(2008/10) Oct 2008

PD
went to do papsmear. pd reminded me about family planning. better to do condoms..eheheh. she said if i accidentally hv no.3 she will bring the baby home.

im so happy to find out i've lost 18kg ehehe...close to my weight before pregnancy.

Mousebb & purpleangel..thanks for your compliment!

Purpleangle, i wanted to get beanies initially but then thought maybe too hot.. so try this headband first..think have to wait till 6mos to wear..now quite big. I got lots of clips for her now..see then buy..itchy hands..My girl's hair also quite little..but mange to grab a few to 'kiap' haha

Joanne, can i check with you, u using manual or electric pump ? U bring to work?

cos enya's kids are super cute!

Thanks mummies for the advice. Had to MC event so missed one feed but after latching for next feed thank God blockage went away. So tender and painful but no choice had to latch. Grit my teeth.

I had a very easy pregnancy but the first 2 months after bb comes out still scares me major. Earliest ttc when bb is 1 yr old maybe 2. Sometimes I can't believe why anyone would want to repeat the trauma.

Sigh, my girl had been cranky tonight, crying non-stop when we put her down to her cot, had a hard time pacifying her. Maybe I'm 'pantang', but it might be due to the fact that there was a salesperson who kept touching and rubbing her head this afternoon when we were out. I'm sure you mummies have encountered strangers coming up to your baby and touching their head or face. How do you tell them diplomatically not to do it without sounding offensive. I don't mind if it's a relative or friend doing it...but not a stranger!

As I had past history of miscarriages, my gynae while stitching me up after labour, advised me to try for the second one 2 months later! Here I was still suffering from post childbirth pain, and he was already urging me to try again! Haha, that explains why he's a father of 7!

My stress level was extremely high during the 9 months of pregnancy, with every single discomfort seeing me running back to the gynae's office. Don't know if I would have the courage to go through the whole process again...

Kiwifruit,

Mine wasn't really a very smooth pregnancy. Early pregnancy have slight bleeding (got polyp) , then later got gestational diabetes, then got 2 occasions with severe bleeding, then during labour with induce massive bleeding till need emergency c-section..

So, thinking of having another child for me will take a bit of time and courage!

<font color="119911">morning mummies =)

bbgoh>> wow! thats pretty good! do u know if all ifc are like that? if not, how u choose or know which are good? where is your ifc?

rebecca>> ya i oso feel quite sad wun get to see her take her 1st step or say her 1st word

karen>> lol, i really empathise with you!! I have same problems with my in laws! everything i do they oso got some opinion...aiyo, next time i scared to leave baby with them; so considering infant care

purpleangel>> ya haha i oso cannot decide what to do wif my baby lack of hair. i decided on cap lor. then many comment look like boy i juz correct them :p

Enya>> wow! congrats! thats a lot to lose!

dimpletot>> haha i still wondering who wanna go thru this all again! i suspect coz my baby quite difficult + i have to take care of her alone
peifu all u mums who care for baby alone, esp if u got more kids to take care of!

kiwifruit>> ya ya! haha i oso feel weird when strangers touch her. dunno hands clean not lol</font>

<font color="aa00aa">re:ttc
Haha! You mummies are fast! This year is out for us liao. Wait till wenmin is at least 1 year old bah. Not easy to handle a young toddler and a young bb at the same time. Wenxuan is teething now and having a fever. He cries a lot cos can see that he is feeling very uncomfy hence we are trying to give him more attention. At the same time, we also have to 'deal' with wenmin who is a cry baby. Our heads is getting bigger each day. Haiz!!!</font>

enya, i have a phil n ted as well. But different model - mine is Dash.

