(2008/10) Oct 2008

jelly,
me & you only?

wat time are we meeting?

pediped how much per pair?

Trace,
want to join us for lunch at IMM? or might as well join us too. take 1/2 day lah.

Rains, woah, I would have flipped if any one were to lay their hands or reprimand my daughter. I feel that's my job not theirs! Once I even chided my friend who was visiting for scolding or attempting to smack my dog.

Buffy, Thanks dear!

Cheerbeer, Yeah Vanilla's Idea is great. But I think if there is in flight entertainment I am sure there are cartoons u can let Shawn watch? Otherwise u can dowload cartoons from you tube onto ur lappie for him?

<font color="0077aa">rains: understand. maybe for my case, my SIL and my parenting style are v different so I dun discipline my nephews / niece at all. So I think it is very different situation lor.

Rain, gosh... your nephew wielded a knife! I would have put him in time out for a month!! Hahaha. Yeah know where u coming from. But thats just me lah. I draw the line very clear, I dun tell my sil how to mother her child she dun interfere for me too.

dimpletot,
even got individual tv screen but dun think they hv bb shows right? so i am really tempted to buy one portable player.. anyway like wat vanilla mention is reasonable price ard $200.

kate and shawn is diff.. she is so guai but my shawn is like monkey.. cant keep still leh..

oh ya.. this pic taken at the xmas gathering i like kate smile.. she is like so pai seh shawn holding her hand

3464723.jpg

vanilla,
thanks for the idea.. i will ask hb to download some into his iphone

jelly,
ya i know cant predict so hoping for the best :p
thanks.. 500ml for each hot and cold.. got it

rains,
going to hk in early feb

icylemon
ya lor, karen working liao... how, still wanna go or u keen to go on weekend? keke...

re: pediped
vanilla - i will wait for ur order... i am ordering tonight
icylemon - i'm buying straight from web so the price is i think US$32 onwards

Mint,
I replied liao.

Mousebb,
yeah lor, monkey see, monkey do. Skylar saw Alistair kicking a ball yesterday, then try to kick her own smaller ball but can't balance on 1 foot n fell over. Sighs, all monkeys!!!!

<font color="0077aa">hey rains, on a different note, I did ask if you are the same person who ordered the GAIA products. 'Cos the seller stays near me and if you want, I can pick up for you. But I work at Raffles so I need to meet you around here. Just FYI lah</font>

hi jelly - think u dun wait for me cos earliest i can give u my order is tom. it is ok, he has 4 pairs unworn yet!

Hi cheerbear/dimpletot..Kate is so sweet ..hee hee she is like giggling cos Shawn trying to take her sweets? from her hands.. Shawn looks like a big boy!

on smacking

i believe in using the cane. but probably when older, like at least 3 years old, when they can understand that what they are doing is dangerous (eg running across the road) or naughty (hurting another child/defenceless baby).

but for now, I believe in saying NO in a very fierce stern voice, preferably with eye contact, and then removing the kid from the situation. if they cry also good cos that means they understand that they are being disciplined.

not sure whether I'll implement time out... have to think more abt that.
wonder if it might equate to feelings of being abandoned. or whether it might lead to teenage like behaviour of when i am not happy with you i slam the door and lock myself in it, in future. but i guess time out is good in taking them physically away from the situation or the 'heat' of the moment so they can 面壁思过。although from jo frost shows usually they spend the time out bawling...

<font color="aa00aa">Gio
Exactly!!! That day my hubby was fixing some power points in our room and he left the ladder in the room while he went out to get some spare parts. The moment I turned around, my small monkey was trying to climb onto the ladder!!!

dimpletot
I only used the cane when the kiddos touch those dangerous items like power points. I once gave wenxuan a stroke on his hand which stayed there for a few hours. The next time when he saw wenmin trying to off the power point again, he immediately told meimei "meimei, no! no!"</font>

R&amp;R,

don't think i wanna take leave. Am taking 2 days end of the jan. Cos mil wun b in town...so u gers go ahead. Enjoy..

The picture is so cute! I interpret it as Shawn trying to read Kate's palm like how those teen boys try to hold their girlfriends' hands for the first time by pretending to want to read their palms, and Kate looks bashful about a boy holding her hand. So cute!

Buffy,

Thanks for the kind offer, but I'll probably get my husband to collect or get the person to mail the products. Travelling to Raffles Place will be out of the way for me.

busybee,

I'm not sure whether you're speaking specifically about my bil-spanking-my-baby incident or generically so I'll share with you my thoughts on both:

Probably becos I work with parents alot and see how different kids turn out under different parenting style, I am comparatively cool about others chiding my elder kid if she's at fault. I don't want my kid to feel that I'll still defend her when she's at fault, or lie to gain my protection. I've seen many kids lying to their parents about what happened knowing that their parents will believe them and defend them accordingly. No matter how much a devil they are elsewhere, the parents insist that they are provoked, got into bad company, someone else instigated them, or simply the whole thing is totally untrue and the whole world gang up to wrongly accuse them. I thought it's really sad that these parents are in denial and they are the ones who do alot of harm to their kids.

