(2008/10) Oct 2008

Jelly, I know NUBY have toddler cups that go up to 320ml. So you might want to look at getting a NUBY toddler cup.

Whitepaper, no leh, U dun look tired at all. Think most Mums have this tired/shagged out look! I need to jiak por and go back to my coffee, maybe that will energise me!

Chores....
I find that investing in the right tools help... Otherwise its definitely a pain having to do the chores day in and day out.... I swear by my leifheit and roman mop! Best buy!

Bluey

thanks! Excited to check mailbox!

Fm

think I'll try cows milk In the day when Kate turns one. prob from sippy cup or straw spout since she's off teat for almost a yr... Will still latch her for morning and night so hopefully she gets whatever nutrients she needs from those two feeds.

Hi mummmies,

Just to share as I have been for both Stage n Such trial and Julia Gabriel trial.

I found JG to be far superior and we will starting the Playnest classes Wed/Fri 11am at Evans Road (prefer Evans Road as there is outdoor play area. At Forum, the "outdoor" area is actually indoors)

JG class is longer at 1.5 hours vs SnS is only 1 hour. But JG class has a break so your bb can recharge. My bb was very very cranky after SnS as too difficult to concentrate for so long. I found that JG teachers are much more interactive and know how to communicate with bb, whereas SnS is probably better for older kids as the teachers tend to "talk at" rather than "talk to" the bb.

The SnS teacher is formerly from JG so the class has a similar style to JG, feel it is a mini-version of the JG class but lacks the quality of JG.

Hope that helps!

everafter,
Dylan's a real entertainer...can make huby and I laugh our heads off with his funny antics!

JJmom,
I did show him by holding his hands since months back but to no avail leh...I always sing 'Head and Shoulders, Knees and Toes' and hold his hands to touch the body parts accordingly...he always holds his toes when asked but when it comes to head/ears/nose/mouth, he'll just hit them hard! Think he loves his toes better than the rest of his body as that's the 1st body part he knows at around 7 months old...

Jelly >
Yes I am blessed. My hubby sends me to and fro work, and to and fro my mum's place everyday, regardless of time, even if his work time does not coincide with mine. And if I have dinner appt, he will drive to my office, pick up the milk and send to my mum's, then go home. He will also take my pump. Just so that I can go dinner with just a small bag, and not dragging the heavy pump
I really treasure him

busy bee>
must be my makeup... hahahahahahaha... dun take coffee... I dun think coffee is good leh... if really there's any secret, it must be that I keep a jovial mindset

<font color="119911">everafter,

bryan is still with your mom for wkdays nites? &amp; u only go home after u put him to bed? like what time?

my mom also suggest us to leave Nat with her on wkdays &amp; only pick her for wkends.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Jelly dear,

Thanks for sharing

Whitepaper,

Agree with Busybee that you look radiant, unlike me so dull/haggard/fat &amp; lumpy *sighs*

JJMom,
Yup, he's still at my mum place on wkdays. I wont wait till he goes to bed lah. If i'm alone, i'll leave ard 830pm then reach hm abt 920pm..Very tired leh..maybe i failed badly in time management lor

<font color="119911">whitepaper,

u forgot your other secrets to your radiant glow : your loving, supporting hubby &amp; mom

2 impt ppl to help u so tat u don't have to worry abt CH at all, knowing he is in gd hands

envy...i m haggard with panda eyes

JJMom,
I thought your nanny looking after Nat? mm..i would say that u wouldnt want to jus bring her hm on wkends since beginning u've been bringing her hm everyday. If not for my hb's working location/timing, i would want to bring bryan hm everyday. The few hrs every night is very precious. Sometimes when i'm at my mum plc playing with him, he'll suddenly crawl and hug my mum. My heart just sank
can't helped to feel upset even though that's my own mum

<font color="119911">everafter,

No lah, it's not abt your time management lah. Tat's the reason tat we don't c the point of putting Nat over at my mom's for the wkday nites, end up we don't get to have enough time with Nat &amp; still don't have much time for any other stuff when we reach home so late. Plus the traveling to &amp; fro, makes it even more tiring. Tat's our thoughts lah =P</font>

Dimple, yeah. Do check again abt the trial fees, in case I am wrong. Yeah we were exploring playgroup options, did our research then decided on signing up as we heard lots of positive feedback from friends and also I feel its time I stop being a hermit.... Hahaha. I have been staying indoors mostly since I had minibee...

Whitepaper, i need to learn from u abt having a positive/jovial mindset. Been psyching myself up these last few days and so far so good. I really need to keep up with the positivity as I know it will rub off on minibee. As she seems happier too!

jelly,
rianne was on my bed sleeping. usually i'll move her to her cot so that i could do some chores. but today she was sleeping on her side and so soundly that i didn't have the heart to move her.

cheer bear,
thanks again for bringing the ht stuffs. didn't realize that it's so bulky. i actually forgot that i bought 8. hehe.

Whitepaper so ur secret is Hanskin BB Cream!! Hahaha

Porridge, need advice again. Sorry need to ask questions abt porridge again. As she has been rejecting porridge till now, I am really new to this. Do u mums find that ur baby is fuller with a porridge meal vs a cereal meal? Minibee was mega full and napped longer after her lunch yesterday and even skipped her dinner. I only served her half a chinese spoon of rice cooked into porridge. When scooped into her bowl portion looks similar to her cereal meal.

