(2008/10) Oct 2008

Same same, me too! Everyday have to lug my ameda pump to work, thinking to stop too, coz i had complication - plugged ducts twice after back to work! Ouch!!! Very painful experiences! But thinking of boy everytime make me xin ruan to continue. Sometime feel very tiring too, coz need to pump after attend to his needs, and cant go out too long. I already reduce no. of pumps to 5 times a day nia (About 800ml a day)...Try to tong now, my fren told me once baby starts on solids, can further reduce no. of pumps a day, then wont feel so xin ku, and can have more rest/Me time...Hm...

hiaz...shi shang zhi you ma ma hao

this i really agree! for those of us ss not v gd, we still continue, all in the hope to boost out bb's immunity! for those ss v gd, jia you and produce more!

<font color="ff0000">Skylar was born on 28 Sep so should consider as 4 months 2 weeks liao, hope she don't be lazy and flip over soon. The only thing is she is very talkative. She loves to talk errm very loudly, hehe in the form of screaming/yelling. It's not like she is angry or frustrated, she will just happily lay there and 'scream' at the top of her voice, then cough when she overdo it. Hehe yesterday she just figure out he sound "mmmmm". My hubby was talking to her as usual and said "U are such a lovely gal, aren't you" Then Skylar replied "mmmmmmm", it was so funny cos it's so coincidental. It's as if she agreed with her daddy. </font>

<font color="0077aa">elchwong,
u have to hold the pacifier in his mouth for him for awhile, mine also dunno how to suck at 1st.

where did u get the black, red &amp; white cards from? when will bbs start to have normal vision like us?</font>

Phtanus,
Pump 5 times a day?! I only pump 4 times a day (once in the morning, 2X at work, once before bedtime) and I'm already feeling sian! I prefer latching, at least no need to wash so many things!

jjmom2008,
I held it for him and he sucks but after sometime he'll let go. We want to into it to him when he's 1 month+, hoping that he'll not wake up in the middle of the night for milk but end up we spend more time holding his pacifier! We gave up the pacifier in less than a week! Luckily he manages to sleep through the night just before I start work...

jjmom
i read that at 6mths, they hv normal vision just like us

jjmom2008,
Those cards are given to me by a colleague...think she got it free from Wyeth Gold as behind the cards state 'Wyeth Gold'...

elchwong,
how did u manage to pump x2 in ofc? i onli manage to do once which is during lunch.. then evening go home pump again and at nite b4 sleep and of coz morning b4 i step out of the hse.. but sometime evening pump will skip coz when reach home too busy entertain and carry him and not engorge so din pump.. lazy me :p

cheerbear,
yea i actually bought the 3-6mth one already and its covering the nose. so she still using the 0-3mth one now.. didnt know there was a 0-6mth one.. tks! will go check it out.

Hey mummies, don't give up on pumping leh... I just got encouraged by your ladies back, and then now we are all talking abt giving up. I am also v tired, the thought of giving up keeps coming to mind. I still wake up once in the early morning to pump. Starting work in 2 weeks times, dunno if can tahan, still trying to imagine bringing PIS to office and pumping in office. The thought of it, I alr feel tired. But every time see my girl, I feel guilty abt giving up.

My target is still 6 months (hopefully), tediooooous to go beyond that........

Phtanus - 800ml for 5 pumps a day is already very good. My ss dipped after I had some skin infection at the pumping area during CNY, which I cut my no. of pumps to 5 times to rest it. Thinking to cut further to 4 times now so that I pump only once in office, but I know ss will dip again.

re: pacifier - My girl not addicted coz we never give her since day 1. But we give her only if she screams at the top of her voice and cries till got tears. Once ok, we will pull it out so that she does not become addicted.

hi mummies... just want to encourage u all to try to keep on pumping.... jia you! No matter how tired we all are, we can do it cos we are mummies who can survive on little sleep and lots of work (home+office)!

ganbatte!!! i am tired of pumping too...but no choice...when u think of yr little one...any hardship r forgotten!

Cheerbear,
I pump at about 12noon and 5pm...go home will latch him, then only pump before bedtime at around 9.30pm...wake up at 5.30am or so then pump before preparing for work...if I don't pump before bedtime even after he latched I will feel engorged in the middle of the night...so cannot afford to skip the before bedtime pump...

any mummies need a lift to PS tomorrow? I will be coming from chinatown area. don't mind picking anyone up ard tiong bahru/bukit merah or along the way..

<font color="ff0000">Trace,

Have have, u can go to her website www.skylarburdon.com to see her photos. I've taken some pics of her during the weekend but haven't upload onto the 4th month window yet. Think i will do it this weekend.

Mommies who are pumping:

JIAYOU! don't give up! I'm tired too but still stick to pumping 7X a day... 3 times at work... sometimes 4, if I work late. Wake up twice a night to pump.

YOU CAN DO IT! It's all in the mind!

cheer bear,
i hope your bb gets better soon.

elchwong,
me too! have to lug around the PIS everyday. so tiring. and it's soo heavy also. lucky i only need to do it until wed since it's my last day at work.

on pacifier,
i'm using the pigeon pacifier. my bb doesn't like it. she keeps on spitting it out. she still prefers me over the pacifier. the problem is, she will eat more than she needs and tends to spit out a lot. she likes to suck on her hand as well. so cute! and it's so loud also when she does it. but i try not to let her get used to sucking her hand. later will be very difficult to wean.

on pumping:
i know it's tiring to pump every time.. but don't give up mummies!! even if you can only pump out a little it's still better than none.

wow whitepaper.. i realli veri pei fu u leh.. 7x steady

my ss veri low liao.. now everyday can onli pump 250-300ml already my max liao

<font color="0077aa">Yah, I thou of giving up coz of really low ss. Mummies with gd ss, pls don't give up coz at least it's worth the effort mah

<font color="ff0000">On pacifier, Skylar uses NUK pacific only when she gets ratty and needs to sleep. If not usually she just stuck her fingers into her mouth.

whitepaper,
I really very peifu you leh.... you still bother to wake up to pump. I get tired even getting to wake up to nurse my boy.

