(2008/10) Oct 2008

Allo mommies,

won't join you for xmas gathering. abby's outside playing with my helper, everyone misses her, which is great.. will go slap sorority sisters, feed my fish and grow some crops in fb then get some sleep.

hope everyone's been keeping well.

cheer bear

just google shoo shoos usa and you'll get the site.

<font color="ff0000">X'mas Lunch Gathering
Date : 19 Dec 2009, lunch.
Venue : Jill's Condo Parc Emily, near Little India MRT station</font>
<font color="119911">Proposed time : 11am, gift exchange at 1pm</font>

Interested:
1. Karen + Jowenda
2. Mint + Regina
3. XY + Marcus
4. Jillian + Zoe
5. Everafter + Bryan
6. Joanne + Rianne
7. Eelyn + Kaitlyn
8. daisybuttons + Jaz + Hubby + Jov (11am start 12.30pm gift exchange)
9. JJmom + Nat (11am)
10. Cheerbear + Shawn
11. icylemon + Regine (maybe bring Rachel) 11am
12. ypg + Kai Tong + HB (if HB not going, maid going)
13. dimple + Kate (11am, gift exchange can 1230pm?)
14. jellypurin + Rebby
15. Jolly + Ashton + HB
16. rains + BB Caye
17. Ruffles + HB + Victoria
18. kylie_mummy + Mei Xuan
19. Penny + Claudia
20. Forest + Kieran
21. Mousebb + HB + Wenxuan + Wenmin (11am)
22. BBgoh + Seline
23. tweety + Varner

Elder kids list:
1. Daisybutton's Jovann (3 years)
2. Mousebb WX (2.5 years)
3. Jill's Max (3 years)
4. R&amp;R's Rachel (3 years?)

total attendance: 28

Food - Budget set at $20
Gift Exchange for Babies
xmas pressie - budget set at $30

<font color="0000ff">Food Menu:
International &amp; Japanese Menu from http://www.eatzcatering.com/menu-mini.html
(will change one of the tempura prawn dishes. they'll get back to me)
am going to buy some snacks and log cake to add to order.
Total per pax: $12.00 </font><font color="0077aa">(incl delivery and GST excluding snacks and cake will update on $ per pax again)</font>

<font color="ff0000">typo for $/pax</font>
<font color="0000ff">$13.40/pax (incl delivery and GST excluding snacks and cake will update on $ per pax again)
pls note this menu has no drinks so im asking caterer to provide. they'll revert on how much $ per pax as well.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Sorry, mummies. Wont be able to join you all for the xmas lunch gathering cos most probably we are having one at home that day.</font>

X'mas Lunch Gathering
Venue : Jill's Condo Parc Emily, near Little India MRT station
Proposed time : 11am, gift exchange at 1pm

Interested:
1. Karen + Jowenda
2. Mint + Regina
3. XY + Marcus
4. Jillian + Zoe
5. Everafter + Bryan
6. Joanne + Rianne
7. Eelyn + Kaitlyn
9. JJmom + Nat (11am)
10. Cheerbear + Shawn
14. jellypurin + Rebby
15. Jolly + Ashton + HB
16. rains + BB Caye
19. Penny + Claudia
20. Forest + Kieran
21. BBgoh + Seline
22. tweety + Varner

Elder kids list:
2. Jill's Max (3 years)
3. R&amp;R's Rachel (3 years?)

(hubby and elder kids? Anymore to add? )

Food - Budget set at $20
Gift Exchange for Babies

Voting for food

xmas gathering food (will close votes on wed night and order on thurs)

http://www.eatzcatering.com/menu-mini.html
will order 2 varieties - we seem to always have leftovers so i wont order so much

http://mumskitchen.com.sg/Menu1.asp
will order menu J.

