(2008/10) Oct 2008

vanilla/busy bee/jjmom/elch/mousebb - thanks. I feel a bit more consoled though I find I wasted $ on the silly playskool walker. She doesnt even bother with the 'toys' on the walker.. I can understand. So boring! Hah.

My mom & HB are getting impatient and kept asking me to get the walker for her. Sigh.

busybee-I mildy suggested the squeaky shoes to HB and he looked at me as if I was mad. He said so cheena and irritating.

ruffles
ur family wants vicky to walk? actually the crawling skill is impt

ruffles,

dun stress over the walking part lar. let vicky develop on her own pace

walker- arielle enjoys walking with it..haha..

busybee,

where to get those shoes? i am keen!! haha

hi ruffles - no worries..my son has been cruising for the longest time.. i also give up and let him do at his pace (unsupported) walk. i think is becos he is a scaredy cat -- he needs to hold on something...haha

Buffy, I asked Eelyn if i still enjoy the discount if i go for the trial FOLLOWING weekend (not this coming weekend) at serene ctr insteaD? coz i think my tiles are ready and we are moving back this weekend so its quite rush. she say she checking for me. so pls dun make appt for me this sat...but for next sat can?

Shortgrain rice - sorry who was it who asked me about the short grain rice? mine is australian calrose rice....sorry i forgot to reply.

Tracee and Jellypurin,

Thanks! I emailed Adelena yesterday and she called me a few mins later to tell me that I could collect it liao.

Ruffles,
Babies love squeaky shoes! I remember my first kid wearing them and she's more motivated to walk than ever. We all thought she looked so cute in them. Strangers too!

<font color="0077aa">Ruffles

my FIL also very gan cheong. just cant wait my girl to walk &amp; call him.
altot i m also hope she can walk &amp; call me soon but i noe when she is ready then she ll do it. all along her development is slow than others

Jelly
orchard's x'mas lights ON alrdy ? i also thking of bring my girl go &amp; see. she always point the lights &amp; get excited when i brought her to AMKHub </font>

<font color="0077aa">squeaky shoes
i find it noisy haha but if its really can motivate them to walk then i dun mind to try but i just dun like it loh :p

<font color="119911">ruffle,
jelly is right, crawling skill is actually vy impt &amp; gd for our bbs to master it coz it's actually not easy to coordinate all fours &amp; the actions stimulate their brain too

i also have my doubts on walker although many says there is no harm but tat's juz me

mayb when your hubby c tat Vic enjoys walking in the squeaky shoes &amp; find it fun &amp; cute, he won't find it irritating anymore

Jellypurin, oh dear. Hope Rebby is better now. We just switch Miki's car seat to front facing cos she no longer has room for her legs! But I think now is safe to switch over for Rebby already? Could it be she suffers from motion sickness. I do and if I am sitting in a rear facing seat on the bus I sure to feel ill after.

Ruffles, I know its cheena and irritating, we swore we would never be one of those parents to let our kid wear such shoes, but that is the sacrifice we make cos a) her face lights up everytime her shoes squeek and b) if it helps with her walking I am fine. I only let her put them on at home anyway. Like a daily 10min morning exercise. Besides way cheaper than a circular walker which could be a safety hazard and later white elephant.

Trace, we got ours from Bubblegummers at Bata. But I think Kiddy Palace has them too.

Vanilla, like ur son, Miki is a scaredy cat. She has been cruising for close to 4 months now!! I am anxious for her to walk soon. But also cannot imagine chasing after her!! Hahaha

diaper from tampines auntie - if we conso and buy will the price be cheaper?

busy bee - tried liao.. does not work.. he will shut his mouth super tight.

trace,
i saw it at bugis BHG.. wanna to buy but end up din coz i need shawn's feet for measurement.. dun wish to get anything too big or small.

playskool walker - same.. shawn only likes to play the toys.. sighzz

jelly,
hope rebby is ok liao.. shawn also merlion alot recently and i guess is bcoz he is sick..
anyway thanks for informing that xmas lights on liao.. going to bring him down one of the wkends

Ruffles,
Crawling/cruising and not using a circular walker actually let our toddlers learn how to break a fall better...at least that's what I think...

hi busybee..haha...! this morning, i put him in his cot, and rolled it back to his room, he actually lie there flat 2 hands holding onto the side railings and give me a very "what are u doing early in the morn" look. haha... what a scaredy meow meow..

<font color="0000ff">Jjmom,

Think someone mentioned that NTUC is having Gain IQ promo at $48.80??

It shd be cheaper than the nearby medical hall which is going at $51 (the other time I think Icylemon mentioned)

If it's so, then it's worth to get from NTUC, the other time giant had promo at $24++ I think then I grab 3 tins...

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">got it. It's Group Buy.

CRAWLING
Ya, it's not easy to coordinate all fours. Need cordination in the brain.

WALKING
I think is not easy too cos need to balance on 2. haha... Like it not easy to cycle on 2. That's my thoughts.
It's ok that ur tods are not walking now. No hurry, let them take their time. Some tods are slower. My friend's boy start to walk on his own at 18 mths.

