(2008/10) Oct 2008

everafter
normally if the bm still in semi solid form, i will thaw the milk in a cup of tap water. if u want fast, can swirl the bottle occasionally. once thaw, i will warm up in warm water.

mousebb
when i bf my elder one last time, initailly plan to bf is only 4-6 months...but when its 6 months, cant bear too so continue until 8 month then i stop. i was feeling so guilty when i stop or when my supply dip to only 30ml each time when i pump. now, i intend to pump till prob 4 months n thats when i go back work or prob slowly reduce pump when i go back work n by 6 months stop.

jjmon
undertsand how u feel. very tiring waking up at night. my elder one latch on n keep waking up at night last time. while he latch, i doze off also. sometime when i wake up, he already de-latch n fall asleep in my arm.
now, my younger one dun really wanna drink milk at night. so he only wake up once. as he doesnt latch on, i give formual at night when he is 2 months old. during the 1st month, have to feed n pump at the same time. hubby need to work so everything i do. super tiring. now at least better liao....i hope my younger one can learn to sleep thru....

mint
my bb also has cradle cap....apply olive oil n leave for 30min b4 i wash off....can use baby soft brush to comb thru softly. else can use hanky to softly wipe thru the cradle cap part.

my elder one has cradle cap till he abt 6 months...try all means but still come back. pd commented that normally bb with sensitve scalp will have cradle cap.

dun worry, will go off one.

i use lactacyde for my elder boy...now both boys use johnson n johnson. both aslo recommended by mrs wong. i find johnson more moisturising.

cheezel, but the problem is that frozen milk is too much, i need to pour out certain amt 1st b4 thawing. But its in semi-solid form leh, what to do? by the time it completely turned into liquid form, i scared the 24hrs is up already

mommies

any good maid agency to recommend and any tips on what to look out for??? I'm engaging a maid to help my mum take care of CH and my nephew when I go back to work next month.

Thanks in advance

hello mummies, need some advice here.
for the baby bonus and cda account, i think someone said before can do it at the ocbc counter in tmc rite? Is that true? or i remembered wrongly? I hadnt done anything about it yet, please advice. Thanks in advance.

everafter
thats the reason why its was thawed with tap water instead of warm water. after u thaw with tap water, pour out the amt u need n keep the remaining in the fridge for next feed. n then warm up the amt u need with warm water.

If you do purchase the breastfeeding book from mrs wong, theres instruction on how to thaw forzen bm.

here it goes:

BM can be kept at temp of 25degC for up to 4 hrs n in fridge at 4degC for 48hrs. -20degC for 6 mths.
Milk can be thawed in 2 ways:
1) warm expressed bm in a cup of warm water. (Milk cannot be stored again once warmed). Do not heat over stove or microwave over.

2) Thaw the milk in cold runnning tap water for 10mins or more. pour out the amt required and put the remainder in the fridge which can be stored up to the NEXT 12 to 24 hrs.

hi, any mother here use Bfree Plus milk bottle? Can any1 sell 1 washing brush (which use for brush the Bfree milk bottle middle tube)? My brush was accidentally thrown away. So I need to get a new 1 but I dun intend to buy a new bottle. If u have spare 1 brush, pls sell to me. thanks! Pls PM me or sms me@ 81125908. tks!

cheezl
thanks for sharing the info! i learnt smthg new today

dreamyjo
u live arnd upp thomson? the maid agency good ah? how much u spend?

dreamyjo,
i also used besthome agency. hehehe... i went to the AMK branch coz nearer for me.

you got a indo or fili maid?

not too sure if shaving will aggrevate cardle cap problem but when i shave my elder one the last time, thats the only time no cradle cap....n problem surface again when his hair grow back

cheezel,
The J&J that you're using is the top to toe wash? Actually her cradle cap looks like dry up already but still stuck to the scalp. I use brush didn't come off. But when I use my finger to gently push, it will come off. I dun want to do this cos scared not hygienic and may cause infection.

xinying,
my friend advised me to shave then the cradle cap will just flake off but she's a girl leh... dun want her to look like a boy when she's botak head. Already now with hair people still mistake her for a boy.

Marcus cradle cap sometimes look like dried up flakes. Then sometimes, will have pus, especially when he cry till face head all red red... I see liao so sad.

dreamyjo
Thanks for the recomendation! Will try them

mspiggy
no worries lah!!! no harm having a pouch lying around anyway. I'm in no rush to get rid of it

Whitepaper... why u online?
What happen to x'mas shopping?

Sky dark dark now. Wonder if any mummies will come my place. Sigh... So far, Jen, Everafter and Chrislin backed out liao.

xinying

going out soon!!!

actually my hubby is also keen to go try out your swimming pool!!! but really have to go shopping lor... if not no time le...

Xinying, paiseh leh..this Bryan dunno what happen, even drink milk also keep struggling his head/hands/legs..really dunno wat he want!! Scared wait go your hse, he "explode" ah

hi jellypurin, nope i stay in bishan which is quite near to thomson. I think their service not bad.
Agency fee i paid about 198.there are no hidden charges so thats good and reliable in my imho. maid insurance wise also not very ex. i paid another 98 for maid insurance and 35 for indemity waiver. Plus maids' loan which is a variable, differs from maid to maid, mine is about 2400. these are the costs to the agent. Other than that, you have to pay 170 maid levy to gov.

