(2008/10) Oct 2008

buffy
u hardworking mama... i dun spend time w rebby on those stuff. i just read to her and sing to her...now i feel bad that i am not developing her ... and between 8-10pm, it is abt her slpg time... right now, worse... am doing ot all the time... hiaz... maybe i shd start training her brains...

<font color="119911">Jelly,

me lagi jialat liao, Nat can't even say 'mama', closest to her talking, is what we like to think tat she is calling 'papapapapa' &amp; 'ye' (grandpa).

what 'bus', 'bear', 'car', 'duck'...zero chance of hearing her saying coz mommy din teach =P

oops...ok, gng home to teach her tonite =P this mommy always monkey c monkey do =P</font>

jellypurin, me too. tat 2 mths staying at home to take care of R&amp;R really kills me. sometimes i cry too. coz mentally &amp; physically is very tiring.

Trace, dun think abt spa or handbags. is really not wasy to be a SAHM. infact SAHM is not only taking care of the kid. is oso giving them education too. you have to source for books &amp; teach Arielle things.

If you are so use to work life, is a bit difficult to shift yourself to be a SAHM.

buffy - u r hardworking..that time is my hb's time w son while i shower and makan....my time is after his dinner and i walk him round the estate - talk to him -- look for kitty cats, doggies, birds...and chat w other children..

training his brain - i ask my mum to read and point things to him... flying kiss is taught by my mum.

<font color="119911">R&amp;R,

glad Rachel is doing gd &amp; gng back to school
U all did great

u r so right abt being SAHM is tough, juz a wkends TSAHM nia, i don't even have any 'me' time liao. If really become a SAHM, no $ no me time, think i will go mad in no time =P &amp; i don't think Nat will learn anything extra too =P</font>

bbgoh, MMR in polyclinic is FOC. if you walk in have to wait pretty long. so is best to call &amp; make appt. for GP, MMR is charged at $40.00.

i have no idea of chicken pox.

SAHM:
Think it's really not an easy job!! Sometimes I wish I can go out work instead and have some 'me' time!! SAHM = 24/7 with her... Got pros and cons lah. But at times I really need some sanity and recharge again. Sigh.
Sometimes so stressed out will yell at my girl..;p Aft which makes me feel soo lousy and guilty lorr! *Headache*
Given me a choice hor, think I will reconsider to go out work instead!! In this way maybe I can 'treasure' her more!! ;p

Trace, you consider bah. well... watever decision you make. we will support you. we are juz listing out the things tat wat a SAHM can be.

one thing for sure being a SAHM can really spend more time with the kid. tat is wat every mother wants to have.

but i think most of us here will think... if being a SAHM yah... no annual leave... no pay... cannot buy things... then we will think twice le. hahahaha....

JJmom, thank you!!

well, tat 2 mths staying at home with R&amp;R is really hell sometimes. hahaha... i will do my housework late at night at 11pm &amp; go to bed ard 3am or 4 am. then next day wake up at 7.30am.

no life man!! hahaha.... everyday is so routine. cook porridge for Regine. cook rice for Rachel. cook lunch for myself. cook dinner for hubby &amp; myself.

Vanilla, at least he still wants to sit in the stroller. my Regine reject it totally. she wants to walk. she wants to be like her jie jie.

<font color="0000ff">RE: SAHM

Definitely not an easy one, when I was on leave for that past one mth, I nearly went berserk. Although it's great to be able to spend more time with my boy but at times it really drive me crazy. Practically the whole day revolves around him and when he hurt himself when he fell, feel so guilty. When he's being extremely cranky, it makes me worse and I practically raise my voice and scold him till he cried even louder! I was almost at the verge of losing my sanity!! I realised I'm quite of a lousy mommy.

Like wat Nicky said, going out to work will actually makes me 'treasure' him even more becos the time spent is much lesser now but I feel better. In the sense, I'm able to earn $ to buy him stuff/provide better things for him on the whole. I oni pampered him tis days hardly a dime to myself but I feel gd about it.

