(2008/10) Oct 2008

Lili

Like I mentioned b4, yr IFC really cannot make it. Never clean her properly and still wanna give attitude. Poor Clare. Suffer so often. Then u also poor thing, suffer when she's not well. For her sake and your sanity do change IFC. she is really getting more problems than most other bbs in IFC.

lili
i understand what you mean by 'regrets'
i feel that very often too. esp when i'm very stressed and tired. and the monsbies won''t stop screaming and pestering me.

sometimes, i will break down and cry. after that, i would feel better.

<font color="aa00aa">EY
I'm so tired looking after my 2 kids. None of them want to be in the play yard anymore so I let them play and crawl in the room. While the elder one is running here and there, the younger one would crawl and follow behind him. Am so worry that she would kena step by korkor accidentally. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">EY
At times I also regret having my #2 so soon and I always feel guilty towards my son for not giving him full attention at this stage. </font>

mousebb,
WM not interested in toothiepegs? Haha...my boy now also suck abit then use it to hit 'air'...

EY,
Do you sell toothpaste for babies? PM/sms me the price ok? Thanks!

<font color="aa00aa">elch
My gal is hitting the toothiepegs against the tray of the high chair like protesting wor! </font>

<font color="#C24641"> lili
*hugz*
i totally understand how u feel. mayb u can consider Trace suggestion? change a new IFC. since u cnt ease ur mind on this y not change it to another 1 that can let u hve a peace of mind so that u can concentrate in ur work? if nt it can be stressful.

each BBs are diff. u cnt compare ur's with others. 人比人,气死人。不要说气馁的话. all of us are learning n growing togethter. i know it's easy to said den done. but u cannot continue to hve neg tots. nt healthy.

hi lili, i think some of us do feel this way at one point or other. i rem when i first got preg with my 2nd one, i feel so miserable coz my big one so small. i feel resentful like you. I rem i dun even dare to voice out that resent coz i know baby can hear me, so when I "talk" to my hubby about it, I wrote it down. silly right? but now, my Jaz is the sunshine in my life, i can't bear to go work every morning because of her.

I think its not wrong to vent your frustration and anger and worries with us mommies here. it helps you have a outlet, which is HEALTHY. vent it out here all you want, but also do remember all the joys and happiness of your child. go for a massage, take a day off and just BE ONE YOUR OWN, enjoy urself, recharge your soul, before going back to your baby. you prob feel this way coz you are very aware how much ur life has changed since your child.

because its important for mommies to have your own life too, in order for some fo us to stay sane. and also coz its important that when you are handling and talkig to your baby, do keep those negative emotions in check. babies can sense whether or not they are wanted or loved. they can sense through your tone, through your voice, expression, handling, impatience. and they react to this in no uncertain ways, their health and mindset is affected as well. so do try to address those negative thoughts, or banish them by a good spa treatment, or some quiet reflection, or a shopping spree! but whatever you do, don't ignore or pretend that negative feeling dun exist. it does, and there's a reason for you feeling this way. talk it out. then go home and face your baby with a genuine goofy smile.

about your IFC, i agree with the mommies, if they have such attitude, change it. it may be doign you more stress than not by staying here, coz besides needing to bring her to PD like u said so often, you also worry day in day out about her when you are at work. and u can't concentrate and do ur work well, which in the end also make you resentful. viscious cycle.

A BIG HUG TO YOU.

lili
*hugs* I also agree with the others that you should change ifc. That's your root of the problem. Why do you need one to open till so late? Any way you can leave work earlier? Maybe can arrange with your boss? Go to work earlier? Or can your hubby do that? Or get someone to pick up Clare for you?

Schooling:
I thought Chiltern is more for autistic kids? Correct me if I'm wrong... But I do know it's under Julia Gabriel.

lilli,

is getting a maid an option for you? Then you dont have to worry aboutrushing to pick up or the baby getting sick. Plus you get one to one care. The cost is the same as infant care

daisy,
well said! i fully agree with u..

lili,
like i said dun b too hard on yrself..our bubs r our little cutie.

bigflamingo,
i am gog aust next fri! am looking forward for my trip.. am gog for 2 weeks..woohoo~

Still on schooling, there was one year that I taught P3 and I did an informal survey with the pupils who got into the gifted prog on which kindergarten they came from... Guess what? Most came from PCF/PAP kindergartens. So food for thought... maybe these pre schools aren't so bad at churning out smart kids after all.... heehee! then again, it was an informal survey and a small sample size at that so not conclusive at all.

lilli,

if theifc attitude is bad u shld change, u are paying for the services, they shld not be showing u attitude.. think this is the main reaosn that is coursing u to feel so negitive..

think of the 1st time u see her, the 1st smile and u will feel that every thing is worth it...

