(2008/10) Oct 2008

Hi mummies!!
V long nv log in here to chat. Hope everyone is doing well ya.. A v belated Gong Xi Fa Cai to all!!

Bluey,
got good news to share??

<font color="aa00aa">Nicky
Oh no!!! Luckily I have not made payment and if I still never heard from her over the weekend then I dont think I want to order from her liao. Anyway there are always BPs for PJs.

Dimple
Usually if the fever still never subsided by the next day, I will bring the kid go see a doctor liao. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Tomorrow morning need to meet up with wenxuan's teachers again. Hopefully this round we will hear more good comments on him. </font>

<font color="0000ff">Tweety,

Why "aim" me, there's other mummies here trying for No 2 oso leh! I dun happen to be the one, if it happens, it's an accident! wahahaha ;p~

So how's yr plan for yr bb gal??

bluey
what size and colour is ur fren looking for? cos i have a size 2 grey to let go. i bought it at pupsik's sale. if your fren is interested, u can ask her to contact me.

Mousebb,
U wan PJ (pyjamas)?? I saw a BP, i think selling $11 on BP thread today.

Bluey,
Not 'aim" u lah... u looking for that belt mah.. so thought u got good news liao.. kekeke..
My 'aunt' just visit me leh.. u say leh??? hahahaha... But I happy + sad lah..
Happy can wear nice nice and heals.. wahahahaha...

<font color="0000ff">Tweety, Vanilla,

Just joking lar, no worries about it

Hee Hee..I dun mind having a No 2...lolx ;p~

<font color="aa00aa">Tweety, Vanilla
Not really but was browsing thru the BP threads and happened to see the PJ designs in the BP are very nice and so ordered a few short sleeves sets for my 2 darlings.
Will go search for the BP thread again.

Vanilla - $10 a set is very cheap leh. But hor those designs which I wanted mostly sold out liao.</font>

rianne has fever.
38.4. think it is due to her MMR jab. PD said to monitor for 2wks.
it has only been 1wk. but funny thing is, aside from being hot, she is acting normally.

<font color="aa00aa">Joanne
According to my kids' PD, fever would either kick in a day or 1 week after the MMR jab. Unfortunately both my kids got it a week after their jabs.

mousebb,
it's the first time rianne got a fever from her jab. but she's acting normally le. so weird. usually when we have fever we won't have energy right?

<font color="aa00aa">Joanne
It is a good sign that Rianne is still active despite having a fever. The last time when wenxuan got a fever, he was totally restless and slept whole day and din even want to eat or drink for a few days. I was so worried until I broke down and cried.</font>

any good recommendations for enrichment classes that are music-based? Must be affordable and in central and west area.

Pls let me know how much are the classes

For my gal who is 17mths old and who loves music!

bigflamingo,
saw J's pictures in motherhood mag. So cool! And i must say that he's looking more like daddy. Heehee!

Morning mummies.

Over the weekend, i bought the delphin dust mite and air cleaning machine. damn heartpain. But the demo did shock me... and my MIL too. So, we bought.

She better use it!

anyone also bought?
anybody interested?

<font face="georgia"><font color="119911">JJmom,
yeah... I went to the sale after work on Fri. Managed to grab a dress and a top.

the lady at the cashier was telling me that they have new stock every day for the 1st week. </font></font>

<font color="ff6000">XY,
i did arrange for a demo b4 &amp; hubby was also super impressed by it too.
But i refused to let him buy it coz really don't think we will make the effort to carry the giant m/c out to do any cleaning =P
Saw some -ve comments abt their bad after sale services online.</font>

Hmm... when rainbow came to my place, i was also impressed. But the saleslasy was kinda half hearted. And not that good at selling. So i didn;t buy.

The delphin one... she's good... very patient and really demo. She even cleaned 2 rooms for me. So.... i fell into her trap. Haha...

nevermind... anyone wants to borrow or try the machine, can come my place borrow. Haha...

They say 10 years warranty. The saleslasy say... if i spoil it, i'll be the first (she claim) lah. wahaha...