If one says if u regret spending lesser time with your son, I would said Yes! but if I love him lesser? Definitely not, becos it only makes me wanna finish work faster at the end of the day and go home to him even thou it's that 1-2 hrs of contact.

Being a SAHM is really a new ball game altogether, really muz be mentally and physically prepared.

Lil bluey- Very true on wat u said lorrr... Sometimes I oso nearly went berserk lor and yelled at her and makes her cry even louder!! ;(
Wat to do...I'm stuck with my girl liao!! ;p
Her food, entertainer, clown, pacifier etc!!

<font color="0077aa">jelly: rebby is smart wor, can point to u what the items are... speaking them or not is just using different set of muscles. thats all.

vanilla pod / jelly: hmmm... i think i am used to it whereby everyday around this time, i will be playing with her and reading to her. 'cos my HB works in hospitality so i am like a single mum most of the time, so have to teach and do everything on my own. vanilla pod 2: by walking around the estate and telling your bub things is also educating u know. thats what i do whenever i am out with cate too, signing to her trees, birds, bus, cars, train, etc.

small things like supermarket trips can also be educational - just talk to them as you pick out fruits, tell them colours (you can have a theme whereby the colour for that trip is yellow - banana, capsicum, etc.). dun bother if they understand or not just keep exposing them, repeating, and i always let cate touch the items as well so she knows what cold is (she can sign cold too) and what hard / soft, etc., is since they learn by tactile stimulation.

i am not hardworking lah; am used to it and we both have fun and enjoy each other's company and that's what matters lah.

if you guys wanna try, you can introduce them shapes through using home made dough and then using the shapes cut out box set? I use only the circular one, star and square as they look different. Then I get Cate to pat the dough and we sing pat a cake together and at the same time, i ask her if it is cold, soft, etc. carry on a conversation. thereafter, i will get her help in patting the dough and then using 'circle' as a cookie cutter, i will get her to press it down into the dough. and then i will trace the cicular shape to show her that there are no corners and keep repeating the word 'cirle'. then i drop the circular cut out dough into the box together with square and star and ask her to pick out cirle for me. because the colour, shape and texture is different plus she helped to cut it, she remembers and can pick it out. of course, praise her like crazy for the effort - even when she gets it wrong!
try it, it is fun. </font>

Busybee

I got the English Spanish table. I think it's worth it, and I like the music a lot. Maybe u couldconsider renting? Just saw that it's now 89.90 instead of 79.90 at toys r us tho.

Hi MUMMIES!!
Finally I get to wind down from my exciting day with Minibee. We took MRT together for the first time!!! Hahaha... I was really nervous. But I am glad things went smoothly. Lunch was nice, thanks for the great company ladies!

Dimple, abt the table, I am thinking of getting a activity table for her for Christmas. Might "allocate" item to her Grandpa to get!! hahaha! Heard u going for the JG trial tomorrow? Which slot? Hope to see u in class. Maybe we can go for tea after...

karen/dimpletot/mint- How much is the JG's trial class and duration? ;)
Are your attending the trial for Playnest (6-18mths)one?? =)

busybee- Heeee I have yet to take MRT tog with Kaelyn!! ;p

hello mummies
Mia for couple of days. Had been frequenting the chiropractor 3x a wk. Neck is getting better. Had a sudden change of plan for aless bday. Decided to hold it this sat due to my hub work schedule.so was busy checking out buffets catering, locations,cakes, parties supplies. Going to be a small parties among relatives and family.

Cheerbear
im sorry to hear wat happened to u.

lilbluey,jjmom n mspiggy
The posting incident is really spooky. I was surprised to see bluey son has changed his name to nat.

