will let u knw my order tmr ok? tonite go bk measure my princess feet..haha

三只老虎,三只老虎,跑得快,跑得快。
一只没有眼睛,两只没有耳朵,
真奇怪,真奇怪。

三只老虎,三只老虎,
跑得快,跑得快,
一只没有眼睛,一只没有耳朵,
真奇怪,真奇怪!

Mandarin: Sān zhī lǎo hǔ, sān zhī lǎo hǔ, Pǎo dé kuài, pǎo dé kuài, Yì zhī méi yǒu yǎnjīng, yì zhī méi yǒu ěrduō, Zhēn qíguài, zhēn qíguài!

Translation: Three tigers, three tigers, Are running fast, are running fast, One doesn't have eyes, one doesn't have ears, Really strange, really strange!

<font color="aa00aa">dimpletot
My boy is down with fever again lor!
Each time when he take the fever medicine, he will sure poo a lot!!! So poor thing!</font>

dimpletot,
Yup.. watching Avatar since it's so raved about. Heehee!

vanilla,
Whereabouts do you live? See if I arrange something for you. Heehee!

Trace,
Expiry in Jul 2010.

Buffy,

U looking for me? I read Chinese picture books to Kai Tong but she can hardly sit down so I ended up just reading the story aloud. I din know much about pre-school storybooks. I more experienced with primary school levels, so I just read fairy tales to her.

Karen, yap. Happily working as a teacher again. Though I miss Kai Tong during my free period, I will never be SAHM. I discover I am so happy inside my class even though some students can really 气死我. Haha...

I remember when I am young, it is 三只老虎, but my students all say I sing wrongly, it should be 两只老虎 but I dun care, I still sing 三只老虎.

Been so busy these 2 days. Everyday work from 8 to 6, not to mention continue working at home. Am taking a breather now. Have quite a "difficult" P1 class this year. 2 dylexia (dunno correct spelling or not), 1 ADHD, 1 got emotional difficulty + ADHD. Got 1 of them, the mummy told me she nearly died from teaching her son Chinese and she wish me good luck on that. Haha... But I am still quite positive about it, just trying hard to think of ways to help them out. Got to adjust my lesson plans lor. Help me jiayou!

But every year, the number of special needs kids are getting higher per new P1 intake. Wonder is it cause now our kids got more problems or just simply cause last time not much awareness about special needs hence number is low.

song lyrics:
ha ha funny to read the debate whether its 2 or 3 tigers. but I think it doesn't matter la.

big flamingo:
wow you are an artist, so envious of ur talents. I am so lousy at this.

fever:
sigh just when I was wishing everybody good health, my boy fell sick. high fever of 39 degrees! pd said likely the side effect of mmr jab (although its been a week), but if doesn't get well in 48 hours must take urine test. Hope he is ok, I am looking forward to his bibinogs class on friday

ypg:
wow you are such a dedicated teacher. I must learn from your positive attitude.

back to the topic on discipline, me and my husband has different parenting style. he would keep saying no to my boy if it doesn't work he will threaten to hit
, while I try to reason with my boy. Alas both methods don't work. He still does his stunts, throw tantrums etc.

oh buffy, I should learn from you. you are teaching Cate so many things!

<font color="0077aa">Ya, Ms Yeow, looking for u ah. Hmmm... Cis I just started with the Chinese part, C looks at me funny when I speak to her in mandarin. Ha ha, macham am an alien. Ha ha

Wen Chuen: I also can't be bothered about two or three. I lazy, since there is ready printout, I just follow. Plus I have two cut outs of tigers for this, so two is easier for me to mimick the running action than three (using the cut outs like puppets) do will stick with this, ha ha

jelly: u dun pei Fu me, I am not even sure if I am teachibg her and engaging her correctly. See, got debate between two versus three tigers! ha ha

EY: My Shoes from Jack and Lily also come in a very pretty box. It also has Velcro strapsbfo I think u will not like them too! Is yr supplier selling them? Am looking to buy 4 pairs. I just contacted the lady who said she is starting the BP next week. If u can bring them in, will get from u. =)</font>

<font color="0077aa">re tantrums, C has a vstrong personality too such that I actually borrowed a book to read up on it! ha ha. Mummies, am curious, when u smack their hands, do they think it's a game? I dun smack C cos my dad actually always raises his hand to threaten to smack hers. So C thinks it's a game and actually hit me a few times.

What I do instead is to leave her in the playpen as her time out area. She'd scream and howl but I just ignore her until a while later when I tell her again what she needs to stop doing before carrying her out. Not sure if it works but am gonna continue lo.</font>

Wan Chuen,

Hope ur boy get well soon!

My life motive is love life and life will love u as much! So stay positive and life will be positive for u. Haha
But I know I come across as too optimistic to some ppl.

Actually I think both ur hubby n ur methods got its pros n cons. Today Chinese newspapers say some American experts stated that kids aged 2 to 5 who got punished (体罚) will fare better in school than others who dun. I dun really agree totally on this.

