(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="ff6000">semi/solid food :
aiyoh...so many bbs already vy well in taking solid food &amp; gng to start on porridge liao. My nat still struggling with her cereal leh...sigh
She will only open her mouth for the 1st few spoons then close her mouth, don't want liao. Sometime she even 'pui' it out at us

Tried grinded brown rice, instant rabbit brand brown rice &amp; pumkin so far, she not vy keen on all leh...

Really dunno what to do with her...</font>

jelly,
no leh.. its oval shape its a patch not a ring.. she's not scratching it too.. i did contemplate if its ringworm too.. its been 4-5 days. ya anyway am bringing her to pd tmr.. tink better go and ease my mind. just been so bz at work.. feel guilty i drag so long.. urghh

Re: Barley
I also tot chinese one is more cooling on English one? But have tried both on my son on once a week basis, so far ok lay! *touch wood*

Bluey,
Thanks! Ya, I also get the husked one, those look like our normal white rice, but in light brown color right? So the medical hall u mentioned carrying this kind of brown rice, I no need to bring my own right?

<font color="aa00aa">Phtanus, Bluey
Haha! I guess some men (like my hubby) are funny! I just ignore what he said lor.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Phtanus,

Yes, they do carry both husked and unhusked ones, so u can just purchase from there, dunnit to buy think their rice oso slightly cheaper than NTUC.

jjmom
try porridge on nat... maybe got "flavour"... she might like it...cook 1 small pc of fish/pork w vege and give some to her.. maybe she will take?

eelyn
ya, think go to the pd and chk it out...

<font color="aa00aa">Jjmom
My problematic gal also "pui" out her cereals when she is unhappy with her food.</font>

And also do we hv to blend the meat/veg b4 cooking with porridge? I'm not using slow cooker but using the thermal cooker..tried once last sat but failed attempt

everafter
i read lah on a book... i chinese tablespoon of rice add 7 chinese table spoon of water... that is probably enough for 1 meal for now...

i dun blend cos no blender... i just grind the meat and vege after cooking it with the porridge using the feeding bowl... $7.90 from pigeon

<font color="0077aa">jelly
Rebby is fast woh.. how many teeth She got then can give texture porridge?
seline still bor gay i dun dare to try ler

yr pigeon food maker sound useful, where can find it?
i thk it ll be useful when goin to intro texture porridge as we can just puree the pork.

cheerbear
i heard cabbage &amp; bai chai r cooling vege ler so dun dare to give. not sure true or not
i use to cook porridge with pork then add in green vege when almost ready. after tat i blend it all then serve </font>

How is everyone? We are finally flying back spore for 2weeks this coming sunday. So any gatherings do let me know okie!

I have started my boy on porridge and millets. But he doesnt like. Now he seems okie with his cereals.

jelly,
I also use the pigeon bowl. Great, can mash the food as I feed as I also try to give my textured food now.

Boy wakie... continue later

Everafter,
For me, I normally cook 3-4 teaspoon of brown rice. Read that better not to cook too long for fish/meat/vege, coz they will become hard and lose the nutients. As i need to prepare the ingredients for my nanny too, so for vege, I normally make it into puree and keep in the bb cubes, she will add into the porridge, cook for a mins before serving. As for fish, I learnt from my nanny, we will steam it separately, mash it with spoon, and put it aside, din add into the porridge. Coz my naughty boy will reject porridge sometime, in order not to waste the fish, by doing that way, we can still feed him fish w/o porridge. As for minced pork/chicken, I will also cook them separately with water. If you dump them directly into porridge to cook, they will lump as a big pcs. So I disperse and cook them in water for abt 5 mins, then i will use the water to cook porridge, and add the cooked meat into porridge before serving lo. If you find it very tedious, u can actually dump all into the porridge when it almost done, cook for 5-10mins, and blend them together with porridge b4 giving to ur son .

i got same one from Lucky baby.
i din noe its so useful ler :p
so for pork after cooked can just grind it, can get fine texture?
i shall try it tml, thanks for sharing

pinkimum
welcome back

xy
oh ya... have u been testing if u r preggers? if concern go c gynae? mine's been visiting with a vengence! hate it even when i am on the pill!

