kids till 18mths each and after that, will try n settle the kids on my own liao...

jelly,

ur mum oso got an age liao hor. oso not easy for her. my mum is 56 already complaint here &amp; there le.

icylemon
ya... i know she wants to do her own things and i know she dotes on rebby now, but come #2, dun think she can tahan so 2nd maid is in view to help her with #1... hiaz... i wish we all had more capacity but we are all humans...limited lor

<font color="119911">jelly, R&amp;R,
tat's 1 of my headache too, now Nat is with nanny but if i send her to half day cc or preN, i need my inlaws to go fetch her &amp; care for her till evening. Dunno if they can handle...

need to chit chat with my inlaws soon too

jelly,

haiz... sometimes i oso got sit down &amp; think. if i can get a home based job how nice. can take care the girls myself.

JJmom,

ya talk to ur in laws. i think they will help lah. their own grandchildren wor.

<font color="119911">R&amp;R, Jelly,
i worry tat they agree then over-stetch themselves bcoz of doting on their grandchild but can't handle after trying for awhile &amp; have to give up then i jialat (-_-)''</font>

<font color="119911">mint,
did u say u r gng to shaws at Mountbatten Road? How do u find it? Gd?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
If no choice, will try St Gabriel Pri Sch for wenxuan cos my hubby was from that school. This will mean if we continue to stay in the current place! </font>

Haven't posted for some time as my macbook kapoot(overworked!!), trying to catch up on the posts.

Preschool &amp; CC, I have had a really tough time finding an ideal preschool cum daycare for Minibee. I am thinking of returning to work so I need to look for day care for her, otherwise we will stick to out initial plan of Chatsworth for preschool. Like what most mummies mentioned, I am worried a full day may be too taxing for my sleepyhead. But at the same time, I feel if the curriculum enriches her time there then I suppose its all about her adjusting to the new schedule. So far I have visited Chiltern, Josiah Montessori, Pat's Schoolhouse &amp; Baby Haven and will be visiting Odyssey,School House By The Bay and Shaw's next week. I am at a dilemma on choosing daycare that is near my home or hub's office. Advice anyone?

JJmom, I spoke with Shaw's Principal and they are full for this year and can only waitlist for next year but they are still open to viewing of the facilities.

GainIQ price hike? Has this been implemented? Was just at Fairprice and prices are status quo.

Mint, I am going for the Parenting Talk on mon too. Do u mums have nice lunch planned? Spruce maybe? Or Dempsey?

Buffy,Mint,Karen &amp; Pildough... Do u gals know about IB programme? Do u know how diff is it from our mainstream MOE based education system?

JJmom, abt ur worries abt taxing in laws. Have u considered half day care with nanny?

icylemon,
if i'm not wrong, princess e has been awarded singapore quality class. The school has adjusted their school hours so for the afternoon session, they start earlier think at 12noon and end at 5.30pm. Da zhong is now at their temporary holding site cos their school undergoing prime. So by the time your older one can go p1, they would have shifted back to their old site. For st. Anthony's, it's beyond 2km for you so unless you have affiliations, might be tough getting in. Not impressed with the discipline in this school though. Another school you can consider in bt batok area is keming pri which also has sqc.

busybee,
Your question about the ib prog came just in time cos i was reading about it for my assignment. The ib prog with moe is a choice for students in the thru train route. Meaning those not taking o levels and go straight to a- levels. So they can choose either the ib prog which essentially is project based or the a levels. I personally hope that regina can make it to the ib prog but all depends on her next time.

jjmom,
not me going to view shaws. Too far for me to send regina to shaws.

xy,
you have superb memory. I found the pushcart selling the animal costumes. Thanks so much! *muacks* heehee! Bought the cow costume for her. Haha! *moo moo*

<font color="119911">busybee,
A? R we looking at the same area for cc/preschool?
Near your hubby's workplace?

Shaws &amp; School Hse By The Bay r the few tat r near my inlaws &amp; i m planning of visiting soon. Do u know their fee after subsidy?

Gosh...shaws already on waitlist for 2011...jialat

2 setback abt half day at nanny, don't think nat's nanny will agree to a half day plan. Nat will have to take the sch bus which takes 1 whole hr from punggol to punggol end
sounds silly but the thought of Nat sitting in the bus for a whole hr makes my heartache *shame*</font>

JJmom, heehee it does look like we are looking at the same area. Am considering options in town area/ halifax, mountbatten(not near hub's office but rather slight detour when taking kpe home from town) or those closer to home. I checked with the schools on punggol end and they claimed kids will be on bus at most for 30mins for the punggol run. So not as bad as u had imagined, but I can totally understand your concerns. If i am impressed by Shaw's I dun mind either mountbatten or braddell. Will PM the rates of the schools to u. I am visiting the mountbatten ones coming mon. If you like you can join us for the parenting talk and lunch then follow me for preschool tours. Let me know.