(2008/10) Oct 2008

hi ruffles - technically u take 2 flu jabs a yr.. one in june (for australian winter) and another in dec (for nothern hemisphere). but for me i took 1X and did not take another cos i was "tricked" to take it... haha

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Hi ladies!

Have been backgnd reading lately. My gal also had eating problem. Take hrs to feed and also only like junk food &amp; liquid.

I tried to let her watch her favourite cartoon when I feed her. It seems to work.

<font color="119911">phtanus &amp; vanilla,</font>
probably tried to find out wat's their favourite show loh.

<font color="119911">Full cream milk</font>
mummies, which brand are u giving to ur tods? Ok to give the tods when it's cold? Cos my gal likes cold Magnolia fresh milk.</font></font>

halo mummies

flu jab - i jus took it ytd and now the jab area is swollen

food - shawn like junk food too.. like ytd after dinner liao he still asking for biscuit faintz leh... and the last milk feed he almost cant finish but lucky in the end left ard 1oz nia so i close one eye.

feeding - do ur let ur bub see tv when having meals?

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff"><font color="119911">Feeding - do ur let ur bub see tv when having meals?</font>

cheerbear,
my gal watch TV, play toys, walk ard the hse... Sigh... Need to do these everytime during meal to distract her. If not, she will only take half of the tiny bowl of porridge.

<font color="119911">BUT</font>,
If these are all intro by her primary caregiver. What can I say? It had become her habit. Sigh...</font></font>

blur, cheerbear,
feeding - i tried not to even though it's easier for me to feed her as she will concentrate on watching the tv. I'm worried that she will demand for tv when we are eating outside.

Jab - just to check whether any bb falls sick after taking the Pneumoccal jab? cos I was told they have to take it now since it's compulsory

blur p

who is her primary caregiver?

I feed meiji whole milk. dark blue cap one. cold, or warmed up when she has runny nose.

purple

kate was ok after her pneuno jab. we just gave panadol as usual. no fever.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">hi dimpletot,
Primary caregiver:- my mil.

Hi purple,
Ya, if it became a habit, it's difficult. my mum had a hard time feeding her and my dad totally agst kids not having meal @ the table. Hmm... 2 different way of handling them. I got caught in between.
My gal was ok after the jab too. No fever.</font></font>

hi...noted concerns re. jabs
my girl took mmr n chicken pox together, one on each arm , okay..no fever..took in dec.
going for second chk pox n another jab in april.

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), currently participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technical University.

For my doctorate program I am conducting a research study in which I am requesting your assistance. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood. Since this website is designed for parents, I thought you and/or someone you knew may be interested in helping me with this project. I am hoping to compare my data from USA parents to Sinagpore parents.

This may or may not apply to you. If you doesn't, please forward this to people you know so it can reach other first-time parents who may want to participate. Thanks for your help!

Do you meet the following criteria? Do you know someone who does?

* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to two years?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?
* Do you want to share information that could help other couples transition into parenthood?

If you answered YES to these questions, and are 18 years of age or older, you are eligible to participate in this parenting research study. This survey is being conducted through an online questionnaire and is estimated to only take 5-10 minutes to complete.

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

If you have questions about this study, e-mail [email protected] or contact Dr. Kurt Gehlert at the University of St. Thomas Graduate School of Professional Psychology at (651) 962-4656 or the University of St. Thomas Institutional Review Board at (651) 962-5341.

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary. All information will be kept confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

phtanus, vanilla,
I shared the same prob with feeding. And the worse thing is i totally can't trick bryan. Once he sees spoon/bowl he'll shake his head NON-STOP! Even if i changed into our bowl he'll still see the spoon b4 deciding if he wanna open his mouth! So jialat~

<font color="aa00aa">springles
Just curious - how come your gal need to take so many jabs for chicken pox? Both my kids only took 1 jab nia.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Purple
re:pneumoccal jab
My kids are ok after taking the jabs. No fever. Each time after the jab we would give them 1 dose of the fever medicine as a prevention.</font>

