(2008/10) Oct 2008

hmm.. do you have any idea what bb will be like around 5-6mos? my bro is inviting my family to go to HK this april. my parents, brothers and sister and their families are all going. but my hubby say bb is still too small. i will just waste money going cause will not be able to go to places cause have to take care of bb.

juzus,
ya.. fingers crossed!
hmm.. if i could give BM i would have..
i will be going to the gathering tmr.. have some fenugreek left. not much though, u want?

sleeping through the night,
Not sure if it helps, but I try to feed my boy more frequent at night. Sometimes if he dozes off at one breast, then I will change his pamper,make him wakie then drink from the other side. But then, he has not been sleeping well this few nights also. Sigh.

Joanne>> i brought baby furthest so far was sentosa :p that was when she about 2+ month. i think ok leh. i just sling her everywhere. but if go disneyland or ocean park, many rides u cannot take lor. if you're latching i tink is quite convenient. if FM or pumping then i think is quite mafan. and probably baby wun remember anything :p but so many your family going, surely will take turns to take care ba? actually we oso thot of taking a trip in march. still considering...

juz us
my bb is constantly hvg runny stools, kinda like diarrhea and she seemed to hv v itchy eyes and runny nose... all seemed to be signs of allergy to cow's milk. she's been on similac since birth

sometimes i do resent my hubby for not helping. now he is seeing the fruits of his labour, my bb bonds w him less so my get automatically cries when he picks her up. doesn't want him to bao bao

my bb is probably in the range of 6.5-7kg at 4mths, 1wk old

dumbo
am thinking of changing to friso as well bcos it is cheaper

dumbo>> ok sure if u dun mind =) are u bringing stroller? if no space for stroller what u intend to do wif baby during lunch?

pinkimum>> wow! thats great! my pd oso say i shouldn't feed baby to slp. but once baby slp i always dun dare wake her! even if she hardly fed at my boob
then i will have to wake up more times in the middle of the night to feed. coz she really big headache to put to slp de

after my jb trip this cny, i am not gng anywhere w my bb until she turns 1yo or at least can guai guai sit in a pram... otherwise, no trip. also bb's airfare not cheap.

juz us,
that's what my hubby say also. bb won't be able to remember anything. but he says even though i'm latching, it's still not convenient cause i have to stop somewhere to feed bb. then either my family will wait for me or they leave me behind. so for him it's a waste. a bit sad lor. cause, again, i will be the only one missing from the outing.

jellypurin,
kaitlyn is growing very well with friso.. think she's around 7kg already. will be bringing her to pd tmr morning. i'll know then. hehe

juzus,
yes i'll be bringing a stroller. duno how to sling her cos she's always struggling. if no space.. err i cant eat lor. haha.. or someone have to help me carry. we can take turns to help each other. lol.. my stroller very big leh.. quinny buzz..

Tomorrow's gathering
I am sad to say I have to give tomorrow's gathering a pass. Today I brought my girl out, and she was a wreck. Getting all fidgety most of the times. Tried to sling her but she doesn't like it one bit. Even with my husband around, I was so stressed and tired. So I guess I will stay home tomorrow instead. Can't put up with another day of fussiness.

karen
take care n hv a good rest at home. i realise that as our bbs grow older, some of them are just getting nottier by the day, like mine

Ok Karen and cheerbear cannot come so we are down to 23 confrm, one tentative (rains). Not sure how many mummies are bringing strollers ... Should have space for some strollers but definitely not 23 strollers la...

Who was gonna bring stickers? We just write our details when we reach k?

busybee,
Thanks. I also hope he will get well soon coz' it is affecting his sleep and appetite.

Gionna,
Long time no see you here. Still remember me. Our gynae is Dr. TC Lim and he delivered us on the same day too.
Ethan can flip over but does not know how to flip back yet. Now so scare to leave him on the bed and rocker by himself. Skylar very cute leh can even response to daddy.

Rebecca, Mousebb,
Yeah, Ethan also nearly fell off his rocker (his legs already dangling out of the rocker). Same lah, my hubby is the one taking care of him while I bathe. Me and hubby also end up quarell.

Jellypurin,
Wow your colleague very good ss leh. I cannot even pump that amount when I am engorge. My ss is getting lower and lower. Today cannot even get 300ml after 3 pump if continue dun know whether can continue to bf my son or not.

Whitepaper,
You are really very good leh. Ever since, I came back to work I am too tired to wake up to pump in the middle of the night. You are right it is all in the mind. I will try to wake up to pump at night. I must boost the supply up again.

mommies

I can pump 7X a day maybe because my pumping sessions are short. I take only 15mins per pump. That's sufficient to empty my breasts.

And YES, it is all in the mind. If you tell yourself you are tired and wanna stop, you'll believe that. But if you tell yourself you are ok and can continue, you will continue!

I travel alot for work too, I'm thinking of BFing till CH turns 1 year old. If I go on trips, I'll prob pump and discard...

