(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0077aa">ya! one throws, the other kops. Not kidding you. So many of the plastic balls we use for playpens? they are punctured because of Cookie! and yes, i cuss a lot in front of Cate. And because Duck sounds like u-know-what, I have stopped cold turkey cussing in front of her

hi phtanus - i use books to distract him to drink his milk... the cloth type which is light...now i scared his eyesight will deteriorate cos it is like laying down on bed and read

<font color="0000ff">XY, JJmom, Icylemon and the rest of the mummies who will be in town tmr, if need be I will mobilise you all and your lil bubs hahaha =D

Cheerbear,
I had low blood towards the end of pregnancy and during confinement. It was horrible. I lay on the bed and could feel the whole room spinning all the time. When the dizzy spells came while I was sitting at the dining table, I grabbed onto the table edge becos the whole world was spinning, until it stopped spinning. Then I opened my eyes and saw that nothing happened. I was grabbing the table edge tightly while sitting down, like I was crazy.

Did the doc advise you on what to take? My husband said should take something that's not sweetened, like milo without condensed milk. I didn't believe him la. I drank it sweetened, and rested more.

Do rest alot and take care.

dimpletot, thats a very very nice layout!!! you are really an avid scrapbooker! i am starting to panick haven't done mine yet! only 2 weeks to go. siao lah...maybe end up not doing....kekek.....

eh dimpletot, meant to ask you something. why you said i domestic goddess today at TCC huh? did you confuse me with someone else? serious....coz i can't bake at all to save my own life, i seldom cook (hubby and i eat takeouts on weekends although the kids will eat homecooked), i hate housework thats why i have a maid....and goodness knows what else! hehehe....where did u get the impression i am good at home???

Trace, ruffles, everafter, dimpletot, nice mtg u guys for the first time today!

XY, thats a VERY GOOD "reward" system!

hi ypg,
max 6 slots per session? i'm ok for either slot, but more fun if go together.

Positive Babies
Place: Square 2, think it is near to United Square
Cost: $25 per baby

Sunday, 8 Nov, 2pm to 2.45pm
1) jill+bbzoe
5)
6)

Sunday, 8 Nov, 3.15pm to 4pm
1)jelly
2)mint
3)nickypower
4)ypg
5)BBgoh
6)Tweety

jill,

It is minimum 6 babies per session but they advise not too many or else very cramped.

So I put it as 6 babies per session.

Sure, of course it is more fun if go together. That's why I organise trial class so often.

XY,

U n ur hubby are chilli padi? How can it be possible to have 10 bad words in 1 day? If "shit" consider bad word?

hi ypg, you're up early!
in that case, i'll leave zoe at 2pm, but if that slot gets cancelled, let me know if can shift zoe to 3.15pm slot. thanks!

Daisy

I wasn't the only one who thought u make the kueh leh...
I think it was yr impressive party planning that did it for me! Thought u would also be the kind that will put in effort to bake cake prepare lots of home cooked food for yr kids etc...

dimpletot, oooooh sorry to dissappoint you about the kueh. :p i really don't know how to bake! the first time i tried baking muffins with my boy it was quite a dissapointment yucks. yes i do enjoy making homecooked food for my kids but so do most of you.

i think the real domestic goddesses are those SAHMs whom can juggle housework, kids, cooking for kids and hubby...i really admire you guys, and you can stay fresh and radiant too! really fab moms.

i even know one who homeschools her 2 kids and plans activities and crafts for them every single day, homeschooling them for yrs, she has tremendous energy and creativity and dedication....its amazing. everytime i read her blog, it puts me to shame, aiyoh.....

sean lau,

m asking on behalf of my friend... she is interested in it but wants to know how much did you ladies pay for it?

jelly,
thanks for giving me the gymboree trial voucher...

for making appt at gymboree, do I need to indicate anything on the voucher when I call for appt?

purple,

Dun need to indicate anything. Just told them u got a voucher for free trial &amp; ask them whether any available class on ur preferred date.

purple
think no need leh. maybe u can tell them u hv a free class voucher that you want to use. i just mailed it yesterday so i hope it gets 2 u b4 tuesday

karen,
best is hot glue... if not, those white craft glue from daiso also can...

ypg,jelly,

ok... noted.

toothpaste,
just to check, saw that first teeth toothpaste is not gd for bb, so was thinking what will be the alternative?

<font color="0077aa">XY, Hahahahahahahahahaaaa... I cheated my HB today with your fine system by asking him whats a CB leaf and why it is called that way. Pardon my "vulgarity" but I din understand why it was called that way esp in the show Amy Daze. So I thought it was a good chance to ask lor. :p</font>

dimpletot, do u think u can email me the photos u took of Jaz at our tea last Fri pls? I didn't bring cam.
thanks so much! there's another mommy who took the group photos...is that everafter?

Buffy,
u so bad...

YPG,
Ya... if SHIT is used while we scolding counted as bad word. Keke..

Fri tea
Sad that i missed it. Do post pics!

