(2008/10) Oct 2008

good morning mummies!

Trace, I can imagine how u feel now. I was mega stressed during party planning. Told me hubs even giving birth wasn't so stressful! hahaha.... He said, I brought it all on myself for fussing over the smallest details for the party.

Mint, I suggest if u concern abt the electricity bill, you can use the thermos or endo magic pot. You cook over the stove the night before and then place pot into the thermos holder and let the porridge "cook" overnight. Then you might want to put pot back on stove again and put in meats/fish and veg to cook thouroughly? I use the endo magic pot to cook soups or desserts for myself/hubs.

Bigflamingo, u are a yummy mummy! Baby Julian is gorgeous.

Mona, are u sahm now? I LOVE BAKING, but not that good at it. Need practice. May I ask what are u guys baking? I would love to attend if session is not too long. I can provide cupcake/muffin cases. I have some cute Suzy Zoo and PowerPuff girls cases!

Been wanting to ask mummies here, do u still take your babies out in your carriers? Are they still willing to be placed in carrier and able to nap in it?

busy bee
my rebekah will let me carry her in a carrier and not sit in a pram. she slps in my ergo... am thinking of investing in beco or pikkolo but i dunno if i shd...

re: jg trial
anyone call or shall i do it?

busy bee
I do.

Jelly
Think we pair up on our own and each pair will do their own calling/booking.

party supplies
mummies, anyone knows where ca I find a brick and mortar shop? Want to buy coloured paper plates too.

Jelly,

JG trial...
Trials start from 3rd week of term only. U mummies going to evans branch? Minibee and I will be at forum. Let me know if any of you coming for that session, we can have tea. But last I heard pretty full. So you might want to check with them, they break for holiday this week tho.

Carrier,
So when you take her out you dun bring your stroller? I am thinking of doing that for classes. A bit cumbersome to bring so many things for class. You may want to consider investing in the Patupam (dunno the exact brand, think that's what its called). Its a toddler carrier.

Karen, if you are looking for Plates in Primary colours ( yellow, red, blue), you can find them at Cold Storage. But I saw Pink plates at the Party Shop at Tan Quee Lan Street (near Bugis), quite expensive tho. I tried the cornware environmentally friendly partyware. Not as expensive as the coloured plates, it comes in a cream(pearly) colour not the stark white plates. I also got the party plates and napkin for the Fun at One theme to match the decor, but frankly I think the guests just oohed and aahhed for that 1 min. Then no one bothered! hahaha...

<font color="0077aa">busybee
most of the time i use carrier only when bring my girl out even with my hb, i dun like to use pram, very troublesome.
just let her sleep in the carrier.

<font color="0077aa">busybee
maybe i nvr go out whole days even yes will have break for lunch/dinner or milk time so it will be a break for me loh
so far ok lah i thk if good carrier wont be so tiring </font>

karen

ok lah ok lah, you win, mrs sparkly eyes.

bigflamingo

sorry JULIAN is super duper cute! You too!

bluey

got the disc! thanks, love the pix. sent for printing liao! haha.

karen

so you need someone to supply flour ah? You can supply baking trays? I can bring prima self raising flour. will that suffice?

busybee

join us! you can leave anytime u need. this not hotel california hiak hiak.

I still bring bb out with carriers. you should see us when we meet. we plop them out onto highchairs as we dine (and they whine - after a while) and then milk them (or rather they milk us) and then usually they fall asleep in our arms. or when we carry them around in the carriers to continue shopping etc, sometimes they fall asleep too. i love it when mine falls asleep on the mrt ride back. BLISS. no need to entertain her or stop her from touching strange men's arms. hahahahaha! I'm in a strange mood today pls excuse me.

busybee
Hee dimple already answered for us. Yah, if they're tired, they will be able to nap in the carrier. My girl naps easier in the Beco than the Connecta. Having said that, my girl has rarely been put in the stroller. She whines within 10 minutes. And naturally has never slept in the stroller before.

Dimple
Really depends on what we are baking, right? Oh yah, and we need mixer, and mixing bowl. I believe the ovens come with baking trays already?

Mona
Do you have a baking tray? Should come with the oven, yes?

i think she only has an oven. she's on training till friday so cannot access forum easily. i think too ma fan... how are you going to bring mixer? u got another replacement maid already?

i think we just chill and order food in whatcha think? or a couple of us can trot down to tiong bahru plaza to ta pao macs or something. so near...

Dimple
I must really attempt it one day. First I need to convince hubs I can manage. He is so worried his princess will be uncomfortable!

Abt Baking, ok. Can't confirm now. Depends on the Lil Miss!

busy bee,
Dylan can even sleep when carried by the cheapo H-carrier! So napping for babies when in carrier is no issue as they are bound to nap better when they sense and smell us nearer to them....

busy bee

maybe he'll be more chill with a bb boy... girl = princess, daddy must protect haha. what's yr ideal gap for number 2? or are you in the just one will do camp?

I'm thinking at least 2 yrs age gap for me.