See how... if not at least till CH turns 6 months...

eh wah lau, 23 mommies (and possibly babies).. forget about the stickers, someone bring a banner! ehahehaeheahaehae

hi mommies, it's about 3 weeks since i've started work, cutting down on my pumps and for the past few days, managed to stretch pump time to 10-12 hours, pumping maybe just twice a day, hopefully milk production stop soon and i can go buy a proper bra, (with the soft nursing bra) i caught myself bouncing obscenely in the reflection of the bus i was running to catch. hee heee..

Mommies who are thinking of cutting back, slap the doctor who tells you to stop pumping, let it get engorged, put in cabbage leaves and possibly allow mastitis to set in and fester. i saw such a doctor.. and i gave her a 'how stupid do you think i am' look. she told me that the pills given to stop milk production had side effects contributing to heart related deaths so she has stopped prescribing them. dunno how true..

on the job front, i have resigned, i have applied but i'm seriously thinking of something part time.. can't imagine having a full time job. as it is, (with the exception of this week), before i leave the house, she's sleeping, when i come back, she's gone to bed and i might catch her for her 10.30-11ish p.m. feed. dunno lah, despite all my gabra about maintaining a lifestyle, i really miss her. i don't want to see her allll the time but i want to at least have more than one bloody hour each day with her, does it make sense?

anyhow, HAPPY 4 MONTHS! OCT BABIES.

mommies, i think we've done really well, havent we? ;)

p.s. have started abby on mashed pumpkin, heinz rice cereal between her feeds, going to throw in apples, pears and avocado

i know it's quite the variety but she has no adverse reaction towards it wat.. plus she's very interested in the food.

p.s. she sleeps 5 hours straight after semisolids. MUA HA HA HA HA.. but we only gave her a one or two teaspoons or so in the afternoon for her to test test try try. milk is still her primary source of nutrition

mommies, what are u feeding your babies?

<font color="aa00aa">pildough
Huh? what side effect? what heart problems? The last time, I took medicine to stop my ss and my gynae told me must keep pumping, but dont empty the breast. Just pump to relieve engorgement can liao. I think it is STUPID to stop pumping and let it engorged. You will probably be the one suffering in the end cos it is really no joke when the breasts got engorged!!!</font>

elchwong,
Coz i din latch my baby, only pump lor! I cut from 7x to 6x then 5x before returning to work, am a lazy mom!

Whitepaper &amp; Trace,
Really salute u both! Pump 7x and still wake up twice at night to pump!!!! Me cant ah, too tiring le...

surf,
Not good enuf ah! I used to get 900ml+ before returning to work. Erm...anyway, dun wish to stress myself, am happy with what i have now, and will try to tong as long as possible. Try not to cut no. of pumps if can lo, but the most important is we try to do our best!

pildough>> cool! hope tanya takes to solids like abby =) for now she only milk. u din make rice? did u wait til abby double birth weight?

Venue : Plaza Sing - Swensens
Date : 10 Feb, Tuesday, 1pm

Interested:
1. Dimpletot + bb kate
2. Xin Ying + BB Marcus
3. Ruffles + bb victoria
4. Busy bee + bb Mikayla
5. mint + bb regina
6. Freda
7. Zeal mummy + bb Joan
8. Forest + BB Kieran
9. dumbo + BB Kaitlyn
10. Kylie
11. R&amp;R Mum
12. Jollyhoppy + BB Ashton
13. Juz Us + BB Tanya
14. Christina + bb
15. Rebecca + BB Erin
16. Jill + BB Zoe
17. Monyetnakal + BB Jonathan
18. Purpleangel + BB
19. Purebliss + Boy
20. Jetudes
21. Jellypurin
22. essanna + BB Isabel
23. Surf
24. Rains (tentative)

mummies, can reach me at 97386648.
See u all tmr.

hihi mummies - it will be my first time joining you gals... hopefully i wouldn't feel too left out cos i don't know anyone of you yet...

Updated the list to include bb's name =)

Venue : Plaza Sing - Swensens
Date : 10 Feb, Tuesday, 1pm

Interested:
1. Dimpletot + bb kate
2. Xin Ying + BB Marcus
3. Ruffles + bb victoria
4. Busy bee + bb Mikayla
5. mint + bb regina
6. Freda + bb gareth
7. Zeal mummy + bb Joan
8. Forest + BB Kieran
9. dumbo + BB Kaitlyn
10. Kylie
11. R&amp;R Mum
12. Jollyhoppy + BB Ashton
13. Juz Us + BB Tanya
14. Christina + bb
15. Rebecca + BB Erin
16. Jill + BB Zoe
17. Monyetnakal + BB Jonathan
18. Purpleangel + BB
19. Purebliss + Boy
20. Jetudes
21. Jellypurin
22. essanna + BB Isabel
23. Surf
24. Rains (tentative)

Freda, it will be my first gathering too. Dun worry! I'm sure all the mummies are nice and we can let our babies bond!

