(2008/10) Oct 2008

Talking abt sippy cups, I bought the pigeon one with sprout. My girl kept biting on it, as if to bite it off! They shld be holding it upwards like how they drink from bottle right? Do you mummies let your babies drinkg milk from the sippy cups, or just water? Mine still drinkg milk from bottle.

hiya mommies

Hows everyone this morn?

Walker - seems like most of you have gotten the walker. I am still undecided as am not sure if it will become a white elephant eventually. Those that can convert into a car is good though I already have 1 of those - a gift! The Playskool bundle seems v tempting though. Hmm ...

Porridge - Yep Vic loves the thick type. Maybe cos its more chewy. She hvnt mastered pasta stars yet though. Made the gagging look and once was enuff for me to stop giving her that. Prob not ready.

Sippy cup - She is still learning how to use this. She takes milk fr the bottle and water from spoon feeding her.

Dimple - Kate is v advanced!

Bottled / Jar foods - Any of your bubs love these bottled food? Vic absolutely hates them. She really knows hoe leow manz! Had wanted to pack these bottled food when we go out so no need to prepare porridge.. but now it seems we may either have to do the porridge thing or give her cereals! And it has to be Bellamys only

XY,
Re: National Day Gathering
That's why need suggestions from mummies to see what their interests are and then find someone suitable to come.

Jen,
I bought the Tiger food jar. Haven't used it yet but seems useful. haha! Will try to use it soon. I boughtit during the Isetan sales for $50. It was a bundle pack with the flask.

Ruffles,
You could boil the pasta stars longer then just roughly mash it with a fork so it's easier for Vic to swallow. That's what I do for Regina and she loves it. We call her a potato because she loves 'ang moh' kind of food. Porridge is ok only but has to be brown rice porridge. White rice and I'll get it from her. Hah! Regina also doesn't like bottled foods. The last time I went out and bought one for her intending to feed her with it so as to make things easier, she tasted one spoonful and that's it. Rather go hungry. Faintz!

everi cook 2 FM scoops of porridge.
usually i cook till soften then "mash" up the rice bits then transfer to the inner pot n heat over the stove then transfer to the main pot.
but when i open to be ready for feeding the porridge don seems anymore "cooked" and also not as hot as i had hope it will b..
did i do it wrongly?

jelly, tot of it b4 but then i must bring another bowl out n wash after feeding a bit troublesome

mint, tiger brand, isetan..
ok.. gonna "stalk" isetan to chk out their offers
thanks mummies..
now got reason to go shop :x

Surf,
Ya...I'm still suffering from wrist pain...both wrists some more...haiz...learning to live with it and work around it...

Oh no.. my son grabbed his bowl of hot porridge and his hand got scalded, now swollen. Any mummy got good pd to recommend that opens on sun? or go KKH better?

wan Chuen
Better bring to kkh now.

Jen,
A bit confused on the way you prepare the porridge. Dun mind me ask but why need to transfer the porridge so many times?

<font color="#C24641"> Morning Mummies!!!

dimple
so good that ur gal can drink frm sippy cup. Erin still dunno. tried a few times to let her suckle. but no improvement leh...

Wan Chuen,
oh dear!! hope ur boy gets well soon!!!

Walker - I got 2 designs.. 1 at Tampines another one at sembawang.. haha!!! I got it for Nick when he was 1yr plus.. another one is given as a gift to Gracia on her B'day. both are walk n ride.

Porridge - Erin still dun really like to take it. she still prefer rice. which I dun think it's safe to feed her. as she's still vry young!! her digestive system are not as good as adult.. I prepare the porridge until like 'teo chew' porridge style. so that the 'rice' will be much more soften. n she is a choosy n fussy eater. she wan to eat nice n yummy cook food. as in must hve taste de lor.. sianz.. which i fail to fulfill her wish de.. haha!!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Hi mummies, just want to share a very good book on introducing semi-solids. This book was like my 'bible' when I was introducing solids to my son.

Although your child may have already started on solids, this books offers lots of recipes for toddlers too! My son is 2yo now and I'm still using this book for recipes to add variety into my son's diet!