Trace
Hugz. Tough tough against stubborn mil. Difficult to explain to them. I guess dats how they brought up their kids in their generation.
I have cb aloe vera cream. If u want some for arielle, can give u some

mousebb
i think u bought the haemim big blocks right? Thinking of getting for aless and ey. But heard it very heavy. How is it? Do your kids play with them?

Nicky
the trial is about $40. And yes, went for the playnest one. Each lesson is 1.5 hours. Doesn't seemed like it though.

hi R&amp;R - good wor at least Regine wants to walk..

hi bluey- totally agree w u...during my 3mths ML i miss my independence and work ...when i come back work, i appreciate my lesser time w E more, i am more patient w him (but to my hb standards still v impatient)...he sees a more cheery mummy...sometimes during weekends i also pek chekk when he eat slow and make a mess of the whole plc i scold him..he will cry and then i have extra work to do - comfort him...sigh!

hi buffy - wah! U r v good leh..such a committed mummy! thanks for ur tips..will try out soon! Now i am still trying to get him to touch his ears! He only knows head - "where is ur head" and "headache". haha..

good morning mummies.

<font color="0000ff">lilbluey</font>, ya. if we are only a weekends SAHM, we are already going siao. wonder how are our mothers going to cope. now i finally know how my mum feels. whenever she complaint to me, i brush her off. is really not easy. no wonder baby sitter's pay so high.

<font color="ff0000">busy bee</font>, pei fu you. so far i brought Rachel out once take MRT. i already cant take it. coz she kept asking for water to drink. with the new ruling. is really driving me crazy. really curse &amp; swear those ppl who created such ruling.

GOOD MORNING!!!

About being a SAHM, definitely not easy (especially so if u are on your own without a helper). Having to manage the chores and taking care of the little one is not easy. Sometimes I feel upset that I have side lined my career which I have worked so hard to build. But when I look at minibee and she hugs or smiles back at me, I know its all worth it. Agree with what Nicky and Bluey mentioned, when I get frustrated I have on occassions raised my voice at the poor gal, but i keep reminding myself I need to treasure my precious bub. Now, I am still contemplating when to return to the work force. Other than money, no push factors to return!

Nickypower, you SAHM too? Do try taking Kaelyn on the MRT. I am sure she will love it. It was exciting for both minibee and me. Lots to see!

Mummies who had lunch yesterday, after your reaction on minibee's milk intake, it got me wondering if I really am overfeeding her. I checked the guides for daily milk intake for babies at this age (who have started solids) and recommended amount is abt 720ml. http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/formula/howmuchmilk/?_requestid=6503831

busy bee
"Other than money, no push factors to return! " I 100% agree! I love to be with Jo all the time, knowing our bond is closer every second. If only I strike a BIG toto.

ey
haaa too early till all my grammar went askew.

R&amp;Rmum
I say f*** that ruling. *ahem* excuse my language. When I took MRT last time, and I felt thirsty, I drank. I think I was good enough to not let a nano-single drop get on the train. I mean, how can we deprive a young kid of drinks when s/he is thirsty?!

Hi R&amp;R mom, i tried out GUG trial before with my elder son. In my own opinion, comparing GUG with JG....

1. JG teachers are more passionate in what they do. They have a vibrancy and dedication that the GUG teachers lack. I (I am NOT the only one) feel that the GUG teachers (most of them) seem to be going through the motions and their heart is not really in it.

2. During the trial, one of the small boys were very fussy. The way the GUG teacher told the caregiver off and ask her to bring him out was quite harsh. Comparing it to JG teacher's tactful and wise advice on how best to handle the child, its very very different.

3. The things they teach are quite similar, both are quite thematic. That trial was the letter Y, and they teach everything that start with the letter Y - yellow (ask the kids to find yellow things in the room), Yetti the Yak and i dun rem what else. GUG emphasize more on zoophonics way of teaching alphabets. JG uses craft and games and interaction to introduce that week's letters.

4. My son took a long time to loosen up during that GUG trial. In JG, prob coz of that first 15mins free play time and interaction with the warm teachers, he warmed up faster.

