(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="#C24641"> mousebb, pildough
same here!! but i when they say she's cute.. i'll tell them this,'u din see her true colours!!'</font>

think i read somewhere b4 that the apple puree will turn brown after a while... is that true?

thinking of making apple puree later... any one can advice?

allo ladies,

i've been reading up on kindergartens and particularly the curriculums provided.

read this thread by insider, she's informative until she runs out of things to say and ends up repeating herself ;)

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1472&amp;postdays=0&amp;postorder=asc&amp;start=0

does anyone have a mental list of potential preschools/kindies?

i have.. i'm going to share

if i can afford it, i'ld prob look up 1 &amp; 2
1) schoolhouse by the bay (katong)
2) nafa arts kindergaten
3) shaws
4) bethesda
5) tung ling

sigh. i should have taken the job offer up at nafa 3 yrs ago, maybe now my kid will have a place. ahhahaha

what are your views on e.g etonhouse/chiltern house versus pcf/ntuc

i would love to support the govt but pcf is still too academically driven. in 2004, the then minister of education came down to unimelb to speak to the education fac about instilling more play time/ structured play curriculum into the pcf curriculum framework. since then i saw more time put aside for play, not necessarily more planning but still too much mindless rote, classroom learning. some is good, but there's too much of it.

check out this mommy's experience (good and bad i suppose, depends on what the parent thinks is a good childcare program)

http://tamarindvillage.blogspot.com/2008/05/learning-chinese.html

Joanne, hope bb riane is fine. Take care and update us.

Pildough, I've been doing research too. Dun understand how come all the "top" kindies are clustered in Bukit Timah or West area with on or 2 good ones in the east.
Like u said pcf is too academic driven.

Pildough - I've heard Schoolhouse by The Bay (Katong) is good. I've already registered Victoria for Nanyang Preschool / Kindy. I don' like PCF - too academic.

chris : yupz gg =)how you gg ? i sms you to arrange =)

Pildough : i shall read your links tonight =) and see if i have anymore to share =) have to be discreet while at work these days..=p

i have some pics of the jelly cake but can't seem to paste here..shall reduce and post it tonight..am thinking of having a cake + a jelly 'cake'.. still sourcing for e venue though

busybee,
i think the so called 'top kindies' are over-rated, do your research through what parents are saying in forums then go down and see the place for yourself. what do u look for in a school? which ones were u looking at?

according to gahmen, me read that they aim to have all childcare teachers at least dip trained by 2013 to teach k1 and k2. hopefully that'ld put in more standards and understanding about teaching pedagogies.

i might look into canossa convent as well since i've been in thr convent for 10 yrs. i know i'ld def enroll her into a chinese enrichment program to at least get her to enjoy using the language, trying to read the chinese papers myself these days.. cannot get past yue, ri, wanbao, ta men, i suppose i can get the gist of the story but the rest are a blur. i enjoy dimpletot, she higher chinese mama.. pildough fail! ahahahah

Jolly,
My friend sent me an email with all the jelly cakes in a pdf file...from the pics you posted I think they are from the same source! Very nice right? My friend just ordered a Barney one for her son's birthday at $45 including delivery charge...

pildough : jus checking..will you classify lil skoolhouse and other affilates under NTUC and if you find that there are academic too ? cos i went to take a look at Lil Skoolhouse and tot their cirruculum pretty interesting too..heard carpdiem (can't rem the spelling)nt too bad too..

<font color="119911">kiwifruit</font>, u make HT brown rice cereal with breastmilk right? breastmilk contains enzyme and will make the cereal watery as time goes by. so what we do is say we have 4 tbs of cereal, we will leave 1 tbs of it seperately in another small bowl/cup. then as the 3tbs+40ml of BM becomes watery, we will pour in the last 1tbs pf cereal to make it thick again. as to how much BM to put to how many TBS of cereal, u gota agar agar coz diff brands of cereal and even diff flavours needs diff amount. add a bit by bit until enough.

<font color="ff0000">XY</font>, enjoy ur trip!!! ENVY!

<font color="0077aa">cheerbear</font>, there are babies who skip crawling and go straight to walking.
maybe urs is doing that! but i heard that crawling builds their brain too coz of the coordination involved, so try let him crawl a bit hehee.