NOISY SQUEAKY SHOES
My boy Snoopy squeaky shoes, the "thing" that cos the squeaky can be remove. The Snoopy range can be purchase from most HDB shoes shop. I bought the pair for my boy abt 3 yrs back costing less than $15 per pair.</font></font>

busybee
we are going to try and fit her carseat to front facing.. it could be my husband's driving as well, who knows?

re:cruising/crawling
rebby is crusing n crawling well...i cant imaging if she walks cos my mom is huffing and puffing just chasing her! she climbs the stairs daily like her exercise and it is tiring my my mom out!

Daisy, it was me who asked abt the rice. Hahaha, Thanks so much!

BBgoh, all for the sake of our little ones.... Some noise pollution is tolerable.

<font color="119911">squeaky shoes :
my fatherly colleague said can paste a tape to cover the 'thing' partially to reduce the sound. Dunno how true but mayb can try it out

Jelly, wow! Rebby climbs stairs!!

Blur, i think the bubblegummers one can too. Not sure. Is it remove the plug at the heel of the shoe to stop the squeek? We got miki sandals. So I hope to let her wear it out when she can walk (ideally w/o the squeek) or it will be such a waste. Too expensive a pair of bedroom slippers!

mint- oh dear, sorry to hear tat and the mess they created. Sigh. Tats really inefficient and careless of them and tat someone actually claimed the parcel!:S

Trace- Kaelyn oso luv her walker and luv playing hide and seek with us or me chasing her. :p

Squeaky shoes/sandals:
I got a pair too but the size still big for her to wear now, still on the lookout for a nice smaller pair! :p My Sil oso said its good to encourage bub to walk.
Think if my girl is to wear it goes my mum hse, my dog will go haywire and aim at her squeaky shoes! Cos he luv squeaky toys!

busy bee
yes, she climb stairs... before she begun crusing, my dad taught her to climb stairs! it's not good! she can climb up and not down...

<font color="119911">busybee,
yupz, remove the plug.

I removed the plug for some of Nat's rubber duckies &amp; the silly gal try to squeeze it harder &amp; find it strange tat it still din make the loud squeaky sound tat it's suppose to =P</font>

<font color="119911">bluey,

thought R&amp;R said can get the Gain IQ at $47 if we buy more? Or i rem wrongly AGAIN? =P

paging R&amp;R!</font>

<font color="119911">jelly,
can rebby climb down the bed or sofa? If she can, guess will b easy to teach her to climb down the stairs too, think it's safer for her to learn how to climb down herself too

Jelly, wow no wonder ur mum is huffing and puffing chasing after her. My miki is too much of a relak one corner baby leh, she is very happy just hanging out in her playarea. Does not try to venture out...

JJmom, cool. I shall do that then the shoes have longer mileage.

Nickypower, what size is Kaelyn wearing? The bubblegummers one start from size 4. Tho a tad too big, i still let miki wear them, since its sandals I figured should be fine (i hope!!) hahaha.

<font color="119911">busybee,
better stick close to miki when she is wearing the oversize sandals in case she trip (hope not)

jelly,
in tat case, it mayb safer to install a safety gate at the staircase wor

JJmom, Choi!!! hahaha . Actually the sandals, not that oversized lah. Cos her toes are positioned on the markings on insole. So far I just tighten the ankle straps and they are fine. I think bubblegummers cut is smaller, like the disney brand. Cos she wears size 3 for the disney but size 2 for adidas. My gal has small feet. She can still wear her trumpette socks and nb socks!

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
Wenmin can climb up and down the sofa like nobody business and her movement is so fast. Afraid she would fall down one of these days. She can climb stairs too. I dont remember wenxuan can climb stairs at her stage. He took a longer time. She really 不知天高地厚!!!</font>

<font color="0077aa">mummies

anyone noe how to cook creamy soup eg broccoli cheese, pumpkin, mushroom soup ?
i like to add in my gal's meal menu </font>

JJmom:
I'm the one bought Mamil 3 @ $40.00.
Hmmm... Sk/punggol a bit far, petrol go there will be much more expensive. ha ha ha.... cos hb will always lost his way there.
If at AMK, still can consider, cos will passby there when gg hm.

BTW, check with u all.
what u mean by "DUN BUY FROM MALAYSIA"
meaning when we bought the FM< have to check is it MIM or we don buy in from malaysia.
sorry, quite confuse.

JJmom,
Thanks for the info.. wow.. at punggol, it's v far, unless I'm gg bedok to visit hb's grandma..

Jasmine,
Those from malaysia, the ingredient is diff, unless u don mind.. I got neighbour bought from malaysia...

Cheerbear,
I don think got any further discount. My neihbour and me always buy together, no discount wor..

climbing up &amp; down:
My MIL told me don teach my ger how to climb up the sofa, cos very danger.
I was like 'Huh'... orhh is my ans to her. know what few days later, my ger show me she can climb the sofa by herself. So i teach her the correct way coming down from the sofa.
So now she very clever now, climb up n down any time she like, when there is ppl beside her, she will hold onto the person n silde down, if not she will do the way i teach her. same goes to my bed. Eveytime she do the stunt, my mother will all stand by herself in case she fell, but evil mummy is waiting for her to fell... so i can tell her, who ask u climb up n down.... ha ha ha...

