(2008/10) Oct 2008

ypg,
wow u sure tong tong can lift up 1.5kg milk powder tin? when the tin is full or empty? :p
think i must train shawn to lift the 900g one too coz PD say his legs is strong but not the hands and i keep thinking how to train him.

joanne,
how u make sweet potato, brocolli, fish and tofu into sauce? add water?

CheerBear,
Regine likes to do dangerous stunt at home. Climbing up to the coffee table at home & walk ard machiam like cat walk.

When I cane her, she will even lift up her palm & let me cane w/o crying.

And I will always tell friends. "My Regine has thorns on her butt. She won't sit still."

<font color="0077aa">karen: penny told me it was from training. initially she was also wailing and screaming like cate. 'cos on one night, penny swung by to my place to pick up something and i saw that claudia was in the carseat happily sleeping! i was thinking of training Cate 'cos i could not last more than a min previously.

the moment we put her in and before we can even strap her down, she'd cry and struggle and SCREEEEAMMM!!!

then Penny told me to start off slow and short trips and gradually increased it. said that claudia was the same as well - cried and resisted but after a few trips, she learnt.
I perserved and it took me only 4 trips before Cate realises that screaming will not get her anywhere and since then, she'd occupy her time by looking around.

ypg: ok, i will cancel your name out? i think w/o yr name, there should still be 5 bubs which is ok because they need a min of 4.</font>

Joanne &amp; Vanilla,
You mummies are super! Great mummies! Putting in great effort to cook for your kiddos. I m too lazy to cook all these for R&amp;R.

buffy
yup, i believe in slowly training them. rebekah sun sit well in a pram but now she is learning to and screams less when she's in there... now my hubby and i are so much more confident bringing her out on our own w/o my mom whom she clings on like super glue.

vanilla and joanne,
let me try both of ur ways and see shawn like mah.

r&amp;r mum,
so far shawn hv not done any dangerous stunt but my mum always tell me "ur son got thorns on the butt and dun wan to sit"

my fren told me it is near carrefour i think...i check w her and PM u?

R&amp;R mum - haha i not great lah -- that is why i choose bottled pasta sauce -- haha
initially i was v hesitant to give him pasta cos i worry i need to make from scratch the tomato based sauce... luckily my hb spotted the bottled one! it is really quick - much faster than making porridge.

Cheerbear,
Recently Regine like to do "rock climbing". I m her Rock. She will climb up all the way to my shoulder and sit on it.

Tell your mum, Shawn got buddy le.

<font color="0077aa">Karen, hahahahahahha... ya, can try. Initially I also felt the heartache whenever Cate cried and screamed. She can go on and on until she sorta "loses" her voice? It was quite traumatic. But I really have no choice u see 'cos my HB's only off day is on Sun and even then, sometimes he has to head back to the hotel to oversee some catering / events. Hence I really needed for both of us to learn so that I can drive and she settles down on her own. Now, am flying solo which really is v convenient for me. My helper has also benefitted from this because she can now stay on at home to bathe the dogs and clean the house instead of wasting time by tagging along with me.

Jelly: ya, have to slowly train... they will get it. it is a matter of who is more stubborn! hahahahahahahahahahaha... *evil mummy*</font>

vanilla,
thanks for checking and once u know pm me k.. thanks

mummies jus wondering do ur think is ok to use the pasta sauce we adults eat since they are already 1yo.

hi R&amp;R mum - same...E also does that - and only to me...his other rock climbing object is my mum's sofa..he will climb to the cabinet, give a victory scream...think he climb mt everest like that!

R&amp;R mum and vanilla,
Same same, Isaac also does that! He also loves to climb my sofa and bed's headboard, sigh...our bubs simply too active!

Buffy,

Is it ok for me to submit name but if really Tong Tong still not "well" enough in my mum eyes, I dun go? Will it create problem for the rest? Actually in my standard, my gal already recovering n no more running nose, but hor, u know... my house 老佛爷 Haha...

Cheerbear,

She always like to go to the kitchen n play with the milk powder. She lift up the milk powder herself while seated. It is a new tin. But of course, she put it down shortly. She also will lift up the edge of the playmat n start pulling it. She siao siao one.