eatzcatering
1. JJmom
2. daisybuttons
3. BBgoh
4. rains
5. XY

mumskitchen
1. dimpletot
2. kare2711

jelly,

not well but at least can eat. i flew to bali on fri, fri night she had high fever, sat morning they brought her down to kkh, flights all full for me, flights full on sunday also but my friend's hb gave me his seat on the 7 am denpasar - sg flight, i bought him a return ticket home on sq at 8 pm. reached sg, cabbed to kkh. blood test confirmation of hfmd, she couldn't eat or drink due to the ulcers in her mouth so they tried to stick a drip in but she pulled it out and refused to have one after the blood test. yesterday got better, had milk, had porridge, dessert, bread.

i'ld like to attribute her new found optimism to my presence ahha but i cannot take so much credit. my mil really loves her alot. saw that..

damn difficult lah, half way back from ubud, got the phonecall from my mom and i bawled all the way to denpasar to try and get an immediate flight home or at least organise the next one there and there. it's so difficult when the kid is sick and you cannot be there for her. even if i know it's just hfmd and it'ld pass.. it's alot of guilt.

now that i'm back and have taken the week off because my mil is down with flu, i feel damn sian. ok the instructions is can bring her out but no contact with other children.

she was prescribed paracetamol and an oral steroid to reduce the imflammation of the gums. she has about 7 ulcers in the mouth, 3 on gums, 1 on palate, 3 at the back of throat. measles like rash on groin, bum, legs, arms, hands, soles of feet has two blisters. i learnt from the doc that 14 days is a safe window for recovery but 3 weeks to a month after the 14 days, the child remains contagious because the virus is excreted through faecal matter as well as saliva.

so.. there you have it. i'm so going back to bali.. this time prob with abby in tow.

gah. so much work to catch up on.. i hate taking leave and staying home, it's working at home with the stupid laptop. argh.

dimpletot,
hi 5! i m a mushroom lover too. i loved to put all sort of mushrooms together &amp; cooked with chicken broth. yummy!!

Gosh Pildough,
Hang tough. Glad to read that Abby is alright now. She's eating... so shd be good.

Now... time to start washing all her toys!

pil,
glad that abby is better now.

eelyn,
think u better dun order the snacks and log cake liao since now there r lesser pple.. if not later cant finish again.

pil, mint,
glad to hear ur bubs are feeling better.

cheerbear,
tink wont get snacks la.. but hope to get log cake or christmas cookies leh.. if not so "un-christmasy"..

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">X'mas Lunch Gathering
Venue : Jill's Condo Parc Emily, near Little India MRT station</font></font>
<font size="+2"><font color="119911">Proposed time : 11am, gift exchange at 1pm</font></font>

Interested:
1. Karen + Jowenda
2. Mint + Regina
3. XY + Marcus
4. Jillian + Zoe
5. Everafter + Bryan
6. Joanne + Rianne
7. Eelyn + Kaitlyn
9. JJmom + Nat (11am)
10. Cheerbear + Shawn
14. jellypurin + Rebby
15. Jolly + Ashton + HB
16. rains + BB Caye
19. Penny + Claudia
20. Forest + Kieran
21. BBgoh + Seline
22. tweety + Varner

Elder kids list:
2. Jill's Max (3 years)

(hubby and elder kids? Anymore to add? )

Food - Budget set at $20
Gift Exchange for Babies

<font size="+2"><font color="119911">Food Menu (IC - Eelyn</font></font>
International &amp; Japanese Menu from http://www.eatzcatering.com/menu-mini.html
Total per pax: $13.40/pax (incl delivery and GST excluding snacks and cake will update on $ per pax again)
pls note this menu has no drinks so i'm asking caterer to provide. they'll revert on how much $ per pax as well.