To me, I have set an pact with my hubby tat we will have the same stand in regard to disciplining Kai Tong. Cause if daddy say it is ok n mummy look like want to kill somebody, the kid will be confused.

I also reason with Kai Tong but at times, a stern NO is definitely necessary to stop her behaviour. But now, my gal very li hai liao. When I say NO, she will avoid confrontation with me (as in throwing tantrum), instead she will divert her attention to other things or run to her 靠山 (my mum). Think I am really a very "Fierce" person.

Buffy,

Cause Cate is used to u speaking in English mah.

Buffy
I know. I was selling them before.
the moq for jack and lily is 40 pairs. I wouldnt want to start, cuz it's alot and the price is much higher than shooshoo.The last time, kena gst also.

Good Morning Mommies,

On discipline, Skylar is also a handful now. She wants her way all the time n if we don't let her, say open the cupboard, she will flung herself on the floor n cry or stomp her feet n cry. At first I will get angry n smack her bum but no use, now I just ignore it n let her cry. Guess it'll take time for her to realise that her tantrum is not going to work.

Mint, do u still have the Happy Belly cereal? Can email me the price at [email protected] pls? Skylar is always on frisocrem so wanna give her some variety if it's not too ex.

ask u all ah, anyone of u brings ur bb home from nanny or mum place everyday and bring them over at 7am the next day?? coz i am thinking to stop being a weekend parent hahahaa... but i scare i cannot take it.. coz got to wake up 45 mins earlier everyday and also got to wake up for night feed... any advise??? ;p

thanks thanks

Liv, I used to that for my two older kids when they were born cos I don't wanna be a weekend mom too. Iwill put the baby in a baby sling, take a bus to my ex mil's place at bedok ( I stayed in Tampines then), drop the baby off then go to work at the airport. In the evening, my ex hubby n I will have dinner at ex In law place then bring our baby home. Had thus routine for 18 mths before they go childcare centre. It's very tedious but it's worth it cos I get to see my kids everyday n they won't be too close to their grandparents.

ypg,

Haha, I'm the opposite. I remember it as 2 mice when I was a child. Then the TV always sing 3 tigers, so I do as Romans do lor.

I once attended a talk about parenting boys and girls. The speaker said that studies show that boys who are from a military-style environment are more successful, and that boys and girls must be treated differently. Boys should be disciplined with a rod (when they are young) while girls need tlc.

My 3 nephews have an army officer father and they toe the line and are very disciplined in the presence of their father, but are totally spoilt with their grandparents. However, my baby was treated the same way by my bil (my nephews' father) when she went over for a 2-hour stay the other day. He shouted at her loudly 3 times when she touched the sockets, and he came over and smacked her hand hard once. She was so petrified that she froze the 3rd time he shouted at her. And of course she bawled when smacked.

But I must say I disagree with some of the things that my bil does to his kids, especially the eldest one who is only 8 this year. He hit his hand when he was only 5 so hard the wooden ruler broke. He constantly screamed and shouted at the poor boy very loudly. When I interfere to prevent child-abuse scenes to happen right before my eyes, he gets angry with me too.

hi Liv,

I think this was discussed not too long ago. My husband is the one who fetches the baby from my parents' place at night, but my mother is the one who travels to my place every morning at 6.30am. She prefers this arrangement than having the baby stay overnight at her place as she feels that she will not be able to cope with the broken sleep that comes with the night feeds.

<font color="0077aa">EY: oh, such a pity. I bought them cos they looked quite sturdy yet v pretty. When they arrived, was pleasantly surprised to see them so prettily placed in a box, I still keep the boxes. Ha ha.

Nickypower, got yr PM

liv: actually quite a few of us are shuttling that way. I will leave C and my helper at my folksin the morning. My in-laws and I will take turns picking them up. But my parents stay near me so it helps</font>

<font color="0077aa">rains: wow, you are ok with your BIL smacking her ah?

My Bro and SIL and us have a common understanding of not smacking each other's kids. Maybe it is because both my bro and I are not into smacking (we do try really really hard!) so to have someone smack my kid, I am not entirely comfortable with it and would have made a stand on this. But that is me lah. Haha</font>

thanks ladies for the advise.. ;p

my parents staying at SK and me staying at bishan so not very near also right.. it took ard 20mins to drive there coz of the traffic in AMK..