<font color="aa00aa">purpleangel</font>, to prevent apple purees from turning brown, you gotta steam the apples first until soft, then puree. same goes for pears. u can store steam apples in freezer (but make sure cool down first). fresh apples and pears sure turn brown coz it oxidises. steaming stops the oxidising process.

<font color="ff0000">elch</font>, so u refer to her blog a lot year? she's a very good cook and very knowledgeable in weaning. she conducted "classes" for some of us mommies last time. very fun.

<font color="0077aa">jellypurin</font>, what class u girls going to this sat???

re: birthday cake
i found one lady making fondant cake at a very reasonable price, including my request for cupcakes! going to order from her rather than cupcakedivinity liao

mousebb/jelly,

its frm pine garden! 1st layer is lychee martinee, then 2nd layer is chocolate..not sure hw big is it..gotta ask my fren, she did it for her ger's bdae..nice hor!

<font color="aa00aa">Trace
Thanks! So qiao! I'm going back to pine garden to order the cake! I think I saw this cake before when i went to collect wenxuan's birthday cake last year and I told my hubby I like the design of the cake very much and we can consider for xiaojie! </font>

Trace!
Very nice!! I am going to enquire with Pine Garden too.... Now Cake Avenue is my top choice. I like the Fudge Chocolate.

Pildough, I am keen on chatsworth at Jalan Kayu. I like that it is an International School.

<font color="aa00aa">Pildough
Pple can say what they want but sometimes those words which come out from their mouths actually hurt the parents alot. Last sat, we brought the kids to visit my grandparents and again, they compared my 2 kids and my grandpa kept saying wenxuan is stupid and wenmin is smart! I told him to stop saying this but he kept saying it until I told him if he is going to say it again, I'm not going to bring the kids to visit them anymore. I was so sad and hubby was affected too. As their parents we know wenxuan is not stupid but just that wenmin is a fast learner, the pace is so much faster than wenxuan. My grandpa was offended by what I told him and he is also angry with me...</font>

Yay!! Thanks Jolly

I was thinking Lychee Martini and Fudge Choc if I get from Pine. I heard their cakes are $30 plus/kg? Anyone can verify?

jolly,

yesh its nice! hehe..

mousebb,

sometimes folks r like dat, insensitive! but we as parents noe our kids r doing well can oredi..so dun bother wad other ppl say..

elch : really..most prob should be the same..i had it yest (nephew's bday) and it's nice..my cousin said many of her frens were asking for the contact. now, we need to think of the 'theme' wahh

1st year party : think someone suggested having a bash for ALL our bbs..are we still having it ? we can start planning..

jolly
think we will "fight" over it! hehe... now i think i have a problem with venue as i have this feeling that my current home is too small...

<font color="aa00aa">Trace
Lychee martini is nice, not too sweet!

I know I cannot stop what pple want to say but just feel sad lor.</font>

jelly : wahhh..ya, cos it's not jus 1 STAR of the day..but many Starsss of the day..hee..
venue is abit of a headache..i feel like i am sourcing a venue for my ROM like that..have to cater to old, young, convenient,, food,etc etc

mousebb, sometimes pple are just so insensitive. Like my aunt also say things like minibee looks like boy and that she is so 'sam seng'. My niece who is born 2 months earlier often gets compared wt her, I just hate it. Every child is special and unique in their own way. Dun be too sad. Hang in there. Just one ear in one ear out.

jellypurin hahahaha is it the memoiracts one? or MWL? hehehee..enjoy!!!

pinegarden website is www.pgcake.com

surf and rebecca, i think my reply came very late, coz i just read ur post. wah liew!!!! stupid hotel, stupid indian workers and stupid BIL!!!!! i wld be mad too and i can just imagine how you girls feeling!!! BRrrrrrRR!!!!!!

ooh since we are on topic of cakes, me also starting to plan their birthday parties liaoz! so fun! just to share:

my boy's 1st birthday cake
2469072.jpg

his 2nd birthday cake (he is a thomas fan)
2469073.jpg

<font color="aa00aa">daisybuttons
I like the thomas the train one! Suitable for my son! Haha! His birthday is just 3 months away! Will show hubby the photo tonight!
Btw, how big is this cake? From PG too?</font>