kiwifruit, can discreetly move away or pass the baby to your hubby or whoever else is with u and ask them to take the baby out. or if you are alone, touch the baby's face yourself so the stranger cannot touch and bring the baby close to you and babytalk to her (so that stranger cannot touch baby without coming between baby's face and ur face - that will be quite rude already!), then after that, hold baby close to you so stranger has no chance to touch again! i have lotsa practice with my first one.. hahaa

my first pregancy and delivery was easy enuff, sorta. My second one was quite nerve-wrackig plus awful since i was puking every day during the nauseaous period. sigh. and because i had a miscarriage in between and alittle bit unstable during early pregancy, keep having to watch myself for spotting, feeling for signs that baby is moving, watching for pains. I remembered I was so worried for a day when I didnt feel the baby and was so relived when she moved the end of the day. But my delivery was easy enuff. heh. and i love new babies. so definitely trying for a third one
but not so soon lar..

Karen,
At 5 weeks old, her face, neck, and behind the ears were red and patchy so I brought her to PD and he diagnosed as having eczema.

ILs = outlaws...

essanna,
Hahahaha! I agree with you. With 1 baby, my night activities is almost zilch so I dun think I want another. heehee!

xinying,
I contacted the girl80 but her MIL dun allow her to take other people's ebm. hmmm...

<font color="aa00aa">essanna
My 1st pregnancy was very easy. My 2nd one was very terok. The 1st and 2nd early trimester were like going thru the roller coastal ride which given us a lot of mental torture. </font>

bb just 3 mths, thinking of having another one. Gynae advised to plan 2 years ahead, cos a lot of emotional devt bb will be going through. Instead of him thinking that I am caring for someone else, he will more likely be able to participate when i care for the 2nd one. I am not sure sia... Want to have all at one ago.

Too ambitious liao .

any mommy has the same exp as me that gynae says NO! to having babies within 1 yr from delivery?? i was quite puzzled but neva ask y? is it becos its C-section?

Good day mummies

MIA for few days.... finding it abit hard to catch up. Haha. Saw alot of topics discussed from attending Kindermusikprogrammes, establishing milk supply, having the next bb, bumbo seats to PILs.. LOL. :p

Re: Kindermusik - I am also interested in the trial class. Sorry, can't trace which mummy organising the class... can KIV me too? Thanks.

Re: Speed on PIS - sorry, can't recall which mummies were mentioning your PIS speed also in dots? I am pumping at the 1st big dot only, considered speed 1 i guess. Read that you all pumping at the 3rd big dot or even max speed?! Wow... don't the nipples and aerola get sore?! I am now wondering if the problem lies in me not using higher speed to get the milk out. I hv been having difficulties in getting letdowns even, having to squeeze the breasts during pumping. Wrists are suffering from pain since 10 weeks back and my MIL and hubby asking me to stop pumping
and just give bb FM. Been depressed for past few days when I thought of giving up.

<font color="aa00aa">Shameen
I delievered my 1st one via c-sect and that time my gynae advised me to wait for at least 6 months if we want to plan for the 2nd one. However, when my 1st one was 3 months old, I consulted my gynae again and he gave me the green light to go ahead. My 2nd c-sect wound also healed nicely liao so I guess it is not the issue of c-sect bah.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Surf
re: Speed on PIS
Mine also in dots. I'm pumping between the last 2nd and third big dots and I find the speed is ok for me. </font>

my preggie days with marcus was a breeze....Maybe that's why i want to tio again. haha...

i also c-sec. my gynae say after 6months can try. Hmm... ox? tiger? haha...

Surf,
I'm pumping at the 3rd big dot also, sometimes if I feel that the pumping is too gentle, I move to the next small dot. I do think that the speed or severity of pumping has an effect on the milk production. You might want to try moving to the second or third big dot, as long as you're comfortable with it.

Above all, don't feel so stressed over expressing milk. If you feel depressed or stressed over it, then you might as well don't express becos it's affecting you negatively. I stopped pumping earlier on becos I found myself feeling depressed and unable to care for the baby myself - I got giddy spell every time after a pumping session and my nipples felt sore and I hated the leaking breasts. I felt it's stupid to express milk while hating the process.

