(2008/10) Oct 2008

buffy,
thanks! so far no diarrhoea, cough or runny nose for rianne. just fever and sore throat. her stool is a bit hard though. although she has been drinking plenty of fluids lately.

<font color="0077aa">Jelly: ya, i am intending to... but may be putting her for a drop off twice a week at another place when she is 20 months or so to sorta get her exposed to this environment first...

how is yr search so far? </font>

buffy
was thinking of putting her at half day cc at Shaw's cos it's near my work place but no vacancy for her age group. now trying cambridge... next year, will try and put her in marymount cos my SIL encouraged me too, but will go check out the place b4 i make a decision.

XY,
Thanks. Ok will take a trip down to suntec to check it out.

Buffy, jjmom,
sent the file to you.

Buffy,
Swallows and amazons fees are even higher than chiltern's!!! $3k plus per term. Will be checking the school out on Thurs.

<font color="0077aa">vanilla: thanks my dear. Will take note and stock it up.

Jelly: one of my buddies' son is with Shaw at Braddell. Popular school. My friend's son likes it there. Cos my friend is a single mum so she needs a lot of support and from what I understand, the school was quite helpful cos the teacher updates her v v often. Ya, good to check out before committing cos different people focuses on different things and what works for u may be different from yr SIL</font>

Hey Mint,

I just picked up a copy of motherhood too! Aiyah...Julian was so grumpy in one photo, and he was running too fast in the other shot for the photographer to capture his smile and still be in focus! A little disappointed coz I really wanted it to be a nice keepsake for him, but he was very overwhelmed by all the people shouting at him trying to make him smile and do things.

buffy
i suddenly bcame quite concern. i realise alot of kindies are full and many have to be put on waitlist even for 2011. getting v kan jiong now

re: gainIQ
jts... i saw abbott raising the price of gainIQ from what was $57 to $60 since they decided to launch a new branding for gainIQ.

Is Haenim Big Blocks an ideal birthday present for my nephew who's turning 1 year old in 2-3 weeks time ? If not, what's a good buy that ranges between $80-$150?

<font color="0077aa">jelly: i went thru that gan cheong phase liao... and thats why i ended up deciding to send C in 2011 instead of 2010. you may want to quickly call marymount and just get it over and done with since #2 is not out and you are not tied up yet... i sussed out the places last Nov because that was my lull period at work so I could head out. And frankly, I am happy that I did it early because it is one thing out of the way for me lo...

Mint: thats crazy ex!!!! I replied you too... BTW, you got my colleague's transfer???</font>

XY,
Oooh, thanks much..

Joanne,
will check GWC too when I'm there for my grocery shopping.

<font face="georgia"><font color="119911">JJmom,
Melb

Jelly,
what GainIQ is increasing price again?! </font></font>

buffy
doing it soon, cos my sil told me that they usually close their reg first quarter of the year...ah.. actually at my wits end now...

mspiggy
yes, price is up bcos of new branding... am gng to switch rebby to dumex liao cos honestly she's drinking less milk and the rise though little i think is quite atrocious!

mint

can send me the tantrum notes too? thanks!

mspiggy

don't worry, i think each baby just has their own pace. Kate is not talking much too. Just random noises and the only consistent ones are mama papa mum mum and bear. sometimes ye ye and la la and that's abt it!

I guess at some point there'll be a word explosion.

buffy and mint

i thought the last time you guys visited and said chiltern house was $40k a year? works out to around the same... $3k plus a month?

i think my absolute max is $800 a month for 3.5 hours. if pre-school cannot get subsidy. think if grandparents are happy to look after rest of the time, at their age 3.5 hours a day is enough.

<font color="0077aa">dimpletot: i think what mint shared was $40k in total; for the entire preschool years.
I cannot afford $3k a month man... :p

At $800 odd, u have quite a few choices, Chiltern is just about a tad more...</font>

jelly - Yep. Agree with Buffy. Go settle all these stuff for #1 first, before you pop. The more popular CCs and pre-schools have long wait lists. Marymount's ratio is about 30 kids in 1 class and usually you need to register 1 yr ahead.

