(2008/10) Oct 2008

Vanilla,
Agree with Phtanus. I regretted to get it from Baby Kingdom. Coz during the Taka Baby Fair, the have Maxi Cosi Priori XP 08 series at $320. I tot by going to their shop maybe will be cheaper. Ended up I got a 07 series at a more ex rate. Din want to waste another trip back to taka to get 08 series. So end up bought the 07 series.

I think the next Take Fair should be in March.

car seat - i got mine free as is a gift when shawn was born but he never like to be in it.. so until now he will sit or sometimes stand (i know is dangerous!!) in the car.

<font color="0077aa">Phantus\Bigflamingo\Wan Chuen: FYI, because the class size is so small - max of 8 and there is almost always soemone attending trials every Sat, I have informed Desiree to reserve 3 slots for you ladies.

re car seat: mine is Maxi Cosi - front facing now 'cos Cate is a year old liao and likes to be propped up and look around.</font>

cheer bear - ya my son sometimes but short distance i ok but i try not to do that cos must train him sit in car seat...now he loves to stand in car seat before i buckle him n give that "i can climb and stand i am so happy' smile...

Buffy,
Have pm u, thanks mommy!

vanilla,
ya, christmas coming, shud have sales at most of the departmental stores, good luck ya!

vanilla
my car seat was a britax boulevard i bought fm mothers at work sale. almost 400 but can do front facing... actually hv 2 cos rebby also legs growing quite long...

rebby is getting better w car seat and it takes a while. she used to hate to be tied up but these days, we will just train her...

btw, safe and sound is good for 1yo...but my opinion is not suitable for infant cos i rented the same one from the car rental at perth as it was compulsory to belt rebby up
icylemon
2nite i chk 8days and i will text u on hello kity exhibition

<font color="0077aa">cheer bear: eh, this one hor, need to be hard leh. my colleague actually told me that he ever witnessed an accident where the kid was standing and jumping in the back of the car when the car jammed brake and the kid literally flew and hit the wind screen.

he did not see the actual flying but heard the slamming of the brakes (he was in the next lane) and when he turned over, he already saw the shattered glass, and blood. And the wife was screaming and screaming and he drove and left the scene as soon as he can.

hence, after listening to the gory story, i trained Cate to sit in the car seat herself. For this, Penny was the one who suggested a technique where we leave them in the seat for a 5 min trip each time and slowly increase the timing.

they will surely cry and scream the first few times but trust me, they will stop after like 5 - 6 trips. upon arrival, we will just hug them and keep praising them like crazy.

Cate is now conditioned to sit in the car seat herself and truly, it makes a world of diff where I can fly solo with her - gg for classes and trials and luncheons w/o any issue. Penny is also enjoying the same convenience with Claudia.</font>

buffy,
do u give cate toys or watever to keep her entertain? i thot of giving food but sure to be messy and i dun wan my hb car to be full of ants.

Kate quite liked her infant car seat cos meant go gai gai!

Now ok with same maxi cosi priori XP 08 model (bought from bb kingdom direct when they had sale). She fusses after a while but nothing some baby puffs can't solve heh.

Well done for cate and Claudia to sit alone! The few times we've done it was when I was driving and wanted hubs to sit beside me. We kept having to throw books and teethers behind to entertain her haha.

car seats...
oh dear, buffy thats a horrible thing to happen. but i have also heard such things before.

suggestions => i try to entertain them in their car seat, using cheap stickers, even scotch tape (babies like sticky stuff), books, pencils, stories, sing songs with actions, botles with caps and whatnots. just distract them when they cry. prepare something that u only play when they in the car seat, so that its a novelty and incentive for them.

or how abt getting some car seat toys, theres lots on the market, some are interactive ones where the baby holds a wheel and controls the animals and sounds on the big pad attached to the front seat, forgot the name. some is kicking toy where baby kicks and recieves response from the toy attached to seat in front.

when the kid is bigger, u can even make a show of asking him to show you how to put on the seat belt coz u forgot how to, and praise him like crazy once he does it. or play game to see who puts on the seatbelt or gets onto the car seat the fastest will win a prize. or nominate her/him to be the one to check if everyone is belted up safely, makes him feel responsible for it. but i think these things when they older and can understand. my son helps us put on his seatbelt. and he reminds me to put on mine when i forgot.

