(2008/10) Oct 2008

bluey,penny,cheerbear,bbgoh,

Thanks! haha... but becos I did not bring along a photo today... i d not do my application... will do so tmr... but no confidence to drive on the road... lol

actually, i meant it was not raining heavily in my previous post... keke

lao shu rou: me went to get it last weekend after the lunch @ TCC..1st time i heard abt this oso =p

busybee: me bot it from the wet market at rivervale plaza there..can't rem how much though...
like you, i'm oso nt v familiar when 'shopping' at the wet market..was telling the aunty i wan bb spinach..she wan huh huh??..then she went (in chinese)..oooo, baby吃的菜,这个这个(pointing to the bb spinach) *roll eyes*
wanted to buy fish, stared for the longest time, mmm, too used to the supermarkets where everything is labelled =p

oh yah, and i found the shop that sells the pretty bloomers ! end up buying the 'holey singlet' for ashton cos the weather is soo hot !

purpleangle : congrats ! now, can drive bb out shopping !!

Nice scrapbooking layouts mummies =)

Trying to post on the overseas spree website but can't post
. Real irritating. The one and only time that i can post was the Jap Carrier thread which is in bulk purchase.

Hv emailed the moderator to ask them for access to post in WTS thread, also hv to replied.

Damn user-unfriendly..

<font color="#C24641"> purple
congratz!!!
sekali the rain bring u luck! =)
Thanks for the wishes!!

Penny
thanks for the wishes!!

bbgoh
haiz... viral fever.. betweent the range of 38.3 - 38.8

jolly
at least u can point to the seller what u wanna buy.. i simply just stand in the middle of the wet market n was like a lost sheep!!!

Lao Shu Rou - heard of that b4 but nvr tried b4. vry ex. they said 'Bu Jian Tian' are nice too leh.. but still nvr buy b4.. coz i long time nvr go wet market liao..

thanks jolly n rebecca!

jolly, haha... no $$ to buy car... so cannot drive bb around to go shopping.

rebecca, mayb u are right. i must thank the rain man... keke

porridge:
i'm cooking abt 1 scoop *FM spoon* for each meal..
my MIL cooks very sumptous porridge for my gal..
dry scallops, finsh, minced pork, spinach, broccoli, carrots, pumpkin..
usually i cook with pork n fish n 1 veg diced finely..
but mil will add in on top of above dry scallops or wolfberries or extra dunno wat herb she say found in the "si shen fen"

feeding:
my gal is almost taking in food every 2 hrs..

morning - 180ml milk+ brown rice powder
lunch (1230) - 1 bowl porridge
lunch (2hrs after porridge) - 180ml milk
dinner (1630) - 1 bowl porridge
evening (2hrs after porridge) - 180ml milk
nite feed (b4 bed ard 1030) - 210ml milk + 1/2 scoop rice cereal

tat explains her size

pork:
think the leanest is the loin meat?

rebecca, hope erin recovers fast.. take care

congrats purpleangle on passing!!

jolly, think spinach is "wong cai"

<font color="#C24641"> purple
LOL!!! raining heavily is hard to drive on the road leh.. n u can passed even if raining heavily. good la.. haha!!!

Jen
thnaks for the wishes!!

Jellypurin,

I have organised a kindermusik trial group b4. If 12 bb, 1 bb is free. So remember to get this freebie from them.

As for scrapbooking, I lazy n also find my handwriting too ugly. I recommend digital photobook, kind of like doing scrapbook online. Here is the website: www.artscow.com

Anyone bb like to pass u things? My gal recently like to give us things n expect us to return her n she give us back. She can go on n on, non-stop. So tiring but very funny. Haha...

