(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="119911">Buffy,

what happen to Cate? Diaper rash? When Nat had that, I let her wear those training pants &amp; off diapers for the whole day.

Daisy recommend the purple colour packaging Desitin diaper rash cream. I din have it then so i juz use the normal blue colour packaging 1 &amp; Nat got better by end of the day

<font color="0077aa">eelyn: thanks! will leave it in your good hands then.

regarding circular walkers: i do not use them and refused to let my parents use them for Cate though my nephews and niece use them. The main reason is 2 fold. 1 is because it does not allow them to see how they coordinate their movements ('cos the tray covers the vision) but more importantly, it is because I personally know of many accidents taking place because the kids bang their walkers on some stuff and they trip. Esp for those with helpers at home looking after their bubs? It makes their job easier by putting the babies in the walkers and sometimes, they'd be a bit careless and not watch over them as carefully. Thats my 2 cents lah. :p</font>

<font color="0077aa">JJMom: I did try. Desitin and the works. But it has been a week and I dunno why it is just not getting better. And I am just afraid that it could be yeast infection lor. I think I need to change her diapers in the middle of the night too because by the morning, her diaper is seriously heavy and really soaked.

Tried Mamy Poko for 2 nights and night 1 was OK where it was not totally soiled. Last night, it was. Hmmmm...</font>

buffy,
ur really very "on".. i guess i dont have high expectations and im very bochap.. so im glad with kaitlyn's progress.. haha!
she can say a few words, but can't stand nor walk without support.. n does throw a fit everytime she doesnt get her way.. so i guess if she did know signing i would save myself quite a bit of headache..

tweety,
that's true also.. didnt think abt the weight.. maybe go buy one pair and try la..

little joke,
kaitlyn doesnt enjoy walking at all when we try to support her.. or using her walker.. she likes to walk when we let her sweep the floor.. so she holds on to the broom with one hand.. and i'll move the broom and support her other arm and move around the house.. she'll smile to herself like she knows she's doing something funny cos we're all cheering.

buffy,
i love using the burt bees diaper cream.. its thick and applies easily.. so far we've been lucky with diaper rash.. nothing that doesnt go away by the end of the day.. have u tried?

re diapers..
i got lost about the diapers.. so is huggies cheapest from the BP? or tampines aunty..
kaitlyn using mamy poko at night and its been good so far.. actually she used to wear petpet and it lasts all the way too.. but im trying to make her sleep more comfy n i heard mamy poko is good. she wears petpet in the day can last ard 5 yrs. overnight wears are ard 12 hrs.
wats the diff btw huggies dry, huggies pullups and huggies drycomfort? in terms of price and how many wettings it can take?

<font color="0077aa">Eelyn: thanks for the recommendation. Cate previously has not have any experience with diaper rash before so it is something new to me. Hence, I really dunno what the issue is except possibly diapers needed to be changed more frequently which I have instructed my helper liao.

Sianz leh, thinking whether to bring to PD or GP since it is an external thing... PD ex lor especially when I still need to bring her in again for Pneumococcal end of this month. Sigh...

I also dun have high expectations. Actually I let Cate take the lead. We sorta sit and play learn together every evening and if there are some days where she does not want to do it, I just let it go since she is all but 1! So, I will just follow her cue as to what books she wants, what she wants to play and what she wants to do...</font>

<font color="119911">buffy,
gosh...a week of mild diaper rash or quite is it quite bad? think mayb u shd bring Cate to PD to have a look, mayb it's infection like what u said.

btw if it's really infection, can leave it untreated for so long meh?</font>

<font color="0077aa">JJMom: I dunno leh... Thats why I am bringing her to see the doc. Because the rash was like the stock market, it was red for 2 days and after I applied some other cream, it got better. Then suddenly last night it came back again. Hence I am thinking of having it checked out. Infection wise, the closest I can think of is Yeast Infection and if there is no inflammation, etc., I think it is quite OK. That's why I used the other diaper rash cream with Zinc Oxide because thats what is supposed to help lor... Sianz</font>

Purple, forgot to thank u for posting abt the Gain IQ promo. I need to chiong down to NTUC to get a few cans.