<font color="119911">morning mommies,
waiting to see the doc so come in to have a peep

dimpletot, aiyoh ppl asking 4 regular nia, u point at me liao (-_-)'' don't let my boss c your post hor...

think i m having a bad case of stomach flu + bad cough
din know stomach flu will have such bad body ache, i can't even sleep &amp; carry Nat

hubby has to handle Nat all alone at nite.

happier note : Nat is taking her 1st 1~2~3 steps this week...yeah!</font>

<font color="119911">feeding with tv, toys, stroll :
my pil likes to do all these while feeding Nat too. They will placed the highchair infront of the tv &amp; give her toys. Then when all those din work, they wanted to bring her to the park to feed her.

Tat was the final straw for me, i placed the highchair in the kitchen &amp; insisted tat all feeding to b done there.

but now, i m facing another headache : my mil loves to tell Nat tat 'yeye' wants to snatch her food so she has to eat it fast. I have been trying to correct her by telling Nat : nvmind, share your yummy food with 'yeye', he take 1 spoon, u take 1 spoon.

Think my mil get the message? Nope! Now it's the cats who wants to come &amp; snatch the food *faintz*</font>

morning mummies

jjmom,
oh dear.. stomach flu ah then u try not to go near nat but i know is hard coz she will come find u right? u take care and rest well.. drink plenty of water k

jelly,
u take care as well.. not easy esp when u r preg with #2 and still need to take care of rebby.
saw ur FB profile pic.. the photo of rebby is really 100% like u.. same goes for bryan with everafter

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom

Jelly
It is certainly not easy for you when pregnant with #2 and taking care of rebby as well plus you are a working mum. I have been thru this stage and I know it is tough. Take good care of yourself.</font>

Morning mummies.

Ytd and today on MC. Coughing... hope marcus dun get it and i recover before heading to HK next week.

JJmom,
U take care

MMR/Chickenpox + Pneum jab
Marcus took them all when he was 12 mth, both jabs at 1 go. Got slight fever after 4 days. But came and gone fast.

on eating:
Marcus hates milk. FM, fresh, whole all reject. Give in bottle, cup, sippy, bowl all fail!
Snacks he also dun like now.

So... graduated him to adult food le.

Visited my gynae ytd... expected answer from him :
U must totally stop BFing. But he gave me Duphaston.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Morning ladies!!!

TGIF.....

<font color="119911">jjmom,</font>
Heard that stomach flu can spread easily. Gotta take care ya.

guess most of our tods are "spoilt" by our primary caregiver during meal time.
My colleague told me she saw her MIL (her MIL is a nanny) feeding a tod in his bathtub. Cos the tod like shower. But of course bathtub is dry &amp; the tod if fully dress.
</font></font>

Hi XY,

Maybe if you don't give Marcus a choice of BM or FM, then eventually he will give in and drink FM. Altho you will have a few horrible feeding sessions... Most babies resist a change in their FM when we switch brands

Gd morning. My boy is borned on 29 Oct 08.

XY,
U mean Marcus took MMRV(1 jab) or MMR + chickenpox (2 jabs)?

I'm stilling considering which is better for my son. MMR + chickenpox (2 jabs) or mmrv (1 jab)?

I know how nightmarish feeding sessions can be when the baby refuses to eat or drink. My first kid was like that, even now. She eats very little and takes a long time to eat.

Maybe God takes pity on me and gives me an eating baby this time round. She loves to eat almost anything you give her. But bcos she eats anything, she wants to eat that ice-cream that I'm eating, or cold drinks that her father is drinking. She clings onto you and sticks out her tongue to show you that she really wants it.

xy,
u take care... u going hk next wk? me going 3 wks after u :p
y ur gynea give u Duphaston? thot is for stabilising the bb? hmmmm or i rem wrong again.

blur,
ur colleague tod really funny leh.. sit in the bath tub to eat.. but for me, i will not allow lor.
mine is start to be tv addict liao and i restrict him to max 2hr per day.

yen,
i give my son 2 jabs.

rains,
same same.. mine also stick out the tongue when i eat ice cream then i jus give abit and he shivers hahaha then he dun wan liao :p

Good morning!!

