(2008/10) Oct 2008

I where got so good in cooking! Haha... Now got sell those instant sauce base/paste from supermarket. Just follow instruction from the packaging itself n u got very decent meal liao. I use them as sauce or soup base though got to add in extra to make it better.

I strongly recommend this brand call Hai's. The prawn noodle soup base really very nice but hor, u got to add in more prawn head n the soup will be very sweet n juicy. Same for the braised meat sauce, must use more garlic n stir-fry until got fragrant smell come out then add in the paste.

The dish I am proud of is hand made noodles, my 家传菜 n combine it with my 家传 chili, it is heaven! Hehe... But I onli cook it during school holidays. Cause it is super tiring to cook this dish.

hi jelly - i did not buy the liquid type cos the lady from GNC said that children younger than 3 better take the soft gel. I let E take that when he is abt 10 mths.

hi ypg - wah ur hb so lucky to have such a gd cook for wife... haha mine..the best i will do for him is boil water, pour into instant noodles cup type and serve in 3 mins...haha even this i dun do!

scott's cod liver oil - i plan to intro to shawn after checking with PD next wk if she say is ok but prob is dunno shld go for the original or the orange one?? the original is so suckssss leh.

tweety,
maybe u jus tahan awhile and if he insist u work 10hrs then talk to him again.. if all else fail then find another lor..

varner like marmite? how much u put? i plan to intro to shawn too.. esp on those days that i am lazy to cook.. so will be plain porridge + marmite.

ypg,
when r u inviting us to go over ur hse makan? ur prawn noodle and chicken wings looks so nice.. yummy.. drooling liao.

ypg, u so bad!!! so yummy! can share ur prawn noodles recipe please????? i want!!!

<font color="aa00aa">joanne, i forgot to tell u i helped you buy the bellamys colourful macaroni oredi last week! hehehe sorry no time to tell you. there's no discount although i got use my friend's member card.
i just bought another box for myself too coz Jaz finished the prev box. u coming back at xmas? can pass u during one of the meetup then u pass me cash also can.</font>

rains,

No, I did not have this feeling so far. Cause every year I am mentally prepared to take the worst class. But everytime it turn out tat even the worst class also very fun. Cause there are different type of students in every class n not all are brats. I think sometimes u got to think more positively. If u tell urself to be happy to teach this class, things will eventually turn out slightly better. Besides weak students are usually the one who improve greatly n give u the most self satisfaction. I know, I am hopelessly optimistic. Haha...

As for work review, it is the rule of game. So happy or not, I still got to get it done. But my HOD is very good, always helping us out on our EPMS cause she knows many Chinese teachers had problem writing it. Also, we are very blur, she usually got to remind us do this do that. Haha...

As for timing, I finish my work review meeting in 20 min. We usually do the ticking of rating ourselves, she see through, no problem, then she will leave it there.

Dun be too depressed over the coming year cause I am sure there will be more good things to happen to u besides this fact tat u got to work with her. Yeah, I am a confirmed hopeless optimistic person. Haha...

Worst come to worst, change school. Stay positive!!

ypg,
at least u put effort to try.. Me too lazy.. will just stick to normal food that I cook.. kekeke..
But I wan to learn my mum's dried bak kut teh, coz my hb and family loves it.

cheerbear,
My boss just called, I told him that I don wish to work 11 hours per day as I got family lor. he said will discuss with client, so I shall wait and c.

I put half teaspoon only as the porridge alr got fish, vege and sparerib. U can try to put abit to c if Shawn like it. I don dare to put too much afraid they used to that taste.

work

hmm come to think of it i used to work 11-13 hour days quite regularly. yesterday first day, also worked 10 hours. where got so nice 8 hour days these days? 9-5pm? unless don't count lunch hour lah. even then it's 8.5 hours daily minimum...

it is australia famous food... yeast fermented vegemite...they usually eat it spread on bread. it is like their kaya.

those not aussie - either love it or hate it..cos the smell is rather strong...

ypg,

I will try to ask for a transfer this year, hopefully I get somewhere to go. But I know the competition will be very stiff becos a number of teachers are also asking for transfer.

I'm not taking the worst class. It's supposed to be a good class, but I took them for a non-core this year and I had problems with this class. I thought the chance of me meeting them again is very slim.

I've always been on the ball, esp when I know how mean my sup can be. But I can never be prepared for the words she put in my mouth. She actually said that I told her I'm a contract teacher due to be trained at nie the last time! When I said I never did say that, she insisted that I did. I know she could be senile, but it's very stressful to work under someone who constantly puts words in your mouth, esp when even something so ridiculous could come from her.

I cannot tick it myself. She wants to do it with me. And she'll never let me off below an hour.

I'm quite a perfectionist when it comes to work. It's not that I dread doing work review. I'm expected to have it ready at all times, becos she'll just tell me,"I want to see you later with your work review." and I'll have to have it there. She expects me to update it as and when necessary. I just hate inefficiencies. You meet up 3 times for each work review. To me, it's senseless! Just get it done lah!