Joanne,

I dun think SAHM mean u got to put in more effort. It is already a blessing for Rianne tat u r able to stay home to look after her. Who else love her more than u. Ur hubby also should count his lucky stars tat u willing to sacrifice ur career for Rianne ok. Besides if play FB make u happy, then a happy mum will make a happy baby, why not? Haha...

hi cheerbear - i wont pm u -- let u know here -- it is a section inside carrefour...if u want i can help u buy as i pop to GWC almost every Sat...u work in Raf Plc? I can pass to u

I refrain from adult type of sauce cos of the salt content...

ypg,
haha.. hubby ok with me playing. he already knows he cannot take it out of my system. but will sometimes comment that i waste too much time playing when i can do other stuffs.

<font color="0077aa">mummies, am heading off 'cos event is tomorrow morning and I need to get there by 745. so will only log on in the PM; think I will have loads to catch up on by then.

YPG: sure, will keep your name first and u let me know. No worries about removing e.g. on Fri 'cos we still have 5 w/o tong tong so it should be fine.

I added u in FB liao, u managed to see the other pics? Not a lot lah, from Playdays 'cos Cate was walking and running about so it was hard to jagar and then take, hence shots were LOUSY! LOL...

I think for those of you who are in my FB, I should have granted access liao. Should I be sotong and overlook it (which is high possible), please let me know hor.</font>

Today, my boy vomited his lunch again. He drinks less than 100ml of milk so cant be too full leh. Lunch was tofu and squash. Now I get so worried everytime he looks like he gona vomit. But other than that, he is perfectly fine.

Mummies, I have a dumb question. How to make formula milk huh? Proportion of hot/cool water? Then after you add the powder just swirl abit or? Swirl too hard and there will be bubbles right. But don't swirl then sometimes the powder not dissolved. How huh?

Finally me-time since the boy is sleeping... phew...

pinkimum,
for me, i mix 5oz room temp water and fill to 7oz hot water. after i put the FM i just shake.. i know ppl say it'll cause colic etc.. but others have told me after 6 mths babies dont get colic.. kaitlyn is totally fine.. so im going with the 2nd theory

Hi mommies!

Re: car seat
I'm also using a Britax one. I usually bribe Regina with puffs so as to get her seated and to buckle her up. If hubby is driving then it's easier cos I'm at the back with her to keep her entertained. But if I'm driving, then I'll just bribe her with some puffs till she's buckled up and then no more till we reach our destination. She'll wail sometimes but she'll just stop after a while and fall asleep. Haha!

Speaking of puffs, to all the mommies who ordered from me, please hold on for a while more as I'm still waiting for supplier's reply on lowering prices. Will call to 'chase' for an answer tmr morning. So sorry about it. I'm such a green horn at this. Haiz!

bigflamingo,
3 cheers for Julian!

EY, dimpletot,
Don't say that. We're now merely channeling our knowledge and expertise to our kids. It doesn't mean that graduates who stay home are a waste of our talents. If it's any comfort to you, in all my years of teaching, most of the best behaved kids and smarter ones mostly come groomed by SAHMs who are grads.

Carseat:
My girl is another screaming one!!! She will just wail and cry her lungs out and sob uncontrollably until we carry her out of the carseat!! A drama girl in the making! *LOL*

Just the previous day, as hub need to send the car for servicing, so he decided to bring the carseat home and we decided to put her in it for FUN only lah, who knows the moment she's in it, she cried! *Alamak* Can't stand her! ;p
Maybe I shld really start training her liao!

I second mint's words.

Homemakers also need to have decent qualifications to do a good job. I've a homemaker who's gone bonkers. Always complaining non-stop about this and that teacher. Insists teacher to apologise to her child when there was a miscom. Just bcos she's able to speak some broken English, and her kids are in the so-called 'best' classes (when they are just the best of the worst), she got so arrogant and is always threatening to complain the whole school to the ministry.

It's the educated ones who don't give you this kind of stupid trouble.

rains,

Actually for my case, the so-called educated like graduates are usually the one who give me more trouble. Haha...

Those whose parents are not well educated may be mischievous but they are usually the one who return n visit the teachers even after many yrs. I think it is still stereotyping about educated or not so educated.

For me, well behaved parents rear well behaved kids. Seen very clearly in every Meet the Parents day. Haha...

So it is really more important to have a parent who take pain to educate the kids, both academically and morally rather than one tat is forced to stay at home cause she cant find a job outside. Also, parents must be cautious of self action as ur kid really look upon u as a model. They imitate ur action very fast one.

Hope u dun mind me "objecting" u. Hehe...

