(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">busybee
Actually we planned to check out the play gym at liang court and UE sqaure on this weekend but since wenxuan is going to start his playgroup in Oct, hubby said dont need to send him to play gym anymore and save the money for phonics lessons which we intend to send the kids at a later stage.</font>

Mousebb, i tot phonics is normally incorporated into the curriculum of the playgroup classes? The kindergarten minibee will be attending has it so no need to attend another class. It would be really taxing on u to shuttle from class to class...

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee
The phonics class is on weekend which hubby said let wenxuan starts when he is around 4yrs old. I think it would be useful for him too

Which kindergarten is mini bee attending?</font>

Karen I got appt with some friends at city hall on Friday but I can hang with u after 2pm cos they all gotta go back to their rat race...

dimple
Great! Then we'll meet!

Joanne
DLS is well liked by parents. But do note that they're temporarily moving to Teck Whye from next year onwards.

Busybee
wah mik so brave! She didn't cry when she hugged them to death?

cheer bear
I'm interested in Teddy puffs. Can collect by end sep?

Mousebb, I put her on the waitlist of Chatsworth. They are using Jolly Phonics. My friend who teaches in a kindergarten recommends zoophonics. You might want to check them out. Wah if WX goes for class on weekend u will have more free time!!! Then mummy can relax!

Everafter

I used thermos brand thermos. Haha. Katie also eating 1.5 spoons per meal. Plus one cube of veg and more meat. Usually one meal can still fit. Haven't tried two meals. Wah u going out whole day ah?

I think 1.5l will be too heavy to carry around though...

Dimple, no leh!! She is abolutely fearless. I was so worried since it can be a choking hazard. But she was totally cool abt it . So i told myself no more latex balloons for her from now on.... Now i can't wait to get her very first lantern!!

Yeah sometimes I wonder whether it'll be better to put Kate in full day childcare come 18 months rather than get a helper for my parents to supervise. Really dowan to get helper but in laws and parents seem keen.

Or I should work half time and not get helper nor childcare. Questions questions....

dimpletot
Oh sorry sch stands for school. Thou its early better plan now.
Karen
oh is it? Wow u sure know so much infor. U have a kid in DLS? Hrd from my friend tt many teachers left DLS fr Yew Tee Pri, is it true?

Dimpletot,
Sometimes we do go out quite early b4 his lunch hr then not gg hm as sending him to my mum plc, so need to feed him porridge outside for 2meals leh...seems like no mummies go out so long? :p

wow all talking abt sch liao.. stress leh..

dimpletot,
can pm me ur orders.. if the order less than $250 might drop the BP coz bo hua mah.

joanne
Err, I was a ex-teacher at DLS. Not really true that many teachers leave for YTPS la. Some also go Kranji. The P at Kranji is nice.

Blur,
U MIA too long frm this thread lah..a couple of us bought the Sophie frm EY mummy. She might still hv, u can check with her

Dimple, i am struggling with the same issue. But I have put Minibee on the waitlist of the Childcare Centres at raffles place area. I feel that in a school setting they probably learn more and be more comfortable when they transition to kindergarten.

<font color="ff0000">Thank you everyone, my son is well again. In fact he doesn't remember any of doing those "irrational" acts during his fever but remember the drips, hospital etc. I will never go back to that GP again. Don't know if i will get blacklisted if i put the clinic name here though. We went back there to demand an explanation and he really apologised sincerely but still, it was a horrible experience. We are trying to put that behind us now and move on.

Wah all the mommies here are really into organising theme party for your little one. Hehe for Skylar, we just planned a simple family gathering instead of throwing a theme party.

Both my hubby and I feel that Skylar won't know how to appreciate all the hoohas. We gonna wait until she is a bit older than throw birthday party for her so that she can also invite her little friends.

dimplet
DLS=De La Salle and YT= Yew Tee
Karen
So now you are a full time housewife? So envy can spend more time wif bb.
blur,
Wats Sophie Giraffe?

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Hi everafter,
Can't seems to find EY mummy after i do a search on the author's name. Anyone have her contact/email. Can PM me?

Hi Joanne,
I can get Sophie Giraffe, the teether (http://www.sophie.sg/)at a price cheaper than what BP is selling. But MOQ is 24 pcs. So looking for mummies to add to the numbers.</font></font>

cupidangels
Hi, dont really know wat had happened but glad tt yr son is well! My son will be 1yrs old next mth but will not be throwing a party. We planned a simple family gathering instead. Wow..so many mummies are planning a theme party, sounds so fun!

Joanne
Nope, just a temporary SAHM. Not housewife la. Cos I never do housework. Wahahah.

