(2008/10) Oct 2008

cheerbear
think u will lk nice w short hair as well! good change if u dun mind "losing hair" in that manner :p cos a lot of pple as me... "she de mah?" i went... erm, i have no "gan qing" to my hair, jus cut!

my grandma came for dinner yesterday and she said rebby's personality is just like mine... NOISY! i went "cham"!!

Thanks Buffy for organising the Playdays trial again. As usual, Julian was a little lost in space, and grumpy on top of that as he missed his nap. Hmmm....

I was also disappointed that there wasn't any storytelling because that's his favourite activity.

I was also little concerned about the size of the watermelon they were serving too...

Would really like to try out Julia Gabriel if anyone is organising a trial!
Heard great things about them!

Sorry I went off bf saying goodbye to you Mint!

Thanks Buffy for organising the Playdays trial again. As usual, Julian was a little lost in space, and grumpy on top of that as he missed his nap. Hmmm....

I was also disappointed that there wasn't any storytelling because that's his favourite activity.

I was also little concerned about the size of the watermelon they were serving too...

Would really like to try out Julia Gabriel if anyone is organising a trial!
Heard great things about them!

Sorry I went off bf saying goodbye to you Mint!

trace
u used ivins? they used to be v good, but my aunt said the same abt them recently... she also stopped going to eat at the restuarant since...

trace
u used ivins? they used to be v good, but my aunt said the same abt them recently... she also stopped going to eat at the restuarant since...

jelly,

yes, i used them cos tot of having peranakan food. so went to them...food was really lousy! And i hv to pay $16 per pax..which i think its a bit steep for a catering.. really great disappointment!

jelly,

yes, i used them cos tot of having peranakan food. so went to them...food was really lousy! And i hv to pay $16 per pax..which i think its a bit steep for a catering.. really great disappointment!

<font color="0077aa">wen chuen: oh, i got it got it. the brand is annie's. http://www.annies.com/bunny_classics

I bought mine from brown rice paradise.

BigFlamingo: yah, i was also disappointed that there was no reading leh... I think I expected more activities though I agree with Mint that the arts and craft was fun for them lah. But they are an arts based school so that is a given and yes again, the teachers were quite nice and engaged.

Jelly: yes my dear. Cate is with them... Been with them for i think more than half a term (1.5 months I think.) what would u like to know?

<font color="0077aa">wen chuen: oh, i got it got it. the brand is annie's. http://www.annies.com/bunny_classics

I bought mine from brown rice paradise.

BigFlamingo: yah, i was also disappointed that there was no reading leh... I think I expected more activities though I agree with Mint that the arts and craft was fun for them lah. But they are an arts based school so that is a given and yes again, the teachers were quite nice and engaged.

Jelly: yes my dear. Cate is with them... Been with them for i think more than half a term (1.5 months I think.) what would u like to know?

buffy
hee, jus wanna find out if they are good as well... cos they are nearer to me now they have a centre at United Square! JG, i wanna put rebby in but it is too far

buffy
hee, jus wanna find out if they are good as well... cos they are nearer to me now they have a centre at United Square! JG, i wanna put rebby in but it is too far

jelly,
everything was ok..Arielle was behaving well..and enjoying herself..she wasnt cranky though she is extrememly tired..she loves the strawberry shortcake balloons bouquet i got for her..n food was totally wiped out! i din even eat much

jelly,
everything was ok..Arielle was behaving well..and enjoying herself..she wasnt cranky though she is extrememly tired..she loves the strawberry shortcake balloons bouquet i got for her..n food was totally wiped out! i din even eat much

Jelly,

we ordered frm PG..was good..in fact, delivery was early..

R&amp;R,
our family r sick of my auntie's catering..haha...every occasion goes to her catering, so we tot of a change.
emotion? no leh..the bbq pit was so warm..so many ppl crowding ard. no time to feel emotion ..

Jelly,

we ordered frm PG..was good..in fact, delivery was early..

R&amp;R,
our family r sick of my auntie's catering..haha...every occasion goes to her catering, so we tot of a change.
emotion? no leh..the bbq pit was so warm..so many ppl crowding ard. no time to feel emotion ..