Elch, but do does dylan perspire when in carrier? Minibee is a sweat bucket! Perspiring all the time! If she could be in aircon all day, she would love it. But I try not to make it a habit, too dry for her skin and also she would not be able to tahan when she starts school!

Dimple, I think one will do. But i feel ideal gap is abt 2 at most 3 years. Never 4yrs, too stressful. When #1 taking Os, #2 taking PSLE. I think I can not handle that exam pressure from 2!! Hahaha, hubs and I will be worrying ourselves silly!

dimple,
are you going for the stage and such tom?

busy bee,
when i go out by myself, i usually sling rianne. when i go out with hubby, we will use a carrier cause he doesn't know how to use a sling. rianne can sleep in both. we seldom use our stroller now cause it's quite troublesome to bring up and down the stairs.

Joanne, Minibee LOVES her Stroller. She can sleep for 1 hr or more in it. But I will surely try taking her out in a carrier soon.

busy bee
minibee will be one baby my hub will point at and asks how come our daughter can;t be like her. guai guai sit in her stroller.

joanne
dimple will be going tomm.

busy bee,
i see.. my hubby doesn't like using it very much. since we don't have a car here it's quite troublesome plus i think he hates having to clean the wheels every time after we go out. hehe..

karen,
i see.. so will be seeing her tom then.

I'm so concussed today. Regina fussed till 3am, then woke up at 6.30am and 8.30am.

Sigh! Later sure fall asleep in class.

Karen,
Ya only runny nose no fever but she gets blocked nose also and that makes it hard for her to breathe so she's cranky. My mum will be looking after her later when I go for my class.

dimpletot,
I read a sharing from another thread that a nutritionist from KKH said that brown rice will affect baby's weight gain. So white rice is better as they need the carbo. Yikes! No wonder Regina is not putting on weight. Katie's weight and Regina's weight are the same now. So today's porridge is 2 scoops white rice and 1 scoop brown rice. Let's see in 2 weeks if any weight gain.

<font color="119911">jelly, karen,

i also hope my Nat is like little kate = gentle guai guai sweet missy (^_-)v</font>

bbgoh, everafter,

So far I've been preparing 2 meals together and then reheat. No problems leh. Maybe it's because I double boil the porridge. It doesn't turn watery in the evening.

Plus I dun really buy into old wives tales about 'wind' in tummy when eat re-heated food. Unless there's a scientific explanation for it.

JJmom,
We're in the same plight... sobz! I also dun know where she got the bug from. On Sunday I only went to church and then to my grandma's place. Haiz!

can i join in yr discussion on carriers? my 10 month old daughter is also carried in the ergo (either myself/hb) when we r out, seldom used pram. but how do u mummies handle the diaper bag when using carrier, or wat diaper bag is suitable for using with carrier? also how to manage taking MRT/public transport? i've brought her out on my own b4, but damn shack, so much walking n carrying to do... she also cant sleep or guai guai stay in pram for long
wats yr secrets??

jinomo
hmm, i chjange bags often but I know Le sportsac is a fave for diaper bags. Huge, functional and very lightweight. Oh and water-resistant too.

mint
hmm Regina seems to get the bug pretty often from church.

<font color="119911">mint,

Nat juz started with blocked nose last nite then running nose this morn &amp; start to have slight fever now liao. She only been at nanny &amp; home, think i can only blame the weather

btw how do u double boil, using the pot over stove or slowcook?</font>

jinomo
i can handle the diaper bag on my owe if i carry my bub... i change bag very often too

jjmom
one thing i am worry now is i am down with cold then rebekah is also a little under the weather... scared saturday join u all, we both have to wear masks!

<font color="119911">jelly,

i so worried we can't even attend
really hope Nat will b well soon b4 then.</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Hi mummies,

All the little fellow are very cranky when they caught flu and the most diffcult part is the mucus that stuck in their little nose. Then they will rub their little nose and bring the virus to their little eyes when they rub their eyes and there coming teary eyes.

My little tips: I let my gal sleep at an slight upright angle so that the mucus doesn't flow back to her nose so that she can breathe better during her sleep.</font></font>

busybee,
I do have a the thermal pot but it's too big to cook a small portion of porridge. Not economical at all so now considering getting a small 1.3l slow cooker or crockpot.

Regina still likes the Ergo and can sleep in it. Doesn't like the stroller unless it's kept moving all the time. Faint!

dimpletot,
What's the brand of slow cooker that you got?

Mint,
How do u double boil your porridge? I've this poor estimation on the water required for cooking porridge. Ended up i've to go monitor the slow cooker every nw and then. Cos my fussy boy doesnt eat watery porridge, must be nice texture type! argh!

Mint

mine is cheapo housewarming gift that I din think I'd ever use cos so tiny. Toyomi brand.

Jinomo
i usually use Lesportsac cos bag itself v light. Need all the help I can get in the weight area. When I feel more hiao / esp muscular that day, will carry jujube cos love the print. But usually we mums park ourselves at one eating place so not lugging the bag hours on end.