5. GUG classrooms are smaller than JG. Or it could be becoz JG rooms are more subshiny so it appears bigger. :p

6. For this age group, both has a breaktime during class. JG provides snacks/food and in this way encourages kids to all sit together and practice self feeding, independence and social skills. GUG is just a breaktime and you bring ur own snacks, not an organised activity.

7. Personally (hope i dun offend anyone here), i find GUG environment a very "learning" environment, but JG gives me a very "play" feel.

Having said all this, I have 2 friends who swears by GUG. So really each to their own. heeeee....

thats about it I can think of.

busy bee,

i feel tat minibee's milk intake seems ok to me. 720ml / 3 feeds?? is abt 240ml. i think is ok. when she grow older she might hit 280ml or 300ml. infact babies should have more milk. dun worry. i think is ok.

karen,
ya lor!! those idiots lah. eating in the mrt. maggi mee, nasi lemak &amp; burgers. i feel tat SMRT should have a limit lor.

babies &amp; kids below 6 yrs old. and elderly above 60. or those kids or elderly who needs medication. let these ppl can at least have a sip of water in the train mah.

<font color="119911">busybee,

no, don't think the mommies r saying tat u r overfeeding minibee. Juz tat the guides tat KKH &amp; your PD has for our bbs fluid intake of 1000ml came as a shock for me
coz Nat definitely din hit the target intake then =P

think Nat's milk intake with 2 solid meals is ard 700~800ml.</font>

Karen, I echo ur thoughts abt bonding (and big toto too, but how to strike if I dun even buy in the first place!) hahaha.

R&amp;R Mum and Karen, I hear they dun even allow mums to feed babies milk. I was thinking of riding the MRT with Minibee to playnest. So I can feed her on the way. But Hubs told me that is banned too!

Morning mummies..

ypg, your hb is sweet.. not like mine.. expect too much..

SAHM:
I don think I can handle that.. too tiring.. weekend mummy I alr feel the tiredness.. but of course we can c our bb development..

R&amp;R,
I still feed milk in MRT.. I find this ruling is bad lor.. baby cant hold the stomach.. and they need food throughout the journey..

daisybuttons,

No No.. of coz no offence. I cant comment on JG coz i have not been to their trial before. Wanted to go during Rachel's time. but din.

So far, I m quite ok with GUG. Coz Regine juz started attending their class. What you have mentioned, I will take note.

<font color="119911">i totally agree with all mommies on the new MRT ruling is stupid! To ban even the bbs &amp; old folks of plain water?! Inform b4 hand if we need to feed them? crazy!</font>

JJMom, yeah yeah dun worry. I know what u mean. Cos lately I keep getting the same reaction from a lot of pple. Many seemed surprised she can drink 240ml at a go!

Abt JG... I agree with daisy buttons, the emphasis of play is very important at this age. Minibee is enrolled for the term and I see progress in her social skills and is starting to pay more attention during circle time. At this age, I do not want to stress her with "learning" but rather learning through play. She has her whole school years stage to do learning and get stressed. Now I just want her to enjoy just being carefree!

JJmom,
You are so lucky that Nat's intake is ard 700ml - 800ml.

Regine is taking only 600ml a day with 3 feeds. Sometimes she dun even finished that 7 Oz of milk I gave her. Really depends on her mood. But Regine has started to take rice with fish &amp; drink soup.

Busy Bee,
Yes! Yes! Is been banned!! I really can't imagine that!! How can they have such ruling.

That time, when Rachel was crying for water only. I was so angry &amp; keep cursing PAP. "Stupid govt!! Dun let kids or babies drink water!! Stupid govt!!" Alot of ppl looked at me when I said that.

<font color="0077aa">morning mummies. fyi, i already sent to Playdays the breakdown of mummies - 7 for 24 Oct and 6 for 31 Oct (i included Christina for 31 first since I really have not heard from her).