<font color="0077aa">jelly, I copied from another posting on my comments on Bibinogs:

"To be frank, I think Bibinogs is really quite good. I think in terms of style + sequence, they are similar to GUG and JG (based in friends' and bro's feedback). But I chose Bibinogs because teacher ratio is v good. Max students per class = 8. Anything more than 4 kids, there will be 2 teachers. The activities are usually linked too - arts and craft could be linked to the motor skill / song part or to the letter of the week under Zoo Phonics. I think this sorta reinforces the message better for Cate.

Plus the arts and craft they do? Quite easy and fun too..."

Having said that babe, for the serene centre branch, it is a v small room (smaller than my living room) and the set up is v v modest! white board and marker, a mat in the middle of the floor plus 2 tables and some chairs at the back of the room for arts and craft and snacks. So, i feel in terms of set up, cannot be compared to JG and GUG since it is not as established.

My nephew has been with them for like 2 months (he is turning 2 on Boxing day) and he really benefitted from the class and Zoo Phonics. He can do the action and he remembers the rhymes, etc.

You should go and try it out.
Desiree, the founder, has a Masters in Early Childhood Education. She was teaching her own kids at home and some friends were impressed with the kids' progress and started asking her to teach their kids too. When the demand and the group grew, she decided to set up a school herself. I like that I have direct access to Desiree - one of my concerns about Zoophonics was that they have body signals to reinforce the Phonics and as Cate is doing baby signing, I was afraid she'd get confused. But Desiree was v patient and spent like an hour explaining to me how their brains process information and how it should not confuse her. I do not think that I am able to have that level of attention with other places.

Having said that, Bibinogs is v strict on the no show policy - unless you have an MC on that day, otherwise, if you do not turn up without informing them in advance (1 day in advance), that class is considered forfeited. If you inform them, they are able to accommodate a make up class.

I think difficult to compare with other places because it really depends on what each parent is looking for. I like the personalised attention Cate gets and that the main teacher there is v passionate about kids.

My bro went for trial at JG and both him and SIL did not like it which is a surprise to me too. They found the teachers not as engaged and their additional comment was that the activities are not as "linked uo/synergised".

But I am still planning to head to JG to see for myself.

<font color="0077aa">jelly, I copied from another posting on my comments on Bibinogs:

"To be frank, I think Bibinogs is really quite good. I think in terms of style + sequence, they are similar to GUG and JG (based in friends' and bro's feedback). But I chose Bibinogs because teacher ratio is v good. Max students per class = 8. Anything more than 4 kids, there will be 2 teachers. The activities are usually linked too - arts and craft could be linked to the motor skill / song part or to the letter of the week under Zoo Phonics. I think this sorta reinforces the message better for Cate.

Plus the arts and craft they do? Quite easy and fun too..."

Having said that babe, for the serene centre branch, it is a v small room (smaller than my living room) and the set up is v v modest! white board and marker, a mat in the middle of the floor plus 2 tables and some chairs at the back of the room for arts and craft and snacks. So, i feel in terms of set up, cannot be compared to JG and GUG since it is not as established.

My nephew has been with them for like 2 months (he is turning 2 on Boxing day) and he really benefitted from the class and Zoo Phonics. He can do the action and he remembers the rhymes, etc.

You should go and try it out.
Desiree, the founder, has a Masters in Early Childhood Education. She was teaching her own kids at home and some friends were impressed with the kids' progress and started asking her to teach their kids too. When the demand and the group grew, she decided to set up a school herself. I like that I have direct access to Desiree - one of my concerns about Zoophonics was that they have body signals to reinforce the Phonics and as Cate is doing baby signing, I was afraid she'd get confused. But Desiree was v patient and spent like an hour explaining to me how their brains process information and how it should not confuse her. I do not think that I am able to have that level of attention with other places.

Having said that, Bibinogs is v strict on the no show policy - unless you have an MC on that day, otherwise, if you do not turn up without informing them in advance (1 day in advance), that class is considered forfeited. If you inform them, they are able to accommodate a make up class.

I think difficult to compare with other places because it really depends on what each parent is looking for. I like the personalised attention Cate gets and that the main teacher there is v passionate about kids.