XY,
I also bought the delphin last year. The cheapskate me just wanted a free cleaning and a free pot but ended up my hubby was impressed by it. Haha! He was saying for the sake of his precious gal and also say the motor made in germany etc. So bought lor. But it's good so far. Not I use, my maid use to vaccum the floor and my hubby will use to clean our mattress once a month.

<font color="119911">mint,
I also got the free pot but i actually wanted it's free handheld vaccum cleaner...heehee

XY, mint
if there some1 to use it for me, think i would buy too...wahahaha but it's really a giant loh =P</font>

my MIL was "scared" by the demo.
She now insist that she knows wat is cozing her to itchy at night. Haha...

Now... i read alot of -ve remarks on forums. But then again, i dun believe all lah. Definately there'll be people who like, people who dun like and some who meet those pushy, unporfessional salespersons. Just hope i won't be the unlucky one.

<font color="119911">XY,
the funny thing is, my hubby was pissed tat cheapo me arranged for a demo coz of the freebie &amp; 'wasted' our wkend morning.

Ended up, he nearly bought it if i din stopped him. So the saleman seeing him so keen, let us have the wkends to decide.

My hubby told my mom &amp; sis abt how impressive the demo was &amp; the 2 of them actually wanted to share the purchase with us juz upon listening to my hubby's words... (-_-)''

but i still decided against it lah...kekeke</font>

xy,
the -ve remarks read is about the machine itself or the salespeople? So far machine wise has worked very well. Only thing is they haven't sent the person to show the demo. They called to arrange but we couldn't make it then didn't hear from them liao. But not really necessary lah for the person to come.

Mint,

u have the DVD? Can watch that to see how to use right? i haven't watch yet. The saleslady say she'll come and teach us how to use it next week.

-ve remarks on both. More on the after sales service. Alot so no after sales service, they buy already regret, not able to get refund etc.

Oh well... people are funny. Think before buying. After buying, then now want to get refund, sure difficult lah.

how's everybody? rianne is still sick. she got well sat but sun afternoon got fever again. went to PD today and he said might be due to throat infection. gave rianne some antibiotics. sigh.

XY,
Got a dvd ah? Heehee! I ask hubby... maybe he kept it somewhere.

So they buy and regret cos no after sales service? Chey! Unless the machine not working lah then complain. I would really much rather buy this delphin than Osim cos osim is made in China.

Joanne,
Hope Rianne gets well soon.

Talk on 8 March Monday 10 am at Camden Medical Centre

Topic: Speech development in babies, toddlers and children.

Speaker: Joanne Silvestri holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Human Communication Science, with First Class Honours from Australia. She is currently the Senior Speech-Language Therapist at The Speech Pathology Centre in Singapore, and the Child Development Manager of the renowned early childhood centre, The Thinking Box @ Tanglin. She has a wealth of experience in paediatric communication development and disorders, and is equipped with many ideas and strategies for maximising interactions with your little ones.

Your memory of the first time your bub began to make those 'talking sounds' are ingrained. Cuddling up with your little one and conversing with them was a somewhat one-sided affair, but a delightful one. They were beginning the process of learning how to talk and the sheer volume of their sound making was an indication that you would soon have another partner in conversation...

Joanne will discuss what to expect, what to do, what to look out for and what to play with as your child begins the wonderful journey of learning how to communicate. She will focus on developmental milestones from 0- 5 years of age and provide helpful tips on how to facilitate your child's language development.

<font color="0077aa">Mint! You are always tempting me with such talks but I am working lah, how to attend?!!!? Speaking of which, any tips from the last talk you attended on the tantrums part?