Dimpletot - Agree on half day sessions for our todds unless no choice. The full day curriculum for most of these CCs / Playgroups entails bathing, sleeping and playing in the afternoon - all of which I feel is a waste of $$ if you pay the playschool cos you can do all these at home wor.

<font color="119911">School :
I also prefer a half day curriculum but this would means i need to place Nat at my inlaws after school as they will b the 1 picking her up. Which means i need to drive Nat over every morning then fetch her after work.

To begin, i need to start my refreshment driving course &amp; look for a school near inlaws (-_-)''

Any gd recommendation near Eunos?</font>

Joanne
hope Rianne gets well soon.

I myself am down with a weird stomach virus. Feels so so lethargic. How to take care of active toddler?

Mint
wow. As my husband suspected, swallows and amazon is ex! Hmm looks like I may have to seriously look into pat's.

<font color="aa00aa">Ruffles
The playschool which wenxuan is attending keep telling me to let wenxuan go for full day programme since he has now adapted to the school environment well. But then from what i know is most of the time in the afternoon will be sleeping and playing and I feel it will be a waste of money to put him there for full day since I'm not working. </font>

<font color="119911">Jelly,
i also thinking of switching Nat to Mamil Gold coz she has been having hard stool
Have requested for samples &amp; waiting to clear the current Gain IQ stocks.</font>

<font color="119911">mint,
kekeke...i have driving license but no guts to drive in spore/msia =P</font>

<font color="0077aa">ya karen, i like the Odyssey v much cept for the $$. Based on the reggio approach. main gripe for me besides the cost is that i am not sure if cate would settle easily into a primary school envt 'cos Odyssey is an international school. Ratio BTW is 1:4. They also have a dedicated chinese teacher in the class.

Oh, having shared that, Learning Vision, Pat's and Odyssey are all under the same umbrella</font>

ruffles
yup, am going to try marymount soon cos it's near home. the other is thomson road baptist which has a teach ratio of 1:15.

re: half vs full
dun like the idea of full day. think if i am our tod, i will feel v neglected!

jjmom
me waiting for sample too

Mint
wow your instructor is good. Ditto mine. Many passed first time, including the klutz which is me. Maybe we share same instructor.

Mousebb - yea lor. Since you SAHM, gd to have wx back home. PLus I find it really tiring for such a young tod to be at school the whole day.

Jelly - Yep Marymount wld be a gd choice for you!! Go check out the curriculum, and environ to see if it suits Rebby's temperament. My gf sends her son there and she think it's not bad. Her son doesnt think so - he prefers mommy's home schooling stuff and kept crying till now - since jan! They might need to change him out now.

Hi XY

Am due in 10wk's time. Really fast. He is putting on weight too so am happy. Doc said to expect him be an avg sized baby

If anybody is actually near the school, I hear that Ascension Kindergarten is pretty good. My good friends' kids went there and she loved it.

The teacher child ratio for Ian's class will be 2 teachers to 10 kids. He'll only be going 2 days a week though.

hi mummies - ask u something.. do ur bbs suddenly drink alot more milk? My bb is not a milk drinker but these few days like growth spurt drink so much. for solids still the same amt but longer time to finish cos he "chipmuck" the food - storing in his cheeks.

he keeps waking up at night and want his milk - like his comfort food. sun night was 2.30am and 6am. This morning 2am (i fed up make 200ml and he finished all! and i increased his last feed last night by 80ml)...i has weaned him off night feeds in Jan but seems like he has other ideas now....

Just wondering if any of ur bbs have such behaviour? thks

<font color="119911">morning all

vanilla,
yes, i believe our bbs still have growth spurt.

Juz yest morn, my Nat finished 210ml at ard 7am then i dropped her at nanny &amp; forgot to let nanny know tat she had had her morning feed. So nanny gave her another 240ml at 8plus which she also finished, to our shock!</font>