My bro went for trial at JG and both him and SIL did not like it which is a surprise to me too. They found the teachers not as engaged and their additional comment was that the activities are not as "linked uo/synergised".

But I am still planning to head to JG to see for myself.

<font color="119911">Trace,

Arielle's bday party sounds fun
even the food tat u r disappointed with r all wiped out!
mayb your guests liked it

btw how long did u take to order the PG cake?</font>

<font color="119911">Trace,

Arielle's bday party sounds fun
even the food tat u r disappointed with r all wiped out!
mayb your guests liked it

btw how long did u take to order the PG cake?</font>

Buffy: Overall Playdays was not bad I felt, and it's near home for me! Think I still need to try out a couple more. I'll go with you to try out JG if you like!

jjmom,

haha its wiped out becos my guests r all hungry ghosts esp my aunties etc! haha..

PG cake, hmm...i ordered 1 mth bef the bdae..but was told abt 3 days in advance can b done...nw u still got time, can email them..n tell them the theme..they will send u the fotos.

ANother recommenedation, i ordered cupcakes and cookies frm this aunty yochana. She was good! i loves the cupcakes she baked. Forest oso ordered the bdae cake and agar agar frm her, u can contact her to see if she is available for Nat's bdae...
http://auntyyochana.blogspot.com/2009/07/strawberry-shortcake-cookies.html

jjmom,

haha its wiped out becos my guests r all hungry ghosts esp my aunties etc! haha..

PG cake, hmm...i ordered 1 mth bef the bdae..but was told abt 3 days in advance can b done...nw u still got time, can email them..n tell them the theme..they will send u the fotos.

ANother recommenedation, i ordered cupcakes and cookies frm this aunty yochana. She was good! i loves the cupcakes she baked. Forest oso ordered the bdae cake and agar agar frm her, u can contact her to see if she is available for Nat's bdae...
http://auntyyochana.blogspot.com/2009/07/strawberry-shortcake-cookies.html

morning!

jolly,
woohoo! now u can justify all ur shopping!

playdays trial,
actually this has been the most interactive trial we've been to.. the other trials have been very song and dance based like kindermusik and gymboree @ harbourfront. so its my fav so far..

but having heard buffy's comments abt bibinogs and mint's comments abt JG, i am keen to give both a try..

buffy,
they said that the structure is similar.. with the warm up play first.. then song n dance etc etc.. but the art classes will have some variation.. perhaps play with glue and other materials..
u make bibinogs sound so fun.. im really keen to try.. but perhaps at the UEsquare branch cos closer to home. will give them a call later. anyone else keen to try?

mint,
tks for the puffs! kaitlyn's enjoying them :p
does JG do trials? can u share more about JG's class like schedule, activities and cost?

ypg,
im ok to have the staccato class on 7 nov, but 31st nov is preferred if possible.. trying to space out the classes so we have something to do every wkend.. hehe

morning!

jolly,
woohoo! now u can justify all ur shopping!

playdays trial,
actually this has been the most interactive trial we've been to.. the other trials have been very song and dance based like kindermusik and gymboree @ harbourfront. so its my fav so far..

but having heard buffy's comments abt bibinogs and mint's comments abt JG, i am keen to give both a try..

buffy,
they said that the structure is similar.. with the warm up play first.. then song n dance etc etc.. but the art classes will have some variation.. perhaps play with glue and other materials..
u make bibinogs sound so fun.. im really keen to try.. but perhaps at the UEsquare branch cos closer to home. will give them a call later. anyone else keen to try?

mint,
tks for the puffs! kaitlyn's enjoying them :p
does JG do trials? can u share more about JG's class like schedule, activities and cost?

ypg,
im ok to have the staccato class on 7 nov, but 31st nov is preferred if possible.. trying to space out the classes so we have something to do every wkend.. hehe

jjmom,
i confirmed my actual design n cake only 2 days before.. but was talking to them for like 2 wks. talking abt designs etc.. cos they could not do one particular design that i really liked.. so they kept showing me alternatives.

jjmom,
i confirmed my actual design n cake only 2 days before.. but was talking to them for like 2 wks. talking abt designs etc.. cos they could not do one particular design that i really liked.. so they kept showing me alternatives.