Buffy,
I have problem getting Regine to sit on the car seat. So end up the elder sister is using it. Regines does not like to be belt up. So thru out the journey, I will need to carry her, let her sit on my lap or letting her walking ard the passenger seats area. I know this is very wrong. but i really have no choice. while i m driving or hubby is driving she will scream &amp; scream when she is on the car seat.

dimple,
arent u afraid kate drop the puffs and u cant find it and it leads to ants?

jelly,
seriously i cant rem the brand but i think is babylove coz is mths that i last use since shawn dun like at all in fact i still thinking to sell off leh but dunno whether i shld mah.

<font color="0077aa">Dimpletot: thanks.

Cheer bear: I tie toys to the metal rod where the head rest in front of her seat lies? But even for those, she will only play for a while and that's it.

I will talk to her, sign (there is a CD from the Signing Kit which I play for her and when it is a red light, I will sign to the song and she will laugh), etc. I have friends who put up DVDs though for personal reasons, I do not use this method.

So far, she can travel for 45mins before she complains. But ai yah, 45mins already quite long liao and I know it is unfair for her so I will always try to keep my trips shorter than that.

In the beginning, she'd scream and seriously, when Ms. Prissy is not happy, she'd make sure you know about it. I just din bother and continued driving lor; what can I do right? After a while, she stopped.

One other thing to note is for mummies who intend to train your girls, please ensure that they do not have a hairclip on 'cos Cate pulled it off on some occasions and was chewing on it. I was so afraid she'd choke on some of the emblishments which may come off that I had to pull over at a bus stop.</font>

Daisybuttons,
U really have alot of ideas up. I have tried a few methods. All fail. Max is 5 min before he starts screaming and crying like an abandoned baby.

cheerbear
i let rebby eat alot when in car seat. it's like magic and no, i clean up after she ended a ride in a car so no ants at all...

u shd sell it... market v gd if u dun mind letting the car seat go cheap!

hi mummies! how's everybody? been busy lately trying to finish the digital scrapbook i'm making. now have to pack otherwise hubby will nag at me again. hehe. heard some bad news from my sis though... another super typhoon is headed to phils. and they expect it to arrive either fri or sat. so worried now cause rianne's bday celebration is this sat.

buffy,
i did think b4 to tie toys at the metal rod but how long will it last to entertain him.. hmmm i think maybe 5min and i dunno how to sign.. so thats out.. maybe food is still the best.

jelly,
maybe i shld not let go first and let shawn try with foods in front of him wahahahah but hv to make sure he dun drop if not i will kanna scolding.

XY, hahaha, have to rake up ideas else 2 kids screaming in the car, 1 left 1 right, really no joke leh and not very good for my eardrums!!! so those suggestions dun work for Marcus issit? wah...he a tough fella. tried the stickers or scotch tape ones? eh but that day sit ur car marcus very guai in car seat leh! or maybe time for expensive car seat toys hehehe. but no gurantee they will work. :p but the wheels one may be fun for him coz imitate daddy driving. :p

Jelly, how do you clean up? the carseat will be full of crumbs so u take it out and brush it clean issit? what abt floor mat? hubby and i quite squeamish about ants and cockcroaches in the car.
that time drop one happy bellies puff we deposit the kids back home oredi both came down to car to ransack the backseat to find that single happybellies puff! but can't find...!! then next few weeks saw tiny cockcroach.
Yeeeeewwwwwwww.....

buffy, thanks for the advice on hairclips!

Joanne
hopefully typhoon will be late. Or MIA.