It has basic nutrition information (good for mummies who are clueless), feeding schedules &amp; appropriate foods to introduce at different age groups, tonnes of yummy and fun recipes, money and time saving tips, etc etc!
You can read more about this book here: www.superbabyfood.com

I'm selling it for $28.90 include registered mail. Brand new copies, latest edition (2nd edition).

If you want to take a look at the book before commiting to purchase, I welcome you to my place at Punggol to take a look at the book before deciding. Alternatively, you can go to borders to check out the book. I'm selling cheaper than Borders bcos I ordered these online in bulk during my private sprees to save on shipping costs.

Do email me at [email protected] if keen. Thanks!</font></font>

mint,penny, rebecca:
thanks for the well wishes. my son is better now, only 2nd finger is reddish. I think heng the porridge has cooled down slightly and not straight from the stove. Its a lesson learnt the hard way, but so heart pain my son suffer cos of my mistake

wan chuen
dun blame urself. ts an accident. good thing kaijie is now okie. i make mistakes too, always getting my rebby in pain w knocks on her head, but we all learn to be careful next time. hugs

Jen,
How long did u cook at stove? i cook slighter longer than the recommended 10mins b4 i transfer to the inner pot. Perhaps it wouldnt keep the porridge warm for long hrs at it stated. Usually i cook 8-9am+ and its still alittle warm for bryan's lunch btw 11-12pm. Actually i find it quite silly for me using this thermal pot, cos its taking the same time as the norm pot that cooks on stove. But since i dont hv slow cooker, so i jus use this. It doesnt save time for me :p

mint, the thermal pot is 2 seperated pots known as the inner n outer base on the maunal..
so usually i use a claypot to cook the porridge then when cooked i transfer to the thermal pot's "inner pot" which i will heat up further so as to get enuff heat so it will cook inself inside the outer pot..
same as everafer i don have slow cooker so i put in the thermal pot to keep warm till ready for feed..
everafter, ya lor.. i also feel not much saving on time + ags to cook..
but my sis one seems to work for her think its becos we don really cook enuff for the heat to continue "cooking" inside the "magic pot" cos my sis cook 1/2 pot porridge n like u say she cook 10mins then jus transfer to the inner pot then bring out for lunch feed the texture is jus nice..
so for now i need alternative n keep my magic pot till kyra eats more porridge

Jen,
Why do u need to cook in claypot 1st before transfer to inner pot?

Btw, how much porridge are your babies eating? bryan cant finish 1.5tablespoon of porridge and he only drinks 400ml+ milk. Seems like a little with 2feed of porridge? wondering should i reduce to 1 porridge so that he can drink more milk

everafter
at most,rebekah eats 2 table spoons if she is real hungry, other wise, 1 tablespoon but she drinks alot of milk. like mayb 600-750ml per day...

Jelly,
Wah thats so much more. I think it has been ages that bryan can drink so much! And sometimes its by force when we feed him milk. So are u giving rebekah 2feeds of porridge?

re: SB mommies
who wants to go to MWL this saturday to use my suitcase of 40% discount? if can't make it, any shopping list? u can pm me...

penny - if you are reading this. thu maybe i can meet u at city hall to pass u the cup. let me know, k? about 1230pm...

re: kindermusik
mommies, u will receive an email from me tomorrow. i am sending the info to KM for their confirmation.

morning mummies

how is ur wkend? i had a wonderful one

lili,
same as u.. i was thinking over the wkend when can i stop doing the fruit cube and chop veg... sighzz really tired.

everfater
not really, she gets mostly 1 feed. u shd continue w 2 feeds leh...it's becos my mum cant handle hence only give one...

lili
at 9mths, most bubs can take textured food... there is really no need to puree... i dun puree my vege/fruits/meat any mosre. i mash them and give it to rebekah and it teaches them how to swallow as well... but be prepared they may gag... u can also start giving bits of rice... i gave them to rebby recently...