<font color="ff0000">Hello mommies!!!!

Lili,

I agree with the others that u should change IFC too if u don't trust them to give Clare proper care. I know this is a difficult period for u and trust me, it will pass. Clare will grow up..... My son used to get sick almost every other week when he first go to childcare centre too and i was so sick of feeding him the endless medicine but now he's 8years old.... not looking forward when it comes to Skylar's turn though.

EY,

Your two monsters are very very adorable. Hehe fishing sounds like fun!!!

Children Pre-school

Hehe am not gonna put Skylar in those high end ones like Eton, I work in Revenue House and there's a Learning Vision so am just gonna 'dump' her there. Very convenient and we have a bit of subsidy so can save money.

Birthday Bash

Asked my hubby abt it last night. He thought I am crazy cos Skylar's birthday is still more than 5months away. Sighs bloody hubby just doesn't like planning.

FingerFood for babies,

Have anyone tried giving Gerber Puffs to your baby yet? Am thinking to get that for Skylar but not sure if it's suitable for her yet. What do u think huh?

gio,

have been giving gerber puffs to ashton... he seem to like it..

bigflamingo,

have not try before.. he is still okie in his car seat.. he sometime sleep in it...

forest,
I was just commenting to one of the mummies about your daily commuting... really tiring... maybe a move might be good. Near to your mum's place would be the best choice.

Trace,
I have a friend who is a chiropractor at the forum branch.

Everafter,
Haha! Regina only calls me Mar Mee when she's crying... other than that, I dun hear it from her... :~

daisybutton
thanks &amp; for reminding me to watch my tone &amp; expression... i've been behaving "that way" recently.. and i guess baby knows ...

sad.. am looking for alternate infant...

lili,
dun say that... it gets stressful at times but just hang in there. A child is God's gift to us.

Perhaps a change of IFC would be a good idea since the caregivers there aren't so responsible.

There was once a parent who came to see me about her child and her comment was: This boy has given me nothing but problems from the time he was conceived. When I heard it, I was like OMG!

Karen,
Regina down with runny nose leh... Think it was too much of going out last week. Heehee! Think has to be next week. Any place in mind to chill out?

<font color="0000ff">lili,
i also agree with the rest abt changing IFC since this 1 give u &amp; more imptly clara more problem than any help at all. I m sure there will surely b 1 tat fit your time. If not, u may need to look at other options? bbsitter? maid?

&amp; pls don't think tat clara is the only 1 who fall sick in IFC, many does too. Even bbs who stay at home can fall sick every now &amp; then de.

Like what daisybutton said, gd to vent here, pamper yourself sometime &amp; go back to clara, relax &amp; happy

busybee,
heard good things only about chatsworth orchard before jalan kayu and east side came up. so you might want to check it out anyway.

lili,
agree and disagree with flamingo. you could get a maid and send her to your in laws or parents' for them to supervise her. that way, she would not be alone at home with bb. that's what i'm going to do, essentially all housework, cleaning, washing, some cooking, prep of food, washing up of dishes will be done by maid, care of bb when i'm not home, prep of food, bathing, cleaning to be done by ils.

mommies,
we've talked it through. my mil wants a maid. so i'ld have to go back to work after submission. sigh.. but i told hb i'ld be working pt until she goes to school ft. as tough as it is, it cannot compare to those mommies with two and more and still manages the household alone, so i'm never one for having a maid. I think of the cost savings and that propels me to iron my own damn clothes, scrub the toilet, mop the stupid floor and do our trio's laundry. why do i need a maid? hb wants mil to concentrate 24/7 on bb while maid does the housework. i can foresee two potential challenges a) maid not conscientious or mil does not like her way of doing things so she ends up doing everything herself b) if this one leaves, new one needs time to retrain

could those with maids answer some questions for me?

i would like to know
1)what is the estimated cost now of hiring someone from ph versus indo, taking into account salary, levy, agency fee, monthly food, increase in household ultilities
2)transfer fee (if any)if i need to change to another one
3)number of times i'ld be allowed for changing a maid
4)your agency and if you'ld recommend it
5)her leave and your payment of salary arrangements with maid

i need the answers to gauge if i can afford to work part time. my stupid hb. told the lazy git to iron his own damn uniform and by putting aside 2 hours on a weekend instead of watching the tv, we're able to do so wat plus i do everything else. know how my mil brought up the topic? she brought it up that my hb was saying to hire a maid, he wants his clothes ironed, she's not sure because her own things, her own clothes she can ownself take care, just for my hb.

so i got her to talk it out. i mean obviously if we get one for the bloody household, the maid is expected to do almost everything wat, what's the pt of hiring a maid to do one man's laundry and ironing.

i'm not cheesed off, i'm just.. i just don't know if we can afford all this. and when i think of the money i can save, it .. it ASRHG. HJEH RAJHRA RH it irritates me. urgh.

wish me luck mommies. sigh

two more maid questions

1) remitance arrangements
2) hidden costs from agency
3) hidden costs from day to day that adds up

ARGGGGH.