When I decided to restart pumping, I decided to be happy about it and would stop if I feel depressed about it again. It's not good for our physical and emotional being if we're so stressed and unhappy over pumping. Baby is important, but we're equally important.

My mother told me although she breastfed us in the daytime, we were given FM at night when she slept. I asked if she felt guilty. She said,"Taking care of myself is more important." It's from that point on that I felt so silly. I kept forcing myself to pump and pump so that the baby could be totally breastfed but I was hurting my own body and emotional being. Technology has given us FM to help us cope with the demands of being a mother. Don't be so hard on yourself.

rain : agree with you..jus do our best..cos i was soo stressed up when i return to work..so afraid of missing my pumping schedule &amp; while pumping, so afraid that my work is affected..then i tell myself, when pumping, jus think of my baby..if too busy at work, prob pump for jus 10-15min instead of the usual 20-25mins...(considering the fact that my coll go for smoke-break..also abt 15-20 mins, or sometimes more..hehee)

so far, ss still enuff for bb, but i still bot a tin of FM for the IFC (jus in case)..cos it's realli no point if i keep stressing myself..and get upset when my ss drop..i try to be a 'superwoman'..do well @ work, be a good mummy, a good wife, have a TBF bb, keep my house clean..etc..but at the end of the day..i will be soo shack out..so now, jus relax and do my best.

bbgoh : sometimes i oso ask the IFC staff for advice..jus recently they helped ashton clear his cradle crap..i was surprised when i 'sayang' him and realised that his scalp is clear..mmm, i guess it isn't too bad, cos they record all the feeding/pooing etc..&amp; seem to me that he is on a better routine now..i guess if he is still @ home w me, the routine will be haywire..oppss..&amp; the other thing is that every IFC will have a state-registered nurse, thus feel more at ease.

<font color="purple">xinying,
yup. looking forward to mid-feb already.
sure. let's meet up. my last day at work is at 11 feb.

juz us,
don't worry. i'm sure you can handle it. they say just need to get baby in a routine so that it won't be so hard.
so now i'm still figuring out how to get baby in a routine. hehe.

rebecca,
yaloh. but i'm so scared to hire nanny to take care of my baby le. then don't want to put in infant care also.

kylie,
i'm using PIS and i bring to work every day. so heavy. but no choice. since i'll only work till feb they gave my seat to somebody else so no drawer with lock already.

Great Joanne, We'll plan for the meet up again in mid feb.

About breastfeeding:
Dun worry so much lah. I'm sure FM is just as good. I grew up with FM and turn out just fine. Haha... The only plus point of BFing is when going out, no need to lug hot water, bottles, milk powder etc. Haha...

<font color="purple">xinying,
sure. no problem.

about breastfeeding:
haha. yah. that's one of the plus point in BFing. less things to carry when going out.

xinying,
I remember my first c-section wound took many months to regain its normal state. If I remember correctly, it took 6 months to 1 year before the numbeness went away. It took so long I didn't bother to check it anymore.

Jus us, that's y i try to wear my gal in pink.. yet again.. pple still ask.. boy ar?.. :| mine is not lack of hair.. i shaved her hair during full mth.. now her hairs are spiky and all standing.. haha like mowhawk like tat..

kylie, nice headband too... u think i still can get 1 too? hehe... i try to see whether i can 'kiap' on her hair w my handmade clip or not.. haha

surf, sigh the greatness of mummies. But I guess try not to be too depressed about feeding bb FM. We (at least I) grew up on FM and are doing fine (and I mean fine!). Perhaps if you are more relaxed, letdowns may come easier. Call your hubby to talk to me lar, where is the support for the wifey! Duh!

Xinying
Oh glad to know the numbness will go away. Feels strange.

Baby laughing
Heee, late to the party but heard my girl laugh heartily today
Was playing with her and I think accidentally touched her weak spot, and she laughed. But couldn't repeat it after that. So strange.

