(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0077aa">today is a slower day for me which is a nice break. Just to check, any mummies on leave after CNY? I am taking leave on Wed and Thurs (pondering about Fri) and was wondering if anyone wants to meet for lunch / playgroup, etc.? and oh, the post CNY saleeeeeeee... *evil grin*</font>

<font color="0077aa">bigflamingo: i hv not read that book. interesting sharing... anything else u picked up? i myself am a late baby borned in end Sept so when C was conceived, i was already thinking abt when to start the play group/nursery thing. 'cos my nephew is a boxing day baby, he is the youngest in his class and this was hard for us. he started this year and while the rest of his friends were like 2+ and some are actually reaching 3, my poor isaac is effectively 2 years and a few days old... </font>

buffy,
i'm ok to meet up after CNY.
would love to meet for lunch/playgroup.

Ya Buffy,

Like Julian, I am an Oct baby too! And in the year of the Dragon, had to fight to thrive in class! I was quite a lazy student, never felt very bright. Until I went to art school and uni, and suddenly everything changed!

The difference evens out when kids grow up, of course. But a 2 yr old baby is very diff from an almost 3 year baby

<font color="0077aa">ohhhhh nice nice jo! would love to meet rianne too!!! hiak hiak hiak... wed? is that ok? where do u stay? am thinking of where is convenient for us to meet. any other mummies wanna join???

bigflamingo: OH! u are an Oct like Jules???? I am borned on the last day of Sept so not far off. In fact, if C were to arrive early rather than post due, she may have a chance to having the same BD as me but alas, she has her own strong will! so much so that she had to be induced, which did not work v well... hahahahahahahaha

yes, i am aware that the diff evens out but wow, for my nephew, the diff is a lot! he was just 2 years and like what, a week old when he started while there are other classmates who are for e.g. more advance than him in motor skills, potty trained and who could articulate better... and not to mention the immune system which would be THE thing I would be worried abt when it comes to C 'cos my nephew got sick in his third week. caught some virus which narrowed his airways and 'cos my bro is asthmatic, he had to be on ventolin and the nuebiliser... think isaac is asthmatic as well...

I m looking for Sengkang cc for my oct08 baby. Anyone from Sengkang has gd recommendation?

Currently looking at Cherie heart or agape.

Thks.

buffy,
i live near tiong bahru. so anywhere central is ok with me. would love to see cate again as well.
oh. and wed. is ok too.

mommies
sorry, bring this up again. anyone keen on CNY gathering?

am proposing these 2 dates:
20 or 27 Feb
11am - 2pm
venue: anyone's condo funtion rm

afternoon mummies.

think i m abit kiasu.

was talking to my colleagues abt doing PV for this particular primary school. i called to check. chances seems slim.

haiz...

icylemon
many of my frens spent hrs doing PV as well at well known schs and ended up not getting a place for their kids. no guarantee de..

jelly,

tats Y i m so half hearted now. think i will forgo the tot of doing PV.

may juz let my #1 get in to my primary school. at least is having the stellar programme. haiz...

during our time, getting in to primary school is so easy.

icylemon
ya lor... but i must say, neighbourhood schools are doing v well at psle these days and maybe i am wrong, programmes in elite and neighbourhood schools not very different, just that there is diff empahsis lah...

karen,
so see you on monday then at the talk?

buffy,
cate must be the youngest fan of the beatles then. Haha! And yes she has exquisite taste in music.

Icylemon,
Think the stellar programme has been rolled out to all schools already.

jellypurin,
you're right about the good psle results in neighbourhood schools. Brand name schools are 'branded' because of strong alumni backing or long history.

JJmom, Ruffles,

Maybe not really nagging but rather reminding her of the rules and regulation n things to avoid. Tat's wat I am best in. Haha... Cause practice make perfect.

On the topic of delaying school for a year, this is pretty much only in the US where some parents will hold their children back from Kindergarten (when real school starts for them) to give their kids an advantage especially for sports. This is called red-shirting. The month cut-off is not standardized throughout the country. Some states have december as the cut-off and some august and some september. Where we live, it's semtember first.

They usually only hold summer birthdays back. So if the cut-off is September 1st, the august, july, june and even some may and april kids might be held back by their parents. It's usually boys who are held back too.

This will not happen in Singapore because parents send their kids to primary one based on the year they are born and you can't not send your child to primary school when they are supposed to.

I see a big difference physically and socially with the older kids who will be in the same school year as my May baby. Academically, he seems to be more advanced than everyone else, even the older 4 year olds in his class. I will not be holding him back at all. I know people who held their children back though. One of the kids in his Sports Skills class at the Little Gym is a redshirted kid who will be entering Kindergarten at the same time as my son. I don't see a huge difference between my son and this kid except that my son can read and this kid still can't.