<font color="ff0000">X'mas Lunch Gathering
Venue : Jill's Condo Parc Emily, near Little India MRT station</font>
<font color="119911">Proposed time : 11am, gift exchange at 1pm</font>

Interested:
1. Karen + Jowenda
2. Mint + Regina
3. XY + Marcus
4. Jillian + Zoe
5. Everafter + Bryan
6. Joanne + Rianne
7. Eelyn + Kaitlyn
9. JJmom + Nat (11am)
10. Cheerbear + Shawn
14. jellypurin + Rebby
15. Jolly + Ashton + HB
16. rains + BB Caye
19. Penny + Claudia
20. Forest + Kieran
21. BBgoh + Seline
22. tweety + Varner

Elder kids list:
2. Jill's Max (3 years)

total attendance: 26

Food - budget set at $20
Gift Exchange for Babies - budget set at $30

<font color="0000ff">Food Menu:
Total per pax: $13.40 (incl delivery and GST excluding cake and drinks will update on $ per pax again)</font>

Lots of babies are sick this 2 weeks! Hope all those who are sick will recover soon and those who are not will stay healthy and free of viruses!

Mum's away on holiday since last Friday so hubby's on leave today being 'Penguin Daddy'. Glad that everything's so far so good! Hubby's 'complaining' that Dylan's following him everywhere he goes via walking though...seems like Dylan's walking everywhere and not crawling the whole of today...haha! Hubby feels stalked!

Evening mummies.

Unwell babies
Oooh so many. So scary. In actual fact, I'm so afraid until I'm very pessimistic. Every night, expecting to touch a hot hot Jo.

X'mas gathering
I'm fine with all arrangements. Sad so many mummies cannot make it. It's Dec tomorrow already!!

EY
Think you missed my post. May I know the brand of toothpaste you're using for both your kids?

icylemon,
Regina had inflammation of the lungs and caused her to have breathing difficulties. She was wheezing away so no choice sent her to hospital. PD decided to admit her for one night cos needed the neubiliser to stabilise her breathing.

pildough,
Don't beat yourself up over it. You didn't expect it to happen. But that being said, I also felt guilty that I didn't take proper care of Regina's cough and caused her to be admitted to hospital.

Hello mummies!!

Not good on my side too!
mint- Same as Regina, Kaelyn has to be on neubiliser oso! Sigh! She got cough with phlegm and yest night she coughed slightly more than usual and I tot she got congested/blocked nose. Hence she din slept well so this morn brought her over to the PD @ TMC and aft examining her, PD said she noticed some wheezing on her and suggested we started her on neubiliser!! Sigh hub and I din tot it was tat bad, tot just cough with phlegm! While at the clinic, the nurse did administered neubiliser on erh and she cried buckets, machaim tearing the whole clinic down!*heartache*

Now I dun kw how she will react when I administer on her later!! Gek sim!! ;(

bibinogs,
so is it just us? there arent 5 of us hor?
1. bigflamingo
2. bbgoh
3. eelyn
4. wanchuen (u sign up le mah?)

nicky,
poor kaelyn
hope she gets well soon..

eelyn- Thxs dear

mint- How did Regina adapts to the neubiliser? did she cry or resist? We had a hard time just now at the clinic, Kaelyn just refused and put up a tough fight wit us. Btw other than the neubiliser, did ur Pd still gave u other medicines or antibiotics?

hiya .. dropping out from party leow. HB said his company has a family function for staff &amp; fam and he wanna bring Vic. So can't join now.

pildough
hope abby gets well son

karen
yes, i must hv missed you rpost. im using jason organic for aless. ey is using orajel toothpaste.

ShooShoo
1. Elchwong 1 pair
2. Lyndis 1 pair
3. Vanilla_pod (yes, you can still order)

Soft sole can wear till 18 wears..when the bb is able to walk steadily. aless still wearing soft sole.

EY,
still hve me...

ShooShoo
1. Elchwong 1 pair
2. Lyndis 1 pair
3. Vanilla_pod (yes, you can still order)
4. purple

hope all the bubs are getting better...

EY
Thanks! Jo prefers brushing teeth when there's 'flavour'. What about Pediped? Are you going to spree that too?

Tribulations of a Full Time Mother
I think beside EY, I'm one of the few full time mothers. I know there are several SAHMs here, but you have quite a lot of help from spouses/mothers/MILs. That means, there's no place I have gone without Jo.