FM vs BM
Yah lor. I also grew up on FM. Well, I only had a month of BM. And I think that month of BM actually helped a lot. I hardly get sick at all! And because of that, I always thought I was fed BM for a long time. But what the heck, I am now bai bai pang pang also what!

well, i envy many mummies here that have BM to feed.. i have no BM from delivery for my 1st and 2nd child at all.. both different dr taught me different ways to get milk out but to no avail.. in the end their conclusion is i am under nourished, which i dun think soooo...

anyway, my elder daughter fall sick easily as compare to other kids, thus i tink BM is v impt..

kylie,
those pic r taken at SL one and yes he is 3mth+

ur gal is so cute with the headband

calla,
my son cute ah? all the pic he never smile one leh coz that day he veri cranky keep crying dunno is it i keep changing his clothes plus is almost the time for him to drink milk.

jellypurin,
ur gal is born on 10/10 ah? same as my son leh

xinying,
wat time u went to SL? i left at ard 2pm never saw u leh.

nanny,
i got a BIG bottle which i am trying to sell off as i am going to stop BF liao.. going back to work after CNY and my ofc veri hard to do the pumping

everafter,
shawn is drinking 150ml every 3hrs.. dun worry bryan will know how much he can drink.. so slowly increase for him

mint
You contacted the lady with premature twins? How come the MIL dun allow??? wah biang... desperate already still dun wan???

xinying
I just saw your post on the lady with premature twins... but I gave away my EBM to Mint's contacts from Breastfeeding Organization... the lady say will give to needy children wor... dunno true or not... anyway better than I throw everything down the chute lor.

Cheerbear,
I saw your post on Studioloft's thread. There's no hard copy of the pics, only soft copy.

Re: Breastfeeding
I honestly don't think breastfeeding has a great impact on me. I'm a breastfed baby but I have asthma since young. I had to be rushed to the hospital a few times when I was young.

How u gers? Haha, i am going bk work tmr..sianz..gonna miss my gal..

Finally arielle is asleep aft drinking 8oz of milk!! She is real hungry tonite...gonna work harder to pump more bm for her manz...

whitepaper,
me and my shawn oso dropping alot of hair.. i went to buy those hair fall tonic to apply coz i scare later i botak :p
actualli i heard some mummies say this is normal one.. once the bb stop dropping hair then we will stop too.. btw shawn oso drop alot until his pillow got alot of small hair.. sighzzz

rains,
how come no hard copy? i thot they say $25 for 2 pcs of edited photos? meaning they will email the edited ones to us ah?

Cheer Bear
Yah I think it's normal, that's what everyone said... internet also say so, books too... so I hope I won't become botak!!! I used to have very thick hair, now maybe half left only
and Yes, CH also drop hair till his pillow all small small hair

TraCe
CH is chubby, but not exactly cute lah... coz he like balding uncle leh... hahaha... can see fine hair growing but all still so short

Go get a bumbo, I got mine from Want to Sell section leh! $40 only, almost brand new

cheerbear,
I took 13 weeks instead. Leaving 3 weeks,slowly take..n can go hols in aug/sept. Haha...really dragging myself to work.

whitepaper,
He's cute leh..haha..
Oh i hv posted a new thread,someone gog to sell me a lime bumbo, nw waiting for her reply. Hope can get it frm her...cant wait to let arielle sit on it

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Shameen,
I gave birth by c-section . According to my gynae, if i conceive in 6 months i must go thru c-section again, if one year then can natural.

Hi perpleangel,
this BP thread still can get , u can go and see
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2069242.html?1232254463 wah..u can make hair clips ah? So clever..can save $$ leh..

Cheerbear..your pictures seem small . cos' think must resize till very small then can post. Maybe u can email me.. thanks in advance!

Joanne, I have a manual pump, not sure how to keep it sterilise to bring to work. Any advice?</font>