(2008/10) Oct 2008

elch,
I cooked according to the instruction. Boil water then put pasta into the boiling water and stir.. Cook till it's soft.. I tried myself if it's fully cooked before giving to bb. Drain and serve.. I add some milk n serve..

<font color="0000ff">JJmom,

My mum got used it to boil as stock for his porridge/brown rice

<font color="ff6000">bluey, jelly,
oh gd, then i can go ahead to cook for porridge stock too le. Heehee...dunno bb can take 'san yao' anot

XY, thanks for sharing dear

Long time no log in liao.

Re: Porridge
Regina only like brown rice porridge and not white rice. Usually I will vary the food that I cook with the porridge. She's now taking fish/pork with different veg. So I will always have 1 protein and 1 veg or sometimes 2 in her meal. She ends off her meal with a pureed fruit. Went to buy beef yesterday and will try making pasta bolognese for her. Heehee!

Regina is now on 3 meals a day plus 4 to 5 milk feeds.

dimpletot,
How to prepare turnip? I'm always tempted to try but I dun know how to prepare it.

Karen,
I'm using a hook on high chair. Is this the one that you're talking about? We usually leave it in the car and use it when we go out.
http://www.chiccousa.com/gear/highchairs-hookons/hippo-travelSeats/hippo-travelSeat-adventure.aspx

Tweety,
Shall cook the pasta this weekend!

Dimpletot,
My boy has tasted turnip in strips...it's actually part of the side dish served with a dish I ordered so I just gave it to him...think he played with it more than ate it though...

<font color="aa00aa">I received my Hanamugari Carrier today. Tried it on both kids and they like it very much esp wenxuan. He kept crying after I brought him out from the carrier.</font>

elch,
shawn also eating 'rojak' veg porrideg with fish

everafter,
u might wan to try the ntuc brand silken tofu coz no egg one and is trans fats free

mummies, wat is san yao?

also how to cook the pasta stars? i try once but shawn dun like

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
At first when i tried it on wenmin, he kept calling "korkor Korkor" so I also tried it on him and he likes it so much! Now still crying wor! Cham ah! </font>

<font color="0000ff">cheerbear,mspiggy,

hmm...山药is a kind of root, skin is dark brown colour, fresh is whitish. Can get this at wet mkt or NTUC
it's vy nutritious too

purple,
Wish me luck for my next test in Augt.. hee..

shan yao:
What is this huh???

elch,
U got to try the pasta if it's soft or not k.. else v hard leh.. and feed slowly ya..

cheerbear,
I boiled pasta with water only.. add milk to serve.. I'm thinking of adding other things next wk, still thinking what to add..

carrier again??? hahaha.. This one is cheap.. I thought this carrier came long ago??

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
I carried wenxuan in it and he likes it very much!!!!

bbgoh
For this low price, I think it considered very good leh. Not bulky. Can just dump in my bag and bring out with me anytime.</font>

<font color="0000ff">mousebb,

since he is still crying for it then put it on for him, c will tat stop him from crying boh...heehee. Then u don't have to really carry him in it mah =P</font>

<font color="0077aa">mousebb
yah loh.. i find it not bulky.
nw when go out need a pram &amp; carrier, &amp; my ergo a bit bulky to kp in bag
haha find 1001 reason to buy another carrier, let me ask the buyer wat design she left

phtanus
yes, huai shan! i only know the cantonese name... just cant recall the chinese... duh... i use the fresh one, but hor, my aunt say to prepare it is a tough process... the fresh one got sap...

<font color="0000ff">phtanus,
i don't think 山药 (fresh root)&amp; 淮山 (dried) is the samething although i use both for soup b4. Bluey advise?

Actually 淮山 also can use for doing porridge stock bah, it's also a nutritious herb

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
I let him cry. I dont want to spoil him. If I carry him, wenmin would also want me to carry her as well! I told wenxuan when daddy comes home tonight, tell daddy to carry him instead. Haha!</font>

<font color="0000ff">mousebb,

No, i don't mean for u to carry him, juz give him the carrier only. Put the carrier onto him instead, better still, put a terry bear inside the carrier &amp; make him carry ard...hahaha</font>

mousebb,
I am looking forward to receive mine, coz dunno why, Isaac turned to be a koala bear since last week! *concuss*

<font color="aa00aa">Phtanus
Think Issac will like it too. My gal was so happy when she was in the carrier.</font>

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">jjmom and jelly,
thanks for the explanation, if it's 淮山 i think i know. saw the fresh ones from ntuc before. long long roots right?

how to prepare the fresh ones? any idea? </font></font>

hey..halloo...long time no log into forum..i see the topic is on makan...i've had a big problem with feeding but now, thank God, my baby is finally eating porridge..previously, she used to spit no matter how we cook it.
so now...my cousin told me, just put rice, threadfin fish, spinach/carrot/pumpkin, then just cook in crockpot until it thickens, becomes very soft, and fish dissolve, maybe 2 hours?
stir occasionally..
then okay already
my friend used to boil chicken stock with lots of vege once a week and freeze it then use it to cook porridge for the week.

JJmom, Jelly,
I also think is the same lay. When i go wet market with my MIL, she mentioned huai shan, the vege sellers will give her this:
2658894.jpg
2658895.jpg

Yaya, fresh one got sap, leh cheh...

<font color="0000ff">phtanus, jelly,
oh...so they r the same...hahaha, i din know =P

i was thinking of cooking the fresh 1 for porridge stock, vy leh cheh? Thou can juz cut away the skin then cut into small pcs to boil will do, no?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Phtanus,

Use the fresh one...

JJmom,

Yup that can be done cut into chunks dun cut too small

<font color="0000ff">RE: Huai Shan,

Can cook together with the porridge until cooked, else boil it for about 15-30 mins till soft then the stock can be used to cook porridge/brown rice.