Every year, I look forward to the new year, a new start, but this year, I can't help but feel depressed over just about everything. I tell myself that since every year, I am positive that things will be good and they are not, so perhaps this year, I feel negative about it and maybe things will really be good.

Actually, it's just one boy in that class. But I just can't make him listen to me.

Yeah, it's just one boy. Why did I feel that it's the whole class? Oh, becos he'll clown around and make the class laugh.

Rains, try giving the boy some "work" to do in class. Like clean the board, give out the assignments etc. Maybe can make him behave as he'll feel more "important".

Dimplet,
U back to work?? i also work more than more than 10 hours per day. Sigh... reality of working life.

Some thoughts to share on going back to work...

for two days in a row I actually have 1.5 hour lunches (as opposed to the 10min wolfing down karen was talking about)... at nice places... with stimulating conversation (catching up on gossip actually)...

terrible thing to say but I don't really miss kate. oops. at least not yet lah. i thought i'd start missing her around 3pm, but yesterday no leh. heh heh.

guess i'm just fang4 xin1 that she's in good hands and adapted well during the three trial days that i had last week.

perhaps i'm really made out to be a ftwm. but right now i still feel it's kinda criminal to spend less than 3 hours a day with my kid lah. but really a lot less tired at the end of the day. so far.

dimpletot,
Include lunch hour is 9 hours lah.. I think nowadays no 8 hours already.

bbgoh,
marmite is like a puree of meat?? I also don know what is that, my mum ask me to add as Varner will vomit when i give him plain porridge. It has strong chicken (what I bought) smell.

<font color="0000ff">YPG,

I like your positive attitude!! Way to Go!

Spore schools definitely needs more teachers like you.

Ganbatte!

<font color="0077aa">tweey, vanilla
icic i google it.
so it also same as those heinz pureed product?

tweety
varner wan tasty porridge </font>

rains,

Yap, a bad RO will make ur life miserable. Wat is the reason behind that boy's misbehaviour?

Usually I will work with the parent for misbehaviour n it work well so far.

XY,

That is the only way I can think of to treat u all "eat" chicken wings mah.

Cheerbear,

U sure u want to eat my MSG loaded dish bo? Haha...

dimpletot,

I work long hours too, 7 to 6.30 pm b4 having Kai Tong. Not to mention go home still got to mark compo (yucks!), prepare for lesson. Weekend also got to do lot of lesson preparation too. If I dun do it on weekend, I will die on weekday, overloaded.

Luckily got school holidays to make up for the long hours.

daisybuttons,

Where got recipe? Just Hai's instant soup base/paste lah. U can get it from supermarket.

Recipe for prawn noodles:
Noodles (watever kind u want)
Prawn (big big one is the best)
Fish cake (pan-fried till crispy outer skin, sliced)
Beansprouts
Kang Kong (if u like)

1)Peel the prawns, keep the prawn head n shells
2)stir-fry the prawn head n shells with some oil
3)Put in Hai's prawn noodles soup paste into the prawn head and shells
4)Add water, put to a boil then turn to medium fire
5)Just cook the prawn meat in water, drain off water
6)Fill a saucepan with water, for cooking of noodles
7)Put in ur selection of noodles, I personally like kueh diao mee + beansprouts + kang kong
8)Drain off the water from the noodles, put inside a bowl
9)Put fish cake, prawn meat on top + fried onions (油葱)
10)Pour the ready prawn soup (u may wish to take out the prawn head n shells) over it. Serve hot.

Today weather is so good. I am going for a dip with Kai Tong now.

bbgoh,
It's not like heinz.. The texture is like puree, but strong smell of favour. It's like a sauce to me.

If Seline ok with what u cook so far, don add this. But I think this is better than adding salt like my neighbour did.

Trace,
U tempt us with SALE huh??? kekeke...

<font color="0077aa">tweety
i nvr add salt
recently i add red dates, scallop, ikan bilis
i occasionally add maggie seasoning </font>

<font color="0077aa">mummies
will u still bring home-cooked porridge when bring our bubs out?
recently i have gave her outside foods when go out like mee-sua &amp; porridge. once in a while do u thk its fine?

bbgoh,
My neighbour give salt lor.. Which I think I won for now, I add ikan bilis all this, marmite is only like once in a blue mood when he's eating less. Maggie seasoning not msg meh?? to me like msg wor..

XY,
maybe arg.. coz she always got this promo for us.. kekee..

bbgoh,
I still bring out home cooked porridge. I normally cook 2 meals, so bring out lor.. I have yet to try mee-sua.. will try on weekend to c if he like it.

