(2008/10) Oct 2008

We take public transport, usually a book and a couple of toys plus whoever wants to wave back at miss congeniality gets us thru the 30+ min journey.

Karen, jellypurin
do you also put your mummy stuff into the diaper bag or carry a separate handbag? my diaper bags are all shoulder sling (long/short strap), n sometimes get heavy after awhile; anybody use backpack instead? but having to rummage the bag for something while the bub is fussy in the carrier n keep pushing her hands against me jus make me wish i can dump her into a stroller instead. but managing diaper bag + bub + carrier + stroller + alone is so much worse!

jinomo
I always use shoulder bags. My first criteria is the bag must be huge. Secondly it must be light. Almost 0 weight by itself. If I have help (read: hubby or mummy) with me, I will sometimes venture into hand-carry bags. I have tried putting bb in carrier while carry my bag on the crook of my arm. Nice to see and flaunt but the weight on the arms, argh. Yet I am doing it again tomm. Oh do note that I drive.

And yes it's one bag for everything. I don't separate.

Mint, i am using the Aerogaz Purple Clay Slow Cooker, Its tiny. Bot it for $19 at Fairprice Hypermart. I like that it has Cook and Keep Warm Function. So far it has been great, bottom of pot doesn't burn.

jinomo
yup, one bag for everything... in fact when i go out w my rebby, i carry my wallet and bag only! no make up no nothing! too heavy liao!

Jelly, but just bb stuff, Diapers/Wipes, Bottles, Snacks, Toys, etc. Its a lot to carry!!! Like u I only bring my wallet when i take her out. Everything else in the bag is hers!

busy bee,
Dylan doesn't really sweat it out but he gets heat rashes easily and will smell sour of sweat when the weather's hot...

Mummies feeding FM or EBM,
What do we need to bring when we bring the baby out? I've decided not to latch on Dylan even after my nipples have healed as I think I've got phobia of him biting me again. I'm curious as to what you mummies bring out if your babies are on FM/EBM as I seem to be overpacking...

Elch,
I normally pack one container for FM (2 servings) and 2 milk btl, 1 thermo flask for hot water and his sippy cup. But ever since on solids, so much things to bring!!

everafter,
2 milk bottles?! Cannot just rinse and reuse o that we can just bring 1 out? I've never prepared FM for outings with Dylan yet thus quite lost...hah!

Oh ya, can Longchamp bag carry very heavy stuff? E.g. PIS?

<font color="119911">busybee,

hmm...your slowcook sounds gd to have the keep warm function, mine doesn't &amp; i find tat if i keep the remaining porridge for dinner &amp; reheat, it becomes too thick for Nat. mayb i will go look at it at NTUC. Thanks 4 sharing

Everafter!! I agree.... Which is why I dunno if I brave enough to go out via public transport with all the barang w/o stroller! Kudos to Mummies like dimple, mint and gang!

busy bee,
I'm using the same slow cooker! My mum too! Cheap and good as it doesn't burn! I'll use it to cook 2 meals...once cooked, I'll just switch to warm function and switch it off after his 1st meal and turn it on warm function again about 1-2 hours before his next meal...

Elch,
mm..still need to hv some rm temp. water inside the milk btl mah...and need to go find toilet to rinse, troublesome lah..so i rather bring 2. And with solid meals even worse! I've to bring his bowl, thermo pot, biscuits, cereals.

I've not carried PIS in my longchamp b4. I think should be ok. Anyway, my longchamp filled with his stuffs is not light weight either

Busybee,
Yah, i kudos to mummies who go out w/o stroller! I cant! got sooooo much things to bring!!

hi elch - for EBM, if u r going to plc to makan, then no need bring hot water and cold water and cup/bowl as it is easy to get...if say go see doc, i bring hot flask of water and a small bowl..so can warm the EBM. EBM will be in a small carrier w ice pack. cool water i just get from toilet

Huh? go out without stroller...my back will break after half hour! Plus my little one is such a busybody, he wont tolerate facing me in the ergo for more than a few minutes already....

elch
i bring enough bottles and milk feed. i oso bring a juice bottle just for water... i bring a bowl, a spoon for rebby to play with on top of all the diapers and wipes and thermos flask! voila! the always full of stuff diaper bag!

<font color="aa00aa">Nowadays the bb diaper bag is inside my hubby's car all the times cos he is lazy to bring the bag up and down each time we go out. Usually when we go out, I would just bring a bottle of heated ebm in a insulated thermal bag nia. </font>

Marcus dun like pram also. Have been Connecta-ing him all over. As for bag, i change also, but always big. Will bring diapers and wet wipes. His food will be in the SJ snack sac.

