(2008/10) Oct 2008

hi busybee - i m still using it to change my son, esp after bathing cos he will be wet and it is easier to change him there than say the bed. he sqirums and now start to do body arch but i insist changing him there cos easier for me to get the wet wipes, his clothes and the diapers...

hi mousebb - wah..i envious.. how i wish my son puts on 0.5kg in half a mth..he puts on 0.2kg in 1.5mths. Now pd also told me to feed him good oil to make him grow fatter...

Skylar is really cheeky now. Yesterday give her dinner, she 'wrinkled' her nose and tell me it's smelly, simply refuse to open her mouth. In the end, she only have half her dinner, which is why I got worried when she still doesn't want her milk at 10.30pm. Sighs, the joy of motherhood huh?!?!?

Jelly!! I am a official retailer of Brightstar!! Let me know what u keen on!

Vanilla, I lay a changing mat on the bed and change minibee...

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
Those labels from Brightsrars look so nice!!! Am tempted but I have already bought a label machine from popular to label wenxuan's stuff before he start school

<font color="aa00aa">vanilla
My hubby is happy that our gal has put on weight cos he he is afraid the PD commented she is below average which happened to her for the past few checkups. She is due to see her PD on 25 Jan.</font>

Halo mummies!
Today the thread quite quiet yah

Btw, sorry gonna ask this repeated/previously discussed issue on the MMR/Chickenpox jab. :p
Mummies who had brought ur bubs for this cocktail jab orie, any side effects on it?
Cos am still considering whether to let her take it or to separate the jabs lor. Haiz headache. :/

Katie lost 800 grams from being sick...
but i'm not too worried lah. think can slowly put back on.

it's the gramps who are super sim tia. keep on commenting.

hi dimpletot my mum also "bio" other babies and will come back and tell me - "i saw a 6mths old bb.aiyo his thighs bigger than E, why E u so skinny..."... i told her to stop looking at other bb and compare cos no way her grandson will move from 3rd percentile of the curve to 50th percentile. If he stays on the 3rd percentile curve i am more than happy.

Ya, she will put on weight v fast once she fully recovers. Saw ur FB..wah she is a little rich girl

YPG:
I think its good you have positive attitude, it can influence those around you, Kai Tong, your students, and me also

On discipline:
Hmm.. ypg, actually I think ti fa may work for some. But like what rain mentioned, maybe depends on whether girl or boy, or the character of the baby/child. There must still be a limit to the punishment lah, if like rain's BIL, thats too much. The other extreme, defending your child when he is in the wrong, is also no good. So must find a balance the two approaches.

Busybee:
Miki is cute! Our bubs always give us surprises by showing us new skills.

Nicky/Jelly:
Hmm.. my doc said differently, he said risk of fever due to combined jab is not worse higher than normal jabs. In the end Kaijie got fever one week after the MMR/Chicken pox jab. Some mummies mentioned the jab may cause autism. But too late.. took the jab already. So keep fingers crossed..

<font color="aa00aa">dimpletot
When a kid falls sick, sure will lost some weight. Not too long ago I was so happy that my wenxuan is finally reaching 12kg when he was 11.9kg. But after being sick for almost a week, he weighs 11.5kg now. </font>

on MMR link to autism

all the docs i know give their kids MMR jab early so i guess if there really was, they should know and they would not put their own kids at risk? so i just go along with docs advice.

vanilla

haha... yah but it doesn't really register with her. she prob reacts happier if you give her yoghurt.

mousebb

yah lor. plus when they are sick they are more fussy with food. dunno no appetite or tastebuds cannot taste as well or what.

i also feel it's ok lah, getting sick also part of growing up.

mmr jab vs autism - have a detailed talk w my PD, no one knows what causes autism and the study did in 1989 is debucked by a study which hs a larger sample size. Also the govt (spore hsa) will not allow this if the link is there. There are also linkage of cow's milk w autism (which i discussed w him again)... again no one knows what causes autism and 1 child might be due to cows' milk another cld be mmr aother cld be genes....

My colleague's nephew is due to cow's fm. took him off (after yrs) and now his condition is improving.