Morning mummies...
Tired!!! My boy woke up at 5am this morning smiling, laughing, chattering and playing! Argh!!!

jjmom,
Dylan takes 3-4 naps in the daytime, ranging from 15mins - 2 hours...at night he'll sleep at around 9pm....

morning mommies

ypg
not enough mommies to start private class now

elch
maybe that is the reason why dylan is waking up too many times a nite? frequent napping and early slp time? rebekah wakes up at 6am most of the time

Jelly,
How much should he naps at his stage? As for sleeping eary, I don't think he's sleeping early at 9pm considering he has to wake up latest by 6.30am as I understand that a baby needs around 10 hours of sleep at night...

elch
u were right to say that a bub needs 10-12hrs slp. can share ave how long dylan slps at nap time? cos recommeded is 1 x 2hrs and 3x30-45mins per day..

everafter
hee, lao shu rou is like a pc of fillet pork... expensive meat and has only 2 pcs in one pig...

Jelly,
Dylan sleeps 2 X 15-30mins, 1 X 1hr, 1 X 2hr...roughly around there...but during weekends, he sleeps 1 X 1-1.5hrs, 1 X 2-2.5hrs....

What's the difference betweeen lao shu rou and lean meat? Dylan had his 1st taste of pork on Sun and I got him lean meat...

Do you blend the fish before you give to your babies? I don't dare to give my baby fish yet becos I'm worried she might choke on it. I grind the rice into bits, nearing powder form, and grind the ikan bilis, and blend the carrots. I read that you mummies are feeding your babies with fish and pork. How do you do it? Or your babies can chew already is it?

Sometimes I feel a bit pressured when I read your baby's development. My baby still can't sit very upright on her own for long. And when she tries to crawl, she only manages to push her butt up, without moving an inch.

<font color="0077aa">morning mummies

haha u girls talk abt muscle meat?
muscle is diff with fillet ler.. fillet is whole big one, most ppl use muscle as its small piece so most suitable to use for baby as they not eat a lot. fillet more expensive than muscle, the diff abt $10/kg.
so fillet still the most expensive one. </font>

<font color="0000ff">elch,

i m no expert on bb sleeping but i have problem with Nat's sleeping too so i read up quite a bit on it.

according to books :
bbs at this age, needs 10~12hrs sleep at nite (u r right on this
but at this age, they only need to take 2~3 naps in the day, total nap hrs shd b ard 3hrs.

Example : morning nap - 30~45min
noon - 2hrs (this shd b the longest nap)
afternoon - 30~45min (if bb has not nap well previously, if bb nap well, this shd b the shortest nap)

Try to put bb to bed earlier, sometime bb don't sleep well coz they r put to bed too late &amp; being over-tired, they don't sleep well. It's a misconception tat ppl try to make bb sleep later, thinking this will make bb sleep thru the nite.

Hope this will help but diff bb have diff sleeping pattern, what works for 1 doesn't work for others. Try diff ways till it work bah

Rains,
I steam the carrots and fish b4 cookin in porridge. Fish dun need to blend as it will soften after steam. I mash and feed directly. For pork, i dont give as my boy no teeth. I only cook pork for flavour purpose. Not to worry abt your bb development, he/she might skip the crawling stage

<font color="0000ff">bbgoh is right, meat fillet is diff from muscle meat

hmm...but i thou muscle more ex...</font>

<font color="0077aa">jjmom

trust me, fillet is the most expensive one :p i work at pork company, australia pork importer </font>

<font color="0000ff">bbgoh,
oic...hahaha, then u r the best person to advise us on anything pork. Trust u...heehee (^_-)v</font>

<font color="0000ff">RE: Lao Shu Rou vs Fillet,

Bbgoh, you are right... pork fillet is the most expensive of the part of the whole pig.

Lao Shu Rou is soft but becos it's the muscle part so it contains more veins/tendons.

<font color="0000ff">bluey,
which is y i thou isn't lao shu rou a bit hard for bb? I think 腰肉 will b beta?

bbgoh, what's your advise?

JJmom,
Thanks for the info! Shall share the napping info with my mum...
Read about the misconception of letting baby sleep later so they'll wake up later in the morning before as well...I always try to 'tune down' Dylan after 8.30pm so he'll sleep anytime from 8.30-9.15pm...hard to let him sleep earlier than that as we need to pick him up at my mum's place after work, bathe and etc...