That said, I was extremely relieved when Ian was born in October since he will be one of the oldest in class.

Now to answer some questions. I'm in Texas. Not very exciting I'm afraid. My trip home to Singapore is determined by my da4 er zi's school and sports schedule. It depends on whether he does the summer swimming league.

good morning mummies.

<font color="ff0000">Karen, thanks for the article above. i hope they can find their daugther soon.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Morning All,

Btw, for those who ordered the BPA shears, the stock have arrived and the seller is in the midst of sorting them out and mailing it, hopefully we will be able to get it before end wk.

I have a gross story to share...
YEars before I became a mum, my colleague said she had to suck mucus out of her baby's stuffed up nose, and I recoiled in horror and said i would NEVER do that.

So the first thing we bought when Jules came along was a pigeon mucus sucking device. You put the tube in his nose and suck, and the mucus is supposed to drop inside the container.

Well, my husband tried it yesterday and sucked too hard, it went straight into his mouth! I think he almost swallowed it! I rolled on the floor and laughed until tears came out!hahha!

<font color="119911">wahahaha...morning all...wahahaha

oops...bigflamingo, so sorry i really can't help but LOL at your post =P

but gosh...after laughing my fill, i wonder at how hard your husband must have sucked.

We also use this pigeon mucus sucking device but we don't dare to suck too hard, worry of hurting the little 1's nose or something.</font>

Ha ha,

JJmom and Jelly...i think he felt he had to use the device after we saw him licking mucus off his upper lip and I said eating a little mucus wont kill him lah...

This was after the 10 times we wiped his nose and the 10 times he cried like he was being abused!

bigflamingo

yup they hate ppl messing with their noses! REALLY HATE. dunno why. I always say, don't you feel better AFTER mummy's help???

so now I try to make her wipe her own nose. which she does sometimes. a let's-get-this-over-and-done swipe. give him a tissue and try?

<font color="119911">bigflamingo,
err...how do u know there wasn't any gold nuggets???!!! wahahaha...

we also tell Nat to wait for us to help her wipe or she also like to try to wipe herself &amp; throw the tissue into the dustbin but her standard of clean is vy low (-_-)''</font>

<font color="0077aa">bigflamingo: your post was totally gross and yet utterly funny!!! I was on a conference call and luckily I was on mute!

Oh, my leave for next Wed - Fri got approoved! Darn happy about it. Am not gg anywhere or doing anything particular except chilling out, gg for post CNY sales and playdates!

re playdates: Jo, you good for next Wed? Am thinking of Vivo City so the bubs can play at the water fountain area? Anyone wanna join??</font>

<font color="119911">post CYN sales :
which r the brands tat will b having post CYN sale?

I know msphosis always have post CYN sale

Hey there Dimpletot,
He knows how to blow into the tissue...but he usually tries to eat the tissue. :p

Eeks, JJmom. I think hubby would have puked if there were nuggets! He's pretty sweet. coz he did try to suck it out a second time...

Buffy...dont get me started on poo stories. then again, you probably have equally gross stories to tell!

Haha... bigflamingo,
He still willing to try a 2nd time. Maybe the GOLD taste good!

Poo
Talking abt poo, how many times do your bubs poo nowadays? Marcus normally poos once. Nowadays... seems like he's pooing abt 3 times. Is it normal??

XY,

Dylan usually poos 2-3 times a day. So to me it's pretty normal to poo 3 times daily. As long as they output not more than they input then they should be ok.

<font color="119911">bigflamingo,
hopes Julian recovers soon &amp; his doting daddy won't have to continue to 'eat' too many of his gold...wahahaha

some says teething also cause running nose.</font>

Evening mummies!

Thanks all for concern. Jo's fever is gone but her body is covered in rashes. I wonder if it's Roseola aka fake measles?

bigflamingo,
that was really funny! Poor hubby of yours. Lol! A friend of ours has also sucked the mucus out of his baby's nose before and told us about it. So my hubby swore he would never do it. We have 2 of those sucking devices at home. Haha!

karen,
better bring to pd to confirm that it's fake measles.

the talk today was really good. Am glad i went for it. Will post the tips up soon. Next month's talk is on speech development.

Went to buy another pair of shoes for regina again today. Haha! This time i bought from the adidas outlet.

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning!

Vanilla
No time to read papers on Sunday cos hubby was sick and wenmin also not feeling well. Myself also down with serious flu and cough which is so stubborn and refused to go away even though I have finished the medicine the doc gave me. </font>