Juzus, I will be at the gathering and have a opened bottle of fenugreek but no longer taking cos my ss was pathetic. but it did boost the ss a bit but still insufficient for tbf. let me know if u keen.

re: fenegreek,
One of the consultant at BMSG said that fenugreek only boosts milk ss if u are not getting enuff nutrition. So dumbo\R&amp;R's mummy, u guys must be getting enuff nutrition! Actually I think I better give my fenugreek a try since milk ss not so fantastic; half bottle still sitting there.

Fredawong, dun worry, I am sure the mummies here are very friendly.
I am not bringing my gal tmr, so can help to carry babies while you guys eat lar!

jellypurin, goat's milk is very ex!! I think it is the most expensive one, followed by an organic brand. But actually it is good if ur bb is sensitive - PD recommended soy/ goat milk for my toddler as her skin is very sensitive.

I also feel resentful twds for hubby and it started since my firstborn. I have told him before how I feel. But he doesnt improve much; makes me even madder. I try to kan kai. With my second gal, he seems to be more zi dong. I feel like I am doing all the work PLUS i still have to work. When I ask him to do things, he asks his mum to do it! But I must try not to be resentful; otherwise marriage how to last!~

whitepaper &amp; trace,I dunno how u gals can wake up TWO times to pump in the night. I absolutely cannot do it. Waking up to nurse - I already feel like dying the next morning.

I'm also still bringing PIS back and forth hm-ofc.... try to tahan until 6 months. Cut the no of pump from 7x (bfr work) to 5-6x when go back to work. Try to pump 3x at ofc...

Freda, this is the first time also to meet other mummies. Still confuse who is who coz so many of us

Which floor is swensen at palsing? and the reservation under whose name? thanks to diempletot n xinying for organizing

haha middle of the nite stone stone pump lor..my pump usually ard 1am,4am then 7am..n aft dat prepare for work. Its really tiring,but no choice..aft u see yr bb happily drinking,everything is worth it de....

fenugreek, milktea, goat rue, motherlove more milk...are the popular stuffs to booast breastmilk.
fenugreek to take up to 6 caps a day, otherwise, no effects.

hi. i'm new to this...
jus some enquiry on the formula milk issue...
my baby boy is 3mth 2wks plus old nw... born on end of OCT last yr....
i'm giving him FM similac1 frm newborn till nw, but seems like he doesn't like it nw, he do vomit out some, and at times doesn't want to drink... drink abt 120ml den it stop which usual 180ml-200ml....
wat might be the issue??
pls help...
tks....

<font color="119911">hi morning all!

freda, busy bee, monyetmakal>> is also my 1st time meeting =) oso feel a bit shy leh. but there's a first first everything ya?

trace>> peifu!! like essana, i wake for latch already sian. do u wash and sterilise after every session too? how do u get enuf slp?

mummies. u all intend to sterilise til when? 1 year old?

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

Mummies who are going to the gathering today
Enjoy yourself and remember to take some photos to show us

Gd morn mommies!!

Mona - I've posted on the Jul thread on play yards asking if we can join and the answer is YES! See link> http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1056680.html?1234188834

Now, let's let wait for the lady to PM us for payment and delivery. So happy to get this good deal!

Busy bee - to fit the SSW mat, you nd 6 panels as attested by mspiggy who has this config for her mat
4 panels fits a normal sized cot mattress. And guess what - am getting the Hello Kitty mat you recommended!!! Hahha.

Trace / whitepaper - I also wake 1-2 times nightly to pump even tho Vicky sleeps through. Sigh ... the power of motherly love! Sacrifice!!!

Jus Us - Yes I wash and sterilise every time I pump. Even in the nite!
I will cont to sterilise the bottles as long am feeding her w it

Enya - Will not order the fenugreek for now as mspiggy has kindly offered me hers

hi all reservation under ms kang. But u cannot miss us one. Even if u r first to arrive just tell them the booking for 25. Can't be more than one!

Essanna
no leh, the new spree has calendula selling for 50 cents more than the ima spree...

morning mommies

yesterday, i experimented the ferberising technique on my baby - basically just lay her on her cot, let her cry and allow her to fall aslp. i'm quite amaze this cold turkey treatment of my baby is turning out well on day 1 of my experiment. i met with a lot of objections from my parents. it was heartwrenching hearing my bb cry but i had no choice - she's waking up v often lately. she slpt from 10pm-3am. had her feed and fall back to slp. woke up at 630pm again today. i hope i get some luck to let her slp from 10pm-6am.

Good morning mummies...

Ruffles,
When's the deadline for ordering playyard? I'm interested too but got to discuss with hubby tonight...I'm thinking of using it to surround the 3-fold Seahorse mattress instead of getting a playmat...so is 6 panels sufficient?