Gioanna
Me too. But since we're booking function room, I'm thinking of doing a theme but wondering if it's going to be a waste of $$ since it's only family. I do like Busy Bee's idea of a video montage. Must as well make good use of the photos I spent $$ taking. Let others enjoy. Sigh, still thinking if I should decorate the function room a little with theme.

Busy bee

u are one well prepped mummy! Childcare, kindy, pri all thot out.

Photo montage
reminds me I need to get cracking on stitching all her videos together... Yrs was only photos? Did u add videos?

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Hi Karen,

You can check cheap balloons from http://www.yeogm.com.sg/ba.html but they don't have party theme. Only Metallic Plain
or Pearlized Plain colors ones.

Their retail shop is at:-
Yeo GM Traing
Blk 1 Rochor Rd #01-550
Rochor Centre
Singapore 180001
(Next to DBS Bank, and Opp NTUC)

They sell lots of party stuff but rather simple ones as compared to those that you find in the retail shop in Concourse.
</font></font>

DImple, what is HCJ? I'm lost... hahaha

Karen, are u using a mac? I used idvd to create my video. Very professional. Lots of themes and u can upload home movies/photos and your own music. Slideshow can even be timed according to the music. Really easy, I feel so cheated for paying the guy so much for doing my wedding dvd!! To think I having been using my macbook for sometime now but never really played around with idvd as I never saw a need to! hah!

Balloons, i did not get the big bouquets which can cost up to $50. I just got minibee a small one ( 1 mylar and 3 mini latex balloons, only $5 plus) and the fun at one themed high chair decor. So she was in her little throne when not being carried during the party. I tied her balloon to her high chair for her to entertain her....

how's everybody doing? couldn't logon here for a while. been busy organizing rianne's 1st bday. kinda hard cause need to coordinate with my sis and SIL. looks like my phone bill this month will be quite high.

busy bee,
wow! i haven't even thought about rianne's schooling yet. looks like i better catch up. hehe..

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Hi Joanne,
You are the 1st mummy who wanted to tag along. Need to meet MOQ of 24 pcs before I can get the price.
I'll noted your name 1st ya? Will PM you the price.</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">busybee
What is the different between jolly phonics and zoophonics? Is it the chatsworth at jalan kayu? </font>

Dimple, Childcare prep was out of necessity as I need to have it all settled before I head back to work. As for Kindy, I am particular abt the curriculum and the teaching staff so Chatsworth suits us best. For pri, was no brainer. Just head back to alma mater.

Video Montage, initially I did a video of her pics from birth. But hubs was saying too much!! He teased me that i was doing up an epic not a video montage! hahaha. So I settled with just the Sean Lau Studio pics and then I did a photo garland as well. I used scrap material to do little signs of "First Peek", "New Born", 1mth to 11 mth and I strung pics of her with the tag on a ribbon. I used mini pastel wooden pegs I got from daiso to hang the pics on the ribbon. It was really fun doing it up as I looked thru the pics looking for the best 1 pic to represent her at each stage.

busy bee
yah I'm using mac. thanks for the tip. will start playing. And I like the throne idea, just doubt my highness will stay in there.

mousebb, i am not too sure myself. Here is the link to zoophonics my friend sent me... http://www.zoophonics.com/index2.html
Abt kindy, yes chatsworth is at jalan kayu. For me, I didn't want to have to send minibee for another class. I dread shuttling from 1 place to another (lazy mummy!). So i just checked to make sure that the school offered additionals like music and movement, phonics, etc.

Yah I've completed her month by month 2 pg 12x12 LO already...
only thing that's done.

Hcj is hwa chong. Quite a few from yr Alma mater there.

Dimple, oh. I havoc mah. Wanted to go to a "fun" jc! I went to ACJ! hahaha.... Mambo on weds, Chaplins on fri and winebar on sats!! oops.... So much for studying! hahaha

Karen,
Actually i was struggling if wanna waste $ to deco also! haha...ended up like its to satisfy myself! hee..during our childhood where got such theme birthday party :p I hope i wont regret holding the party at hm..cos i cant imagine the clean-up after that

Everafter, I diy quite a bit of my decors too... So go the DIY route if u like, its fun and more meaningful actually!

Joanne, dun stress abt school. Just u might want to look into your choice kindergartens as there are already waiting list at some of the reputable ones.

Busybee,
mm...actually i also not doing alot of deco lah..jus 1 banner, scene setter and some balloons. But quite expensive also

Everafter, yeah i know what u mean. I got the themed plates and napkins and banner, all added up to quite a bit. Didn't get a scene setter tho, i improvised and used the floor mat of the highchair set as a scene setter!!! Used it as backdrop for photo taking! Turned out nice! I think what u have for decor sufficient already. Tot tell u the truth i think no one really paid attention to it. But it made me happy lor! hahaha