<font color="0077aa">everafter
fillet is 'yao rou' or 'mei rou'
normally during confinment we eat fillet, then muscle most use for baby. but i also use fillet for seline

JJmom
haha for pricing &amp; diff cuts name i noe well lah, but dun ask me which part got contains wat :p </font>

Morning all,
I almost died of engorgement yesterday! I was on TCM, and the MH's auntie told me not to pump anymore, as continue pumping will stimulate the ss, the BM will dry up after taking the TCM. Thus I din bring pump to office. Who knows by late afternoon, the engorgement already set in! By the time I reached home, both my boobs were super hard, like consisted of hundreds of big and small stones, cant lifted up my hands properly too! Quickly choing into the room and pump! Heng, my boobs back to "normal" after that. No choice, have to lug my pump to office today...really no joke!

<font color="0000ff">JJmom,

U are right, tht's why advisable for those ladies in confinement to take that "yao rou"

Just a small pc from NTUC is about $5 as compared to other cuts.

<font color="0077aa">JJmom
i ever tried once for muscle but i find it a bit 'dry' but accordingly to my boss she said muscle is better bocz of the cutting loh.
tats y i use back fillet, then i sliced it &amp; pack individually. just take out 1pkt for once time cooking.
normally 1whole piece of fillet i can pack it into abt 10pkt bah </font>

<font color="0000ff">JJmom,

My mum bought hers from the wet mkt, and normally a small piece costs about $8-9 so every time she will buy a few pcs for the week.

So far, my boy has oni been eating "yao rou" which is used to favour his porridge and minced into small bits and mixed into porridge.

<font color="0077aa">Phtanus
u still have to clear yr breast de..
i had same expereience as u too when i abt to stop. u got to pump but not pump till dry, maybe just half. very fast within 1wk its ll auto dry le

<font color="0000ff">Rain,

U can either steam/boil the fish together when cooking with the porridge, just mashed it with a fork into small pieces and look out for any bones before adding it into the porridge.

Dun get too stressed and uptight about yr child's development, every individual progresses differently at every stage. Most importantly, dun compare else you will make yrself 'miserable'.

Actually we can give minced pork to our little bubs, just need a "trick" in cooking, and very easy too. One u mince the pork, u add some water/broth to it, then use a spoon/chopstick to disperse it in the water/both. Make sure it is well-dispersed w/o those lumps and boil it on the stove ufor about 5mins until it fully cooked. U can use the water/broth to cook ur porridge and blend the pork with porridge when it ready. My son has no problem to eat the pork porridge although he still bo gay now.

<font color="aa00aa">Just have another battle with my gal. She fussed and cried when I feed her the porridge. The moment I put her in the play yard with korkor, she starts to smile again! Haiz!!!</font>

<font color="ff6000">Phatnus,
Juz to share, I would prefer to do the blending b4 cooking to avoid getting too much 'wind' in the porridge &amp; may cause tummy discomfort for our bbs

<font color="aa00aa">phtanus
While you are on medication to stop your milk supply, you still need to pump de. Just pump enough to relieve your engorgement but dont empty the breasts. Do this for a few days and your milk supply will eventually stopped.</font>

<font color="ff6000">rain,
my nat still not ok in taking her porridge, even cereal, also depends on her mood
most of bbs here r taking pork for taste nia, not really eating/chewing it.

Nat also on all 4 but dare not move an inch stage, she will cry for help &amp; we juz cheer her on &amp; encourage her to move nia.

So no worries mommy

<font color="0077aa">phtanus
how u minched the pork?
i also only cut into very small piece then grind while feeding </font>

<font color="#C24641"> Morning Mummies!!

rains
i dun blend the porridge for my BB. coz she dun like. but for the fish.. i will buy threadfin.. no need to blend n will be fall into small pieces.