(2008/10) Oct 2008

everafter,
I got the butcher to double mince the lean meat I bought...I stewed brown rice using the slow cooker and add shredding carrots about an hour before feeding and added in the minced pork just 10-15mins before feeding...I stirred the porridge for awhile when I add in the pork so that they are dispersed...not sure if the way I'm cooking is correct but Dylan finishes 4tbsp of porridge for each meal that day...his appetite was exceptionally good as compared to the grinded brown rice my mum prepared for him on weekdays....

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">Good morning!

wow.. your babies seems to be eating alot now. I havent started my Nat with porridge yet, going to start this week. bought some dried scallop from ZTP already.</font></font>

JJmom,
I understand ur point. Ya can also blend with the rice and disperse it in water/broth before cooking, provided the rice has been milled. Else the nutrients will lose if cooking for long.

everafter, bbgoh,
I just blend it with chopper lo, nothing special lay. Or you can also knife chopping a small amount, like what my mom doing last time.

Elch,
I thought they say not advisable to ask butcher to mince the pork for us as the machine might b dirty/contaminted? u mean dylan is eating 4 TABLESPOON of cooked porridge?

everafter,
U may wanna try tofu with fruits/vege! Isaac love it, make my feeding so much easier. Just get a pc for organic tofu, steam for abt 5 mins (optional), add in fruits/vege puree, blend it to serve. Hee...hope this helps!

mouse meat
what's the english name ah?

hook on high chair
any mummies buy these kinds of high chair? I wonder where to get.

<font color="0000ff">phtanus,
tofu is a gd item to try (^_-)b, thanks, gng to try it on my fussy little eater soon.</font>

bbgoh,
How to prepare french bean? do i jus give the skip and throw away all the bean inside?

Phtanus,
I thought of giving tofu, but it consists of soy/egg which i thought we suppose to give when they're 1YO?

i tried making porridge for rianne during the weekend. but she seems to choke on it and the porridge is tasteless. don't know if i did it correctly.

Thanks rebecca for sharing too.

Joanne,
Some of the mummies here cook with silver fish/ikan bilis/pork to make the porridge more tasty, u may wanna try

<font color="0000ff">Everafter,

U can mixed tofu with a variety of other food to enhance the taste, else you can try to cook Mee Sua oso

Think the organic tofu is going for 2 boxes at $3++ at NTUC, having promo for it now else it's $1.90 per box if I never remember wrongly.

everafter,
i tried to cook with fish. but i think i used cod fish. i steamed the fish first then minced it and mixed with porridge. still no taste le.

Karen
I dunno what the mouse muscle meat is called but I bought pork fillet, think it's selling at NTUC for $22.90 a kg. I bought a slice about $5.

Bbgoh
I think I bought yr company's pork. Haha, supporting yr industry.

Rains
don't feel stressed lah... We share not to compare. Must encourage each other. Motherhood is tough enough as it is.

<font color="0077aa">Karen
mouse meat is called pork muscle

dimpletot
haha u bought at NTUC? we onlt supply to certain outlet &amp; some wet market

French bean
i just sliced it into very thin &amp; small then add into porridge

have u try egg yolk to yr baby?
PD said after 6mth can try le, nw seline is 9mth liao m thking this weekend to try it </font>

I think most NTUC shd have it, go check out the tofu section

Bbgoh,

I've alrd started egg yolks for quite some time alrd, so far so gd

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
Dr Lilian Lim was the one who suggested we give spinach to the kids so we just followed her suggestion lor

everafter,
I read it's not advisable in 1 of the post here but I went ahead to get the butcher to mince as I was thinking that since the pork will be cooked then whatever bacteria will also be killed...cooking it is somehow like 'sterilizing' the pork...at least that's what I think...before cooking I'll rinse it abit 1st too...

Can try beetroot....I prepared it for Dylan 2 wkends ago...it's very nutritious...

Tofu:
Just bought 2 boxes over the weekend but yet to let my boy try...

Mousebb,
Oic. Then u cook spinach with what? Actually i'm quite picky on food myself, cant imagine hv to force bryan to eat when i myself dun eat it! haha

everafter,
I also got give spinach to Dylan...I'll mix it with beetroot or carrot or pumpkin or green peas...actually each day I'll just take 3 cubes of veges into a small container and defroze it at my mum's so when she wants to prepare Dylan's meal, she just scoop the amount she wants...Dylan's eating 'rojak' vege...hee...

Elch,
Oic. But bryan is slow in trying new food, so i gotta intro one at a time and whats more i'm always wary that it'll end up with the spitting episode again! Waste my effort and ended up hv to give him milk

everafter,
I worried that Dylan will get sick of the same vege so got to mix and match every now and then...when he spits I just stop feeding him and give him fruits and milk...so much easier...

hi mummies..
How's everyone?? I'm still on leave.. Feel so demoralised.. haiz..

purpleangel,
Wow.. COngrats.. so good to pass on first attempt.. Not like me.. sad..

everafter,
I give french bean too.. I cut into v small and cook in porridge.. nv blend..

elch,
I tried pasta, but I find it v plain so I add some milk.. Varner seems to like it maybe first time tried this..

tofu:
What type of tofu did you buy?? those from ntuc??

everafter,
I give spinach at time too.. I will mix 2 vege with 1 meat/fish to cook.. I will cut all the vege till v small so that I no need to blend again.. I think if you mix with other vege, spinach is not that awful.. The taste of meat/fish will cover it..