My sister is one defensive parent and she wouldn't even punish her kids when they had been really naughty. She just tells them,"Don't do it again." which doesn't work. When someone commented that her boy was naughty, she gave a very unfriendly face and pulled her kid to her. As an onlooker, I couldn't help but felt that she was sending negative messages to her kid. She doesn't like us to tell her what she ought to do, so we don't, but we still spank her kids when they are naughty, when she's not around.

But I think it's ok to pamper babies abit. Up till now, I haven't scolded my baby since her birth, except for the occasional firm 'No'. I'm alot more patient with her than with my first kid. Probably bcos old already, so mellow abit too. I think I won't be able to tahan if someone not close try to discipline my baby too, but bcos I know my bil's pattern, so I take it that it's my baby's first exposure to a ferocious object.

<font color="aa00aa">Dont know is it a good sign anot. Suddenly my gal like "balloon up" liao. Took her weight just now and she is 8.8kg at 15mths 1 wk. A bit like putting on weight too fast liao.</font>

Rain, know where u are coming from. Guess must strike the balance.

Elch, got ur shoes. SMS me to arrange pick up ok. I may be out over the weekend.

Buffy, great craft project!! I am going to try it! Minibee is back to JG for a new term. She was sooo happy to be back. She clapped her hands and cheered when we were on the escalator up to the school! And for the first time she independently ran across the room during music time in class today. Normally she will only walk if I hold her hand when we're out. For some reason she was only comfortable walking independently at home. So glad she came out of her shell and decided to be brave today! So proud of her! Glad that she is enjoying her class! For craft today we did animal sponge printing. Great and easy craft to try at home. I saw cute animal shape sponges at daiso which would be useful when doing the stamping at home. (the sponges at daiso are meant for diswashing but i feel would be perfect for craft!)

XY, must share with u. I finally got my hands on the mega Huggies Ultra deal at cold storage I was telling u abt. Its the best promo ever and the diapers were flying off the shelf. I went on Sun &amp; Mon but all were gone despite stock being replenished every morning. So I called to "reserve" 4 packs and managed to enjoy the savings too!

do u still give your babies a last feed around 10-11pm? Noticed that skylar doesn't want her last feed anymore. Her dinner is usually at 6.30pm n like tonight she didn't finish her rice but still she doesn't want her milk when I give her now. Sigh am kinda worried.

<font color="aa00aa">Gio
It could be due to skylar has taken enough solid food + milk feeds during the day so she doesnt want anymore milk before she go to bed.

My gal has 4 milk feeds (x 150ml) + 2 solid meals a day but the amount of solid food she eat is not very much. </font>

<font color="0077aa">morning all.

Busybee: wah wah wah, i can picture how happy Mik was - to clap and then cheered to school? Hahahahahahahaa... thats too cute!!!!
Oh, thats a lovely idea. For C, I realised that she enjoys the craft work we do more if she were to get her hands dirty with paint, etc., rather then tearing and pasting stuff so I believe this will make her happy.
Thanks for sharing...

XY: ya, I also have a lot of cotton balls not used yet and so, I think I will give the sheep a go. Hehe...

Gio: if Skylar is growing within the range and is healthy and does not wake up for any feeds then I think she is OK, not hungry / underfed.

Good Morning Ladies!!

XY, yeah i was over the moon! Too bad not fast enough to video it!

Mousebb, didn't even't realised that it was raining. So shiok that Minibee and I slept in! Bums!!! hahaha

Gio, it could just be a phase. Dun worry. I have asked my paed abt this when it happened to minibee and he said its prob just a phase and as long as she is still active and behaving as normal then no need to worry. If she wants to snack just let her.

Buffy, like C, miki gets over zealous when she is doing "dirty craft". She would even get paint onto her face and hair!

Mummies, just wondering if any of your baby gear has become a white elephant? I stopped changing Minibee on our Ikea Changing table since she started squirming like crazy! Now this big item is a white elephant! So jor dang.

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee
Wow! You and minibee so shiok hor!!!
Oh! That ikea changing table!!! That time when wenxuan was born my hubby wanted to get one cos the infant care centre which wenxuan went also using that table and hubby like it very much! But then I kept nagging at him not to waste unnecessary money. I guess if we have bought it, it will become a white elephant too.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">little doggie
Not that I'm worry that she is overweight but only wonder why she can suddenly put on 500gm in less than a month cos in the past her weight gained was very slow. As parents I think we can never stopped worry for our kids. If they dont gain weight we wonder why! When they put on weight too fast we also wonder is it something wrong!!! Sigh!!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">How come this thread is so quiet today??? Where have all the regular mummies gone to??? </font>

Jelly
Actually if you're interested in the labels, there's a Singapore site that sells them too. Nice too! Bookmarked it at home, don't have the url here with me. Will post when I get home.