<font color="0077aa">tweety
i only tried it while at batam loh as not convenience to cook ler

u cook 2meal at once? i tot porridge no good keep for next meal, it will turn watery then cause stomach wind

if the time permitted i still cook &amp; bring out but my mil ll keep ask me just give her outsd food easier </font>

bbgoh,
maggie seasoning is MSG leh.. dun give seline la.. not gd leh.

for shawn lunch is always home cooked porridge and dinner will depends.. range from home cooked porridge, HT jar food, HT cereal and some food from our plate like potatoes, tofu etc.. recently i was drinking cheng teng and he was staring hard at me so i give him some wahahaa

Dimple
so how did you do the trial ah? I am thinking of doi g a trial tomorrow and leave Jo with my mum while I go enjoy life for once.

ypg,

Everytime I see your nick, I'll think of yio chu kang.

The boy doesn't have parents. I'm not sure why he cannot sit still and like to retort teachers. Oh, a kid told me he asked me to go eat shit before school closed. He wasn't like that when he was in P2, but P3 onward, each year, he's become bolder. He crawls on the floor in the classroom to emulate a dog or some other animals while making the animal's sound. When the teacher asks a question, he shouts out loudly some nonsensical answers to make his classmates laugh. Things like that, so it makes for difficult class management sometimes. Next year, he will be a big boy. I foresee he'll be even more daring. But I'm hoping that things will be better given that I'm taking them for core subject.

Thanks for your suggestion, XY, I'll try to keep him occupied with the manual stuff.

Just now, I was at home alone and feeling miserable about everything. Now I'm at my mother's place with the baby. I realise I feel better when I see my baby.

ypg,
Open a workshop for optimism leh. I'm a hopeless pessimist. For years, I try so hard to be optimistic, but it doesn't work on me leh. The more I'm optimistic, the greater the disappointment. Is it something you eat huh? I always eat chicken. Can it be the reason? Haha...

bbgoh,
Ya.. I use slow cooker to cook his porridge from morning lor. But I add vege separately. if cook every meal, I not sure how wor.. too little v hard to cook i think.

cheerbear,
I give cereal, pasta twice a week.. hee.. I always give abit of our food to Varner to let him try try new taste.

Aftnoon mummies,

Thxs for ur concerns. ;)
Hope Kaelyn be well soon and dun need the use of neubiliser.

Trace- U be gng for the sales! Do update if got good buys!! My fav.brand!! ;p

tweety,
i think shawn dun like pasta coz everyday he only eat abit the dun wan liao.. the best is half bowl nia.. for porridge/cereal can finish whole bowl leh.

rains,

ypg stands for yio chu kang primary school? Thought should be yps? Hehe...

Wait till u hear my chinese surname, 姚 so my students will write me as 跳老师,逃老师. they will call me 咬老师,摇老师etc. The most classic is ypg stand for yao pi gu 姚屁股. Nowadays the students are different from us. Though I give her a lecture on not to call ppl nickname cause this gal also like to make fun of other ppl name, I cant help but salute her creativity. Haha...

No parents? How about guardian? Usually kids of complicated family background need attention. Hence they do alot of stuff to irritate u so as to get ur attention. I got such kids b4. Almost every year also got at least 1. For this year, wat I do is to give the boy extra remedial after school, but it is not just work. I will do work 1st then talk to him about his thoughts, his hobbies over a cup of iced MILO (this usually did the trick to open him up) Then slowly he feel genuine concern I have for him, he changed slowly. But kids being kids, they will forget very easily. I will call his name during class when he is playing the clown n say our secret password. He will give in and try to control his own behaviour.

BTW are you a new teacher? If not, why ur RO will mistake u as untrained teacher?

As for optimistic workshop, I have it 5 days a week in my class. I feel tat if I am optimistic and positive about life, my students will feel it and they will change. Though slowly but dun u think this is how we make impact in their life? I mean, how many jobs in this world tat has the chance to shape the future of the youngs and so many of them? True, parents are results oriented but they also will see how we manage to change their child attitude towards work and life. It is especially more important for us, Chinese teachers as many students nowadays think they hate Chinese.

Paiseh to other mummy, I am so long-winded. 职业病.

karen

my mum comes over, I say 'bye, see you later' go out (easier if she's eating and distracted by FOOD) and don't come back for 8-9 hours lor.

Nicky,
Hope Kaelyn get well soon. Talking abt sale, u so alive.. kekeke..

cheerbear &amp; bbgoh,
I think pasta is too plain, Varner also start to hate it. I add in cheese, potato. I'm gg to add marmite or tomatoes c if he likes it..

Gimmil sale:
What is this huh?? sorry that I nv heard of this brand..

ypg,
I can feel that you are a good teacher. I hope my boy can have a teacher like u next time.

tweety,

Gimmil carries brands like carter, osh kosh etc..

last yr think few mummies here grab lotsa stuff there..their rompers, t-shirt..some r as cheap as $3 only

ypg

you remind me of my chinese teachers. they so yong4 xin1 liang2 ku3, touched our heart. can't bear to disappoint them. i really liked two of my sec sch chinese teachers. so genuine, so cultured.
one young, one old.

i think chinese teachers (stereotype) really show the essence of teachers. dunno if you know what i mean. but when i think of my chinese teachers (esp those), they command some sort of respect and admiration.