CAR SEAT
oops. Mine is classic case. Friends always say after several times Jo will outgroow it. But I just can't bear to hear her cry her lungs out. I really envy mummies whose babies are content with munchies. My girl - 10 mins top. And this is when I started the trip with her in a jolly mood.

i have toys to keep my son entertained -- that is m hb driving i am the clown at back seat w him. another thing is improvise -- he loves sunlight shinning..so i use my lipstick case (w mirror) to catch sunlight and reflect the light to the top of the car or on his hands/legs and that keep him v occupied. but if no sun/ rainy then i headache. Now he loves to ransack my handbag to search for things to play... wallet, hp, cardkey...he just empties everything...

hi Joanne - hope the typhoon will not go to phil...

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">My gal won't stop crying. If your journey is 20 mins, she will be crying for 20mins. Sigh...</font></font>

dear joanne, oh dear. hope weather goes in yr favour and everything turns out well no matter what for lil rianne's birthday.

did u see my post/qn abv about ur pasta sauce???

sigh...ok back to work!!!!

daisy,
miss ur post and went back to read and i think the stickers idea is great!! let me try that but first of all must go buy first.. where to buy CHEAP ones?

r&amp;r mum,
think shawn and regine hv alot of things in common.. cant sit on high chair for long, scream in car seat... wat else? wahahahah

<font color="0077aa">cheer bear: daisybuttons has some good tips so you can also try that out. but actually, after a while, Cate just sorta looked around / out of the window. Thats why I will also talk to her and create conversation such as "Darling, what are those outside (pointing to the trees), they are green and they are trees. What about these things that move? They are cars! (and do the Phonics for cars).

I believe Claudia is also conditioned to be the same now where she also does not need anything much entertainment. But Claudia really good leh! She can sleep on her own in the car seat. Cate can only sleep after she takes some milk.</font>

karen,
i hope so too.otherwise spend so much money for nothing.

daisy,
i really hope it will change direction just like the last one.
what pasta sauce? i think i missed the post.

joanne,
hope the typhoon blow the other way or best is dun reach phil and rainne will hv a wonderful bday party

oh u hv gd pasta sauce? come teach me.. shawn hates pasta!! maybe bcoz i didnt do a gd sauce.

jelly,
now that daisy mention.. need to know how u clean up too. think my hb will strongly disagree me feeding shawn in the car.

Car Seat:
My son has no problem sitting, drinking and sleeping in there *knock on wood* Have trained him to since day 1 coz I received an forwarded email from a mommy whose kid severely injured in an accident from not using the car seat. Very sad to see the photos attached. She urged all the mommies to put kids on car seat while travelling. I know is hard to train now, but have to try for the sake of safety. Isaac will fuss sometime too, especially when he sleepy. Like what many mommies did here, i just throw him toys or snacks. I fed him to avoid the snacks drop lo, no choice. When he dun buy the tricks, I will just ignore him, let him cry, normally he will stopped after awhile. BUT, so far I never drive him out alone, shall try one day!

Cheerbear,

1 very important thing tat shawn n regine have in common: they both have wonderful mama

Today very busy, my turn to mark my student SA2 papers liao. Hehe... No time to log in until now.

Buffy,

I may not be going for the Playdays trial as Tong Tong is down with flu n my mum 拜托 me dun bring her out for class n play until she fully recover.

So I dun think can go until my gal is strong enough to lift her highchair up. Hehe... I think she may do so cause she already can lift up the Mamil Gold 1.5kg milk powder tin by herself.

cheer bear,
my pasta sauce is the same as what i put in her porridge. i think that day at the cafe cartel gathering my sauce was sweet potato, brocolli, fish and tofu.

cheerbear/daisy
to start, i dun give rebby a lot of food at a go. she gets i pc of puff in her mouth and two pcs in her hands. i sit w her at the back and hence, can catch the crumbs... bsides, she travels in my car once a week, so we clean the car after she ends her ride.. daddy does most of the work anyways... :p

cheerbear
i also have a car seat mat underneath that protects the seat... so that catchs the crumbs as well... honestly, i cleaned out the entire car seat and took apart all the parts the last time rebby vomitted in her car seat so cleaning up food crumbs is really no biggy for me leh... or rather for my hubby... kekeke