And because of that, I've realised that I've lost quite a few friends. Sad but true. Not only friends. Even the very understanding friends will skip my name for some socialising events like pubbing. How to bring Jo? And of course, I can understand there are times when they just want to hang out with adults.

nickypower,
The first time Regina used the neubiliser, she also wailed and kicked and screamed. Sigh! But she has gotten used to it liao after so many times in the hospital. So now when I administer it at home, she just sit quietly and flip through her book or play with her toy. So after each session, I praise her for being so well behaved.

Doc prescribed antibiotics and steroids. Paracetemol also in case of fever.

Karen,
Feel the exact same way. No more night life and not even to pop out for supper. I have been turned away at some restaurants because they want to keep their ambience so no kids under 5 years old. Sigh!

Karen
the jason organic is strawverry flavor..whereas the orajel is frutty flavor. i tasted both, but they taste almost the same.

karen
i feel the same. :) some of my friends who dun hv kids have stopped contacting or asking me out. I can understand them though. And I tried to avoid restaurants sometimes cuz with 2 in the restaurant, it can be very pressuring.
I do not hv any help from anyoneand my hub is always away.
sigh. tough tough to do everything by yourself.

Karen/ pediped
no spree. the response is very bad. only you so far. lol

vanilla_pod
my hub's uncle not going to get out of the hospital. we are practically on standby like army.

mint- Ic Regina is a good girl...My Kaelyn is really a lil terror! Just now when we administered on her, the moment she saw the mask and machine's operating sound, she starts to fuss and wanna cry!! Sigh!! *headache*
Later still ve to wake her up from her dreamland and administer it... Haiz!
The PD oso gave Kae's anitbiotics and some other syrups.
Hope our bubs get well soon, dun need the use of neubiliser liao!!
Btw when u be closing the spree for absolute soft soled shoes?

EY- Me too, wanna get a pair!! ;p

EY, mint, Karen,

Actually I dun blame my friend for "deleting" my name n never ask me out. Cause I find myself cant stop talking about my darling Kai Tong. She is a child-hater so of course it bored her to the rim. Haha...

nickypower,

Hope Kaelyn get well soon. I saw kids at my PD clinic been administered neubiliser, they all screamed n yell till very cham. My heart always skipped when I heard their cries. So can understand ur heartpain. But no choice, for Kaelyn good, mummy must be 狠心.

Really hope all bb who are sick get well soon. Wat happen to those good days when we literally run around the neighbourhood, with no dettol or wipes stand-by and play with the neighbour son who got running nose yet I never get it from him. It make me wonder did our kids get weaker immunity as compared to us? Also, is weather really that bad n it means the earth is sick also. Haizz...

Cheerbear,

Actually, yes. My baby has been eating the same old thing, albeit a bit of plain rice and bread here and there, since day one. Basically, most of the time, my husband is the main caregiver when she's with us, and you know how men are like. I'm more in charge of my elder kid. I always feel so guilty when I see how adventurous you mummies are on the diet of your babies, but it largely remains as that - guilt. I thought as long as she doesn't mind the same old diet, let her be until she's older.

On friends:
Basically, I have my first kid quite young, comparatively to my friends and colleagues. And the mothers at those music schools were older than me. So I'm pretty much without friends for as long as my first kid was born. It's inevitable that friends not married or without kids will eventually move away from you becos of the different social activities.

When my elder sister and I took my kid to her P1 orientation, the mothers all wanted to talk to my sister becos they thought she was the mother. When my sister referred them to me, since I was the 'legitimate' mother, they didn't have much to say to me. Up till now, when I took my kid to her school's lantern fest celebration, her schoolmate's mother thought I was her aunt.

