(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0000ff">rebecca,
u really steady, blow pi pi leh LOL (copy my DH's fav line)

aiyoh...hope erin bb recover soon, no need to go KKH.

my niece also kena high fever 40.6, now inside KKH

elch
$80 cake can be v nice as well
just that i am extravagant... it will be another 15, 17 or 20 years before i give my ger another big birthday bash!

trace,
Hubby and I finished up Karen's cookies on Sat. Could have finished it on Fri itself but I rationed them. Hahaha!

Joanne,
Regina also fell from the bed this morning. I tot she was asleep so I dozed off too but next thing I heard was a thud and her crying. So I quickly carried her and comforted her. Checked for injuries but none and she could give me a cheeky grin so I guess all is well. Then I put her back on the bed and she did a leap frog and somersaulted to the floor again. I tell you I have a gymnast in the making minus the gracefulness. Hahaha!

<font color="#C24641"> JJmom
aiyo.. poor thing.. hope ur niece get well soon~

mint
Regina steady!! LOL!!! but better dun keep an eye on her. coz i heard of many stories abt BB had a great fall on aft that become like 'bai chi'. but of coz i know u are busy n tired too looking aft her. but sometimes really hard hor.. haiz.. my Erin also!! guess her nose goin to be flatten soon!! hers is fall FORWARD!!!</font>

long time no check in..
how's everyone?

im down with flu.. *have i been swined!?* am flying to bkk on Sunday.. *fingers crossed*..

mummies who ordered the clutches/wallets, they were sent last wk! we should receive this wk! *toes crossed*

cakes - so soon researching cakes? i wanna take up baking course and bake my own! anyone wanna join? i can do the research

<font color="aa00aa">Rebecca
Erin still having fever? As long as she is still active, you dont have to worry so much but must remember to give her medicine every 4 hours. Monitor and see how.

Mint
I'm a SJ fan. Have already bought bags, wallets, bottle sacs and a snack sac for my kids le. Haha! Me like so kiasu hor! I really cannot resist the temptation lah!</font>

rebecca, mousebb,
tks

mint,
regina sounds so brave.. kaitlyn cries when he head hits the cot.. *drama queen* cant blame her i guess. her mummy's one too (according to daddy)

jellypurin,
How to be demure and nice like that? Flying off beds and what nots...Sigh!

Mousebb,
Haha! A real big fan... hmm... dun tempt me lah...

busybee,
Chatsworth school is an international school. For locals, we pay way much higher prices. But of course their curriculum would still be better than our local schools cos it's definitely less focused on academics.

jolly,
Montessori approach can be googled and downloaded. Wait I go and find then post you the link. But I personally dun like it. It's too much dependent on child's self discovery instead of scaffold learning.

daisybuttons,
Yup! I have to get the msg across his thick skull. heehee!

Eelyn,
Haha! She cries too lah... depends on who's watching the drama at that point in time. Sometimes not even a whimper.

Schooling
Wow, parents are already looking at the options? Hmm, I'm thinking of Eton or Chiltern or St James (hm, don't know if they are the same!) but not sure what to expect or are they good. Still, I am still clueless about all these. Oh dear, bad mummy!

Karen,
st james is good, the principal is very pro-inclusive towards children with disabilities. having said that, accepting enrollment is one thing, supporting child in class is another ;)

busybee,
heard good things about chatsworth and the australian int sch, mint is right, like all schools catering to expats, waiting list is long and fees for children very ex, it's almost on par with what i pay with uni fees! why not consider a local school?

Not a big fan of the montessori franchise either.

Hi Pildough, Chatsworth is a locally registered Kindergarten, So i still get to use the CDA funds for school fees. I find the fees quite reasonable. And most importantly its not too far from home.
What is the average monthly of a good kindergarten? I think fees at Eton, St James, Chiltern and Caterpillar Cove is way more....

busybee,
what's your definition of good? no answer to your question ;)

off hand i think eton charges between 2.5 - 3.5 (half day/ full day) for a term, the cove is at 1200, st james is at about 900 and chiltern should be fairly similar. thanks for sharing, always thought chatsworth had more international students but you're right about the fees. me thinks still good to check the centre out.

Pildough, I guess a well rounded curriculum not just academic focus. I like that they have an international intake of students so Minibee will learn about culture and mixing with people of all backgrounds. At the same time a Good environment and reputable? Yeah I wrote to them and they will update me in June abt waitlist and a tour. They may be moving (still sorting it out) so I am keeping fingers crossed. I thought St James is 1.5 a mth? Tot I saw that on their webbie? U got me interested to know more abt caterpiller cove now. Will check them out. One term= 3mths right?

Mon, May 18, 2009
The New Paper

Brand schools for kid of celebs?

BY KWOK KAR PENG

YOU'VE heard of parents volunteering as event organisers and even telemarketers to get their kids into schools of their choice.

Related links:
» 'No special treatment'
» Zoe Tay, parent volunteer?
Local celebrities are no different when it comes to their children.

From free acting lessons to volunteer work, or depending if parents are affiliated to the school, they don't mind going all out to make sure their young ones get the best education.