Miss piggy, I got an indo transfer maid from them. i dont know about amk side but i heard from my maid one of the agent there not very good will slap maid one. dont know how true.

cheezel, thanks for the info.

everafter
jaren also alwasy struggle when drink milk...sometime, i just bring him up to burp him....other time, i carry him walk abt n let him drink milk...once he start to drink, i sit down. i also dunno y bb struggle when drink milk...machiam boxing like tat.

Whitepaper, enjoy ur shopping. See when u free, maybe we can arrange again.

ChrisLin, take care of ur boy. Weather is funny nowadays. Keep him warm.

Everafter, ytd i took Marcus to Plaza Sing. He also scream till the whole Xin Wang Cafe stare at me. Give boob, cuddle, sing, talk all cannot work. I quickly run to toilet, sling him, stuff boob and pat his ass till he zzz... Phew.

Would like to check, do ur babies still wake up every 3 hours nitely? mine abt one month plus and they still wake up every 3 hrly. Also they are taking abt 80ml per feed...is it too little?

cheezel, ya lor..dun understd y they struggling. my hb says he's not hungry, but not true lor..give him his milk, he drink so fast until choke! take away his milk he cry, let him drink he also cry! chg diaper liao, pat him n carry him to walk abt also doesnt help!

lh_jyc
every babies r diff. my younger one abt 3 mths old now doesnt wake up every 3 hrly at nite...abt 5 hrs then wake up for milk. but my elder boys wakes up every 3 hrly for milk all the way till 9-10 mths. bb at 1 mth plus do wake up as often....stomach still small so will wake up more often for milk.

xinying, u still can venture out to Plaza Sing!! At least u dun need to worry abt Marcus's "food". Everytime bring Bryan out gotta bring big bag and this naughty fellow always dun finish his milk! End up he gets hungry very fast and i worry the FM not enough! Sigh~

He finally finished his milk and go to slp. Now i can take my lunch!

Xinying, I bought the nursing shawl but in the end turn out to be a blanket for ethan when I brought him out yesterday cos I dun dare to bf him in public. I scare he start to scream and struggle like what everafter said. When he goes out, he sleep thru out in the stroller and even miss one feed. He dun sleep that well when at home. So funny.

<font color="aa00aa">Cheezel, everafter
Wenmin also struggles a lot when she drink milk. My hubby keep saying bcos the position that I'm carrying her is not comfy. I tried different ways to carry her so ended up I also like cheezel, carry her walk and once she starts drinking, I sit down.

Last time when I stopped breastfeeding at 4.5month for my son when I need to go back to work, I also felt very guilty. But during that time, I wasnt disciplined enough and my daily supply of bm is like 400ml nia. For my gal, my supply is much better le so when I think of stopping breastfeeding, I sort of feeling heartpain. Furthermore, I'm now a sahm so all the more I have to continue the pumping. However, when I think of waking up twice to pump every night, I feel sian liao. Was telling my hubby maybe I would stop if I get pregnant again. Hahaha! </font>

<font color="0000ff">mousebb,
what's your schedule like huh? Do u latch on in the day &amp; nite? Pump after every feed? U also give some FM right?

Do u have any help at home? I wondering how to cope with the washing of clothes &amp; caring of bb besides all the feeding &amp; pumping day &amp; nite ^-^''?</font>

mousebb

U r really brave to think of having third child. Thinking of having second child now sends shivers down my spine. I am not as strong as I thot.

Had fever this morning. Now ok liao... Thank God got parents to help care for kate whilst I sleep.

mint, somehow it works.. but i also trying out the tea tree &amp; lavender one too. Some says work better. I din use oil, i use the calendua cream and rub the head theb rest 5 min and comb out. At least the scapl nt red red.. after my boy incident, dun dare use oil.

Whitepaper, my maid is direct hire from philippine.. my mil recommend... so far she is good. dun wan off day.

mommies
i got major maid woes. cos i hire them to help my mom and not really for child-minding. this is my 2nd made and she's fm myanmar. cant understand and speak english. my first from fili. abit xiao xiao... so we send her off, but my mom later realise, at least she can work and hv her own schedule, my current - no schedule and dunno what she doing

my mom gng to chg again! urgh! she gng to try indo... sigh...

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
I din latch bb but I pump 7 times a day at
1am, 4am, 4-8am, 10-11am, 1pm, 4pm &amp; 8.30-9pm.

I only give fm to my gal during night feed before she sleep. So is only one feed fm per day.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">dimpletot
Take care! For me, I cannot afford to fall sick cos even if I fall sick, there's nobody to help me look after my kids unless my hubby take leave. Me and hubby are thinking to have a 3rd one when my gal turn 1. But this also provided I still have the strength by then. Hahaha! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">JJmom
We have a maid at home to take care of the housework and I can concentrate on looking after the kids and pumping milk. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">jellypurin
I'm not young anymore! If only I'm a few years younger, I will have a few years before having another one
.</font>

mousebb
neither am i! my hubby n i thinking of hvg 3 but after hvg #1, i think 2 is enough... me still staying w my parents... by the time i hv #2, must reli move out liao otherwise, no plc for #1 &amp; 2!

Mousebb, wah u pump 7times a day! I feeling guilty..so far i think max i pump is 6 times a day and nwadays sometimes 4 times nia :p my daily ss is 800ml+, yours must be quite gd?

Wah so fast planning for 3rd one liao ah!