(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="aa00aa">busy bee
Thanks! Agree with you that each child is special and unique in their own ways. No matter my wenxuan is stupid anot, I will always love him cos he is so special to me.</font>

daisy
the thomas the train cake is also from PG?

trace
i got the treat bags! i am going to get some treats closer to the event

daisaybuttons the cake is nice, yeah where from. If from PG? Can i feature it in my article? I writing one abt celebrating child's 1st bday.Let me know thanks!

jolly,
the jelly cake is jelly + cake? hmmm cant imagine. u got the contact or website? pm me can? thanks

jus out from meeting.. busy day.. think got OT tonite.. miss my darling

Thanks for the support.
Hubby finally apologised to me properly. He did an insincere and scruff apology on sat evening cos we were supposed to go for dinner with my MIL. Obviously, Regina and I made a no go-no show. Heehee! So he only gave me a proper apology that night. So all's well now. And on Sunday, he really took care of Regina and I had some time to myself to go to church. Heehee!

Karen,
Think he was the one who woke on the wrong side of the bed cos I was still in bed when he made those comments. :p

Rebecca,
Nice to have your hubby home right?

mousebb,
The link that Karen gave about your hubby's aunt cake shop... who is the male boss?

daisy
can i have gladcake's contact? actually i dun mind paying for the cake, most important thing is that it must taste good! btw, the fondant cake, is the mazipan v sweet?

daisybutton : oo, i was looking cherylshuen cakes for ROM cake inspiration the last time..looks like there are realli many choices for bday cakes..mmmm.

cheerbear : its actually agar agar, will send you tonight.

hi jolly,
because i am 'sick' and truly am and my mil is taking a break from church duties today, i have called up all three types of schools under the ntuc first campus network.

here's what i found

first skool house
-formerly known as ntuc childcare
-comparative to pcf/pap but teachers have access to training conducted by rtrc
-200-300 per mth after subsidy
-educare curriculum (social skills, independent living skills, art and craft, play, academics start middle of nursery)
-mostly located at void decks

lil skoolhouse
-literacy based curriculum (e.g. themes taken from books. activities might include making a book, dramatic play, song and dance)
- fees range between 600-700 per month (before subsidy i think)
- has more space, equipment and resources compared to first skoolhouse

caterpilar's cove (my fave, if i had the money, i'ld go for it)
- all teachers have degrees, are pursuing masters
- centre allows academics from rtrc to conduct research
- place also where rtrc pre-service or teachers in training undergo their placements
- low student ratio
- alot of space
- child directed planning until k1 and it becomes an emergent curriculum (academic)
- fees from 1200 per month (about 900 after subsidy)
- emails, portfolios, newsletters, frequent corespondance with teachers

imo,
nursery classes don't differ that much. the important thing is to find a place where you're comfortable with the teachers, the principal and an easily assessible location. On emergent curriculum, i've studied it. Theoretically, it's based on the child's interest and you web the interest. e.g. broad topic skeletons - web - parts of skeleton - web- spine -web- e.g. charles: why do we have spines? -web- Lucy: what has spines? what does not have spines? -web- Tom: how does my spine look like? -web- Huili: is our spines different from a bear's spine, a dinosaur's spine? -web- animals, reptiles, dinosaur bone structures -web- dinosaurs

i think this is how it went.. didn't get to put it into practice much in sg. did it in oz while on prac.. ehehhe.. fun. That was theoretical, i find that alot of schools will throw big words at you, so google it, understand it. Not everywhere practices what it preaches, sometimes it's us parents. we want to see marks and results.

Havent enquired about carpe diem. If i'm out of money, i'ld just put her into pcf downstairs. Not particular about preschool education, they'ld learn to read and write given the right motivation. I am worried about her acquisition of 2nd language though... sigh. because i'm so shit at chinese.

Cakes
Although I like the look of all those cute elaborate looking fondant cakes, I think they are VERY sweet and hard to cut; unless u choose cupcakes.

Am leaning towards beatifying a fresh cream sponge cake because the birthday cake will be Victoria's first taste of cakes and I want it to be easy for her to swallow (she is only 1. Fondant cakes tend to be heavier so as to better hold the fondant / marzipan??). So the cake needs to be light and fluffy, no nuts, no berries in it.

mousebb,
i had to bite my tongue too often when it came to older relatives. i just ignore now.

i think wenxuan and wenmin are both lovely. for one, they're not brats! i think wenxuan takes such a gentle approach to his meimei.

Birthday,
i expect the military husbands are balloting for the changi chalets. hehehe... we have plans to cater for the first night then do a bbq for the 2nd night. My caterer had a portable oven and they did tandoori chicken and fresh oven baked naan, so wonderful... sigh. If i weren't wearing a stupid corset and a white dress, i would have eaten more.

p.s.

if Trace is inviting, i'ld be going. Lurve the goodie bags...

mommies think about it, in a year's time we'ld have to plan class sized birthday parties for when our children go to school~ hahah so tiring.

wow.. those cakes make me drooling...