Even Zoe Tay, who studied in the now defunct Kay Hua Primary School.

The Queen of Caldecott reportedly contacted Nanyang Primary School (NYPS) at Bukit Timah to discuss being a parent volunteer in order to secure a place for her son Brayden.

NYPS' famous former students include Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong (then it was called the co-ed primary section of Nanyang Girls' High School) and popstar Stefanie Sun.

Don't forget that Brayden is only 4.

When contacted, NYPS principal Heng Boey Hong confirmed that she is discussing with the 41-year-old actress areas where Zoe can volunteer, including giving acting lessons.

Because of the school's popularity, parents have to commit to 80 hours of volunteer work at NYPS instead of the usual 40 as set by the Ministry of Education (MOE).

Areas of such work include sorting out school mail and directing traffic.

Parents can also volunteer in areas where they have an expertise in. For example, a designer can volunteer to design posters and Powerpoint slides. But Madam Heng insisted that no special concessions would be given to celebrities.

When approached, Zoe declined to comment, saying it's a personal issue.

She's is not the only one willing to slog to send her child to a good school. A former actor in his 40s also admitted to volunteering at one of the more famous primary schools here to increase the chances of enrolling his son there. He agreed to speak to The New Paper on condition of anonymity to protect his son, 'in case he is ridiculed by his classmates'.

He said that he and his wife had given close to 80 hours of acting lessons to students at Ai Tong School before they were informed that enrolment was full. They stopped their voluntary work and enrolled the boy in a neighbourhood school.

A few months later, a vacancy opened up when an Ai Tong student emigrated and their son was transferred there.

The devoted daddy said he thought the long hours of voluntary work were worth it, but he insisted that he is not a blind worshipper of branded schools.

He said: 'I like that the school has an equally strong emphasis on English and Mandarin. It also teaches the best of Eastern and Western beliefs and cultures.' Other celebrities were luckier, working the affiliation route.

Veteran actress Lin Meijiao managed to enrol her only child Chantalle, now 14, in Ai Tong School as she was a member of the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan (SHHK).

Smooth enrolment

Only SHHK members who receive a recommendation from the association are eligible for Phase 2B registration of Primary 1 enrolment.

Six schools, among them Ai Tong School and Tao Nan School, are affiliated to the clan association. That, plus the fact that her mother's home was within 2km of the school, made Chantalle's enrolment in Ai Tong 'quite smooth'.

When asked if she had joined the association to stand a better chance of securing a place, Meijiao would only give a coy smile.

Star Awards Best Actor winner Zheng Geping also had an advantage enrolling his son Calvert, 9, in St Andrew's Junior School as the family attends the affiliated St Andrew's Cathedral.

On the other hand, artistes Xiang Yun and Edmund Chen managed to enrol their two children, Chen Xi, who is 18 now, and Yixin, 9, in the popular Tao Nan School as XiangYun was a former student.

Edmund told The New Paper that it is not the prestige of a primary school that matters, but whether it has a good environment.

He considered factors such as the quality of students and whether there are noisy roads and construction around the school.

Edmund said enrolling a child in a premium school can place a lot of stress on the child.

He said: 'Tao Nan upgraded its compound when my son was in Primary 4 and construction went on for at least five years. With all that loud banging going on, no one could function with a right mind.'

He nevertheless kept Chen Xi in the school as he had only two more years to go.

The couple also moved homes eight times mainly to be closer to the schools the kids went to.

He claimed the move was to make it more convenient to drive their children to and from school.

TV host Vivian Lai, whose daughter, Vera, is the same age as Zoe's son, Brayden, has no qualms being a parent volunteer should she decide to enrol Vera in CHIJ St Nicholas Girls' School.

'But I'm not the kan cheong (anxious) kind, so I'd probably only enquire about volunteering when Vera turns 6.

'And I'm totally okay volunteering as a librarian or traffic warden. In fact, cars will stop and traffic might become very smooth when drivers see me!'

She is also considering sending Vera to Anderson Primary School, located just beside her home. If so, Vivian may not need to volunteer her services.

Actor Darren Lim, on the other hand, is thankful that he won't have to queue or do volunteer work at popular schools.

The 37-year-old and his wife, former actress Evelyn Tan, have decided to home school their children Kristen, 4,and Jairus, 2.

The hassle of Primary 1 enrolment wasn't a factor in their decision but as Darren told The New Paper over the phone, he wouldn't join the race anyway.

He explained: 'I don't like it that there's a motive behind the volunteering. It's an exchange, and it's not right that voluntary work equals to an increased chance of enrolment.'

Darren said neighbourhood schools 'have proven to produce top scholars' as well.

<font color="0000ff">wah...today's topic is abt the future ahead, 1st bday, kindergarten, primary school...such stressful topics for a blue morning (-_-)'' hahaha...

I m thinking of dayspring at punngol. Heard abt st james but too ex (@_@)</font>

Dimpletot
My gal is just like yours, able to sit unsupported, but unable to bring herself up from lying position. She had been slow to flip too... wonder when will she get to sit up on her own!

ruffles, interesting CAKE!!!