Eelyn, so good kaitlyn wants to help out with chores! Lucky u.

Buffy, i can't agree more. I feel signing helps me to understand miki's needs better. like if she is hungry and wants milk or wants more. My friend who is a speech therapist mentioned that it is not conclusive that signing hinders speech.

<font color="119911">eelyn,
wah...your petpet can last <font color="ff0000">5 yrs</font>! So power! so Kaitlyn has not change her day diaper ever huh?...wahahaha</font>

Hello everyone!
Buffy, I highly recommend Weleda nappy cream. It's organic too. You can order it online from New Zealand. Brands like Desitin and even one or two other organic brands don't really work for him.

BTW, I wanted to ask how long you signed up with Bibinogs for. How long is a term?

jjmom,
*peng*.. was that wat i typed?! cant believe so blurr.. i meant 5 hrs.. haha! if really 5 yrs i save alot of money le. :p

buffy
I dun use desitin as it contains paraben.
I use burt bee diaper cream once in a while.
I can suggest a thorough wash of bb vagina and anus after each diaper change esp poo with mild soap. Air dry a few while. Apply a bit of non talc powder to absorb the dampness. It works for ey and aless. You can let them wear cloth diaper. It helps save money in long run and it works better for rashes too.

Yeast infection does not trigger fever. :) urinary tract infection.l, yes.

<font color="119911">eelyn,
previously i also use petpet for day &amp; huggies dry comfort for nite. But think petpet getting more ex so might as well use huggies for day too. Plus i find petpet a little thick.

huggies dry comfort can last overnite like mama poko
&amp; get from tampine aunty if the location is conv for u

buffy,
oh ya.. EY is right.. sometimes when the rash is bad we even let kaitlyn go commando.. and just try to bring her to the bathrm more often and encourage her to pee then.. so far so good..

<font color="0077aa">bbogh: JJMom v bad right? so naughty!!! disturbed our poor eelyn like that. hahahahahahahahahaa... funny lah!

big flamingo: ok ok, i am writing down all your suggestions and i seriously will be trying them out. If you are ordering anytime soon, can let me know?

Bibnogs: so far, I have only signed up for 1 term and we are still finishing it.
She missed a class on the day we had the playdays trial BTW so I still have one class to make up for.

1 term is for 10 weeks. The term fees for weekend is $426 + GST. The trial fee would be deducted from the term fee as it will be treated as a regular class if you decide to sign up. And I think if there are 5 mummies who sign up, Desiree is offering a further 10% discount off the term fees.

<font color="0077aa">EY mum: so when u use the cloth diapers, do we need to have any underliners? Otherwise, when they pee, will leak and stain the shorts right? Pai sei if I am asking a silly question.

Re yoghurt: cate hates to eat them. However, she loves playing with them! LOL... And yes, am using mild soap with water to wash her liao and letting her run commando for like 15 mins, air dry it before putting on diapers again...

What you think? Should I bring her to see the doc at all?</font>

bbgoh
i think what u need to try out is if seline is allergic to fresh milk or cream. if she is, u might not be able to make cream soups. but i have tried a recipe before.

ie. mushroom soup
button mushroom - cook in stock and blend
cream - add into blended mushroom mix
salt &amp; pepper - to taste

<font color="119911">eelyn, buffy, bbgoh,
kekeke...juz kidding ard nia lah
ok, i will b gd (for now)</font>

<font color="0077aa">busybee: yah, i have a friend who is a child psychologist and he also said that it is not conclusive. in fact, I actually know of a PD who said that signing bubs seem to have better vocab based on what she sees and observes...

anyway, i am just glad that it works for cate. now, it is this stupid rash stuff. Grrrrrrr</font>

<font color="0077aa">Jelly
icic fresh milk? those HL or meiji one huh? wat cream? sorry i m not familiar to those angmoh foods ingredient </font>

<font color="119911">buffy,
i use those training pants so no need underliners &amp; it's easy to wear like normal pants &amp; it absorbs the urine pretty well

eelyn,
Kaitlyn is a good helper next time.. hee...
Huggies dry comfort is better than huggies dry.. But I have been using huggies dry, so far ok..

JJmom,
u naugthy laughing at Eelyn huh?? lol..