<font color="0077aa">BigFlamingo: Yah, overall Playdays is really quite OK. But I think for you, Mint and I, we have some expectations - i.e story, etc., hence there is a difference in expectations lor. But my GF's son who was there for the 11am class, enjoys the toys and physical activities so much so that when it is time to go, HE CRIED! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA... v funny...

Are you a SAHM? 'Cos YES YES, I AM KEEN TO TRY OUT JG!!! :D But I am a FTWM leh, so I can only attend on the weekends but Playnest is only for weekdays issit?

U want to join me at Serene Centre for one session of Bibinogs? They do 2 story telling sessions - one in EN and another in Mandarin.

Eelyn: Ya, if you are looking for something interactive and physical then you are like my GF's son like that; he enjoys it a lot a lot. He hated Bibinogs though so it really is a different type of class. Bibinogs is more language based ya? But if Kaitlyn likes animals, she may like it because of Zoo Phonics.

E.g. for one of the week, the letter of focus was "P". Hence, the arts and craft was focussed on painting Pee Wee Penguin (which is the name of the penguin in Zoo Phonics) and introducing the concept of Eyes (we had to stick on the eyes ourselves) &amp; tummy (the tummy was made with some cotton pad stuck onto a piece of paper which we then stick onto the bird). So, the tummy helps with tactile stimulation too.

And because the letter of the week was P, the teachers brought along other stuff such as Powder (kids got to touch and smell them), Purse, etc. Cate likes that because she is KAYPO! She likes anything that she can touch and smell.

But there is no physical activity in the class so I am not sure if that would work for Kaitlyn.

U jio Jelly lah! Jelly also wanna try at United Square. When u guys call, let Desiree know that I recommended - Cate's mum.

OH OH OH! FOR THIS COMING WEEK, THEY ARE HAVING A HALLOWEEN THEME FOR THE CLASS!!!</font>

<font color="ff0000">BigFlamingo / Mint: How how? wanna join me at Serene Centre? Kekekekekekee</font>

<font color="0077aa">BigFlamingo: Yah, overall Playdays is really quite OK. But I think for you, Mint and I, we have some expectations - i.e story, etc., hence there is a difference in expectations lor. But my GF's son who was there for the 11am class, enjoys the toys and physical activities so much so that when it is time to go, HE CRIED! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA... v funny...

Are you a SAHM? 'Cos YES YES, I AM KEEN TO TRY OUT JG!!! :D But I am a FTWM leh, so I can only attend on the weekends but Playnest is only for weekdays issit?

U want to join me at Serene Centre for one session of Bibinogs? They do 2 story telling sessions - one in EN and another in Mandarin.

Eelyn: Ya, if you are looking for something interactive and physical then you are like my GF's son like that; he enjoys it a lot a lot. He hated Bibinogs though so it really is a different type of class. Bibinogs is more language based ya? But if Kaitlyn likes animals, she may like it because of Zoo Phonics.

E.g. for one of the week, the letter of focus was "P". Hence, the arts and craft was focussed on painting Pee Wee Penguin (which is the name of the penguin in Zoo Phonics) and introducing the concept of Eyes (we had to stick on the eyes ourselves) &amp; tummy (the tummy was made with some cotton pad stuck onto a piece of paper which we then stick onto the bird). So, the tummy helps with tactile stimulation too.

And because the letter of the week was P, the teachers brought along other stuff such as Powder (kids got to touch and smell them), Purse, etc. Cate likes that because she is KAYPO! She likes anything that she can touch and smell.

But there is no physical activity in the class so I am not sure if that would work for Kaitlyn.

U jio Jelly lah! Jelly also wanna try at United Square. When u guys call, let Desiree know that I recommended - Cate's mum.

OH OH OH! FOR THIS COMING WEEK, THEY ARE HAVING A HALLOWEEN THEME FOR THE CLASS!!!</font>

<font color="ff0000">BigFlamingo / Mint: How how? wanna join me at Serene Centre? Kekekekekekee</font>

<font color="119911">Trace, Jelly, eelyn,

thanks for all the infor &amp; recommendations, i beta start emailing them NOW! kekeke... =P</font>