<font color="aa00aa">Jasmine
I din teach my gal. I guess she observe how her korkor do it and she follow!</font>

updates on bibinogs trial

<font color="0000ff">UE Square, 14 Nov, 3.30pm
1. Eelyn Hoe, Baby Kaitlyn
2. Elaine Leow, Baby Dylan
3. Yeow Puay Geok, Baby KaiTong
4. Linda Loke, Baby Shawn
5. Cherlyn Tan, Baby Kaelyn
<font color="ff6000">we have 3 more slots avail if anyone is keen. $48.80 per trial after 5% discount.</font>

UE Square, 21 Nov 1.15pm
# Lennie Hong, Baby Rebekah
# Mona Alimutamo, Baby Jonathan

Serene Ctr, 21 Nov, 3.30pm
# Koh Wee Ping, Baby Jazreel</font>

<font color="119911">Jasmine,
where did u buy the $40 Mamil gold 3? Is it MIM?
I think they mean don't buy those MIM &amp; of course don't buy from M too bah.

Hmm...tat reminds me to check those from Punggol AMK mart too.</font>

Tweety:
paiseh... so u mean we have to check whether the FM come from where.
Normally I don check one.... eerrr....

Just bought Blindly... ha ha ha.. so far so gd....

positive babies class,
mummies who went, what did you think of it?? wonder if i keep going i'll be able to have more control of kaitlyn and she will learn to be more relax/calm. seems that the facilitator was trying to convince me i need the class cos kaitlyn is so fidgety.

JJmom:
i bought it TPY. my mum lived there. hmmm... later go home n check. maybe will drop by NTUC to check also, so can compare... ha ha ha ...

<font color="0077aa">hello all.
Just got back from my conference and desperately trying to reply to all my work emails and then catch up on the posts here before I head off and bring Cate to the PD to suss out the rash situation.

EY: nope, have not. Am thinking of trying. Do you ladies line it with anything? Sorry for the silly question but I have never used one before so do not know the standard operating procedure. The rash did not get better despite me using an organic diaper rash cream which has Zinc Oxide. Hence, I am worried that it can be yeast infection 'cos she has fever mid last week? So I dunno if one is related to the other...

Daisy: u should be entitled to the discount because Jelly + 3 other mummies are heading to UE next Sat as well. Can you PM me yours and your bub's full details and I pass it to the teachers when I get there on Sat.?</font>

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Sorry, in case I missed out anything in the posts above: are there any other mummies who asked me to help u girls book for coming sat, 14 Nov 330pm at Serene Centre? If so, PM please so that I dun forget or miss out completely?</font></font>

busybee,
kaitlyn also has a pair of bubblegummers.. but she's wearing size 5.5! my gal got huge feet.. they are just a tad big.. but cos they're sandals i think its ok too..

kaitlyn is not walking but i stopped letting her wear soft sole shoes cos i find the harder soles let her feet sit better when she tries to stand.. (hmm does that make any sense?) i buy sizes slightly larger too.. so can last longer :p

<font color="119911">Jasmine,
I also disagree with your MIL's thinking. I think it better to teach our bbs how to overcome the dangerous situations rather than not doing the whole act. But of course, we as parents/care takers have to standby in case while trying, they fall

My inlaws also always tell me to stop Nat from doing this &amp; that, say it's dangerous. I always tell them i m beside her to guard her, even if she really hurt herself a little, it's a learning exp =P</font>

Jasmine,
I think if from Malaysia will have Malay's wording instead of English. I saw from Indonesia too..

Eelyn,
Hard soles shoes is heavier, I find it harder to walk for my boy. he walks better with soft soles now.

<font color="0077aa">YPG: ai yoh, no need to be envious 'cos yes, every kid is different. For me, I started signing to Cate because she is v demanding since young, it is almost like she has so many things she wants to say but cant and she throws a hissy fit? So, the signing was a good way for us to be able to communicate with her whilst she gets ready to talk.

It seems to work for us and it has not replaced "talking/speaking" as a main communication style. Like you, I also believe in talking to her like any other person and we do not baby talk her. Trips to supermarkets would be spent naming the fruits, colours, vegs whilst car rides would be pointing out to her the other vehicles on the road, red lights, trees, etc.
Hence, maybe thats why she started talking earlier since I think signing mummies (and maybe it is just me) talk to their bubs more 'cos we conscientiously keep having to repeat the word / sign over and over again in one day. Kekekekekekeke...

Tell u something funny. Cate and I were having dinner with my ILs and she started signing glasses (she cant say any 2 syllable word yet except for Baby, Purple and Nana for banana). After signing, she started giggling by herself in her high chair. And she repeated it a few times. Then I looked to the door (she was seated facing the door) and realised that she was trying to tell me that there is this guy walking in and he is wearing glasses and for some strange reason, she has always found the glasses funny. And she kept laughing. So, it was a great private moment for me to be able to understand what she was saying and having a laugh together, mother and child.