Joanne: Hang in there... Cate has a stomach bug. Finally brought her to the doc this morning after she has been having mild diarrhoea for 4 days. Turns out whatever I am doing is what the doc tells her patients and I was not even given any medicine for Cate... Wah biang, I paid $80+ just for that... </font>

jjmom - ur hb is the general in the family u r the major - he makes general decisions u make major decisions!

hi joanne - same for my son. after his mmr jab after the window period he had fever. I thot it is jab or teething but doc say if above 38 is not either. So pd checked him and found throat is red (which we are happy cos not UTI)... he still behave like normal - play eat sleep...we werent given antibotics but he is on it anyway daily for his kidneys. Instd doc gave this kloba - herbal med for sore throat..v good..

hi mint -- v tempting.. must we register? mayb i take half day for it..i am worried abt my son's speaking ability. these few days everything is also "there, there there"..

Hi mummies!!!

JJmom,
wow.. u got firm decision, which is good!! keke..

Joanne,
Hope rianne get well soon. Varner also fever after MMRV jab but 1-2 days only..

Mummies with LC bag:
Which size you getting?? I wonder if size 4 is too big for me..

<font color="119911">Vanilla, Tweety,
no lah, we had an mutal understanding tat both of us have to agree b4 getting any major hsehold stuff. The vaccum cleaner is real big in size &amp; cost close to $3K leh, of course, both of us must agree to buy or not mah...

If $3K collect dust then i rather spend it on LV...wahahaha

XY, Mint, how much did u guys pay? 1 of the complaint is the diff in pricing...</font>

mint, buffy, tweety, vanilla,
thanks! i hope she gets well soon too. she's behaving normally too. eating and playing like before. it's just that she is hot.

buffy,
wah. you paid $80+? should have been free cause doc didn't do anything le.

mint,
wanted to go forum last fri and today to register with JG. events are conspiring against me. wonder if it's a sign. haha.

vanilla,
just register from the nmsg's website. Takes only a minute to do it.

Buffy,
have. But they sent me a hardcopy so i'll need to scan it and email to you. If i post here, then it'll be too small to read.

Jjmom,
ya i bought it around $3k.

<font color="119911">mint,
if u do happen to scan the hardcopy notes for the tantrums talk, pls email me too? thanks

<font face="georgia"><font color="119911">I've also arranged demo by Rainbow before.... impressed but still didnt buy coz it's too exp.

Mint,
this talk seems very interesting! i'm really keen coz at this stage, my Natalie is still not talking! still only mama, papa, mum mum, bye... if i compare to my boy's speech at the same age... Natalie is WAY too SLOW! i'm abit worried. </font></font>

<font color="0077aa">Joanne: Hot is normal. 'Cos with vaccines, they basically inject our bubs with those strains so that our body produces the anti bodies to 'fight' against the strains. Hence, the body burns up with the "battle" inside. That's how my GP friend explained to me. Hee hee... And yes, she still went ahead to charge me $80 despite no medicine.

Anyhow, in case any bubs were to have diarrhoea. This is what to look out for:
1) frequency
2) colour (is there bloody streaks, etc.)
3) appearance / texture (mucous?)
4) any vomitting / fever?
5) yelps in pain when u press the stomach

If the above does not look good, better bring to the PD.

But in the meantime, while assessing if it is serious enough to warrant a PD visit (less than 4 times is mild diarrhoea, 4 - 7 is moderate, 8 or more is serious), you can do the following:

1) dilute your FM (half the powder)
2) continue hydrating the kid
3) The BRAT diet to basically try and harden the stools (Banana, Rice, Applesauce and Toast - but I skipped the Applesauce part 'cos cate hates it)
4) Pump in probiotics (can get lacteol fort from pharmacy. For infants less than 2, can give 1 packet 2 times a day)

Mint: Yes, please scan and email me ok? Much appreciated</font>

i paid 3424 (including GST). So works out to be 95/mth for 36 month credit card interest free installment.

It's really expensive. So... we or rather my MIL better use it. I'm too lazy to do housework.

Here's the link to register for the talk.
http://www.nmsg-singapore.com/talkregistration.htm
Closing date is this Friday. No need to pay anything when registering. Just bring cash and pay on the spot on the day of the talk.

Mona,
The talk is about an hour so will end around 11-ish. This is based on my gauge from the previous talk.

XY,
Ya, I think I also paid around that price. I'm also lazy to do housework so lucky got PT maid so it's well used. Haha!