(2008/10) Oct 2008

My parents live considerably near to us. They in woodlands and we in sembawang. So my baby gets to come home every night.

My mother comes to my place every morning from Mon to Fri at 6.30am to pick up my baby. She'll bring my baby in a stroller to my sister's place which is also in sembawang to look after her 3 boys by about 8 or 9am. Then she takes them all back to her own place in the afternoon when the pri-schooler comes home.

My husband picks the baby up every night, about 9 or 9.30pm, at my parents' place.

My sister is a weekend mother. She picks up her boys at my parents' place on Sat evening and sends them back on Sun evening, except for the pri-schooler who goes home every day.

A friend who was a weekend child also had the same sentiment, that she thought her parents didn't love her, although she knew that they had to work and that's why they left her with her grandma.

My mother has never left us in the care of another person, even when she had a maid. I'm not sure if that rubs off on me becos I found myself suffering from separation anxiety when I had to go camping, away from my elder kid a few years ago. I'm in a better state with the baby tho. I did miss her when I was away from her for 6 days and 3 days on separate trips this year but didn't feel so bad since I had my elder kid with me.

My grandma took care of me till I was 5 too. My parents brought me home every night though. I'm still close to my parents but also v close to my grandma till she passed away. Also managed to learn Hakka and am prob the only one in my generation amongst my relatives who can still speak it.

From all the sharing above, guess with children amt of time spent directly correlates to closeness.

I dun mind if my kids become v close to the grandparents. After all they are family. But a bit sad if they become v attached to maid, then cry like no tmw when the maid has to leave, which is quite inevitable.

I have a friend who hardly saw her parents till they 'took her back' from her grandma when she was 7 and she still remembers that v clearly. Made her decide to become sahm. And she still says her mum cannot help look after her kid cos 'after all she never looked after me'.

dimple
i totally agree with you that is why i insisted that it's grandparents or nothing...

i know that when i was growing up, relating to my parents was so difficult... but i also realise that becos they had to earn their bread and butter, they were left w no choice but to allow my grandma to look after me... i only grew closer to them after i wnt overseas to study, so that is a v long time.

hvg said that, i would do what whitepaper did, when i can i will visit baby everynite and bring bb back on friday nites onwards

oh yah... i need to add, CH will be totally under my care when he goes to childcare from 2 years old onwards. He will not be at my mum's anymore.

And the reason why I dont want my mum to travel to my place to pick up my boy every morning (which my brother did when my mum took care of my nephew) was the fact that I dont want to tire my mum out too much. She is already 63 and I think I should take on the responsibility of travelling to and fro instead.

dimpletot

Yes i agree with you too... cannot be close to maid. that's why both my mum and myself insists that my maid only do the house chores, and we take care of CH ourselves.

As for the part about amt of time spent being directly correlating to closeness, might not be true leh. Coz my boy is still closest to my hubby, next is me, then my mum. Eventhough my hubby sees him the least, coz he has to work on weekends.

hi mommies, party was a blast, thanks to everyone! we can open shop to do event organising liao, very pro

Karen - kahkah, lucky for me he didnt know his bose was left downstairs unattended after everyone left ;p

<font color="aa00aa">whitepaper
My hubby said he and your boss always "eat snake" together during their NS days! Hahaha!!!</font>

Morning mummies!!

Weekend parent:
My baby is taking care by maid, which is sad.. My parent in Indonesia and my MIL is a divorcee so she cant afford to lose her job to take care of her only grandson. I admit that I cant give her the pay she getting to take care of my son, so I can only rely on maid. CC is out for me as my working hours is simply too long.

I really scare that baby will close to maid than me, but I will try to go home straight after work and spend some time with him.. Weekend will be mostly his time..

purple,
If you can afford, I think the first few year being a SAHM is worth it.. It's really crucial now.

Amount of time spent having correlation to closeness will probably show up later on when the kids reach 5-7, becos now they are still babies mah. It's a different matter when they have spent years with another person rather than their own parents, especially when they are developing in all ways, psychologically and physiologically. Children have their own feelings and opinion which they hold firmly to and that's something that we can't control, just like how my friend insisted that her parents didn't love her when she was aware that her parents needed to work.

Like Whitepaper i'm a weekend mum but would go visit bryan everyday and bring him hm on friday nights. But this will be over once he go cc next year! Frankly, i've been waiting for the longest! Cos i hope i still can catch up with the time and him being close to me..

JJMom,
Bryan is very weird...everytime i bring him to new plc, he'll need sometime to warm-up, thus sticking to me! Norm, by the time he warm-up, the party is over! hahaa...he's totally different when he's at my mum plc/ils plc..sigh..esp. at my ils plc! When we want to carry him hm, he'll stand at the door and refuse to go!!