Buffy, eelyn's suggestion of going commando or more frequent diaper changes may be ur best bet. As for diaper creams, i feel very personal, what may work for one child may not work for the other. Anyway, when the rash gets bad we use either Sudocrem or Desitin. But only when red. We use Calendula Cream when the rash is mild. I feel diaper brands may make a diff. Why dun u go to the huggies site to request for samples.

buffy
does her bottom smell? Any discharge? Any pain when passing urine? Any high fever? Ammonium smell in her poo?

I never bring em to pd for diaper rash b4.
if u are worried, can bring

Cloth diaper
Use a 2 way liner to catch the poo. I use annaku.
U need at least 6 to 12 cloth diaper.

WOW Eelyn, looks fun. Is the home made paint easily washable. Would like to try it too. I have home made play dough recipe. I feel safer in case the dough ends up in their mouth at least no need to worry about poisoning.

<font color="0077aa">EY Mum: bottom does not smell leh. The fever came last week and went off as quickly. 'Cos GP is covered under my company so I thought to bring her to the GP first lor since this seems like an external thing. And that GP is an acquaintence so hmmm... still pondering</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">busybee,

Can share you homemade playdough receipe?

My boy kept asking me to buy playdough after his visit to my cousin hse.</font></font>

busybee,
yah thats wat i thought.. so i got this "recipe" online. safe if she decides to eat it.. which she did, again n again.. but i worry about her consuming colouring.. so i tried to prevent it as much as i could.
erm.. the "paint" washes off easily but stains clothes and limbs.. the romper she's wearing is her "art romper".. forever stained.. haha! the colouring stained her legs and hands.. yesterday was the first time we tried this.. after a few gentle washes and baths, the colours faded. wonder if there's organic food colouring..hmm.. will look ard..

just come back from lunch n so many post...

shoes:
there was once i bring elanor to library, there was this lady saw my ger wearing shoes walking around, she actually suggest me that i should let my ger barefoot, so she walk better. hmmmm...
I don really recommand buying shoes bigger, cos they tend to trip n fell, that waht happen to my ger, i bought a pair, it seem ok, although it a bit bigger, but when she wear n walk, she tend to trip by her own shoes.

jjmom,
to be frank, i dont remember alot cos i was sent out (by myself la) a couple of times.. cos kaitlyn was quite disruptive.. what i recall:
-the babies who were there earlier started by playing balls..
-then there was meet and greet by song..
-there were also exercises (for mummy and baby)
-bubble play..

guess one of the key lessons was to let baby listen.. kaitlyn did not learn that lesson

Eelyn, i think there is organic food colouring. Read abt it before but not sure available in spore or not. Maybe can check supernature, they're sooo big, they have everything. Hmm actually the crayola ones tho washable also stains if u dun wipe off fast esp if its a light colour piece of clothing. Miki stained 1 set of her clothes during art time at JG. So I kept those aside as her messy days clothes. JG class schedule indicates if it would be a messy day, so I would dress her accordingly

busy bee,

no prob... xiao yi si... happen to be early and reading the papers... so... tot share w all of u... so most of the mummies are buying Gain IQ for their toddlers ar...

Jasmine,
Mamil Gold... those from m'sia, wordings are all in Malay... happen to see it when i was checking out the FMs in the medical hall...

jelly/jjmom - Yeah Vicky cruises and crawls everywhere too! Pant pant. She has also started on stairs. Faint.

eelyn - WOW That is very daring of you! I haven’t tried this messiness yet – yikes. I scared. Ahhaha. Think I will start with her Crayola Tadoodles first. Heee.

Ok now for my small announcement – Mommies, I just came back from my OSCARS and my #2 (yes I am pregnant) is healthy and good and vvvvvv low DS risk (1:889). I’ve not mentioned to anyone here till today (I am officially into 2nd trimester today), for fear of any complications and given my very complicated past pregnancies. This baby is totally unplanned as I was still bf Vicky. Please continue to pray for me and my baby #2 for a non-eventful pregnancy and delivery.

CONGRATS Ruffles!!!
wow.. alot of OCt mummies pregnant lor... good news... take care ya.. we cna understand, first 3 mths don tell anyone..