For working mothers, it's not better. Altho I've colleagues, my job is such that we don't get to have our lunchtime together. Basically, we gulp down our lunch in ten mins and get back to work. And my colleagues who have older kids are usually older and auntier, and my colleagues who are my age either have just babies or don't even have kids. I'm like a caught-in-between.

morning mommies
am on mc today. dunno what i ate. tummy is v sensitive...feel like puking too...

pil
hugs to u... i really think that as parents, we made so much sacrifices to them... and that is for life... but it's all worth it... meanwhile, dun think so much, abby is all well and that is the most impt...

re: xmas gathering
looking forward and sad to know so many mommies cant join... but those who cant come do enjoy yous xmas celebration!

hi Ey - it must be tough on the family when one member is in hospital for critical illness..u take care.

re friends - i guess u lose some, u win some.. after having my boy, i made a few frens (those with babies)...

morning mummies.. today is 1 dec liao.. in another 30 days we will be welcoming 2010.. time really passssssssss soooooo fast.

jelly,
could it be ur MS?

rain,
since ur bub dont mind the same food everyday i think is ok but is always no harm to let them try new food since they r already 1yo.. jus my 2cents worth of thot

ypg,
i totally agree with u that our kids immune systems r really not as gd as during our time.. in fact, it seems to hv been deteriorate by generation.. compare our parents time to our kids time.. they used to run ard bare footed and eat things that drop on the floor and r still ok.. now sighzz.. sometime i jus feel r we over protected to our darlings??

bb using nebuliser - they r always scare for the first few time they use but after that is ok liao.. shawn also cry buckets during the first few times. think they r scare of the sound and the mist produce.

morn mummies!

am back at work aft a long long weekend

tods that r unwell, hope everyone will get well soon! mummies do take care too yah!!

Morning ladies! A great sunny day to go out! Hope can bring my gal go out for a swim.

rains,

10 mins lunch? In my school, we Chinese teachers had the same time table so we will join each other for lunch, though not long, but can still enjoy chit-chatting. They are much older teachers with grown up kids. Younger teachers usually dun have kids. Just like ur case but I still enjoy conversation with them. We usually talk about our "kids" aka students. Haha...

Dun have to feel guilty towards ur kid, if ur kid grow healthy and happily eating all her food, it is fine. But it is not good to eat carrots all days, too much of something (forgot wat is it). But since now is school holidays, u might wish to try new recipe for her. It's fun! Hehe...

Jellypurin,

MS start to hit u? See doc liao? Rest well!

pildough

aiyoh.... poor you... poor abby...

nickypower

kaelyn also ah...poor dear. hugs. it's natural for them to cry... still so young... at my PD's, i see older children also cry and cry when they have to use it.

mums life

well it doesn't get better. there are concerts, theatre plays, KARAOKE (gosh i miss karaoke) etc that i used to enjoy but no longer. even if can get babysitter, have to rush back asap or leave early. cannot enjoy at all. i haven't been karaoke since late pregnancy and all my karaoke kakis know i cannot make it at night anyway so stopped asking liao.

can only hang in there and hope it'll get better when they GROW UP and we can get a semblance of our life back, albeit a bit late when we are already lao kok kok. guess that's why u have aunties at dragonfly trying to recapture what they missed. haha.

<font color="0000ff">Hello All,

EY,

Sorry to hear about your hb's uncle, it must be a tough time now for everyone in the family, take care!

Tots who are sick, hope you all get well soon, shoo shoo all the virus/bacteria ways!!

Dimple,

U like KTV?? Me too, maybe nxt time we shd hv a Mummies KTV gathering, hope we dun end up singing "twinkle twinkle little stars" lolx ;p~

My co's D&amp;D is tis Fri and I'm taking part in the talentime contest wahhahahaha ;p~ *crazy me*

Talking about losing friends...

Hmm... i lose some too. Else is they have to accomodate and we all go for tea at baby friendly places. So far personal fav is hyatt tea lounge. Love love love the scones and sofa!

Dimple,
I went KTV with Marcus in tow. I personally dun sing much. But my sis and bestie loves KTV. Marcus enjoyed watching the aunties singing. Haha... He loves watching MTV and Ba wan da ge xing, wo yao chang xia qu. Keke...

Now we finally know why our parents have no friends. Haha...