<font color="aa00aa">My kids' PD din mention to us that MMR jab may cause autism leh. My gal is taking this jab on 25 Jan. </font>

BB weight:
Julian has good weight! He doesn't look fat because he is tall. Good that WM is putting on weight.
Vanilla, may I know what good oil your pd recommend?
Dimpletot, I think quite sian to hear the grandparents comment when our babies lose weight rite? LIke my FIL, say my boy no more "muscle", now flesh soft soft. Worse, he didn't fall sick, its just that he became fussy about his porridge. Not much I can do what. Anyway, hope that Katie can gain back to weight soon.

wan chuen
true, i heard similar stuff fm my pd, but for my ger, her jabs are taken mostly seperate after her last 6in1

dimple
we all took mmr, right? so i guess we turned out find i suppose... keke

re: cny gathering
any plans? hee... shall we do one 20 Feb (ren ri) or 27 feb (yuan xiao).... kekeke

mousebb,
oic...ya lor...put on weight too fast we also wonder y...maybe cos WX eat diff kind of food?

i m also bringing my boy for the mmr + chicken pox but after cny. wondering should separate or not now...sighz

jelly

yah lor. we so smart some more. muahahaha.

someone was asking where the regular posting mums are. where is jjmom ah? holiday ah?

i did my jabs all tog cos i dun have time to go for 2 jab (cos weekend then can do jabs) and the Q in PD clinic is rather long. Like what my fren said before if they have all in 1 and minimise pain why not?

Vanilla - What else did your PD rec for Isaac? Mine rec full cream milk, daily eggs, and to use butter in her meals. I want her to fatten up more. In fact, he said if she cld reach 10kg at 2yo it wld be v gd since she started so small... Extra virgin oil- which brand do u use or do you use organic ones?

Autism - yea till now no one knows what causes it. Boys are somehow more prone to it. Sigh.

Busybee - u are one resourceful mama

hi ruffles - my boy cannot take full cream and butter too much cos he is lactose intolerant. I asked him abt pedisure cos it is a real fattening fm. he said i can try on E but it has low lcatose. I currently give fm which is lactose free. He only recommend extra virgin olive oil - i went to supermarket and see price range from 60-9. I bot one at 19...not sure the brand but is not organic. Let me go home n check.

what weight was Vicky when she is born?

vanilla - My PD dun rec pediasure cos he thinks it is a high but empty caloric FM. Vicky was born a premmie at 1.855kg. Now she is 8kg. How abt Isaac?

Dimpletot - I took the flu jab already becos I want to be super healthy taking care of her. Docs rec all caregivers to take it.

Ruffles,
Isaac is my son lay, Vanilla's precious is Elisha. Hm...Anyway, u r right, Isaac is a small bb since thr day he born, his birth weight only 2.18kg. Sad to say, no matter how hard I tried to feed him, he is only abt 8.7kg at 14mths. Sigh...worst is now he reject everything (foods), even his usual favourite foods like yoghurt and fruits. All he wants is his snack! AHHH.....I tried many ways to improve his appetite, feed him multivits, 软硬兼施 etc, but in vain. So gek sim! Every meal took me >1hr to feed him until myself also phobia liao. Funny thing is this only happen when I feed him, he has no problem to finish 1 big bowl of porridge in nanny's place in 15mins. I really dun know what's wrong with me?! Sigh....

Btw, need to check with u, when u give ur gal full cream milk, just give it cold to her? Do we need to warm up the milk for them? Really headache for my son's diet....

I am SOOO sorry Vanilla and Phtanus. Sorry for mixing the names of your boys up. ;(

Full cream - I warm it up cos she likes her milk warm. I know some bb here like it cold.

What does Isaac like to snack on? Can give him Jap sweet potatoes, or cheese w bread as snacks?