My boy is 7 mths plus and I habe been having a hard time with his feeding. He is refusing to eat porridge and his oatmeal cereal. He used to take his brown rice till I change to oatmeal and now eating for him is a chore. Any advise. Can we put in some light sauce in their porridge?

val
i read that seasoning is not really advise at this moment until they hit 10mths... but maybe u can try some chicken or pork soup to flavour your cereal/porridge?

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
No leh. For my #1, my menses came back 1 month after I delivered. So funny hor!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">jelly
Next month I'm going back to the clinic to buy fish oil, maybe by then if menses still havent came, I would go see my gynae le. </font>

Cheerbear : i've 1 box of Brown Rice and 2 boxes of Rice Cereal...i can pass you one box (mixed). Perhaps i pass you tml nite when i go pick Ashton ? Lemme knoe.

forest,
U take care too! I am having sore throat now...MX is getting better with slight cough &amp; running nose.

Kiwifruit,
LOL, i face the same prob too when doing 'big' business..

Nicky,
Thanks for your concern!

eelyn,
MX been having red patches also. Last week was quite bad, and the PD suspect is food allergy.

<font color="aa00aa">My boy is driving me crazy! He threw away a bottle of the nutela spread into the diaper bin!!!! </font>

Jas,
think you are going thru what I went thru last few weeks... my throat also hv not recovered yet... nearly lost my voice on sat nite...

do take care ya!

xy,
lol. think then u have to work "double" since you're bfing still for better chances at no.2... im not bf-ing and my endeavours still have not paid off including my "investment" at scarlet hotel. haha!

jas,
oh no.. hope mx is better already.. kaitlyn one didnt spread just 2 spots.. quite weird.. maybe cos of her drool thats why moist and got fungus.. putting calendula on it already. hope will improve. seeing pd tomorrow anyway.

sick,
kaitlyn recovered le.. finally can bring her for her last 6 in 1.. she's overdue by 7wks..

val,
think u should not use seasoning for as long as u can.. did u trying adding FM? since their palate and fav food now is still milk.. i add FM to anything kaitlyn doesnt like to eat..

<font color="aa00aa">bluey
Yesterday he must have thrown away his 2 pacifiers cos I cannot find them anywhere in the room! Told him if he throw away my things again, I'm going to throw him into the bin instead!!!

Kylie
Hope you and MX get well soon.

purpleangel
Take care.</font>

eelyn,
think sometimes can be due to heat also...even the allergy ones got better, she still has some small red spots, think they are heat rash. Weather is super warm..!

mousebb,

phtanus,
ur way of cooking really v v tedious leh.

mousebb,
WX must be thinking is the same colour (as shit) so consider eeeeeee so can throw hahaha

kylie,
try hot honey.

wat pork u use for porridge? miched or sliced? must i use minched pork then can grind? as i use pork fillet &amp; just sliced it </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Cheer bear
Oh ya!!!

Then this morning he played with my fish oil capsules! I have kept everything away from him but he still managed to get them! So worry he would have the fish oil capsules in his mouth and kena choke! </font>

cheerbear,
As far as i know from a friend who distribute honey, it's not suppose to mix with hot water.. just normal water will do...

Cheer bear,
Ok la, maybe coz I only need to cook during weekend, not too bad lo! Hee...and all steps only need few mins to complete ma!
Btw, u may want to try the Friso Comfort for Shawn. We tried it last time when Isaac poo once a week, as recommended by PD. It works well on Isaac. It is a FM contains of high fibre, meant for baby with constipation problem. Hubby also suggested me to use this FM for Isaac again if his constipation persist. Me not keen though coz have enuf BM supply for him now, if me substitute 1 feed with FM, I may need to "throw away" some BM, will monitor him first.