Buffy,

Of course not lah! I didn't expect him to smack a baby, especially someone else's baby, although I knew his style. I grumbled aloud,"How can you smack a baby?" to which he responded,"My children so young I smack them liao!"

hi liv - on 3 weekdays my mum will pick my son up and in the evening either she will bring him to my plc or i go to her plc. on 2 other weekdays my mil will take care of him. on 1 of the weekday my mil will come to my plc the other weekday we will drive my bb to her plc. if he/she is older u can skip the night feed. i think by 15mths alot of bbs are weaned off the night feeds. yes they will still cry occassionally (teething, bad dreams) but for me it is ok, i cant sleep thru the nite now cos used to waking up in the middle of the nite.

hi buffy - when i smack E's hands, he think i doign a hi 5... but when i scold he really understands and will cry. but of course he really test his limits, when he throws his toys i say no, he will do it. i will 1 - smack his hands, take away the toy and then tell him to play w something else. have u tried exposing to herto chinese news? My son's fav chinese program is "good morning" in TV8..he recognise the anchor people and when they say good mornign in chinese he will smile like won a million bucks! He thinks they are just greeting him and him alone! haha

hi mint - thanks!
i stay at tanjong rhu, my mum's plc is katong, and i work at raffles plc. I may get around 3-4 tins.

morning mummies

wow ytd discussion was on 2 or 3 tigers.. i think is ok to be 2 or 3 as long as our bub enjoy the singing the song

mummies who hv travel on plane.. i need some advice.
1. is there a cap on how much hot and cold water to bring? how many ml?
2. how to make them enjoy/fuss less on plane? i dun think toys will tahan them for 3hr flight.

I'm actually fine with my parents or sisters spanking my elder kid if she's up to any mischief though, becos she's a big kid already and should know her boundaries. And I thought it good for her to know that others may not be as forgiving as her mother when she makes a mistake. In any case, my family members are able to tell that she means a lot to me and they do refrain from spanking her unless she's committed a crime, like playing with fire. Come to think of it, they hit my nephew, but I can't recall if they really did hit my kid for that.

<font color="aa00aa">Gio
*wave back* Yup! Long time no 'see'!!!
My 2 kids are really a handful too!!! My son is always leading a bad example and the younger one will follow!!! When come to no choice, I will bring out my 'weapon'(cane) to deal with them! </font>

cheerbear
no, no limit. u need to let the airline know u need to make milk for ur bub but i suggest not bringing more than 500ml in for ur 4hr flight.

what time of the day r u travelling? if you are travelling right in between his nap, make him take his nap earlier... at least u know for 1 hour or so, u can dun take care of an active tod. alternatively, a dvd player is a v good choice is shawn's into tv. else, food! but honestly, u cant entertain an active tod w/o letting them roam arnd for 3hrs...

<font color="0077aa">EY: ya, C is the same, thinks it is a game. And worst is because my dad does it so ferquently, she was for a while hitting us because she was mirroring what was being shown to her. I am trying hard not to smack her 'cos I do not even smack my dogs! LOL... I may change my mind when she starts driving me up the wall!

rains: ya, 'cos they are still so young thats why I was so shocked he smacked yr girl. If my BIL says that to me, I would have answered back "precisely, those are your children and this is mine and I prefer not to smack."

You know, I recently read an article where they did a study on young children's behaviour and Japan came out tops in terms of good and proper behaviour. I used to work for a Japanese company and I marvelled at the fact that none of the Japanese mummies that I know actually smack their kids and all of them are so well disciplined! Seriously, I dunno how they do it!</font>

vanilla,
i am thinking of portable dvd too but this would mean that i hv to go buy one and $$ fly fly..

jelly,
500ml is the total for hot and cold water? or separate?
if i go buy the dvd player then i will hv to bring my only 3 dvds along but the total time for 3 dvds i think is only 90min and i crossing my fingers that he will nap coz he has difficulties falling asleep in diff envt.
food?? cant be eating snacks for the whole journey right??
aiyo i really feel excited abt my trip but also so many things that i scare/worry abt

mint and karen

u all talking about pumpkin patch a few days ago right? I bought one pweety purple polkadot sparkly dress that was on 30% + 15% (citibank) discount.

tigers

hiyah, it's 3 tigers cos 1 no eyes and 2 no ears mah. although i used to think it was 2 no tails. maybe confused with 3 blind mice and their chopped off tails.

<font color="0077aa">busybee: YOU'VE GOT MAIL!

EY: hey, I keep forgetting to tell you but your blog shows up funny on my laptop - it shows the coding instead of just the content. Is it just my laptop settings that have gone bonkers?</font>

cheer bear
if got individual tv screen then maybe no need dvd player?

for our 2 hr flight kate just walked around the bulk head area, look here look there, climb up to our laps, eat... quite fast it was time to go.

Buffy,

I try not to say 'these are my children and those are yours' bcos it may backfire one of these days when I discipline my nephews. We as a family believe that kids ought to be disciplined early, especially my nephews. So I do smack my nephews when they are defiant towards my parents. My eldest nephew took a knife from the kitchen and pointed it at my mother when he was only 3, saying,"I want to kill you." in Chinese. My 3 nephews are very bad-tempered and tend to take advantage of my parents' niceties towards them, so we as their aunts really need to take them into our hands as and when that happens, before my parents are killed by them when none of us is around.

I think Japanese have a very different culture so it's difficult to try to match up to them. They have their own language, own culture and the schools are equally strict with the kids, even at mealtimes. They have alot of consistencies in what they do from the country, society to family level, so I think cannot compare.

Wah, Cheerbear,
Where you going?