Milk
Skylar also don't like her milk le. Since a few months ago, we started adding milo to her milk cos she will gag if she smells plain formula milk. But now even with milo, she is rejecting it. Wondering if i should let her try out the chocolate/strawberry flavour packet milk in the supermarket, what do u think huh?

Mealtimes
Yeah, I have to distract Skylar with TV too, usually it's My Friend Tigger &amp; Pooh or Mickey Mouse Clubhouse but even with that she still takes more than half an hour to eat 3/4 bowl of the porridge. Sighs stress stress.....

Yen,

Marcus took MMRV (1 jab) and pnuemo (final dose) Both on the same day, when he was 1yo.

Duphaston is for a hormononal tablet. Help to regulate menses also.

hi yen, last sat my son took mmr and chicken pox jab. Doc say only 1% wil get fever and it is within 5 days from jab. My son always have fever from his vaccinations but this time he seems fine (PTL)!

I thot Clomid will help w regulatig menses? Duphaston is for womb lining.

hi GB - maybe u want to give fresh milk to her? Seems less "chemical" than fm....

Hi Ruffles and Phtanus - the name of the olive oil is Huile D'Olive Verige Extra i bot from the supermarket in Ion, I saw the bottle that the importer is Cold storage.

XY,
Thanks for the feedback. My son took pnuemo (final dose) last mth and didn't develop any fever.

vanilla,
Thanks. I see. My boy sometimes fever only but pnuemo, no fever at all.

Still thinking MMR + Chicken pox or MMRV?

Dimple,

Hope you r not in a hurry to have yr shoo shoo frm Mint. I have yet to get it frm her because we cant meet each other's schedule. Will collect frm her next week. Hope this is ok for u..Sorry!

Mint,

my PD oso give an opt of taking it aft 2 yrs old if i am worried..but she said so far those kids taking at 15 mths was ok...so am taking it end of this mth for my mmr..

there are 2 types of MMR jabs - one which is combined w chicken pox and another which is just for measles and mumps.

For me i took combined one --> cos he will only suffer 1X and not2X from the jabs...

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff"><font color="119911">dimpletot,</font>
Just bring along the traveller inflatable bathtub.
</font></font>

hi Ruffles - i m reading this pamplet and the nutrition of pediasure is q ok... not really empty calories... there is a pediasmart which has lactose free milk and the nutritional comparison is same as pediasure and if i compare w normal fm, the vit a, calcium, etc...

i am putting E on this pediasmart during weekend and if u like i can give u a sample (cos i have a few). Offer to u Phtanus too.. let me know k...haha anything to make our bb FAT!or rather on the 50th percentile curve...

springles

yooo hooo our resident nutritionist... any idea whether studies that say vitamins and minerals are better absorbed from natural food (say brocolli) instead of iron-fortified foods (e.g. horlicks) are true?

Hi Vanilla - Tx for the name of the olive oil &amp; for offering pediasure FM. I will see if she puts on weight w fresh milk + daily eggs end this mth. If she does, I prob wun do pediasure. Tks for offering. But if not, will check w PD again since he was the one agst the FM. Kke. I will try olive oil though; thanks for the PD tip

I just started my boy on pediasure on my PD's advice. He was only 9.5kg at around 14months. 10th percentile. My PD's said his daughter is a fussy eater and is on pediasure as well and most tods who he recommended pediasure to, put on weight. But I am giving both GainIQ and pediasure as I had stocked up too many tins of GainIQ. Hopefully he will put on weight.

Feeding,
I have to give my boy toys to play when I feed him. Somtimes very pek chek. He will throw the toys, then I got to pick them up. I tried the tv once and he ate abit better lah, but I don't wana cultivate the habit. In fact, I don't even let him watch much tv. But sometimes I will play video on my mobile out of desperation. And even when I give adult food, he is also not interested. And he doesn't take much milk too. I just put him to bed and he took around 110ml only. Even when he drinks milk, sometimes I still need to let him hold a toy and he refuses to hold the bottle. Think he is basically not into food and milk. Don't know how.