Actually I very peifu all working mums who are still pumping.

pinkimum,

kekeek..dats y i am having headache..i oso wakes up twice to pump..if not not enuff BM..

yest arielle keep waking up for milk..she woke up every 2 hrs..pengz

pumping>> i now pumping out before start work to prepare for when start work. ss oso very low so went to kellymom to SOS. they recommend to pump only at work and to latch when with the baby. anyone tried this? i think its supposed to improve your supply coz baby suck can remove more efficiently than pump. then u can oso reduce the hassle of carry pump to and fro

tommorow gathering>> hey swensens no space for all our prams then how? how we free hands to eat if baby cannot sit yet? *blur

pinkimum>> ya me too peifu them! my hubby suggest supplement with formula once i return to work, coz not so hassle

sleeping>> jelly, so good to know i not alone. so how u manage? my baby oso very hard to slp one
i find most siong is when she wake up at night and dun wanna return back to slp. i am a panda mummy liao. i very worry when i return to work whether my IL will have patience to coax tanya to slp not. i dun wanna return home to a cranky bb

skeeping thru night>> wow some of your babies slp thru night le?? so envy!
tanya hasn't done that yet. anyone baby not yet slp thru night? not even ONCE! mums wif babies who slp thru night, how u teach?? and what age they do that?

juz us,
kaitlyn has only slept for longer hrs a few times.. once 7 hrs, twice 6 hrs. That was ard 2-3 wks ago.. now still wake up every 4-5 hrs. Last nite woke up after 3 and 3.5 hrs.. today panda eyes at work.. stoneee... @@

trace>> ytd i headache try to pump, <1 oz...fainted. so i had to take ponstan. is it ok to take panadol? i wanted to but my hubby say better not. ponstan think is ok coz thats what the hospital gave after delivery. so i guessing should be ok to use when BFing ba?

dumbo>> when she wake, after feeding will she return to slp on her own? tanya used to do that. but nowadays, she more alert liao, wake up dun wanna go back to slp so easily. affecting me and her daddy badly. i consier lucky le, coz no nid to work. how on earth u do it
peifu...

whitepaper>> wah ur CH very good leh
my bb only 6.15kg aiyo. her weight gain slow down a lot.

any mummies baby double birth weight liao? i read somewhere that we should only start solids after baby weight doubles

juz us
how i cope? i just tahan. last week, i was a wreck. by weekend, my headache was really bad and i was ready to give a slap on my hubby's face as he was not helping me at all with night feeds.

today much better leh... i am gng hm to try the method to just plc my bb to slp on the crib and let her cry till she slps

juzus,
sometimes she will.. after feed, i will play with her maybe 15 mins.. den put her back in her cot and she'll slowly doze off.. but sometimes.. no choice have to play with her until its time to go to work.. very shiong..
but not as shiong as mothers BFing.. i peifu them.. i hardly got to bf at all.. long story..

cheer bear,
i hope your bb gets better soon.

elchwong,
me too! have to lug around the PIS everyday. so tiring. and it's soo heavy also. lucky i only need to do it until wed since it's my last day at work.

on pacifier,
i'm using the pigeon pacifier. my bb doesn't like it. she keeps on spitting it out. she still prefers me over the pacifier. the problem is, she will eat more than she needs and tends to spit out a lot. she likes to suck on her hand as well. so cute! and it's so loud also when she does it. but i try not to let her get used to sucking her hand. later will be very difficult to wean.

on pumping:
i know it's tiring to pump every time.. but don't give up mummies!! even if you can only pump out a little it's still better than none.

juz us
fenu is useless to me as well. u can try... i heard can take up to 6caps

my bb double her weight le... but i will start solids after 6mths

juz us,

does yr gynae gv u the painkiller aft u popped? think dat one helps..i juz rem i have dat med at hm, i shall take it later if my headache persists...
i really lack of sleep....every morn drives to work like stone stone..hard to concentrate esp in a jam!!!

dumbo
what FM are you giving to ur ger? i'm thinking of switching to goat's milk like Karihome. anyone tried? isit better than cow's milk FM?

jellypurin,
yea i actually stood in front of the super market shelves for like half an hr comparing tin to tin when i was changing formulas.. this kinda thing i did think the more ex the better and enfalac is quite up there.. however, friso is almost on par with enfalac and other brands and is ard $7 cheaper per tin compared to enfalac. its quite alot considering one tin last a wk or less. the main diff was that enfalac contained more of a particular nutrient. cant remember wat it was though.

icylemon>> are u gg for tomorrow's gathering? can pass me if you dun mind? then i can try first. else lmk where to collect? thanks =)

fenugreek>> err did it help anyone?

jelly>> aiyo me too!! sometimes it really hurts my r/s wif hubby coz i feel that i must do all the work! what's ur baby's wt?

dumbO>> hope our babies can slp better soon

TraCe>> yup, gynea and Mt A all gave me ponstan; the yellow and aqua colour capsule. i take that when headache lor. aiyo really peifu u working mums. i dread going back to work! so scared cannot manage

Jelly>> think usually babies take goats milk if lactose intolerant. is your baby?

dumbo>> i think nutrition wise is about same. more impt is which your baby willing to take. we tried friso and similac, baby all refuse. so much leftover! we couldn't really afford to keep trying all the different brands, so stick to BM
but when go back to work, we'll see how...