Jelly,
which baker u found for cakes and cupcake?? can share??

daisybutton,
the cake so nice...

Trace,
that's from PG??? really nice.. and I know their cake is nice taste too..

pil
i remember those days i celebrated my birthdays in the kindergarten! haha... my parents were really tired and stressed out! now it is our turn

pildough : thanks for the research =) i understand where you are coming from..the thing now is that there are many theories these days..and i realli like it when the kiddos learn thru play, mind map and the whole emergence concept, creative thinkin, montessori concept..having said that..i've also heard from parents that kiddos with these background have a hard time adjusting when they enter pri school..mmm..i'm torn..

jelly/pildough : ya.bday parties at kindergarden..my SIL was telling me it's a stressful affair..cos the parents are like trying to outdo each other with nice goodie bag, bday flavours (like strawberry shortcake handbag etc)..mmmmm..last time, i rem my mum making those egg jelly &amp; a simple butter cake + we have some sweets wrapped up..and we are all soo happy !! =)

jellypurine, u got mail!!! well, i dun eat the fondant/mazipan, i only eat the cake inside hehee. yes the fondant is sweet, but its makes the cake beautiful. :p i find glad's cakes nice although i am not chocolate person! some of my friends had 2 slices.

ruffles, actually they are not that hard to cut.
u dun put it in the fridge after collecting. its actually fine. but sponge cake is nice too! actually, if u baby has not tried eggs by her birthday, it may be safe to go for eggless and sugar free cakes if u want her to eat it. this place sells such cakes suitable for babies or for kids with food allergy.

I ordered from them for my son's actual 1st birthday so he can have real cake that day heee..

http://www.theconsciouschoice.com/cake/index-buzz.htm

Mint, wow u really made ur stand huh???? way to go!

jolly, yeah her cakes looks too gorgeous to eat!!!

phildough, wow....ur caterer sounds fantastic. u had them for ur ROM/wedding issit? may I know who is that?

Ruffles, I agree. I'll be opting for cream based embellished wt fondant decor.

Pildough, any findings on Chatsworth Kindergarten from your research?

daisybuttons - Hey thanks for the recommendation. It might just be me being scaredy cat and I just wanna play safe. Wun be giving her cakes or ice creams before her birthday. Plus dun want her to bulk out or puke out on heavy cakes on her happy day. Am I making sense? Fondant - like you said, nice to look at but too sweet to eat. Then if eat inside only - is it a bit wasted? Sigh.

<font color="0000ff">OMG...all the cakes r so cute! Unlike my boring bday cake during MY time.

I think a combine huge 1st bday party for all Oct bbs will b sooooooooo nice

jellypurin,
Regina is also like that nowadays... when she cries, she will scream the whole block down. Once, my neighbour asked why she cry so loudly... sigh! really give people the impression that I torture her or something like that...

<font color="#C24641"> mint
nice but he frens all miss him more den i do!! LOL!!! all wanna meet up with him!! but i dunno is for the sake of the gift my hubby bought for them of they really wanna meet my hubby!! wahahahahahaha!!!!

u all steady leh.. cakes n goodies bag?! but it's true that their birthday comeing soon. as in.. i believe that most of ourBBs here are 7mths old or 8. their birthday will be in abt 5-4mths time.. hve a good planning now for them. how i wish i can also do the same. but hubby dun wan. so sad.

<font color="#C24641"> my high fever gal is still so active n keep disturbing her jie jie. her jie jie nearly gve her a kangaroo kick!!! haiz.. buay tahan!!</font>

<font color="#C24641"> Tweety
up down up down.. like stocks! haha!!! nvm la.. feed her med again. if still din help much.. den go see PD lor.. i use to it liao la.. haha.. so quite steady. worse to worse.. KKH lor..

birthday party for oct babies? when? i am sure to join

trace,
arielle theme is hk or minnie ah? so cute.. can i come? bu qing zhi lai.. haha buay peiseh :p

Hi, Mummies
I'm mummy from Sept Thread. Saw someone post the jelly cake, can I have the link or contact? Looking for one for my ger's 1st birthday celebration.

<font color="#C24641"> eLcH
no la... coz i already do what i can liao. but if all dun help much. den seek fr medical attention lor.. coz i got kids panadol at hme. but if she kena viral fever, den think kids panadol dun help much de.. so pray that aft i feed her the 2nd dose of kids panadol helps lor. if nt.. den bring her to PD lor. i only worried in the middle of the night her fever shoot up. coz viral fever always shoot up in the middle of the night. den need to ho KKH n cab fare ex.. *hehe* </font>

Jelly, Trace,
Wa...so ex! My hubby's going to make alot of noise to pay that much for a cake! Think I got to fork that amount out if I'm to order cake that costs more than $80...knowing how 'practical' he is, he'll sure say that amount can be put into more practical usage than a cake which my boy don't even knows how to appreciate...he sure says its me who wants the cake not my boy...which is true...haha...

Rebecca,
Hope Erin recovers soon!