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
I guess wenmin can finish about 1.5tbs porridge bah. Yesterday we gave her fish (cod fish fillet) porridge. At first I was still worried that she wont like the fishy smell but she actually finished the whole bowl (1st time!!!) of porridge. But then her milk intake for yesterday also reduced. She only drank 450ml. She had brown rice cereal in the evening.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">lili
I have stopped giving pureed food to my gal le. Nowadays I give her biscuits, bread, banana and pear. I also give her those cereals (kellog or something???) as her tibits.</font>

Jelly,
Oic. But he's really drinking too little which im hesitant to give 2feed of porridge leh. And he cant really eat textured food also. I mash the fruits but mayb still too big pcs and he spit out the pcs

Mousebb,
Great that WM likes fish. Bryan spit into my face when i fed him fish porridge on sat! I'm so angry that i shouted at him!!

everafter
have to try. my PD ever mentioned that if we continue to give liquid puree diets, they will assume all their lives they will be eating this type of food leh...

do u give biscuits to bryan? what sorts do u give? i recently gave my baby the egg buns type biscuits... it melts in the mouth and gives them an idea that they can eat those type of food

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
Dont say it too early. I'm thinking bcos she has been eating pork porridge for sometimes le so fish is something new to her. Will give fish porridge to her for today again. Have told the maid to put in 1-2 slice of ginger to reduce the fishy smell.

Haha! Last time wenxuan was like bryan too. He would spit into my face and made me so angry. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
Is it something like the xiao man tuo? I give that to wenmin also and she likes it! This gal doesnt like pureed food!!! She wants to eat the same food as her korkor! Each time when I feed wenxuan, she would open her mouth also!</font>

mousebb
yes, xiao man tou! haha... i forgot what it is called leh... stupid me... hee... rebekah is staring to have a liking to adult food as well... think i v bad lor, i do give her bits of cakes and all.. hee...

<font color="aa00aa">jelly
My hubby would do the same thing too! He said cannot neglect or left out his princess baobei!!!

cheer bear
I give the whole piece. I would buy those tiny tiny ones! So I think it is ok to give her the whole piece since it melts easily.</font>

<font color="ff6000">mousebb, jelly,
your gals r fast! already into adult food (^_-)b
Esp rebby, jelly was still talking abt putting solid food on hold 1st then suddenly progress so fast liao

everafter, i also kena Nat spitting fish porridge onto my face on sat
i took it like it din happen, hoping tat will make her c tat it's not gng to get any reaction from me by doing the spitting &amp; she won't do it so often...hahaha &amp; yes, was so angry tat i feel like slapping her then too =P</font>

August Crawlers' Gathering
Date: 9 Aug (date change)
Venue: Mona's Condo Function Room Tiong Bahru

1. Jelly &amp; Bub
2. Karen &amp; Bub
3. Joanne &amp; Bub
4. Forest &amp; Bub
5. Penny &amp; Bub
6. XinYing &amp; Marcus
7. Monyetnakal &amp; Jonathan
8. BBgoh &amp; Seline
9. Surf &amp; Mag
10. Chris &amp; Ashton
11. Mousebb &amp; Wenmin
12. eLcH &amp; Dylan
13. cheerbear &amp; shawn
14. icylemon with Lil Rachel &amp; Regine
15. Mint + Regina
16. Christina + BB Zac
17. Jolly+ Ashton
18. Jill+Zoe
19. JJmom &amp; Nat

sorry to disturb but was wondering if anyone would be keen on a photoshoot from foto-u studio as David (the photographer) is gg to have a BP on it....we still need a few more ppl to kick start the BP. So take a look if u r interested. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/556344.html?1246609349

$450 album promo:

1. 8r album (16 pages).
2. 1 hr 30 min shooting.
3. return all images.
4. 35 images in album.
5. 1 x make up and hair do.

Usual price for this costs more than $800! I have been waiting for something like this for a long time liao but not enough ppl signing up so do consider this offer if u plan to take some studio pics for your little one.

cheerbear
rebby also eat the hao liao xiao man tou... bought it from istean... 1 small box $4.80...

mousebb
i thot all xiao man tou same size

lili
it is put to you to try ... it's not about whether we do it or not and if they have teeth/tooth