Pildough
Don't think I can help you much, since HB handled the financial aspect of the idiot. Should come up to about $500 to $600.

Okay, here's my take on my own idiot (bear in mind I'm very mean to her; I just detest the sight of her that's why). I have been very sarcastic with her. Whether the sarcasm died on her, only she knows.

Hidden costs will be rise in utilities bill (must educate her on high costs here), food for her (also depends on how you manage; mine used to eat good bread, good spread, out to restaurants; now, cheap bread, cheap spread, eat what we eat; but we don't bring her out to restaurants; rarely). Twice my mum brought her out to restaurants, she just sat there quietly munching away, never once asked me if I needed help in taking food, peeling prawns, picking up the girl's toys. Anyway.

Leave is actually once a month but my idiot is given twice. Good for her, good for us. We also paid for her shampoo, toothpaste, etc. You get the drift. Anyway, do watch how much detergent she uses to wash. See if it's cost-effective. That's hidden costs too, imo.

Agency asked us to put $300 into the bank each month and give her $40 cash. Wonder why. Anyway, then it's up to her to use the money. Remittance is really up to her. Teach her once perhaps? We actually told our idiot that we would bring her to a remittance place to remit but she talked to neighbour's maid and the latter brought her to a handphone (!!) shop to remit the money. No receipt, nada! In the end, we got her to call back to make sure $$ was remitted. It was, but who knows the second or third time, it will not be, right? I mean, no receipts!? Singapore Post does remittance, or Western Union. I think most convenient and trustworthy will be SingPost?

<font color="0000ff">maid :
we got our ex-maid her 1st shampoo, bodyfoam, toothpaste, phone card etc. After she gets her pay, she buy herself, anyway she don't like what we got for her too, so yaya =P

mine no leave, we paying her extra $20 (if i remember correctly) so we brought her to lucky plaza to get her stuff (she want to buy her papaya soap) &amp; to remit $.

there's also medical checkup cost &amp; insurance cost. These r the 2 bills tat we lugi when we change maids

Wish u luck, pildough. Really need to b lucky to get a 'real' gd 1

bigflamingo, Pildough
thanks.. Maid is out of question here.. heard alot of scary issues... furthermore, no one at home with maid.. can't..

maid will engage when my inlaw retire in 2yrs time...by then Clare big liao..

MAID:
- One time fee. Agency fee $650 plus insurance plus health test plus maid test become arounf $800.
- Salary + Levy = $340 + $170 = $510
- Toileteries + medication = around $10 - $15/ month.
- Remitance - have not done any, coz the first 8 months the maid actually only earn $20 per month coz they need to pay up the $2.5K loan.
- Food = maybe around $50-$100. Sometime when my MIL cook, we wil give some to her. Lunch most of the time she will eat leftover from dinner. If not I always have some bread, bread, peanut butter, veggie, fishball, tofu, egg and instant noodle for her.
- Buoght her 1 big can of biscuit... we will buy for her everytime she finished (usually around 2 mths). Once in a while we let her buy snack (<$5) when we go to groceries.
- Calling Card. we give her $10 call card every 2 months to call home.
- Health check (every 6 months), the last one i did is around $30.
- PUB.. cant verify how much.. coz she come the same time with the baby.
- Salary: everymonth I will ask her how much she want to take out. But we encourage her not to take any money out coz for everyday things we provide all for her. We also think that the lesser money she have on hand the lesser things she will want to buy.

MAID continue ....
- Can change made 1 time within 6 months. If not need to pay agency fee again.
- Need at least 2 weeks - 4 weeks to replace maid. But the agent say usually 2 weeks, so get prepare for 2 weeks without maid if changing maid.
- My maid no leave day, thats y her salary is $340 instead of $320 ($20 extra). But some times we let her walk around when we ask her to buy groceries.