Purple and mommies, interesting topic. I moved to BP to be near my parents when we got married, coz we know parental support when it comes to kids will be crucial. So I bring my kids home every day. On Mon-tue, my kids are with my ILs who stay in YCK, but we still bring them home every night. The next day hubby will send me to work first and boy to school, then fetch my girl and maid to YCK. Firstly, can't bear to leave them there, and I want them to be close to me, put them to bed, see their sleepy face when they wake up. Secondly, my parents are old and mom not in good health, can't subject them to the night wakenings.

XY, yah hor! must thank you for the thoughtful little pressies from Marcus at the party too!!! so sweet of you.

Jolly, hahahahaha whew....lucky u guys like the food. i only recommend nia but need pro Eelyn to order just the right selection!!!

Good Morning!

Dimpletot, went to Shukuodo for the first time yesterday. Now I know why you like the place. Nice environment with Value for Money Menu. Great environment for the bubs too.

Everafter, dun worry nothing can affect your Mummy/Baby bond. U just spend quality time with him I am sure he enjoys that already.

Mint, saw that u went Studio Loft. Was the wait long? Would u rate this year's package as better than last year's?

Dimpletot, Busybee,
ya..my ils happy but im unhappy lor, so much so abt my hb complaining they din spend enough time with bryan..already so close liao, what abt mummy leh?? :p

But now this boy would follow ANYONE who wants to go out! hahaa...its really funny when sometimes he kept clinging on me and i need to do hsework, then i'll ask my hb to put on "outside" clothes, once he sees that he'll IMMEDIATELY go hug my hb legs! faint~

yah lately kate has been going to the shoe rack and giving out the right shoes that belong to their 'owners'.

her not so subtle hint that she wants to GO OUT!

I strongly believe that the person the child is closest to will be the best disciplinarian/guardian for the child. If the child is not close to the parent, for eg, then s/he will not listen to the parent when they are able to form their own opinions and feelings. And this is worst during their rebellious years.

The weird thing is that bryan will throw tantrums if he didnt get his way by crying/rolling-on-the-floor at my mum plc only..he wont do that at my plc at all

<font color="119911">everafter, dimpletot,
Nat says 'kai kai' b4 she calls me 'mama'...so sad...i told her she win liao loh *faintz*

her obvious preference of what's more fun

really wonder when is she gng to call me?!</font>

JJMom,
Same here lor..but worse still Bryan dont even knw how to say other words..the 2 words that he'll babble w/o knowing whose the person is papa/mama

kate just learned to say 'bear' yesterday. she talks very little, only mama papa mum-mum. so we kept making her say bear yesterday cos the sound is so cute.

i saw... was just thinking it looks so good!

maclaren's singapore distributor also issuing safety covers... somehow they are not recalling even though in us and uk they are, cos 12 kids had severed fingers OUCH.

wow... thanks mummies for sharing your experience.

Nite feeding,
does your bubs still wakes up in the middle of the nite for milk? mine has been waking up since few mths back and asking me for milk... 'nen nen nen'

hey purple,

I was just wondering about the same thing. Mine still wakes up faithfully every night a few times for milk. I made a disclaimer the first thing I knew I was pregnant. I told my husband he must be the one who wakes up to feed the baby if he wants the baby.

aiyo... i dun hve the luxury... hahaha... but she only wakes up once for milk every nite... and now she noes how to say 'nen nen'. she will wake me up and say 'nen nen ar'...

purple,
tks! yes! indeed a fantastic xmas pressie!

bigflamingo,
tks! very early.. probly just 3 wks. i just found out this morning..

*fingers crossed for healthy pregnancy... too happy to keep it secret.. :p*

wow.. good news after my lunch break..
Congrats Eelyn!!! very happy for u...

purple,
I feed my boy with water if he wake up at night, I wan to let him know that no milk even he wake up everynight.. kekeke.. bad mummy.. Now he seldom wake up alr.. maybe once or twice per week for water.

<font color="aa00aa">tweety
Same here. Now whenever wenmin wake up in the middle of the night crying and fussing, we would just give her plain water. Dont want her to wake up for milk often esp she is coming to 15mths soon.</font>

Congrats Eelyn! Ur wish comes true and is really a great Xmas pressie!

Joanne- Same here. Kaelyn's pigeon straw cup oso will leak no matter how properly I turned on tight. So I ve to put a plastic bag over it when I put in the bag, else scare leak and wet the stuffs in the bag. Headache!