Please enlighten me on who these are:
Edelynn, Huini and Kristine.

ypg,
I know of teachers who are constantly troubled by graduate parents too, but so far, I find that as long as a supporting rationale is given on why certain things are done, graduates are okay. It's the not-so-educated ones that give me trouble no end. Whatever the teacher says and asks, also must complain, say the teacher not caring. Threaten to take pics of teachers from the opposite block to show the p how they 'conduct themselves in class'. During meet-the-parent session, give teacher a lecture on how to teach, and ask loudly if teachers are lazy, so don't want to give homework.

rains,

Din know u r teacher also. Hehe... Why ur parents so kua zhang? Even threaten to take pixs.

So far, my students' parents are great. They show appreciation for wat I have done for their kids. Co-operate with me to help supervise their kids at home etc etc.

During meet-the-parent session, I am often challenged by graduates parents about how I can help their child in their chinese. I will start explaining to them. Dunno whether they understand or not. Anyway, they dun "buzz" me after tat. Guess they just want assurance that I know wat I am doing. Haha...

I need to trim my gal hairs. My mum quit on the job of cutting her hairs cause my gal keep moving non-stop. Any suggestion? Preferably at Tampines area. Thanks thanks.

Good Morning Mummies....

Rain, YPG...U poor teacher mummies. I hope i dun become a terror parent! hahahahaa

YPG, think most salons like Super Cuts etc, do cut toddler's hair. If not can try the specialty Kiddy Salon. Think there is one within the Toys R Us. Sorry have a chinese grammer question for u. May I ask which is grammatically correct. (in hanyu pinyin) wo yau dang lao shi OR wo yau zuo lao shi? Cos I was looking at some teach chinese to ur child material and came across the 2nd phrase and was thinking shouldn't it be "dang" instead of "zuo". Other then that the materials look great. thanks in advance for helping me verify.

the busy bee,

No lah. I dun find my students' parents are terror. Can understand their anxiety n concern for their kids. I usually just complain, gumble a bit to my hubby n I am fine liao. After having Kai Tong, I feel even more towards the parents. Understand the stress tat the parents faced, they all just want the best for their kids. But too bad in a school environment, ur kid will have to share attention with many other kids. Tat is why I always salute those mum who do home-schooling. It is certainly very tough n tiring but very rewarding.

We usually use dang instead of zuo cause zuo is doing the thing. And u cant do(zuo) a teacher but u can become(dang) a teacher n do the work tat come with it. zuo is like zuo gong ke. Actually most students confuse with the use of 做 n 作, both mean doing.

Is there one inside Tampines Toys R Us? Paiseh, always go there but never pay attention to it. Just focusing on the toys there. Thanks for the info.

morning mummies

today is shawn lunar bday so going to take time off and go home abit early to accompany him.. thot of buying a cake. Wat cake is nice and he can eat? or any cake also can?

rains,
Huini and Kristine both are oct mummies but i am not sure of Edelynn.

ypg,
u can bring tong to any neighbour salon or there are kiddy salon at suntec beside toys r us and hua xia at plaza sing.

busy bee,
agree with u that is shld be 'dang' instead of 'zuo' but again lets wait for ypg (chinese expert) to advice

good morning mummies!!

Vanilla, Phtanus &amp; Cheerbear,
oh no! Our babes are so active! How?? hehehehe....

mona,
yup! voted!!

Cheerbear,

Happy lunar 1st birthday to Shawn! I bought the Prima Deli chocolate cake for Tong Tong. She like it but usually she eat the cream more. Hehe... If Shawn is not allergic to eggs, I think all cake except for blackforest cake should be ok. Think blackforest cake got liquor in it.

I am no Chinese expert la. Remember those who cant do, teach! Haha...

Actually I think the flashcard use 做 cause it is a more commonly used words n children dun have the concept of 当 so early. Also, in teaching ur kids Chinese, u got to understand the difference between words that are used for oral conversation n written work. But it will come later when our kids are able to write lor.

morning mummies

ypg/mint/rain
I actually second ypg. I do not think being a 'reasonable' parent can be judged via education. i would use the word 'refined'. My grandmother never had education, but she was well brought up. She was very refined, proper, reasonable and I had never heard her raise her voice even 1x, unlike us, the grandchildren and she had never given anyone any problem.

Homeschooling
Its HARD HARD AND HARD especially when u got a young mischievous one who wants to be involved.