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
Dont worry lah. Am sure Bryan is going to be taller than 1.6m!

busy bee
Am going to get the Nuby toddler cup for my boy liao. I think it is better to wean him off from teat earlier. My bil's younger daughter was still using bottle at 5 yrs old. </font>

busy bee > jiayou jiayou! It really helps to have a positive mindset when you face life's challenges!
hahaha yes the BB cream is one of my secrets

I measure Marcus while he's sleeping, i get abt 74cm. But when he standing, only 70cm. hmm... is it i measure wrongly?

Everafter,
Bryan is tall. Woo hoo...

Whitepaper,
u think CH's 150ml is little. Marcus only max 120ml. Sigh... but he's on 3 solids per day now.

Talking abt weaning and introducing FM
I have not intro FM before to Marcus. Since Day 1 is BM. Hospital tried to give him FM on Day 1 and 2 coz my BM didn't really come in, but he rejected. Haha...

Busybee

I think porridge is more filling becos of higher water content. Kate takes 1.5 Chinese spoons twice a day. And can still eat in between! But she's only abt 8.5kg dunno why!

XY,
Measure his height when standing might not be accurate? I measured with him lying down and we tried to straighten his legs to measure. I hope we didnt measure wrongly, cant believe he's tall leh!

Everafter,

why standing not accurate?
we also measure ourselves standing right?
Marcus head almost touching my dining table. And that is about 70cm.

Whitepaper, i will jiayou!! Gambatte. I psched myself and been more productive with chores and time management. So I think I need to get my act together for minibee's sake.

Dimple, wow kate eats alot!! Minibee eats half spoon porridge with 1 oz of veg puree. Then i give her abt 2 tblspoon of fruit puree sometimes i give yoghurt. So do u cook twice or cook a big batch and serve in morning and then evening.

XY, i think u need to measure Marcus lying down. That's how the clinic does it.

Mousebb, yeah i think the nuby toddler bottles look good. I got one for minibee but she hasn't taken to the straw or sippy spout. I like that its BPA free.

XY,
mm..not sure leh, i follow clinic's style to measure when lying. But mayb he's btw 70-74cm since difference not alot? At 1st i measure i got a shock as few mths ago he's 72.5cm already, cant be few mths time jus grow 1cm taller mah? then re-measure again to get 78cm. Might be wrong also!haha

<font color="aa00aa">jelly
Then wenmin is also a shorty! Recently when we measured her height, it was between 71-75cm cos she kept struggling. Very difficult to keep her still.</font>

For Speech and Drama, another interesting class is Act3 Academy class. I think they are fantastic. Attended a storytelling workshop and picked up many useful tips! They have classes for bubs 18 mths on. I would like something in Mandarin for our bubs. Mine is terok. So I really think she needs the boost. I keep reminding myself no hothousing, such a thin line of mere enrichment vs overstimulation!

just curious, what teething gel do you all use? rianne doesn't have teeth yet. but lately i noticed that her gum change color a bit. i can see something white. but when i feel her gums, i don't feel anything. so not sure if she'll be teething soon.

<font color="aa00aa">Joanne
My gal is also using dentinox. It's good to standby a tube in your fridge

Busybee
I cook in slow cooker once for the day, 2 meals. 3 spoons rice grains, after soft add in one bb cube of veg, meat. Total fruit intake 4 bb cubes. Recently added snack in between porridge meals consisting of bread + egg yolk / puff snacks / yoghurt. 3 milk feeds.

Basically she is tum jia. When adults are eating she has to have sth to munch on. But happy problem I guess!

Busybee
I cook in slow cooker once for the day, 2 meals. 3 spoons rice grains, after soft add in one bb cube of veg, meat. Total fruit intake 4 bb cubes. Recently added snack in between porridge meals consisting of bread + egg yolk / puff snacks / yoghurt. 3 milk feeds.

Basically she is tum jia. When adults are eating she has to have sth to munch on. But happy problem I guess!

<font color="119911">dimpletot,

do u leave the 2nd meal in the slow cooker &amp; reheat it for later or u trf it to a thermal flask to keep warm?</font>

Dimple, wah Kate can really eat!! Very lucky for u. I need to train minibee to be less fussy! I cook the porridge the same way as u! In my mini slow cooker. Agree on your tactic to keep her occupied while adults are eating. I either try to coincide our meal times or give her small snacks too. But so far she only like the toothiepegs. Not keen on puff snacks or HT bear cookies...

JJmom, I normally just leave it in the slow cooker on keep warm function. My aunt nag at me saying it will cause wind in baby's tummy. But I think if i cook twice portion will be sooooo small so hard to prepare! Besides so far so good!

talking about preparing porridge... my mom has the same theory too... do not re-heat porridge else bb eat already tummy will hv wind :p

busybee,
Think stage and such is newly opened.

Yeah I'm considering JG's playnest. But Wed I can't make it. Will call them up for a trial session first.

Stage and such on Thurs:
Bad news ladies... Regina started sniffling today. Dunno what happened man! Haiz!!! She just recovered and now again! And I tot bf babies have better immune systems... maybe something wrong with my milk. Sigh sigh Sigh!!!!

<font color="119911">busybee, dimpletot,

will the porridge become too dry after leaving it out for so long plus reheating it again?

or did u add in water b4 reheating it again?</font>

mint
nothing wrg w ur milk... smthg wrg with the weather!

karen
gd idea
how do u want to do this? right now, keen on JG trial will be

1. karen
2. bluey
3. jelly

re: happybaby organic puffs
anyone tried? am giving to rebby and it is really nice cos i ate them as well.. almost took them like cereal... am thinking of approaching the distributor for a bp for Oct thread.

Jelly
Think my girl love the puffs but her fave snack is still the pigeon pieces (fish &amp; vege). Sigh, my girl is super unmotivated when it comes to food. I doubt I can finish my three canisters yet.