Jellypurin haha i totally agree about the conscious choice cake. coz my son didnt like it!!! hey....then i think i am as extravagant as you leh. :p my son's 1st birthday cake, the first one in the pic above with the precious moments theme, costs me $320. it served about 80-100 though. the house also can eat haaa. coz to me...1st birthday is the only birthday i can decide the theme, the colours, the cake (noticed the theme is not at all "manly", the goody bags, whom i wish to invite. after 2 yrs old its guided by him oredi!! hehee. so I SUPPORT YOU!!!

Mint, wow acrobat in the making!!! hehee. but do monitor her yar?

phildough...yeah tell me about it. birthday parties in school. its my turn this year.

<font color="0000ff">ruffles,
the cake is sooooooooooo sexy...hahaha
make a gd present for couple thou :D</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Hi, would like to clarify something. Someone compared St James fees to the league of Eton, Chiltern. actually its not the same. Eton average about $1300 a mth, Chiltern around $900. But St James $900 (pre-nursery) is PER TERM (10 wks), not per mth. that means a mth u pay around $400, which is only slightly higher than the monthly fees for some kindys. the main diff between schools like St James, compare to Eton, Caterpilla Cove, Learning Vision etc, is that St James is purely a KINDERGARTEN. whereas the rest are CHILDCARE centres that also provides pre-school education. the main difference is Kindys are regulated usually by MOE (not MCYS), does not have childcare facilities (sleeping arrangements, breakfast/snacks/lunch/snacks provided), and usually (not all the time) have higher student-teacher ratio. Kindys also only accept kids from 3 yrs onwards (pre-nursery, the year the child turns 3), whilst CC accepts kids from 18mths for toddlers.</font>

hi mummies, seems like alot of u planning for bb's 1st bday liao..
tml i also heading down to NSRCC to chk out the chalets n i'm thinking if i shd bake cupcakes n decorate for kyra's 1st bday..
but its gonna take me at least 1 day + decor *sweat*

wow, folks are thinking abt nursery already. A friend got me thinking recently when she said that our kidswill be speaking more like their classmates than their parents. Any comments whether this might be true?

On kindy, I don't think my budget extends to the 1k range. I just can't justify to myself. At least not now. :p. I just want her to have fun, make friends, learn some basic counting etc and not watch tv if avoidable. Possible for an affordable fee?

I always thot the stress was on pri sch and aimed to be as rational as possible abt it, having gone to a neighbourhood pri sch and then to pretty gd schs thereafter. But now it seems kindy is not spared! waiting lists and what nots...

Mint
what is scaffold teaching?? Maybe u r rite... Homeschooling is the way to go, and we can meet up to let them socialise haha.

dumbo

Me me me! I wanna be domestic godess and bake bday cake. But think will chicken out nearer date cos too stressed with preps. But we can keep each other accountable to doing it! Worst come to worst I betty crocker the entire 3 kg whahahahaa...

dimpletot
Scaffold teaching is providing individualised support, teacher all the way with pupil to give support only when needed. Do you all plan to homeschool your child until P1? I do want to, too, but at the same time, afraid that I may be missing out on something.

As I mentioned above, I'm really new to this kindy thingy. Never got me interested. Only heard of names here and there. I read something about a 3-hours kindy and I like that a lot. Anyway, still a long long way to go. Haaa, ironic that I was saying some mummies here already planning their babies' 1 year bd and here, I am thinking of something 5-6 years later.

The sexy cake nice hor? Thot it was v creative and apt for the couple!

Cake - Kudos to those going to bake and decorate. I think I will take the easy way out and just order. Me wanna enjoy the birthday too leh.

St James - Heard waitlist q extends to those who are just preggie. So those keen, better call soon.

ruffles

I guess their kids weren't invited to the celebration keke.

Karen

Get well soon, it sounds uncomfy! I dun think I'll homeschool. Lack the dedication. Also friend overseas who was homeschooled by her mum developed strained rlp with her. Never easy to teach own kid. Then again I think she was homeschooled thru high sch...

jellypurin

thanks! sorry, the wetbags etc are supposed to be on the way. this canadian supplier is VERY slow cuz they work only 2 days a week. i'm tired of waiting for their reply and action too.

aless is also the same...scream and scream until i go crazy. and my gal keeps pestering me.

Cheerbear
Gerber stars/puffs contain sugar.

hello mummies!!
how are all of you??

nicky,
thanks!! my cough is better but i still have phlegm... haiz.. taking longer to recover this time round..

wah wah wah.. so many researches on bday cakes etc!! trace, can we hop over each other's bub's bday celebration then?? wahahha.. but i havent done any research yet leh.. dunno when i can start either!! :S

eelyn,
me me!! hey, if u find anything on baking, count me in.. hahaha.. whether or not i do it for kieran's bday is not impt.. but i would love to learn baking anyway!! ;)

btw... u take care ya!! better get well before ur bkk trip!!

re: schooling
wow... u mummies already start researching all these! i have not given much tots to these.. in fact, i've been thinking abt moving house lately.. hahaha.. the daily toll of driving yishun-bedok-alexandra then alexandra-bedok-yishun is getting to me... am looking at moving again... sigh.. dunno if i will eventually move or not... grrrrr...