My friend who went for Playdays said that twice in a term, there will be outdoor play and once for water play (they have an outdoor area). Apparently, the place is quite big and there are quite a few toys.

She also said that if any mummy were to sign up after the trial, the trial is FOC (offset against the term fees).

For other mummies who are keen to try out other places, Cate is with a small small set up called bibinogs. I went there because the student:teacher ratio is really good - as long as there are more than 4 students, there will be 2 teachers with a max of 8 students per class.

Reading from what Daisybutton said above, seems like bibinogs programme is a bit similar to what some of the other schools are doing too. My this GF who is with Playdays was with bibinogs and her son prefers Playdays 'cos bibinogs is a bit more structured. Just to share lah.

Vanilla pod: thanks, go borrow some books from the library. they have books on baby games which gives me some ideas also. my next project with cate is to collect leaves and bring her down to the field and let her roam barefoot 'cos whenever i show her flashcard - L for Leaf and G for Grass, she looks lost. Hahahahahahahaha</font>

did u say u have the scooba cleaner? where did u get it from &amp; for how much?

does it really do the job well? noisy?

heehee...sorry for so many qns coz i think i really need something tat can help me with the cleaning. Thanks

Tweety,
You are lucky din get caught. But if I were you, I will feed too. Coz baby dun understand what is called "Wait".

The best part is when I asked the station controller. "So no drinking of water in the train, how abt I stepped out of the train &amp; let my kid drink." Is also a NO!! I must bascially get out of the station control area. Then I can let my kid drink water.

busy bee
I never buy too! LOL!!!

feeding in the train
rule must be set by idiots. Even in a queue, people know that my baby needed her feeding and let me go first. Imagine crying in the train for many minutes, not feeding baby but disturbing the rest of the passengers. "Oh sorry, cannot feed baby in train so I have to let her cry." Then what? We have to get off the train. Oohh, how family--friendly is this. No wonder all the bonuses do not help in increase in pro-creation.

daisybuttons
very good observation. Yah, the first 20 mins of play time was really much-needed, esp, for shy babies. And I also felt the teacher at S&amp;S was also going through the motion. If young children needed passionate teachers, more so the babies.

at minibee's age, drinking 240ml shd be the correct amt.

Nat is the 1 who is drinking less than what she shd
even though she is juz 2mth younger. But her max is 210~240ml only at 8pm her sleeping feed. Her day time feed is 150~180ml nia

Sigh...till now, her milk intake still not fix

<font color="0077aa">regarding train: OMG,I din know that they banned it! But seriously, I dun give 2 hoots. If Cate were to be crying and fussing, I'd still feed her. If they make things difficult for me, I will be sure to document the ENTIRE episode down and write in to forum and post up on blog with the headline "TO STARVE OR NOT TO STARVE A BABY, THAT IS THY QUESTION"</font>

JJmom, Nope I dun own a scooba. My Gynae's clinic has a Roomba tho and it looks amazing. But the nurses did tell me that it does not clean the corners. I read reviews that the scooba is not as good esp if your floor is not level or has a curb from kitchen or between rooms as the scooba may overturn and it may cause spillage. For me I just use the magic clean sheets to "sweep" the floor everyday and I use a roman mop on my tiled floor and a Leifheit Mop for my wood floors. Then I try to vacuum thoroughly every week or fortnightly. Hubs normally will help me with the vacuuming. I used to own the Osim Iecologi. If u r looking for a 1 step machine, I would recommend that. But must warn it is heavy and cos of the steam, u will feel very hot when u are using it. I traded it in for my new vacuum. (a little regretful now)

R&amp;R... think babies are smart, if they are hungry and need more they will tell u by crying. Take their lead. No need to worry. (oops worry wort here trying to tell pple not to worry! hahaha)

For me I was worried my tum jiak (for milk only) baby is drinking to much thus behind on her solids.