>1hr is really long. Maybe check how his nanny cooks his porridge and do the same? Or give him mee tai mak, bee hoon etc? Maybe he is sick of porridge?

hi ruffles - no worries...He is born 2.69kg, currently is 8.26kg at 15mths. he is tall though around 80cm (i think taller cos he refused to straightened his legs on the measuring tape)...ok noted on pedisure.. i think i dun want risk it and will continue him w his organic lactose free milk.

hi phtanus - how abt bread? E loves bread and can eat non stop..another trick is pretend it is ur food..so put in ur bowl and give to him? that day i went jap restaurant he polish 1/4 of my saba and some rice. He feels he is a big boy eating adult food. I distract my boy with TV..Hi 5 cos he loves them.

hi mousebb - he grows vertically haha.. we know he is taller cos he can climb on my mum's bed. Previously he needs our help to push his buttocks, now steady liao, legs up and up he goes

Vicky also loves to eat my food. What I have on my plate always seem tastier than her porridge. So sometimes I try to have the same thing as her to demo. It also helps that nw she also takes the same meals as us.

Elisha is tall! Gd!! Vic is now 73-74cm.

Hi-5 .. I like it too! I find it educational &amp; not silly like Teletubbies. She loves it too &amp; even follows the hand actions ie. flapping or raising etc... thank gdness she is not a fan of Barney.

<font color="aa00aa">vanilla
Haha!! Your boy is cute!!!
My son grows vertically too! Altho his height is below average most pple still think he looks tall bcos he is thin except his cheek is chubby. It is hard to imagine a boy at 28.5mths only weighs 11.5kg.</font>

ruffles

yah think I'll go and take it. if $30 can save me one trip to the doc also worth it. consultation already more than that.

but my FIL did say that they use last year's flu strain as vaccine, so this year's strain might be resistant so bk to square one. and that some ppl might get slight fever (like our bubs?) after the jab. did u experience any fever?

Flu jab - i took it last yr before i got preg. No fever but the jab area was sore. Sng sng feeling. Do it at company panel doc to save consultation fee

hi mousebb - maybe it is genetics? u and ur hb r skinny so WX is skinny? That is what the PD tries to comfort us too...

hi dimpletot - i think this flu vaccine is for the northern hemisphere one..which comes june u will need another jab. that is what the doc told me when i went for the jab in July.

Ruffles,
NP.
Ok, will get him some full cream milk this weekend. Hoho...those snacks u mentioned are like poison to him! He will either keep his mouth shut or pull out the foods with his tongue! Cham right? He only wants junk foods like pigeon biscuits, gerber stars, happybaby puffs etc. I have tried diff kind of foods on him, but still...he will turn his face away when he saw me come with "bowl &amp; spoon". Yup, of course i did check with my nanny, nothing special from her side, maybe she has some magic. But many ppl commented coz i am mommy, so Isaac knows who to bully? *pengz*

Vanilla,
Tried ur tricks too. TV adult foods all not work on him, cham right? can u imagine how stressful I was every weekend when preparing meal and feeding him?

U know what, when I on leave, of course i wish to spend more time with him. But thinking of how he rejecting all foods at home, I would rather leave him with nanny, at least he can eat more at her side. Sad right?

Vanilla - The flu jab sounds so cheem
So I shd take ano dose in June then ... 1 dose yrly. GP did say that if preg or bf, useful to take jab cos the gd vaccine gets passed onto yr baby.

Phtanus - Poor u. I think he knws who to bully. Talk to yr PD and see what he suggests?

<font color="aa00aa">Vanilla
Hahaha!!! Me and hubby are not skinny at all but both of us are short. I'm 1.6m and hubby is 1.66m nia. </font>

hi phtanus - ya i also think Issac is bullying u. E used to be like that, my mum will trick him to open mouth w pigeon biscuits, once he open, we stuff in spoonful of porridge, after a few times, then really give him 1 biscuits (or not he will knwo u bluff him and dun open)...

i understand how u feel.. feeding E used to be >1hr too..now he improve ..sometimes 45mins. maybe u start w lesser carbo - hence smaller portion of porridge and then feed him w biscuits and slowly increase the porrdige n decrease the biscuits? Also is the milk intake same when he is at home vs at nanny? sometimes too much milk so they are full and dun want porridge.

jia you ok..

Ha, thanks Wan Chuen!

It's because he is rather greedy and demands to have a bit of whatever we are eatiing at meals, on top of his own meals!