Hope it helps :p

<font color="aa00aa">lili</font>, book ur spa treatment today!!! hehehe i sound like one of those bloody advertisement. :p well, if u show clara "that way", she may feel stressed. and stress on a baby manifest in discomfort, fussiness, clinginess and ill-health. that in turn makes you more resentful.
so......go pamper yourself kae? sit back and relook at life with ur little one ina different light.

phildough. I just got a maid when almost about to give birth to my #2. I try to ans ur questions but i can't ans all heee.
1)what is the estimated cost now of hiring someone from ph versus indo, taking into account salary, levy, agency fee, monthly food, increase in household ultilities
<font color="0077aa">the major diff in PH and Indo is NOT the money. coz Indo one with experience can still be more exp than a PH one WITHOUT experience. Levy is standard for moms with kids at $170 a mth, already subsidised. agency fee for us not very exp, think if i not wrong less than $400, once off sum. my maid's (Indo) salary is $350 because she dun want off days (minus $20 if she has off days). as for monthly food....hmmm...depends on if u cook. for us, we only cook for my boy, the adults usually tabao on weekends. as for weekdays, if my parents are here they may cook on some days and eat out on some days. so for weekends if u tabao for her, its only about $3-4 more per meal which equates to $12-16 per weekend and at most $80 more per mth (counting only weekends). on weekdays if ur ILs are with the maid then they have to settle her meals. if they regularly cook, then just slightly more ingredients (not much), if not just tabao for her.</font>

2)transfer fee (if any)if i need to change to another one
<font color="0077aa">HHmmm.....I sent back an PH maid before after she was with us 2 mths, coz of slight attitude and big issues with my MIL (so yes your concern on disagreements with MIL is VERY valid). It depends on agency, i get free change of maid for 2 times i think. if i not wrong. BUT, if u dun like this maid u must decide whether u wanna let her stay in the agency (max 2 weeks) to fnid another employer, or you wanna send her back. if you let her stay, u still paying for her meals at the agency for that 2 weeks. if you send her back home, u have to pay for her airfare UNLESS its HER who wants to go back. Otherwise, it depends on how individual agencies handle this. its best u ask from the individual agencies.</font>

3)number of times i'ld be allowed for changing a maid
<font color="0077aa">Mine is 2 times i think. but hor, if u change 3-4 times within a yr (i think), MOM will call you down for a counselling and u may be blacklisted if you change say 5 times.</font>

4)your agency and if you'ld recommend it. <font color="0077aa">Yes I wld recommend my agency but can you PM me?</font>

5)her leave and your payment of salary arrangements with maid
<font color="0077aa">my maid say herself she dun want off days, she has no friends or relatives here for her to meet anyway. i give her cash $350 but i keep in an envelope for her which i show her every mth. i am going to open an account for her then do internet transfer everymth.</font>

6) remitance arrangements
<font color="0077aa">it was simpler than I thought. we just do it at a nearest post office. most post offices have Western Union. just register with ur IC as member, bring down her work permit and her mom/hubby/reciever bank account details, address and name, then you can remit oredi.</font>

7) hidden costs from agency.
<font color="0077aa">This is not really "from" agency lah, but u have to buy her insurance (health insurance or running away/getting preg insurance) which costs a little money (sorry i dun rem how much), have to send her for 6mthly health checkups etc.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Another thing u have to note is, if u get a new maid, you have to pay for her airfares and misc cost to get her here. but u deduct this from her salary monthly. the agency will teach you how. if you get a transfer maid who is oredi in SG, u can see her in person before deciding, but u have to pay her "debts" for her to the agency. this "debts" may include her remaining balance she owe the agency (ex employer transfer that debt back to the agency when he returns her) + the amount she needs to pay everytime an employer returns her (for my side its $400-$500, very poor thing for the maids). again, this sum is slowly deducted from her salary, so its ok.</font>

8) hidden costs from day to day that adds up
<font color="0077aa">if she sick, u have to pay her clinic bills, her phone card bills (but you can arrange to have her pay this but for me i pay for her lah, i usually give this to her as birthday or xmas present). if she sleeps in her own room, and the fan is on then electric bills. you gotta teach her exactly how to wash her clothes as she uses water (in their country its free) like nobody's biz so more water bills, gas stove sometimes on very big, so gas bills also increase. stuff like that. :p also, her birthday or hari raya, if u happy with her work, wanna give her angbaos. once in a while buy clothes for her (not exp ones lah).</font>

thats all i think....hope this helps.

EY,
love pics of sumo and enya

dimple,
scaffolding from vygotsky, also google zone of proximal development, karen is right, the idea is to guide but the more abled person doing the guiding may be an adult, an older sibling or a peer. also idea is to know when to assist, when to allow child to be independent.

pildough,
seems like a whole long list of costs and considerations on hiring a maid from the mummies postings.

dimpletot,
Karen and pildough have replied to you in brief on what scaffolding is about... heehee! Lazy me...

daisybuttons,
No ah... ok then... cos I have a friend who used to teach at Chiltern but she was working with autistic kids... hmm.. maybe they just have one or two classes for them?