Julian is really a handsome and big boy. Look more like 2 years old. Haha...

dimpletot
*salute &amp; applause!!* i've got much to learn frm u... i dun even dream of eating when bringing her out alone.. if i have to eat when i bring her out in the carrier, i'll wait till she is sleeping, then jus pull the hood up n eat over her head.. wat other tips do u have to impart? i want to bai4 ni3 wei2 shi1 hahaha wat jujube bag model are u carrying? where to get jujube? i like the BeLight http://www.shopjujube.com/Product.aspx?l=00010009000000000000&amp;p=JJB01271

karen, jellypurin
ya i feel like a mule carrying my bb n all her barangs! and my bb's load alone is 8.6kg wats yrs? btw my hse is a walk-up to 4th flr, so really cannot carry stroller n bb if i go out on my own. my leg muscles always ache by the time i reach my door. my PIL however, r very old skool n they dun use carrier when they bring her out, jus naked arms n they take turns! 0_0

<font color="119911">XY,

how long does your mil takes to double boil marcus's porridge using the slowcook? does she add in the meat/fish together with the rice &amp; water? or she cook those separately then add them in when cooked?</font>

<font color="119911">jinomo,

omg...your PIL so brave &amp; strong
Y don't they take the stroller then?

i sweat even using the carrier, don't even dare to try juz carrying my gal out with bare hands (-_-)''</font>

<font color="aa00aa">I also put some bb biscuits and wenmin's magmag cup in the SJ snack sac too. The sac also allows me to put in a big pack of tissues and a small pack of wet wipes. </font>

i've packed along toys n books b4, but she will casually drop them once she's distracted by something else... so now i sometimes use stuff easily available outside, like a straw/disposable spoon for her to chew on... if drop also nvm

also wanna ask... u go restroom with yr bub in the carrier b4 when out alone? very hard to do/undo pants!

JJmom
i carry my gal with bare hands i also cannot tahan her struggling n twisting... with carrier she gets bored too cos cant get a gd view. my PIL will brave climbing up/down 4 flrs to bring their precious grandbub go outing, tiring arms be damned lol.. the stroller is in their boot but they also dun use it much

JJmom,

My MIL normally will cook everything together. She wakes up at 8am, then throw all in and double boil. By 10am, Marcus will have his 1st solid meal.

everafter,
Wow...you bring alot of stuff! Cannot imagine handling all these stuff alone! So far I've only bring his porridge out twice...I'll try to give him just a fruit(banana most times) meal or just bottle food if I don't wish to bring along too many stuff...

I stuff all the things in the big Naraya bag but it's real bulky...

Luckily, Dylan's ok with both stroller and carrier so I got the flexibility there...

Jinomo,
Like you I used to pack toys too but find that disposable bottles, spoons and etc captures his attention longer...

<font face="tahoma">wa... todays topic on going out in a carrier ar... kekek

hi jimono, i'm one of dimple's gang... go out in a carrier, a shoulder bag, and take public transport - bus and mrt.

LY does sleep in carrier... even in sling... (JJmom can witness it... haha) will only bring strollers when hb and car is around... if no car, we will carry her in carrier...

my bag is heavy too, as she is on FM, got to bring out thermal flask, bottle, drinking cup, biscuits, water bottle for cool water... FM, her clothes in case it gets dirty... wipes... wa... sounds a lot hor... keke... but recently, i stopped bringing out the thermal... will request for hot water instead... or if m going to a place where i know they provide hot water...</font>

jellypurin
which carrier do u use? yr hb also use it too or hand carry? u hv tat experience tooo lol, &amp; ya my brat is a brawling fussy one too... nowadays also keep pulling down my top

Purple
LOL! Dimple's gang. Heh. I'm in the gang too. So you want to join us at Mona's?

XY
Do you have Wan Chuen's number?

Elch,
Yah! But not forgetting still got diapers, wet wipes, extra clothes, changing mat! My longchamp is packed to the max. for each outing trip!

Karen,
Dun have Wan Chuen's no.

Dimple, Purple, Karen
Me also ur gang. Keke... Mint also part of this "Everywhere with carrier and baby gang".

elch
yr meal solution sounds gd, cut down alot of stuff... i also avoid having to bring porridge out if possible, in fact i dun even hv a thermal flask .. which jar food do u get? ya somehow babies like all those plasticky disposable stuff

purple
oh my, salute u too! any tips how to manage it all when out alone? u got helper wif u when u go out? u alternate betw sling and carrier, or bring both? which sling r u using? yr diaper bag sounds really heavy, such a super mummy u are

Jinomo,
I'll give him Healthy Times jar food like Little Bear's Stew, Grandma's Turkey Dinner and etc. Mostly those which sounds more filling.

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies, have your bb started to wear L size diapers? Am thinking to 'upgrade' wenmin to L size le. Altho she can still fit into M size but I think she would feel more comfy in L size esp I think the cutting for drypers is not very big.</font>

jimono,

a... tips... not really leh... been doing this since bb was like 3 mths old... and no helper... i'm alone...

i alternate between sling and carrier... as for carrier... m still searching for the 'right' one... keke... m using the naforya brand... light weight carrier... or the H carrier...

not a super mummy la... think once u master it... it's nothing to u...

<font color="aa00aa">XY
I see
. It will be easier for me wenmin wear L size diapers cos same as korkor
.</font>