<font color="0077aa">XY, hahahahahaahhaa... ya lah, because I swear more than him (usually when am on the road driving). So i need that credit in the swear bank lor! LOL...

morning mummies.

hey FTWM mommies, can i have a vote. How many of you intending to or have already taken the <font color="ff0000">UNPAID infant care leave (6days)</font> entitled BEFORE our child turns 1?

am thinking of taking but my boss got mentioned very troublesome to apply. And been asking around getting mixed responses from mommies. some say why take when its unpaid, some say (like me) why NOT take if its given? i mean, our own unpaid leave can only take IF you exchaust completely your 2009 leave, but this 6days unpaid infant care leave is from government, so though yes we are not getting paid, but at least dun need to exchaust our annual leave before applying. and if we dun take now, after Jaz turns one, i can't take. but will it affect our performance appraisal?

pls reply....thanks....wanna know if i am being silly.

hi daisybuttons - in my co i have to fin using all my 2009 annual leave and the 6 days child care then i can apply for the unpaid 2 weeks leave... and since my boy has already turn 1, i cant use it... reason why i managed to have some leave left (even though my son was hospitalised 2X this year for some weeks) is that i kept my 1 mth ML (i cleared 3mths 1 shot)... which is good that i did that...

yes i believe my performance appraisal will be affected if i take the 2wks.. my bosses in London dun care a hoot if the govt give me this benefit or not..to them if i am not around to clear their urgent work/comments...i am screwed..

Positive Babies
Place: Square 2, think it is near to United Square

1) jill+bbzoe
2) pil+abby
5)
6)

1)jelly
2)mint
3)nickypower
4)ypg
5)BBgoh
6)Tweety

daisy,
forgot all about it. hehehehe plus it's unpaid so dun think i will take it. as it is, i'm still under probation.

gymboree trial,
hi mommies, i left early at the bday bash without a goodie bag and staff told me that they've given out the extra goodie bag to another mommy who requested for it. I really wouldn't mind going for the trial so if anyone is holding onto the extra trial coupon/card, kindly pm me?

allo mommies,
it's been a long time. ;) I am now official chief surrogate of abandoned terrapins and fish of the kindergartens. I go in every week to the different centres, catch up with the teachers and principals then sit down, roll up sleeves and scrub the terrapins, change their water. ahhahaha.. shit man.. everytime i bring it up, nobody thinks it's within their job scope. classroom pets really suffer..

are playdates still on?

Playdays - 24th Oct
1. Buffy &amp; Cate Marissa Verghese
2. Karen &amp; Jowenda Soh
3. Eelyn &amp; Kaitlyn Tan Ying
4. mint &amp; Regina Tan
5. BigFlamingo + Julian Wong
6. Chua Wan Chuen &amp; Kaijie

31 Oct
1. Jelly &amp; Rebekah Pung (10/10/08)
2. Daisy Buttons
3. Jolly &amp; Ashton
4. Christina (Is 31 Oct Ok?)
5. ypg + Ang Kai Tong (08/10/08)
6. Soudez +
7. LilBluey + Ashten
8. nickypower + Kaelyn Quah
9. pildough + abigail cate matthew (03/10/08)

if not, then take my name out? where is playdates anyway? i've been missing out on so much!!! wah lau.

Daisybutton,
Like i said, unpaid. Why bother. And since it's unpaid, i dun see why the co shd kick up a fuss.

Karen,
It's called The Indulgent at Cathay B1. Really not bad food. Set dinner was only 23.90+.
But dunno why nobody. Guess lousy location.

<font color="0077aa">Hey Pildough, yes, same Cate! So rare! So Cate would be her middle name? For our case, my baptismal name is Caitlin and my HB's name starts with a "C" as well, hence Cate with a "C".
Incidentally, Matthew is his middle name! LOL...

wah, you v gut lat wor, go and scrub terrapins. ai yoh... how come these places do not include these pets as part of the class project - each class is in charge of taking care of XXX, etc., 'cos it does inculcate responsibility and compassion right?</font>

karen
ya lor.. alright mommies, mishes and khishes.

swimming lessons:
mommies, abby's been going for dips. i'm thinking of lessons now or trials. happy to organise, aquaducks anyone? other suggestions?

buffy,
apparently it inculcates responsibility and compassion only between term 3, week 7 to week 10 during animal and insect theme.

so uncanny! the names. i picked cate because i loved cate blanchett, she's so ethereal.

thanks vanilla, eeerrr...i think unpaid infant care leave only 6 days wor...not 2 weeks. think u confuse with the 10 days childcare (med and non med issit?).

XY, yah i know....but my theory is as stated above leh. i still undecided. thinking am i silly to even consider it. yah, its unpaid why shld they kick a fuss hor??

phildough, check ur PM.

Silly me called gymboree to arrange for trial class ytd and then, dunnoe where i threw the bloody card after i called. So never go for class. Now searching for the postcard.

Positive Babies
Place: Square 2, it's next to NOVENA Sq, not united sq.

1) jill+bbzoe
2) pil+abby
3) XY + Marcus (attending coz got Marcus fav gals)
5)
6)

1)jelly
2)mint
3)nickypower
4)ypg
5)BBgoh
6)Tweety

Hi Daisybuttons

We are entitled to 6 days per year of Unpaid Infant Care Leave. This is available to employees with children under the age of two.

I am not sure how complicated it is for you to apply (probably complicated for your boss.. but that shouldn't be a deterrent to your rights), but I just let my boss know when I want to consume it and HR will settle it. And yes the leave is paid by the Govt.

The thing about SG maternity / infant care is that the Govt advocates a pro-family environment etc. But honestly, all companies are P&amp;L driven. There is a conflict in many companies’ motto and that of the Govt.

When I first applied for it, my boss questioned me indirectly. I shot her back with our HR email listing all our benefits. And yes if you ask me if our appraisal will be affected. There is no free lunch. If the govt seriously want women to succeed at work place, and to increase the population, they have to give clear black and white regulations rather than give grey ‘guidelines’.

agree with Ruffles but thankfully, my current boss is alot more understanding and i am working in an org full of women.

XY,
what's a cb leaf? ehehehheheheheh
love your reason for attending playday. ahahah

re: childcare leave
i jus take, cos my boss is a family man and he has no issues even if i need to work from home when i have family problems...so v thankful about it